Astro byond spilts into 2 or 3 TVs

DeZeque
post Mar 11 2010, 06:34 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 11 2010, 11:05 AM)
i just wire a Cat5E cable from the byond box to my room tv upstairs and use 3 out of 4 pair (Yellow/Red/White) as composite.. works perfectly..
u connect directly without Balun? i thought the impedance between the RCA and Cat5E are different? anyway... since got real working case.. great... thumbup.gif
coolandy
post Mar 16 2010, 04:00 PM

314 posts

Where can I buy an additional Beyond Remote Control? Only from Astro?
flodder
post Mar 16 2010, 09:48 PM

6 batang ab numb addicted with 6 bintang
1,039 posts

i think you should take converter better
ah_chak
post Mar 16 2010, 10:19 PM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

QUOTE(DeZeque @ Mar 11 2010, 06:34 PM)
u connect directly without Balun? i thought the impedance between the RCA and Cat5E are different? anyway... since got real working case.. great...  thumbup.gif
they're made out of the same material inside not meh? copper mah.. since mine works far better than the RCA -> Coax converter.. it's like the decoder is in my bedroom connected directly using RCA.. LOL!
eMKs
post Mar 17 2010, 09:55 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 16 2010, 10:19 PM)
they're made out of the same material inside not meh? copper mah.. since mine works far better than the RCA -> Coax converter.. it's like the decoder is in my bedroom connected directly using RCA.. LOL!

Yeah, it's still copper but different impedance. Cat5 is twisted pair cable, impedance is about 120 ohm. Coax is 75 ohm, with 1 core in the middle & the other as a skin. Wonder why you get perfect signal.
DeZeque
post Mar 17 2010, 02:44 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Mar 17 2010, 09:55 AM)
Yeah, it's still copper but different impedance. Cat5 is twisted pair cable, impedance is about 120 ohm. Coax is 75 ohm, with 1 core in the middle & the other as a skin. Wonder why you get perfect signal.
Exactly my point... but hey... if it's working.. i won't complaint... eheheh... i've never done it myself.. but if it works.. i'll do it also... of course... i'll try on small scale first... thumbup.gif

this really makes me wonder if all the theories i read all this while are 100% true or not... not just on this thing.. but others as well... ehehehe...
doey
post Mar 17 2010, 05:15 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Mar 11 2010, 11:05 AM)
i just wire a Cat5E cable from the byond box to my room tv upstairs and use 3 out of 4 pair (Yellow/Red/White) as composite.. works perfectly..

Hi ah chak.... care to explain how you connect? any diagram/photo perhaps?

prasys
post Mar 17 2010, 05:25 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

This is how my setup is

TV to Astro --> HDMI

TV to Media Center PC --> Yellow/Red/White Cable (good ol RCA Cables)

I can still do two outputs , its not a problem at all. I can record shows this way on my Media centre pc which is connected to my HDTV via HDMI ! .
Fawkes
post Mar 19 2010, 03:34 PM

584 posts

Anyone tried this to see if it works with Astro B.Yond?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1347595

How's the quality as well?
driftmeister
post Mar 27 2010, 10:08 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

regarding this AEM Link
wat cable does it need???
SUSnatzakaria
post Mar 28 2010, 09:51 AM

1,022 posts

I believe it uses the RF cable
driftmeister
post Mar 28 2010, 10:07 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Mar 28 2010, 09:51 AM)
I believe it uses the RF cable
any other feedback??
need to ask my contractor to conseal the wiring already notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Seng_Kiat
post Apr 19 2010, 10:40 PM

5,580 posts

Guys,

I am a lil bit blur after reading the whole post of this thread. I am not so sure about it. sad.gif.

I am not sure what is RCA, RF, coax cable. tongue.gif. If I am right, RCA is a type of signal, carried by composite cable (the one with 3 color cable - yellow, red and white/black). RF is the old signal type where we use it back in antenna era last time. Coax cable is the hardware who carries RF signal. Is all right. smile.gif.

Ok if all are right, Let me explain about my current setup with old astro decoder:
- 2 TV - one in living room and another in bedroom. They are just 10-20 meters away.
- TV in Living room is using 3 cable - yellow, red, black.
- TV in bedroom is using old time antenna cable - I assume is it coax cable (if my above explanation is right).
- Normally change channel at living room. Not a real problem because it just sit right in front my bedroom door.

So, here comes the questions. biggrin.gif.

I want to use astro byond with 2 TVs.I dont mind 1 with HD and another is SD. so, what I can think of now is:

- HDMI connects my TV and astro decoder. Right?
- to make my bedroom TV works, I have to get a AV-RF converter - to convert 3 color cable (or known as RCA signal) to RF signal. Then I am set to go.

am I right guys?? if that is right, I want to add a value to my TV in bedroom - where I can change channel without going to living room. biggrin.gif. what do I need? I read in previous post, u guys are talking about infra red, bla bla but I have no idea. anyone here care to explain?

I am really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance. smile.gif.

Fawkes
post Apr 19 2010, 10:50 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 19 2010, 10:40 PM)
Guys,

I am a lil bit blur after reading the whole post of this thread. I am not so sure about it. sad.gif.

I am not sure what is RCA, RF, coax cable. tongue.gif. If I am right, RCA is a type of signal, carried by composite cable (the one with 3 color cable - yellow, red and white/black). RF is the old signal type where we use it back in antenna era last time. Coax cable is the hardware who carries RF signal. Is all right. smile.gif.

Ok if all are right, Let me explain about my current setup with old astro decoder:
- 2 TV - one in living room and another in bedroom. They are just 10-20 meters away.
- TV in Living room is using 3 cable - yellow, red, black.
- TV in bedroom is using old time antenna cable - I assume is it coax cable (if my above explanation is right).
- Normally change channel at living room. Not a real problem because it just sit right  in front my bedroom door.

So, here comes the questions. biggrin.gif.

I want to use astro byond with 2 TVs.I dont mind 1 with HD and another is SD. so, what I can think of now is:

- HDMI connects my TV and astro decoder. Right?
- to make my bedroom TV works, I have to get a AV-RF converter - to convert 3 color cable (or known as RCA signal) to RF signal. Then I am set to go.

am I right guys?? if that is right, I want to add a value to my TV in bedroom - where I can change channel without going to living room. biggrin.gif. what do I need? I read in previous post, u guys are talking about infra red, bla bla but I have no idea. anyone here care to explain?

I am really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance. smile.gif.
I think you can try this http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1347595
izz70
post Apr 22 2010, 08:00 PM

226 posts

I have finally bought a new converter that works but I can't get the AEM X-Tra Link to work cos I dunno where to point the small thing on the decoder.
Can someone help me please?
TSviper1912
post Apr 26 2010, 02:33 PM

44 posts

Picture worth thousand words!!!!!!!!

MyDevil
post Apr 26 2010, 02:58 PM

7,480 posts

QUOTE(viper1912 @ Apr 26 2010, 02:33 PM)
Picture worth thousand words!!!!!!!!
thumbup.gif How much is the AV-RF convertor?

This post has been edited by MyDevil: Apr 26 2010, 02:59 PM
TSviper1912
post Apr 27 2010, 12:31 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Apr 26 2010, 02:58 PM)
thumbup.gif  How much is the AV-RF convertor?
Is posted at the begining of this post. pls go n read.

Available at ACE hardware as well.....different brand from mine Daiwa
ayoi9
post May 2 2010, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(viper1912 @ Apr 27 2010, 12:31 PM)
Is posted at the begining of this post. pls go n read.

Available at ACE hardware as well.....different brand from mine Daiwa
smile.gif Hi guys, I'm new to this thread. I'm waiting for my byond to come, n my current setup is

> old decoder upstairs, parent's bedroom (flat screen tv)
> Long Coax cable to living room downstairs (bigger flat screen tv)
and my AEM link receiver (rosak already, need new one)
when the byond arrive, I'm thinking to bring the decoder downstairs, and AEM link in my parents room so I can get HD in the living room.

after reading all the posts, what I should get is
(correct me if there's any mistake)

I need to buy a (AV to RF converter), connect from byond box to coax cable
a new AEM link receiver in the parents room upstairs, to change the channel
right?

to summarize thread, can anyone suggest what is the best
-(AV to RF converter) that i can get?

the best link receiver that works with byond?
and do I need a 2nd beyond controler for the link receiver?

kindly appreciate for replies

jasdeep2jaz
post May 15 2010, 09:36 PM

ive been through his thread, but im still blur, my house is still undergoing renovations, i will like to know how exactly cn i run asto beyond to all 4 tvs in my hse with hd quality, so far the shop people say only can use one tv hd, rest all sd, can someone please help me with this, with how exactly i need to run the wiring and what i need to buy, in order 4 all the 4 tvs to receieve hd. thank you

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:49 PM