just enroll myself into a gym

mofonyx
post Jan 12 2010, 06:20 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

No hate, but external motivation can be intensely enabling.

I've learnt to train on my own, it's not easy as a novice.
Black Judy
post Jan 12 2010, 09:49 PM

35 posts

I usually lift heavier when i have a spotter, without a spotter i'll just lower the weight to prevent injury.
JonYeap
post Jan 13 2010, 01:45 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(Black Judy @ Jan 12 2010, 09:49 PM)
I usually lift heavier when i have a spotter, without a spotter i'll just lower the weight to prevent injury.
this is a normal boost of mentality. coz u know someone will help u if u fail.
but again, it depends on individual.
i have a fren that doesnt want to be spot coz he knows he will tend to fail more.
mofonyx
post Jan 13 2010, 02:51 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Your spotter isn't allowed to touch your squats or your OHPs

You don't need spots with deadlifts or rows.

The only one you actually risk injury is bench. Too many lousy spotters for bench making it a 2-man-lift. So thar, if you feel uncomfortable, your bench can progress slower than the rest, but for all the other workouts, you're not supposed to have a spotter anyway.
JonYeap
post Jan 13 2010, 05:21 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

there are another common call for spotters.
dumbell bench presses and shoulder presses.
grabbing them buy the elbows or triceps area.
i remember spotting an idiot who tries 40kg per side incline press.
i think i train my bicep more than he train his chest.
it was just 4-5 reps. showoff idiot.
david890701
post Jan 13 2010, 08:17 AM

-
3,152 posts

i hate it when a stranger volunteer to be my spotter even when i think i'm doing alright, perhaps it just appear to them that i'm struggling.
jamis
post Jan 13 2010, 09:51 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

haha most of the spotter will put quite amount of strength on the bar, and u feel like u r spotting him doing upright rows XD.
monochrome1234
post Jan 13 2010, 07:03 PM

The world says they'll never make it, love says they will
1,225 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jan 13 2010, 05:21 AM)
there are another common call for spotters.
dumbell bench presses and shoulder presses.
grabbing them buy the elbows or triceps area.
i remember spotting an idiot who tries 40kg per side incline press.
i think i train my bicep more than he train his chest.
it was just 4-5 reps. showoff idiot.
Lulz, maybe it was a high weight, low reps day?
JonYeap
post Jan 14 2010, 03:14 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(monochrome1234 @ Jan 13 2010, 07:03 PM)
Lulz, maybe it was a high weight, low reps day?
haha true, but he is a showoff iranian. =.=
angrydog
post Jan 14 2010, 12:16 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Jan 13 2010, 02:51 AM)
The only one you actually risk injury is bench. Too many lousy spotters for bench making it a 2-man-lift. So thar, if you feel uncomfortable, your bench can progress slower than the rest, but for all the other workouts, you're not supposed to have a spotter anyway.
Yeah, the one time I asked someone at the gym to spot me on the bench press, he kept gripping both hands on the bar through the entire set and limited my ROM. It was pretty awkward.
tennis4life
post Jan 16 2010, 12:36 AM

278 posts

celebrity in subang parade has quite a lot of gays. you can ask them for help tongue.gif they are so "friendly" to men LOL ask them for help la.
finance.graduate
post Jan 18 2010, 04:43 PM

21 posts

just joined fitness first... like the fact that there are many branches... can go different branches if feel bored icon_rolleyes.gif
kianweic
post Jan 18 2010, 04:50 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(finance.graduate @ Jan 18 2010, 04:43 PM)
just joined fitness first... like the fact that there are many branches... can go different branches if feel bored  icon_rolleyes.gif
Did that last time, in the end only go for two gyms. The rest I couldn't be bother.

Best stick to the gym closest to work or home.
monochrome1234
post Jan 18 2010, 05:48 PM

The world says they'll never make it, love says they will
1,225 posts

QUOTE(finance.graduate @ Jan 18 2010, 04:43 PM)
just joined fitness first... like the fact that there are many branches... can go different branches if feel bored  icon_rolleyes.gif
I prefer to be familiar to the place, makes me feel more at home.
radioactive
post Jan 27 2010, 12:00 AM

1,857 posts

i could not do the last rep of my incline. had to roll it to my waist and lift it off. luckily no one was looking. pai seh.....

from then on, bars and bench works only when i have a friend along.

0.0152sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:13 AM