11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Astro byond spilts into 2 or 3 TVs

TSviper1912
post Jan 4 2010, 11:29 AM, updated 16y ago

44 posts

Hi....

I've just got astro pple to install the byond decoder. According to the installer, this new decoder does not hv any output except component and HDMI. unlike d old decoder, they can hv another areal output. Where I used to run another line up to my bedroom as bedroom and living hall will be watching the same channel.

Any 1 watching 2 or 3 TV with byond decoder? Installer say it can only support 1? My fren was telling me to get d Coax Spilter 2-way satelite. before the astro cable goes into the decoder...spilt 1 out to my bedroom. Anyone has any solution for me, you guys out there already got a solution for this?

Thanx in advance

This post has been edited by viper1912: Jan 4 2010, 11:31 AM
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 4 2010, 11:40 AM

1,976 posts

you'd need another decoder in the bedroom, won't you?
stimix
post Jan 4 2010, 11:50 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

This been discussed extensively in the existing Astroi Byond thread.

U just need a RCA splitter (~RM1.50/pc X2 or 3) & a AV-RF converter to convert the RCA to RF (The common TV antenna cable). Can liao
TSviper1912
post Jan 4 2010, 11:51 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jan 4 2010, 11:40 AM)
you'd need another decoder in the bedroom, won't you?
For earlier astro decoder...not decoder is needed. Only RF cable only directly into TV.
mlthum
post Jan 4 2010, 12:11 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 4 2010, 11:50 AM)
This been discussed extensively in the existing Astroi Byond thread.

U just need a RCA splitter (~RM1.50/pc X2 or 3) & a AV-RF converter to convert the RCA to RF (The common TV antenna cable). Can liao
Ya and thanks to Stimix on the recommendation. I did update the solution at the Astro Byond thread. May be let me elaborate more here.

Previous setup while using old Astro Decoder
Cabling: coaxial cable from living hall to bedroom
Connectivity: the above coaxial cable connect to the astro decoder coaxial output

New setup using Astro Byond setup box
Cabling: remain no change for your coaxial cable from living room to bedroom, but require additional RCA cable
Item require: AV transmitter
Connectivity:
RCA cable connect from setup box (Red/White/Yellow) > RCA input @ AV transmitter
Coaxial cable from bedroom connect to the AV transmitter coaxial output.

TSviper1912
post Jan 4 2010, 12:30 PM

44 posts

Connectivity: the above coaxial cable connect to the astro decoder coaxial output

Cabling: remain no change for your coaxial cable from living room to bedroom, but require additional RCA cable
Connectivity:
RCA cable connect from setup box (Red/White/Yellow) > RCA input @ AV transmitter

[/quote]

Thanx mlthum,

Now with your explanation I can understand better. Which means with this byond decoder all I need is a AV transmitter. This AV transmitter will transfer out via coaxial output. which works the same way like d old decoder.

byond decoder output via RCA to AV transmitter and AV transmitter coaxial output to RF cable to my bedroom.

Any recommendation, where I can get this AV transmitter? IT mall sell these ? Any brand particular you can recommend?.

Thanx...

pirateguy
post Jan 4 2010, 01:20 PM

1,409 posts

By the way, if Byond is connected to HDMI tv (and in use), the RCA port still give output? I haven't done this test.
mlthum
post Jan 4 2010, 01:41 PM

73 posts

[quote=viper1912,Jan 4 2010, 12:30 PM]

Connectivity:

[/quote]

Thanx mlthum,

Now with your explanation I can understand better. Which means with this byond decoder all I need is a AV transmitter. This AV transmitter will transfer out via coaxial output. which works the same way like d old decoder.

byond decoder output via RCA to AV transmitter and AV transmitter coaxial output to RF cable to my bedroom.

Any recommendation, where I can get this AV transmitter? IT mall sell these ? Any brand particular you can recommend?.

Thanx...

[/quote]

I got the transmitter at Jln Pasar a shop call Lan Ho. The transmitter cost is around RM40. I did took photo but at the moment at office may be tonight will upload the photo of the transmitter.

Added on January 4, 2010, 1:42 pm[quote=pirateguy,Jan 4 2010, 01:20 PM]
By the way, if Byond is connected to HDMI tv (and in use), the RCA port still give output? I haven't done this test.

[/quote]

yes RCA and component are able to provide the output even HDMI is connected. Which mean it can be 3 output at the same time.

This post has been edited by mlthum: Jan 4 2010, 01:42 PM
ssyam
post Jan 4 2010, 02:07 PM

110 posts

i'm using AEM xtra link 2 to view astro and change channel at 2nd tv in bedroom.
last time used this gadget for old astro decoder and now use it to link byond decoder.

TVSPY
post Jan 4 2010, 02:09 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(viper1912 @ Jan 4 2010, 11:51 AM)
For earlier astro decoder...not decoder is needed. Only RF cable only directly into TV.
if that was the case why would you even need a decoder to start with?
It is simply wrong to think you can take the signal direct from the dish and plug into a Tv and watch astro. it must pass thru a decoder.
TSviper1912
post Jan 4 2010, 02:16 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(ssyam @ Jan 4 2010, 02:07 PM)
i'm using  AEM xtra link 2 to  view astro and change channel at 2nd tv in bedroom.
last time used this gadget for old astro decoder and now  use it to link  byond decoder.

Can u elaborate a bit on how do u hook this AEM xtra link? How do u connect to byond decoder?

DeZeque
post Jan 4 2010, 02:17 PM

218 posts

anyone know whether jalan pasar got sell active hdmi splitter or not aaa?? them both tv also can get HD... i found on some websites are quote expensives... few hundred USD..
accitzone
post Jan 4 2010, 02:35 PM

399 posts

i'm using  AEM xtra link 2 to  view astro and change channel at 2nd tv in bedroom.
last time used this gadget for old astro decoder and now  use it to link  byond decoder.

my bros n me uses this too.. i use the wired 1, my elder bro uses the wireless 1.

QUOTE(DeZeque @ Jan 4 2010, 02:17 PM)
anyone know whether jalan pasar got sell active hdmi splitter or not aaa?? them both tv also can get HD... i found on some websites are quote expensives... few hundred USD..
bought it at my local electric shop...

we can change the astro channels via this thing. my oni grouse is tht i hv the wired, but the wirelss is lousy a bit.

mine controls the astro via a small thing put at the IR receiver on the astro decoded. 1 decoder in the hall tv and the other in the family living tv.

This post has been edited by accitzone: Jan 4 2010, 02:38 PM
ar188
post Jan 4 2010, 06:04 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(TVSPY @ Jan 4 2010, 02:09 PM)
if that was the case why would you even need a decoder to start with?
It is simply wrong to think you can take the signal direct from the dish and plug into a Tv and watch astro. it must pass thru a decoder.
maybe he got confused.. RF cable to other TVs is still after the decoder.. (not the RF signal before decoder)
klguy
post Jan 4 2010, 07:41 PM

71 posts

May I know where & how much you paid for this item! Thanks in advance! wink.gif
mlthum
post Jan 4 2010, 09:54 PM

73 posts

[quote=mlthum,Jan 4 2010, 01:41 PM]
Thanx mlthum,

Thanx...

[/quote]

I got the transmitter at Jln Pasar a shop call Lan Ho. The transmitter cost is around RM40. I did took photo but at the moment at office may be tonight will upload the photo of the transmitter.

Added on January 4, 2010, 1:42 pm

yes RCA and component are able to provide the output even HDMI is connected. Which mean it can be 3 output at the same time.

[/quote]

This post has been edited by mlthum: Jan 5 2010, 08:47 PM
TSviper1912
post Jan 4 2010, 10:02 PM

44 posts

Hi mlthum,

I just got the dawa AV-RF transmitter.

I able to connect to the byond decoder....but I got a problem.

There is pic, but the picture got no colour and there is noise.....I tried all the connector available at back of byond decoder. Unable to solve this problem.

This is how I connect, byond RCA out to AV-RF converter in ...and converter RF out to my bedroom TV.

Anyone can comment?

sunnyK
post Jan 4 2010, 10:10 PM

663 posts

i wonder , will a hdmi spiltter and a long and short hdmi cable helps to solve this issue

one cable connect to the original Tv link and the second to the oem Tv link

This post has been edited by sunnyK: Jan 4 2010, 10:11 PM
mlthum
post Jan 4 2010, 10:21 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(viper1912 @ Jan 4 2010, 10:02 PM)
Hi mlthum,

I just got the dawa AV-RF transmitter.

I able to connect to the byond decoder....but I got a problem.

There is pic, but the picture got no colour and there is noise.....I tried all the connector available at back of byond decoder. Unable to solve this problem.

This is how I connect, byond RCA out to AV-RF converter in ...and converter RF out to my bedroom TV.

Anyone can comment?
u may bring ur tv to make a direct connect using RCA to TV RCA input see whether u got the same problem. If yes then proceed to contact Astro CS
else bring the transmitter back to the shop and ask for exchange may be the transmitter "koyak" that failed to transmit the signal.
for me the connectibity quite straigh forward,
Byond RCA out to AV Transmitter RCA in then AV transmitter TV out (coax) to bedroom TV in (coax) and do an auto tuning at the bedroom tv - DONE
TSviper1912
post Jan 5 2010, 09:03 AM

44 posts

[quote=mlthum,Jan 4 2010, 10:21 PM]
u may bring ur tv to make a direct connect using RCA to TV RCA input see whether u got the same problem. If yes then proceed to contact Astro CS
else bring the transmitter back to the shop and ask for exchange may be the transmitter "koyak" that failed to transmit the signal.
for me the connectibity quite straigh forward,
Byond RCA out to AV Transmitter RCA in then AV transmitter TV out (coax) to bedroom TV in (coax) and do an auto tuning at the bedroom tv - DONE

After I replied you ...I go back n auto tunning the TV at last I got it. But the picture compare to earlier setting (not byond decoder) a bit jagger...on top of the image. Now currently using the stock yellow white red cable. Will change to RGB cable later tonite.

Which output you connected to the byond decoder? Y Pr Pb or the Video , L& R for audio?

Here is the picture of the AV-RF converter I got.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:57 PM