141 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

DaViDcHiN
post Feb 2 2010, 05:30 PM

2,720 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Feb 2 2010, 01:56 PM)
actually the custom do checked my hardisk and they ask me whether i got p*rn in it...lol and i told them i dont have any pirated material and actually i have it and they checked it they their computer...but then nothing happen they just lend me back my hardisk
sweat.gif sweat.gif Damn it, I do have some nice prawns insides, but I guess it does not matter as long as it is not child porn? hmm.gif

Hopefully I am not the lucky 1.
KVReninem
post Feb 2 2010, 08:02 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Feb 2 2010, 05:49 PM)
huh? what on earth were you referring to?

i was implying the exchange rates

Added on February 2, 2010, 4:58 pmuser posted image
I`m refering to the sudden drop off to 3.00 within the current ex. rate msia vs aus.

Aus, currently driven back by the mining boom. Again, you have overpriced house/property compare to USA, UK & JAPAN. Not yet mention about the bubble in China.

While in Msia, also have rates on hold which makes all our ringgit floating to Australia to purchase property, education & migration.
Large chunk following the hot money around due to low interest rates from USA, JAPAN & EUROPE.

Black swan required in this sugar high situation.

Anyway, off topic. GEOs English company collapsed due to mismanagement of funding(out of money)also come another issue the credibility of Australia Education.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 2 2010, 08:08 PM
SUSb3ta
post Feb 3 2010, 12:03 AM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

never got my electronics checked. i feel that aus customs are more lax than malaysian ones.
sanesaint
post Feb 3 2010, 07:41 AM

359 posts

hey i dunno if this is the right thread to be asking this, but im hoping somebody will help me out. which australian universities offer law as an undergraduate programme not requiring a degree prior to studying law? i noe melb rwquires it, but does anu and monash require a prior degree? also, wat other reputable universities are there for law in aussie? thanks
limeuu
post Feb 3 2010, 08:27 AM

12,290 posts

mr.google is your friend..........
yusszzxx
post Feb 3 2010, 09:00 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 29 2010, 09:57 AM)

Don't get me wrong,  I condemn any kind of unprovoked attack, and I will not be silent if there were targeted attacks on Malaysians,  but I personally think it is far better than being discriminated and "attacked" wholesale by the government itself.

At least the Australian authorities (publicly at least) acknowledge there is a problem; a solution is a separate matter altogether. In Bolehland? This joke gives an idea how racism is treated in Malaysia:
CODE

If it is a Malay problem, it is a national problem
If it is a Chinese problem, it is a racial problem
If it is a Indian problem, there is no problem

discriminate?...... separate?.......racism?........
despite the forefight between the government, richiest and cronies... all races in MY shud be ready having ONE education system... no more school based on races... if they worries bout they language/culture... then introduce it to the national schoool.... then abolished the quota system.. attract more non-bumi to join public services.... that was the problem.. the unity that we talked was a thing that we actually never had.... all the races actually didnt have a medium to mix up... MY chinese, indian and bumis are brought up in different environment.. when was the fist time we made friend to people from other races.... ? change the education system......
TShaya
post Feb 3 2010, 09:22 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Feb 2 2010, 05:28 AM)
hye..just want to ask you about the commonwealth bank.I had an account with them,is it true that we have to renew(or something like that) the card every year?
I think this is reference to the student waiver. All students to get the student waiver on bank account fees have to renew their student status every year. It is standard across all Australian banks.

No drama to renew your student status with the bank. Just go to any branch with your student card and your bank card, say you want to renew your student fee waiver. Mine took less than 5 minutes.
TShaya
post Feb 3 2010, 09:35 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(yusszzxx @ Feb 3 2010, 09:00 AM)
discriminate?...... separate?.......racism?........
despite the forefight between the government, richiest and cronies... all races in MY shud be ready having ONE education system... no more school based on races... if they worries bout they language/culture... then introduce it to the national schoool.... then abolished the quota system.. attract more non-bumi to join public services.... that was the problem.. the unity that we talked was a thing that we actually never had.... all the races actually didnt have a medium to mix up... MY chinese, indian and bumis are brought up in different environment.. when was the fist time we made friend to people from other races....  ? change the education system......
Do you know what are you asking?

If you try to have one education system, the Chinese educationalists, the Malay nationalists, the Indian political parties and the English educated would be up in arms. In the post 8/08 Malaysia, such actions would be costly politically.

The switch to English for Science and Maths was painful enough. Enough for this generation of whimps who call themselves "teachers" to take to the streets. (Flash news people: in the 80's when the switch to BM from English was made, the teachers, all educated in English had to adapt to the new order. Didn't see them take to the streets. As a matter of fact they are probably the best teachers which students still flock to them for tuition).

Enough for the shrill cries of the Chinese educationalists (Dong Zong) to get front page treatment in the Chinese vernacular papers and their defiant stand meant that students in Chinese vernacular schools learnt Science and Maths in 2 languages: English and Chinese. I can tell you most of the kids were confused.

Enough for the Tamil vernacular press to run articles with the headline: "Tamil schools being neglected under new government" and costing the ruling coalition some votes.

No one in Malaysia believes in a unified education system. Not when everyone wants it their own way. Especially not with Dong Zong around, unless every school becomes Chinese medium. We have done enough damage closing down the missionary schools, replacing the Brothers with bureaucrats who do not appreciate the role mission schools has in Malaysia.

There are already "national schools". The question is, will you send your child there?
IGHE Consultancy
post Feb 3 2010, 10:18 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Feb 3 2010, 07:41 AM)
hey i dunno if this is the right thread to be asking this, but im hoping somebody will help me out. which australian universities offer law as an undergraduate programme not requiring a degree prior to studying law? i noe melb rwquires it, but does anu and monash require a prior degree? also, wat other reputable universities are there for law in aussie? thanks
Hi Sanesaint,

You do not have to have a degree to get enrolled in LLB. Probably you are looking at LLB (Graduate) or the JD (Juris Doctor) or the graduate diploma course. The entrance requirement for LLB in ANU is you must have achieved at least 19 points in your STPM. And it is very tough to get an entrance in ANU. Other top universities in Australia for LLB is Monash, Sydney, UNSW and many more. If you want to get an easy entrance then you can try JCU and CDU. If you are really interested to know more about LLB in Australia and keen to get a place, feel free to contact me at the contact details given below. We are specialised in Australian education and all our services are free of charge including your counselling, placement, visa processing and others. Look forward to hear from you. Thank you.
DaViDcHiN
post Feb 3 2010, 10:27 AM

2,720 posts

Does anyone knows what does OSHC cover?

My mum is very concern about it, she's afraid that it does not cover illness that does not need one to stay in the hospital such as fever and etc.

So she's thinking to extend my local medical insurance to international if that is the case.
IGHE Consultancy
post Feb 3 2010, 10:46 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Feb 3 2010, 10:27 AM)

My mum is very concern about it, she's afraid that it does not cover illness that does not need one to stay in the hospital such as fever and etc.

So she's thinking to extend my local medical insurance to international if that is the case.
Are you covered by Medibank or OSHC Worldcare? You can refer to their website about specific information on what is and is not covered by your insurance provider. http://www.medibank.com.au/ and https://www.oshcworldcare.com.au/Default.aspx. Good luck!
+3kk!
post Feb 3 2010, 11:08 AM

8,275 posts

oshc covers non-prescription medical care (antibiotics, cough meds etc), excluding cosmetics (lastik surgery, contacts), optical (glasses) and erm MRI

that being said, yes it doesnt cover illnesses that doesnt need hospital stay. this is because youd be going to the free uni docs to get medical treatment, drugs are not covered but i dont see how you need msian insurance to cover for things like fever when your drug would be like aspirin.

oshc becomes a b**** in the private sector (as any insurance) they only ad hold to a government recommended price, thus if you go to a private gp and got a fee of 100 bucks expect less than half in return. this becomes problematic with very serious cases or with certain diagnostics (MRI) when you need aid fast but not "urgent" to get killed by your issue. oshc only covers a public amount, so unless you go to a government doc chances are you'd be paying wild amounts yet government docs tend to make you wait if not serious

that being said, the best option is to have a local insurance and not bother about international. if its serious the au public sector will act fast and oshc will get you your claim however say if its serious but not life threatening and theres no public option back home is cheaper with insurance.

owh and to claim oshc needs about a month, ive had a lot of medical issues in au but mainly due to my ruptured ACL that requires surgery. im going back to au to do it but in the public sector thus its free.
limeuu
post Feb 3 2010, 11:08 AM

12,290 posts

it covers gp consultations......you uni will have inhouse medical services (student health), which will be the usual ones you use........medications you need to pay, but i believe that is also partly subsidised, the cost of medications in oz is often cheaper than msia.........

your mum doesn't make sense, local msia insurances do NOT cover outpatient care, they only cover you when you need to be admitted...........
k-ivy
post Feb 3 2010, 02:47 PM

hello everyone, reporting in ^^
gonna credit transfer into University of Adelaide of year 2 in Bachelor of Commerce this february.
Any advice?

I'll be living at The Village.
My father will be going with me.
So any motel/ motel to recommend?
As long as it is clean and near to The Village...

Basically how much money do u guys spend per month, excluding accommodation? (as in Adelaide)
For the first month, we definitely need extra money for startup and buying books, could anyone give me an estimation on how much should i bring for the 1st month?

Thanks in advance...
KVReninem
post Feb 3 2010, 03:32 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(k-ivy @ Feb 3 2010, 03:47 PM)
gonna credit transfer into University of Adelaide of year 2 in Bachelor of Commerce this february.
Any advice?

Basically how much money do u guys spend per month, excluding accommodation? (as in Adelaide)
For the first month, we definitely need extra money for startup and buying books, could anyone give me an estimation on how much should i bring for the 1st month?

Thanks in advance...
1.General advice, its better you bring more money in as to cover yearly fees & expenses. You can place in cash deposit as it offer great interest rates.

TShaya
post Feb 3 2010, 05:11 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(k-ivy @ Feb 3 2010, 02:47 PM)
Any advice?

Thanks in advance...
http://www.international.adelaide.edu.au/cost/living/
http://www.international.adelaide.edu.au/l.../guide/finance/

All on the university website. Granted, they may be a bit on the high side, but better more than less.

Wow, The Village! At $10,494.00 per calendar year, that works out to about $218.625/month. Man, I wish I had that luxury when I arrived. smile.gif

Added on February 3, 2010, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(IGHE Consultancy @ Feb 3 2010, 10:18 AM)
Other top universities in Australia for LLB is Monash, Sydney, UNSW and many more.
All this information can be easily found online at the websites of respective universities, but since this is spoon-feeding land, member sanesaint should at least be aware that the LLB in UNSW and USyd is a double degree. You can't do a single LLB in these 2 institutions, amongst others.

This post has been edited by haya: Feb 3 2010, 05:23 PM
k-ivy
post Feb 3 2010, 05:24 PM

thanks =)

any temporary accommodation suggestion for my dad?

and and..
do we actually need to bring kitchen utensils over there?
is it expensive over there?

This post has been edited by k-ivy: Feb 3 2010, 05:35 PM
TShaya
post Feb 3 2010, 05:29 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(k-ivy @ Feb 3 2010, 05:24 PM)
thanks =)

any temporary accommodation suggestion for m dad?
Any number of hotels and motels around Adelaide city. This is a bit beyond the scope of this thread, but http://www.cityofadelaide.com.au/accommoda...comodation.html and http://wikitravel.org/en/Adelaide#Sleep and http://www.southaustralia.com/AdelaideAccommodation.aspx should point you in the right direction.

Note that I have not stayed in any of these, but nothing a simple Google (or Bing) search would not find out.
DaViDcHiN
post Feb 3 2010, 06:03 PM

2,720 posts

Getting really close to my departure now, does anyone has a checklist on what to bring and what not to bring?

Just worry that I might forget to bring something important. biggrin.gif

Did you guys bring over your birthday cert as well? How about driving license?

This post has been edited by DaViDcHiN: Feb 3 2010, 06:07 PM
limeuu
post Feb 3 2010, 06:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(IGHE Consultancy @ Feb 3 2010, 10:18 AM)
Hi Sanesaint,

You do not have to have a degree to get enrolled in LLB. Probably you are looking at LLB (Graduate) or the JD (Juris Doctor) or the graduate diploma course. The entrance requirement for LLB in ANU is you must have achieved at least 19 points in your STPM. And it is very tough to get an entrance in ANU. Other top universities in Australia for LLB is Monash, Sydney, UNSW and many more. If you want to get an easy entrance then you can try JCU and CDU. If you are really interested to know more about LLB in Australia and keen to get a place, feel free to contact me at the contact details given below. We are specialised in Australian education and all our services are free of charge including your counselling, placement, visa processing and others. Look forward to hear from you. Thank you.
please note that these 2 unis law degree is not in the 'qualifying degree' list of the Legal Profession Qualifying Board Malaysia............

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/admission_requirements.html

141 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:38 PM