141 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

ostangel
post Jan 29 2010, 05:31 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jan 29 2010, 12:31 PM)
yes, you are right.

OSHC isn't affiliated with universities (but if i'm not wrong, monash offers a percentage discount off due to their strategic partnership et cetera)
Thats correct. I got a AUD 38 discount on my OSHC. lol

And my OSHC covers the entire length of my student visa too.
+3kk!
post Jan 29 2010, 05:37 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 29 2010, 09:57 AM)

No, Malaysia is not "that worst", and I still call Malaysia home. So do many Malaysians overseas who hold Permanent Residency in their new adopted country hanging on to their Malaysian Passport. There are some things going for Malaysia: food for instance, and if there is one thing that Malaysia does not lack, it is water. But some things are done differently in other places, and some things are done better.

I do not think that Australia without flaws: it is a bit too Right leaning for my liking in certain aspects, through less Right than Malaysia. But I will bet the same question was going through the minds of many Malaysians who trace their roots from elsewhere. If China was that great and grand, why did they leave? If Malaysia is so nice, why do all of us know a relative/friend who have emigrated elsewhere?
malaysian right wing ideals makes the aussies look like pioneers of the left.
KVReninem
post Jan 29 2010, 11:40 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jan 29 2010, 10:35 AM)
imho, the australian education system is very good because the lecturers are actually getting paid what they deserve, but as for their work structure im not too sure. maybe for the short run it would be good to work in australia but i believe it would be difficult to start a life in australia unless you have lots of money. tax is high, along with rent and utilities and such. it would be difficult because no matter how long you stay there, you would be seen as first generation and thus seen as a second class citizen and it would be difficult for someone to get a house, or loans and such esp after the crisis. i dunno if the guy is being supported by his family or not while he is living there, but if i was his parents i would stop sending money once he started working just so he can be independant. its a difficult decision for me/you/his/her/them and lots of things need to be considered.

i think the politics in malaysia suck and sometimes get carried away on unimportant issues, but its not really affecting my way of life much at all in malaysia other than a few price increases once in a while which is common in any country. i dunno why people wanna run away for hmm.gif but it does give good topics for discussion. biggrin.gif
No doubt about the meritocracy system; but have you notice the New Education Revolution in making now?

Here are some perception that people rather go "out".
1. Internal education casting system that champion the one based on racial/status quo
2. Currency
3. the doubt & rotten of society about Msia NEP.
4. the immature of Msian mentality regarding west & eastern civilization.
5. Logical of following what other thought about rather more of sit down & think over it.
6. Just look at general West Malaysian, why go SG not stuck in KL work it out? mooolah,...all about mooolah.

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 29 2010, 10:57 AM)
Far better than having 10 medical schools sprout out of nowhere for the monies of desperate parents wanting their beloved child to be a doctor, at any cost.

And the rising dollar? It will find its equilibrium. A rising dollar only affects the exporters. As consumers, it is  actually a boon, as imports become cheaper, holidays are more affordable.
Far better than the unchecked number of illegal immigrants roaming the streets of Malaysia,  committing crimes and getting away with it. with some of them becoming citizens with full bumiputera rights.
Is it any different from the 2 million Malaysians that have emigrated out of Malaysia due to racism at all levels, from your school to your work to when you buy a house?

Frankly, only a few Indian nationals out of the 234,718 in Australia are targeted, and it is a national calamity for overseas Indians. Don't get me wrong,  I condemn any kind of unprovoked attack, and I will not be silent if there were targeted attacks on Malaysians,  but I personally think it is far better than being discriminated and "attacked" wholesale by the government itself.

At least the Australian authorities (publicly at least) acknowledge there is a problem; a solution is a separate matter altogether. In Bolehland? This joke gives an idea how racism is treated in Malaysia:
CODE

If it is a Malay problem, it is a national problem
If it is a Chinese problem, it is a racial problem
If it is a Indian problem, there is no problem

I'm not so sure about that. When my workmate started the same job I'm doing, he got RM1200/month. 12 years later, the starting salary of a fresh grad network administrator is still ~RM1200. RM1500 tops if you're lucky. Thats just a 12% salary increase over 12 years, Who believes the inflation rate in Malaysia is around 2% a year?

Retire? My grandfather, a long time senior  government servant, scrapes by with a pension allocated to him in the 1980's. Suffice to say, you can't survive in 2010 with a 1980's cash inflow.

No, Malaysia is not "that worst", and I still call Malaysia home. So do many Malaysians overseas who hold Permanent Residency in their new adopted country hanging on to their Malaysian Passport. There are some things going for Malaysia: food for instance, and if there is one thing that Malaysia does not lack, it is water. But some things are done differently in other places, and some things are done better.

I do not think that Australia without flaws: it is a bit too Right leaning for my liking in certain aspects, through less Right than Malaysia. But I will bet the same question was going through the minds of many Malaysians who trace their roots from elsewhere. If China was that great and grand, why did they leave? If Malaysia is so nice, why do all of us know a relative/friend who have emigrated elsewhere?
1. that about medical/health; speak to Minister of education of their Policy setting.

2. about rising dollar, not just exporters but also the domestic market in Australia.Yada Yada you may get heaps of import`s discount with devalue of USD.. but dont forget. Risk aversion currency in play; you never know when will someone pull the plug & crushing down you go...
Again, this really depend on the macro/micro economy to level it up.I`m not going deep into it.

3. make it easy discuss, which country not racist & their status quo up level this day? if you felt threaten, you will do anyhow just to champion your way up. But for racist & this indian issue; its more complex than Msia. Msia is another case of Malay(UMNO perkasa, UMNO warlords,) MCA MIC champion over the old method..races.. vs Middle Malaysia.
Get the logic of Msia society now, its so fabricated to the core that race issue is really old leaf, you need to table the new leaf where to.. get everyone level..doesn't matter if you are indian, or so called Msian chinese or Malay or Bumiputra ethnicity. The status quo of Malaysia like to provoke is cos i`m Malay, I got the right to 30% of company etc..then this & that..
or Chinese run the economy..or Indian stay in the rubber estate or just construction worker. Its just not there.
You feel more you are Aussiefied citizen than you are Msian citizen when you come here. Equal rights.

4. Human emigrant around the world is uncontrollable to be speaking. Whats the different from the flow of Hongkies to Canada, NZ & Australia? or the English during the discovery time of the worldwide.? Its basically the situation that willing to drive-out & opportunity of seeking a better live. For Msia context, its build up of different kinds of culture & races. So Thats Malaysia! you try to take something out, it will taste yuck, you add more it will taste sour..so yeah.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jan 29 2010, 11:41 PM
TShaya
post Jan 30 2010, 12:40 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(DarkConfidant @ Jan 29 2010, 02:07 PM)
Im going 2 Oz dis Feb and i actually had pay for all 3 years of OSHC in 1 lump sum as part of the fee requirements  laugh.gif
Personally I would just pay your medical insurance in one lump sum rather than be at the mercy of yearly increases in insurance premiums. That said, I am aware that there are people who do not have the financial resources to do so.
arton
post Jan 31 2010, 07:09 PM

116 posts

Just wondering anyone have any ideas about gym facilities in Adelaide? or any price range for it? =D...do not include Uni Campus Gym...

Thank you
nokia2003
post Feb 1 2010, 01:50 PM

5,786 posts

not that i'm offering any sort of financial advices, but if anyone here (especially prospective/future students) who has any banking related questions in oz, you can actually ask me here or via PM.

i actually did some relatively detailed researches with regard to the banking facilities here; just a personal interest nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
Lemonfish
post Feb 1 2010, 02:55 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(arton @ Jan 31 2010, 07:09 PM)
Just wondering anyone have any ideas about gym facilities in Adelaide? or any price range for it? =D...do not include Uni Campus Gym...

Thank you
Hmm Arton,

There is one above Toy R Us in Rundle Mall which is quite cheap. If you can afford it, try consider Fitness First in King William Street.

lazybear
post Feb 1 2010, 10:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Jan 8 2010, 08:52 PM)
Oh yeah, about the medical check up, did you guys choose manual health processing?

It says that manual will delay some time while online 1 is much faster, but those panel clinic that participate in online health processing is kind of limited and I find no one in KL.

So I should choose manual health processing?
The manual one won't take long. Just go ahead and do it rather than waiting here.
onejme
post Feb 2 2010, 05:28 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Feb 1 2010, 01:50 PM)
not that i'm offering any sort of financial advices, but if anyone here (especially prospective/future students) who has any banking related questions in oz, you can actually ask me here or via PM.

i actually did some relatively detailed researches with regard to the banking facilities here; just a personal interest  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif
hye..just want to ask you about the commonwealth bank.I had an account with them,is it true that we have to renew(or something like that) the card every year?
arton
post Feb 2 2010, 06:32 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Lemonfish @ Feb 1 2010, 02:55 PM)
Hmm Arton,

There is one above Toy R Us in Rundle Mall which is quite cheap. If you can afford it, try consider Fitness First in King William Street.
Isn't the one above Toy R Us in Rundle Mall is a Female Gym only? I check it online at google. And for Fitness First how much is it for student? do you have any idea? since the website did not state anything...

onelove89
post Feb 2 2010, 09:51 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

The gym facility in Uni is so expensive >< Hiring a court for badminton cost like 11.50/hr!!!
DaViDcHiN
post Feb 2 2010, 12:06 PM

2,720 posts

Anyone know how they check our laptop? Do they check external hard disc as well?

Installed pirated software?
Pirated software that have not installed yet?
External Harddisk?

I am worry about it as I am holding some pirated software with me like Microsoft Office and Adobe Photoshop which is useful for me.

Advice please?
onelove89
post Feb 2 2010, 12:22 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Feb 2 2010, 12:06 PM)
Anyone know how they check our laptop? Do they check external hard disc as well?

External Harddisk?

I am worry about it as I am holding some pirated software with me like Microsoft Office and Adobe Photoshop which is useful for me.

Advice please?
So far they never asked me to turn on my laptop. + they never looked at my laptop bag at all. =/
Mr.LKM
post Feb 2 2010, 12:52 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 2 2010, 12:22 PM)
So far they never asked me to turn on my laptop. + they never looked at my laptop bag at all. =/
Same applies to me.
hihihehe
post Feb 2 2010, 01:02 PM

13,776 posts

External Harddisk?

Advice please?
nvr checked on me too..but if they check u then u r unlucky tongue.gif
i just heard 1 of my fren get checked when check out melbourne
but luckily he just bought the laptop and nvr install any software yet..all OEM

nokia2003
post Feb 2 2010, 01:07 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Feb 2 2010, 05:28 AM)
hye..just want to ask you about the commonwealth bank.I had an account with them,is it true that we have to renew(or something like that) the card every year?
erm there is no such thing as far as i know.

a card is valid until the month/year stipulated on card itself or unless you/bank cancelled it.

i think, the bank is impying for you to come in every year (usually march) to present your student ID as a prove that you are still a student

otherwise you will have to pay the yearly account maintenance fee

Added on February 2, 2010, 1:09 pmoh by the way, RBA has decided to hold the rate constant at 3.75% for the month of february, earlier today at 2.30pm AEST

hence the AUD has plunged a little.

it is currently hovering around 3.00

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Feb 2 2010, 01:11 PM
SUSadrian7386
post Feb 2 2010, 01:56 PM

628 posts

External Harddisk?

Advice please?
actually the custom do checked my hardisk and they ask me whether i got p*rn in it...lol and i told them i dont have any pirated material and actually i have it and they checked it they their computer...but then nothing happen they just lend me back my hardisk
KVReninem
post Feb 2 2010, 04:33 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Feb 2 2010, 02:07 PM)
erm there is no such thing as far as i know.

a card is valid until the month/year stipulated on card itself or unless you/bank cancelled it.

i think, the bank is impying for you to come in every year (usually march) to present your student ID as a prove that you are still a student

otherwise you will have to pay the yearly account maintenance fee

Added on February 2, 2010, 1:09 pmoh by the way, RBA has decided to hold the rate constant at 3.75% for the month of february, earlier today at 2.30pm AEST

hence the AUD has plunged a little.

it is currently hovering around 3.00
wont help much mate. Consider BNM will raise the rate aliitle to help prepare Msia for better position. That will help more.
For Aus, its better RBA raise the rates.
nokia2003
post Feb 2 2010, 04:49 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 2 2010, 04:33 PM)
wont help much mate. Consider BNM will raise the rate aliitle to help prepare Msia for better position. That will help more.
For Aus, its better RBA raise the rates.
huh? what on earth were you referring to?

i was implying the exchange rates

Added on February 2, 2010, 4:58 pmuser posted image

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Feb 2 2010, 04:58 PM
TShaya
post Feb 2 2010, 05:16 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Feb 2 2010, 01:56 PM)
actually the custom do checked my hardisk and they ask me whether i got p*rn in it...lol and i told them i dont have any pirated material and actually i have it and they checked it they their computer...but then nothing happen they just lend me back my hardisk
Never had my devices checked. To be honest, I think they are largely more concerned about child pornography.

Also, the AUD did dip a bit, but not by much. The decision to hold rates was almost unexpected, but in the bigger scheme of things little will change. I don't think the RBA thinks the worst of the GFC is over.

141 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:53 AM