141 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

huyified
post Feb 2 2011, 10:22 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 2 2011, 08:50 PM)
I am so not sure where is that, which suburb is that in? My campus is based in the city though =) but I'm staying near the main campus =D ah~ well, the thing is you won't find that much msians going to hbt these days, well, not in this forum =P we're the rare kinds ei? tongue.gif Isn't year 12 starting soon? (or has it already started?)

Added on February 2, 2011, 8:52 pmjust googled elizabeth college. seems like your college is in the city area as well =) search Royal hobart hospital, my campus is opposite the hospital =) it's not that far at all from your place =D
Here's the address 256 Elizabeth Street
Hobart TAS 7000, Australia

My orientation is only starting on the 17th of Feb but leaving to Melbourne on the 4th biggrin.gif

onelove89
post Feb 2 2011, 10:25 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(huyified @ Feb 2 2011, 10:22 PM)
Here's the address 256 Elizabeth Street
Hobart TAS 7000, Australia

My orientation is only starting on the 17th of Feb but leaving to Melbourne on the 4th  biggrin.gif
ah~ =) think they'll bring you around the place (hopefully), it ain't that big at all. Well at least you can enjoy the chinese new year here a while =D anyone going over with u?
huyified
post Feb 2 2011, 10:44 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 2 2011, 10:25 PM)
ah~ =) think they'll bring you around the place (hopefully), it ain't that big at all. Well at least you can enjoy the chinese new year here a while =D anyone going over with u?
Yeah hoping my homestay's a good one sweat.gif .Only 1 day CNY sad.gif

Nope,only myself going there...my gawd. cry.gif
windz93
post Feb 2 2011, 11:26 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Feb 1 2011, 11:32 PM)
Going to Melbourne soon would liketo knowis there any winter clothes that I might need like the basics would it be very cold?? My friends say during April it will be what's the safe amount of stuff.  And does it rain a lot in Melbourne another suggested I get a trench coat
When you get into Melbourne, go to Kathmandu, you can get warm clothes from there, should be sufficient. The polypropylene thermals are very good, including the fleece jackets. You may want to consider an outer jacket, a windbreaker that's also rain proof. In Kathmandu, this is the gore-tex range, but there are other brands like Snow Gum, which has similar and cheaper jackets.
Holyboyz
post Feb 2 2011, 11:49 PM

421 posts

The visa is tied to your passport right? one would not need to print anyting exept the email they sent you during the confrimation.
Shooterz
post Feb 3 2011, 01:43 AM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Feb 2 2011, 11:49 PM)
The visa is tied to your passport right? one would not need to print anyting exept the email they sent you during the confrimation.
I think so , can print the one in the VEVO ?

Same thing right ?
onelove89
post Feb 3 2011, 09:39 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(huyified @ Feb 2 2011, 10:44 PM)
Yeah hoping my homestay's a good one  sweat.gif .Only 1 day CNY  sad.gif

Nope,only myself going there...my gawd. cry.gif
it's still good =) Don't worry, to make u feel better I can't celebrate my CNY for the next 3 years starting 2012 *due to my uni schedule T.T* anyways, if you need help in directions, or any stuff related to hobart just pop me a msg =) I'll try to answer them.

Well, don't get too shocked by the place, esp when you get off the plane. =)

Happy Chinese New Year to everyone here! =D
StarGhazzer
post Feb 3 2011, 12:09 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Feb 2 2011, 11:49 PM)
The email is not required although many will carry a copy of that email for a sense of security. Your visa will be linked to your passport electronically and the immigration officers would already have the required information ready when they process your documents.

You could also opt to get a physical copy of the visa which is available as a sticker in your passport. This could be done by visiting the Australian High Commission in M'sia (or Singapore if you're down south, or in Australia once you arrive), although bear in mind that they only allow this for 2 hours per working day. Most likely as a deterrence for people to get it done since the visa already available in electronic form.
KVReninem
post Feb 3 2011, 02:35 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 2 2011, 10:37 AM)
Does anyone ever read the front page anymore?
Outdated Duh! go update yourself smile.gif

those in KL have better options - -Uniqlo-

Money wise, Uniqlo-n-other offers better choices than what-ever-made-in-china-rip-off-pricetag-when-you-can-get-the-same-thing-in-msia-

Dont tell me you looking for Kathmandu, Snowgum, Hanley Hensen, Aussie disposal- when winter is just all about wind chill laugh.gif

onelove89
post Feb 3 2011, 02:46 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 3 2011, 02:35 PM)

Money wise, Uniqlo-n-other offers better choices than what-ever-made-in-china-rip-off-pricetag-when-you-can-get-the-same-thing-in-msia-

Dont tell me you looking for Kathmandu, Snowgum, Hanley Hensen, Aussie disposal- when winter is just all about wind chill  laugh.gif
i got myself a fleece while i was in KL at uniqlo, it's really good and warm =D
windz93
post Feb 3 2011, 03:37 PM

32 posts

Dont tell me you looking for Kathmandu, Snowgum, Hanley Hensen, Aussie disposal- when winter is just all about wind chill  laugh.gif
Hey. re Kathmandu etc, this came from someone who has lived in Melbourne for the last 25 years....I think that counts for something. Anyway it's a choice, nobody has to get it, it was just information for sharing. Maybe others can take the cold more than others, and this is Melbourne, not Perth or Brisbane.
anonymousguy
post Feb 4 2011, 12:54 AM

hey guys smile.gif anyone goin to newcastle,nsw this comin intake?
TShaya
post Feb 4 2011, 07:29 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

1) For someone who claims to be in Miri, you seem to think everyone is in KL who has access to Uniqlo. Or Universal Traveller.

2) I'm not entirely convinced about the quality and suitability of Uniqlo. I will freely admit my fashion sense, if there was ever one, is questionable at best, but I find people who buy winter type clothing tend to stick out like a sore thumb in relation to the prevailing style of Z = 0.

Uniqlo IMO tends to assume you're in some mild place (Malaysian government offices) or in the ski slopes of Hokkaido. I question their practicability in more constant climates like Brisbane.

3) I buy my clothing for Australian use in Giodarno (which is different from the SEA ones) and Big W.
zeke'stah
post Feb 5 2011, 01:24 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(anonymousguy @ Feb 4 2011, 12:54 AM)
hey guys smile.gif anyone goin to newcastle,nsw this comin intake?
headed to NSW eh you... biggrin.gif i've not found anyone heading to SA yet... x(
Hikari0307
post Feb 5 2011, 02:26 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(zeke'stah @ Feb 5 2011, 01:24 AM)
headed to NSW eh you... biggrin.gif  i've not found anyone heading to SA yet... x(
I've got a lot of friends transferring onshore to UniSA from Taylor's =D
Most are heading there next week or so ^^

Oh yeah just to remind everyone before I head to brisbane =D
be sure to register with Education Malaysia Australia (Formerly known as Malaysian Student Department Australia)
See if stuff like the Queensland flood or like something that happened in Egypt it'll be very incovenient if the government doesn't know your existence ^^"
Register especially the one with MOHE, it's compulsory but a lot of people do not seem to think doing so is important. It'll only take a few minutes and everything is online so there's really no excuse ^^ It's a requirement of your passport if you took the time to read the conditions at the back.

http://www.msda.org.au/
EMA Online Registration
Online Registration Via MOHE(Compulsory)

PELAJAR MALAYSIA DI LUAR NEGARA DIKEHENDAKI MENDAFTAR BERDASARKAN JUSTIFIKASI SEPERTI BERIKUT:-

KENYATAAN DALAM PASPORT ANTARABANGSA

Warganegara Malaysia yang tinggal atau menetap di luar negara hendaklah mendaftarkan nama dan alamatnya di pejabat perwakilan Malaysia. Kegagalan berbuat demikian boleh menyebabkan kesulitan mendapatkan pertolongan dan perlindungan semasa berlaku kecemasan. Kegagalan ini juga boleh menyebabkan tindakan perlucutan taraf kewarganegaraan Malaysia di bawah perkara 25(2) perlembagaan persekutuan.

KESELAMATAN
Memastikan keselamatan pelajar terbela jika berlaku sebarang kecemasan atau bencana di negara tempatan.

HAL-EHWAL KEBAJIKAN
Mudah dan cepat menghubungi dan membantu pelajar dalam perkara-perkara berkaitan kebajikan pelajar.

Sebarang pertanyaan atau maklumat lanjut boleh diperoleh dengan menghubungi Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi Malaysia melalui email : uhejpm@mohe.gov.my

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Feb 5 2011, 02:26 AM
anonymousguy
post Feb 5 2011, 03:38 AM

haha dont worry while i was at idp the other day i saw a bunch of ppl goin to unisa so u'll have kaki there smile.gif
zeke'stah
post Feb 5 2011, 03:42 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(anonymousguy @ Feb 5 2011, 03:38 AM)
haha dont worry while i was at idp the other day i saw a bunch of ppl goin to unisa so u'll have kaki there smile.gif
LOL...a bunch of people?? xD i'll be at SAIBT first tho... sad.gif

Added on February 5, 2011, 3:43 am
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Feb 5 2011, 02:26 AM)
I've got a lot of friends transferring onshore to UniSA from Taylor's =D
Most are heading there next week or so ^^
Oh yeah just to remind everyone before I head to brisbane =D
be sure to register with Education Malaysia Australia (Formerly known as Malaysian Student Department Australia)
See if stuff like the Queensland flood or like something that happened in Egypt it'll be very incovenient if the government doesn't know your existence ^^"
Register especially the one with MOHE, it's compulsory but a lot of people do not seem to think doing so is important. It'll only take a few minutes and everything is online so there's really no excuse ^^ It's a requirement of your passport if you took the time to read the conditions at the back.

http://www.msda.org.au/
EMA Online Registration
Online Registration Via MOHE(Compulsory)
this is cool man. i just registered and updated my information. haha...never heard of this tho

This post has been edited by zeke'stah: Feb 5 2011, 03:43 AM
anonymousguy
post Feb 5 2011, 06:30 AM

haha like 3 or 4 la.. hey better than nothing man.. newcastle i havent heard anyone goin yet lol tongue.gif
jtsl9
post Feb 5 2011, 09:51 AM

276 posts

dont worry if you have no friends going with you, you will make new friends.
That is the whole point of going abroad, to learn and experience something new and be independent.
zeke'stah
post Feb 5 2011, 08:51 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Feb 5 2011, 09:51 AM)
dont worry if you have no friends going with you, you will make new friends.
That is the whole point of going abroad, to learn and experience something new and be independent.
dude, if there's a "like" option i'd like your post... haha!!

141 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:32 AM