Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument

faceless
post Mar 29 2011, 09:17 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Mar 25 2011, 12:10 PM)
I'm going to learn gu zheng starting next week!  rclxm9.gif

I went to this place in kuchai entrepreneurs park near hong leong bank, they offer me 2 free trial lessons before enrollment. After the trials, I can decide whether to continue the lessons or quit. The fee is Rm80 per month, 4 lessons a month, each lesson ½ hour. The teacher is the music school principle mr.koh, he teaches based on beijing syllabus, using nylon strings. If I wish to learn further, he advised me to buy a set of nails rm48 (expensive? I have no idea what kind of nails), nails tape rm5, and book rm5.

This is their website http://www.myeswest.com/
Great, now you have become one of us. What I mean is previously you like the instrument. Now you play the instrument.

RM80 for beginners for 1 to 1 (I suppose) is okay.

Nails (plectrum) are 1) RM20 plastic cheapest. 2) RM40 similar to guitar pick mid range quality.

Nail Tape (胶布) RM5 very cheap. It is just like masking tape except the material is fabric. A good brand 3M (the company the sells the post-it-notes) is sold for RM9.

Book at RM5 seems minimal. My teacher just gave me the book and asked me to photocopy it myself.
la bella
post Mar 29 2011, 10:07 AM

962 posts

empire, please give me 1 or 2 years to learn the skills first.. haha

faceless, you have influenced me to learn gu zheng. biggrin.gif I'll update here my progress after I start my lesson. Btw, thanks for your info. The plectrum is for one side or both side of hands?

empire
post Mar 29 2011, 11:06 AM

2,549 posts

la bella...sure sure.
You owe it to faceless for inspiring you that day in my house :-)
la bella
post Mar 29 2011, 11:32 AM

962 posts

empire, yes yes.. Thank you for organizing the gathering and thanks to faceless for his effort! Very much appreciated. smile.gif
faceless
post Mar 29 2011, 11:34 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Mar 29 2011, 10:07 AM)
empire, please give me 1 or 2 years to learn the skills first.. haha

faceless, you have influenced me to learn gu zheng. biggrin.gif I'll update here my progress after I start my lesson. Btw, thanks for your info. The plectrum is for one side or both side of hands?

1 set comes in four. Thumb, index, middle, ring. Thumb is different. The other three are the same in size and shape. Just buy I set first. With a guzheng to practise it may take 6 months to get familiar with it. Then you move to left hand techniques likely another 6 months. Then only is double handed play. If you dont want to get it modify your guitar plectrums.

QUOTE(la bella @ Mar 29 2011, 11:32 AM)
empire, yes yes.. Thank you for organizing the gathering and thanks to faceless for his effort! Very much appreciated.  smile.gif

You are welcome. At least that is some consolation for my poor performance.

I still have to make up for the performance that day. I been trying to play the guzheng in different positions now tongue.gif

This post has been edited by faceless: Mar 29 2011, 11:38 AM
subangman
post Mar 29 2011, 10:44 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Mar 25 2011, 12:10 PM)
I'm going to learn gu zheng starting next week!  rclxm9.gif

I went to this place in kuchai entrepreneurs park near hong leong bank, they offer me 2 free trial lessons before enrollment. After the trials, I can decide whether to continue the lessons or quit. The fee is Rm80 per month, 4 lessons a month, each lesson ½ hour. The teacher is the music school principle mr.koh, he teaches based on beijing syllabus, using nylon strings. If I wish to learn further, he advised me to buy a set of nails rm48 (expensive? I have no idea what kind of nails), nails tape rm5, and book rm5.

This is their website http://www.myeswest.com/
well u r gettin nearer to my 'homeground'.. icon_rolleyes.gif

heard of Gary; ur teacher..... good frd of mei-mei's teacher.

RM45 for 8 turtle nails not tat bad unless u wan some plastic nails.. laugh.gif ..... fees very reasonable...

tape RM5 .. std price unless u buy in bulk.... (white color better than the brown ones).

... next if u decided to carry on.... THEN the choice of ur 'weapon'... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

we will help u along the way..... technical wise got faceless kor-kor to help out ... else i'll link u to mei-mei .. thumbup.gif

empire
post Mar 29 2011, 11:41 PM

2,549 posts

We will next watch Faceless's Recital at the next gathering...followed by La Bella. hehehe....

Mei-mei's standard too dasyat d...hehehe...so no need to call her to perform lo....but subangman should bring her to the next gathering to inspire us nonethless.
faceless
post Mar 30 2011, 10:20 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Mar 29 2011, 10:44 PM)
well u r gettin nearer to my 'homeground'..  icon_rolleyes.gif

heard of Gary; ur teacher..... good frd of mei-mei's teacher.

RM45 for 8 turtle nails not tat bad unless u wan some plastic nails..  laugh.gif ..... fees very reasonable...

tape RM5 .. std price unless u buy in bulk.... (white color better than the brown ones).

... next if u decided to carry on.... THEN the choice of ur 'weapon'...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

we will help u along the way..... technical wise got faceless kor-kor to help out ... else i'll link u to mei-mei .. thumbup.gif
I remember there were two people posted here to sell guzheng. I wonder what happen to them?

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 29 2011, 11:41 PM)
We will next watch Faceless's Recital at the next gathering...followed by La Bella. hehehe....

Mei-mei's standard too dasyat d...hehehe...so no need to call her to perform lo....but subangman should bring her to the next gathering to inspire us nonethless.
You ahhhh doh.gif You forgot the TS come back already meh? She finish study already now looking forward to join us.

empire
post Mar 30 2011, 11:36 AM

2,549 posts

Faceless...who is TS?
faceless
post Mar 30 2011, 12:15 PM

4,515 posts

TS = Thread Starter
For this thread is hyumi.
empire
post Mar 30 2011, 12:59 PM

2,549 posts

oh...I am more used to OP- Original Poster.
faceless
post Mar 30 2011, 01:19 PM

4,515 posts

Anyway dont you think she should take center stage? She open the thread and go silent for so long wo.
empire
post Mar 30 2011, 06:41 PM

2,549 posts

Maybe she is no longer interested in Guzheng. It was spur of the moment that she was 'hot' about guzheng..but after a few days...she no longer bothered?

Malays call this' Hangat tahi ayam'. Cos it is hot for awhile only.
TShyumi
post Mar 30 2011, 11:35 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Mar 30 2011, 10:20 AM)
I remember there were two people posted here to sell guzheng. I wonder what happen to them?
You ahhhh doh.gif You forgot the TS come back already meh? She finish study already now looking forward to join us.
i haven't finish studying laaa.. this year final year, previoiusly was exchange programme to Australia =)

QUOTE(faceless @ Mar 30 2011, 01:19 PM)
Anyway dont you think she should take center stage? She open the thread and go silent for so long wo.
ha? centre stage? haha. I am only Level 1 gu zheng student who stopped lesson for more than 8 months already ><
Being an audience would be a more suitable position for me hehe.

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 30 2011, 06:41 PM)
Maybe she is no longer interested in Guzheng. It was spur of the moment that she was 'hot' about guzheng..but after a few days...she no longer bothered?

Malays call this' Hangat tahi ayam'. Cos it is hot for awhile only.
I know I haven't been replying much, but i still do check the thread once a while.
I am back, but haven't resume my gu zheng class due to busy class schedule.
however, the place i learn gu zheng from is also a yoga centre, and i go there twice a week.
the yoga instructor would always play gu zheng instrumental music CD at the end of the class, and i still love the sound of it.

my priority now is to study hard for my final year and graduate. but nevertheless, i still hope to meet you guys and see how awesome you guys are in this instrument wink.gif

This post has been edited by hyumi: Mar 30 2011, 11:38 PM
empire
post Mar 31 2011, 12:16 AM

2,549 posts

La Bella...how's your Guzheng lesson so far? Anything to report? What did you learn so far la?

Faceless, hehehehe....dont be so modest la. We know you can play well..but my shaky keyboard made things hard for you that day :-)
faceless
post Mar 31 2011, 08:29 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 31 2011, 12:16 AM)
La Bella...how's your Guzheng lesson so far? Anything to report? What did you learn so far la?

Faceless, hehehehe....dont be so modest la. We know you can play well..but my shaky keyboard made things hard for you that day :-)

Maybe is the 五粮叶(the dring subang brought).

empire
post Mar 31 2011, 10:24 AM

2,549 posts

faceless...subang's super duper Wine really does kick some serious vibes into the head!
subangman
post Mar 31 2011, 11:35 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 31 2011, 10:24 AM)
faceless...subang's super duper Wine really does kick some serious vibes into the head!
that shit stuff really $$$$.... only for special occasion like CNY gathering only. Cannot afford too often even from DUTY free. shocking.gif

little ice
post Mar 31 2011, 12:02 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

upon searching, apparently wu liang ye is 68% alcohol...one of the highest alcohol content wine available commercially. sweat.gif
empire
post Mar 31 2011, 02:44 PM

2,549 posts

68%???? OMG! Subang...you really know how to make us to to 'another world' after drinking it!hehehe...

Added on March 31, 2011, 2:45 pm68%???? OMG! Subang...you really know how to make us to to 'another world' after drinking it!hehehe...

This post has been edited by empire: Mar 31 2011, 02:45 PM

84 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:59 PM