153 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.

TSedyek
post Sep 7 2010, 02:52 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(COMBOConvenience @ Sep 7 2010, 03:06 AM)
nice forum... keep up!
bring on any new ideas.

btw.. does anyone involve in karaoke business? like redbox etc..
Redbox is not available for franchise. If you want to know more about karaoke, you can ask your question here.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1482876&hl=
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 7 2010, 08:42 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 7 2010, 03:52 PM)
Redbox is not available for franchise. If you want to know more about karaoke, you can ask your question here.
my cousin closed her karaoke shop

1st heavy capital if you target youngsters like RedBox did.... and high rental as you need locations like sg wang etc...

2nd what is the fun of karakeing without alcohol? and this indirectly leads to GROs

3rd GROs will imminently lure the watchdogs from all species, and you need to feed this watchdogs frequently inorder to survive
else, you can survive like Karaoke.. clean
COMBOConvenience
post Sep 8 2010, 02:43 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 7 2010, 08:42 PM)
my cousin closed her karaoke shop

1st heavy capital if you target youngsters like RedBox did.... and high rental as you need locations like sg wang etc...

2nd what is the fun of karakeing without alcohol? and this indirectly leads to GROs

3rd GROs will imminently lure the watchdogs from all species, and you need to feed this watchdogs frequently inorder to survive
else, you can survive like Karaoke.. clean
disagree with u.. gro & alcohol not necessary (suitable if ur target market is for businessman)

IMO.. songs provided+ sound quality + price & location is the x factor here...(general aka classified as U)

ken_zie
post Sep 13 2010, 01:31 PM

830 posts

I have a question. Let's say I'm getting my stock for RM 20 per pieces. How much profit should I earn from the RM 20? 5%, 10%, 15%, 20% or more? Is there anyway to calculate for the pricing?
Jordy
post Sep 13 2010, 07:55 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Sep 13 2010, 01:31 PM)
I have a question. Let's say I'm getting my stock for RM 20 per pieces. How much profit should I earn from the RM 20? 5%, 10%, 15%, 20% or more? Is there anyway to calculate for the pricing?
ken_zie,

What kind of question are you asking here? It's up to you how much you want to earn. Are you in business? doh.gif
wh0cares
post Sep 13 2010, 10:32 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 13 2010, 07:55 PM)
ken_zie,

What kind of question are you asking here? It's up to you how much you want to earn. Are you in business? doh.gif
Maybe he wanted to ask :

Cost of item = RM20.00 including shipping & custom tax.

Selling price:
a) Markup 100% = RM40.00

or

b) Markup 20% = RM24.00 , but hoping to sell in bulk.

or

C) Markup 50% = RM30.00, but 2nd item at 50% less.

or

D) Markup 120% = RM44.00 , give 20% less

or

E) Markup 80%=RM36 , give free voucher RM5.00

Which do you think is more profitable?
SeeD
post Sep 14 2010, 12:13 AM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(wh0cares @ Sep 13 2010, 10:32 PM)
Maybe he wanted to ask :

Cost of item = RM20.00 including shipping & custom tax.

Selling price:
a) Markup 100% = RM40.00

or

b) Markup 20% = RM24.00 , but hoping to sell in bulk.

or

C) Markup 50% = RM30.00, but 2nd item at 50% less.

or

D) Markup 120% = RM44.00 , give 20% less

or

E) Markup 80%=RM36 , give free voucher RM5.00

Which do you think is more profitable?
Isn't it dependent on the market price?
You don't want to sell too low to lose out on revenue and spoil the market.
In the same time you also don't want to sell too high because buyers will not buy from you.
hackwire
post Sep 14 2010, 12:51 AM

4,256 posts

Do you guys think digital photo printing is a good business? I mean can you think of any good shop to print and bind photobook? Would you go to photobook store to print your photos ?
henrytanck
post Sep 14 2010, 01:49 AM

31 posts

I have some question here. Let me explain my situation first.

I'm 22 years old this year, working in Singapore. Going to Singapore everyday from Johor Bahru. 4 good friends of mine is studying at UTM Johor Bahru still, they are all top student.

Me and this 4 guys would like to start a cafe business in Johor Bahru. We already have all the ideas, cafe themes, supplier, shop design everything. But what we need the most now is the capital.

Based on the calculation from my friend, we need RM 300K to start this business with tahan this cafe at least 6 months.

I have a saving of RM 20K but this amount is not enough for us to start this business at all.

What should I do now brother and sister?

I know my idea is good and it is new in Johor Bahru and Singapore market, so I believe that this idea can attract the customer either from Johor or from Singapore.

4 of them don't have capital at all. Because they are all student still.

Brother and sister. Should 5 of us apply for loan with SME bank by submit our business proposal to bank? We are able to do so.

We really need such amount to start a cafe.

If really cannot, what should we do? We have the idea already.

Seek for the advice from all of you, brother and sister. Thanks and God bless.
hackwire
post Sep 14 2010, 07:44 AM

4,256 posts

i say don't start with so many partner . you will lose your friends so young that you cannot imagine when all of you are put in one kitchen.

if u love your friends or family, do make them your partner.
N~R
post Sep 14 2010, 08:36 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 19 2009, 11:24 AM)
The purpose I open this thread is to gather all business owners to share their experience in Small and Medium cash flow business. This will be a guide to someone out there who intends to invest in small and medium business. I share mine 1st.

*Edited - Add in Equipment, Overhead, Rental, and other cost.
*All the income shown is Gross Profit only. It is not Net Profit.

Success :

1. Car wash
Capital : 20k
a. Water Jet Pump - RM 800 (3 nos) = RM 2,400
b. Soap Bomb (Snow Wash Dispenser) = RM 700 (2nd hand) *Just fill in the soap and it will come out with snow wash, and the shape is like a bomb
c. Detergent = RM 500. Always stock 10 tong (RM 50/tong).
d. Cleaning Cloth = RM 100 (50 pieces)
e. Other miscellaneous stuff = Book, Promotion banner etc. = RM 1,000
f. Minor renovation = Concrete ramp for under car wash. M&E wiring. Minor repair to the dessert house. = RM 15k
g. Some additional cash to start the day = RM 500
Partner : 1
Location : Nearby Government Office and Residential Area. Converted a dessert house to a carwash centre.
Monthly/Daily Income : Average 55 cars daily, average RM 11 per car.
Workers : 10 workers. RM 300 per person. With commission RM 1 per car and includes lunch
Duration : Manage it for 1 year and a half and sell it off.
Opinion : Good cash flow business. Easy to manage. thumbup.gif

2. Laundry
Capital : 10k (I take over from someone who owes money to the loan shark, and he needs money urgently.) brows.gif
a. Take over all the shop which includes 2 heavy duty washing machine , 3 heavy duty dryers, 2 iron and board, etc.
Partner : None
Location : Apartment area (Approx. 5,000 units). The only laundry available as there are only 2 rows of shoplot own by the same owner and I pay slightly higher rent to the owner and signed an agreement with him not to rent to any other laundry.  brows.gif
Monthly/Daily Income : RM 4 per kg (all kinds of clothes). Average income RM 25,000 per month. (Do not include contract wash from nearby reflexology centre, cafes and restaurant)
Workers : 10 workers. RM 400 per person. With commission RM 0.50 per kg and includes lunch
Duration : Manage it for 2 years and sell it off.
Opinion : Good cash flow business. For walk-in business, find location with medium/heavy populated residential area. thumbup.gif

3. Western Food Stall
Capital : 15k.
a. Minor renovation of the stall = RM 2,000
b. Additional aluminum stall = RM 3,000
b. All the equipment necessary for cooking (Utensils, Grilled Plate and Fridge stand the major portion)= RM 5,000
c. Rental = RM 3,600 (RM 1,200/month. 2 + 1)
d. Cash to buy ingredients = RM 500
d. Some additional cash to start the day = RM 500
Monthly/Daily Income : In weekdays, average 30 plates of steak. And average 50 plates during Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Average RM 15 per plate.
Workers : 6 workers. With commission RM 1 per plate.
Duration : Half a year. Sell it off to my partner.
Opinion : Need a good chef who cooks FANTASTIC FOOD!  drool.gif  The hours is too long and tiring. Eventually every customer has their own taste, therefore complaints are un-avoidable. rclxub.gif

4. Room Rental
Capital : 40-50k.
Refer to my thread on this. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1240408&hl=
Monthly/Daily Income : Average income RM 2,600 per month.
Workers : 1 worker. Ah ma. Cleaning services.
Duration : 3 years. Ended setting up 8 locations and sell it off.
Opinion : Need good management. Humans are the most complicated animals on earth. Some are fussy, some are grouchy, you name it.  rclxub.gif
Failure :

1. Computer Sales and Services
Capital : 20k
Partner : 2 (Too many chef spoils the broth)
Monthly/Daily Income : The peak sales is only RM 3,xxx. Lowest RM 50.
Workers : 1 worker. Based on sales commission with base salary RM 500.
Duration : Bear the lost for half a year. Lost all the 20k after deducting all things, rental deposit and etc. and still need to fork in 1k to wind up the company. vmad.gif 
Opinion : Too competitive. Too lousy margin. Too many partners. Since then, I reject every computer venture that approach to me. (They keep pitching how they do it differently, bla bla bla.... and I still end up saying "NO, thanks".)

2. Nasi Lemak & Kuih Stall
Capital : 10k
Monthly/Daily Income : The peak sales is RM 600 per day. After everything sold out. RM 2 per bungkus nasi lemak. Target 200 bungkus everyday.
Workers : 1 worker. RM 300
Opinion : Fail due to the failure commitment of my partner. Today lazy, do only 50 bungkus. Tommorrow rajin, do 200 bungkus. Therefore, I close down the stall and sold off the stall for 5k. Still RUGI 5k!  vmad.gif
If your Nasi Lemak partner is hardworking enough so its going to be a success but who knows?
From my view conclusion of business production,labor or anything that can be create a product rather than reseller or distributor is the best smile.gif

Example:
Food stall we only use electric,water,ingredient,oil,rental,workers to create a food/product so thats a kind of production
megawoon
post Sep 14 2010, 12:02 PM

37 posts

Hi,i am new to this thread..but i love a lot here..because it gave me a lot of knowledge about business...ok,back to the main point.. currently,i have 300k capital..and i am looking for a business...but i dun have any idea what business should i go for..is there any suggestion? Recently, my gf told me she wish to open a clothes shop... i think is it not a bad idea,as i know... opening a normal clothes shop just need around rm30k-rm50k then can open d...is it a profitable business? is there anyone know where to get the supplier for the stock? Help me pls!!
hackwire
post Sep 14 2010, 12:05 PM

4,256 posts

you can always hire someone like me to provide marketing and consultation if you want.
I can do a report for you and locating finding that suit the type of business. Pm me if you want to engage my service. i can charge a very nominal fee that will put your goal into action. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hackwire: Sep 14 2010, 12:06 PM
NelsonBoy
post Sep 14 2010, 04:46 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

i managed to finish this thread within 5hours of reading.

TS, thanks for the info.

Dear forummer,
Please include more info and details of what you are doing. not just dump a few sentences here and there and wait for your ans.

do some researches. you are wasting bandwidth ?
frozenfeel7
post Sep 14 2010, 06:25 PM

24 posts

Hi Edyek,
can i know more about your oil plam plantation company? (the start up period, expected capital). i believe this is a good industry to go into, however the start up capital is quite large.

SUSrelaxtoday
post Sep 15 2010, 10:34 AM

125 posts

hey hackwire, I thought you are doing laundry business?

anyways, where to find honest mentor and partner? smile.gif

Added on September 15, 2010, 10:36 am
QUOTE(henrytanck @ Sep 14 2010, 01:49 AM)

I'm 22 years old this year, working in Singapore. Going to Singapore everyday from Johor Bahru. 4 good friends of mine is studying at UTM Johor Bahru still, they are all top student.

Me and this 4 guys would like to start a cafe business in Johor Bahru. We already have all the ideas, cafe themes, supplier, shop design everything. But what we need the most now is the capital.

Based on the calculation from my friend, we need RM 300K to start this business with tahan this cafe at least 6 months.

I have a saving of RM 20K but this amount is not enough for us to start this business at all.

I know my idea is good and it is new in Johor Bahru and Singapore market, so I believe that this idea can attract the customer either from Johor or from Singapore.

Brother and sister. Should 5 of us apply for loan with SME bank by submit our business proposal to bank? We are able to do so.

so many business partners.....
and with RM 300k you can open many other kind of shops.

This post has been edited by relaxtoday: Sep 15 2010, 10:36 AM
TSedyek
post Sep 15 2010, 11:52 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

To all, Sorry for the late reply. Being so busy lately.

QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 14 2010, 12:51 AM)
Do you guys think digital photo printing is a good business? I mean can you think of any good shop to print and bind photobook? Would you go to photobook store to print your photos ?
It is a good business as long you know how to market your services. Tie with those freelance photographers so that they can print their client photos using your services.

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Sep 14 2010, 01:49 AM)

If all of your 3 partners do not have capital, scrap the idea. Business loan are only given to those existing business. If you are looking for loan to support startup, so far there is none (some claim to have apply it, but all claimed approval fail).

300k for 4 students without business experience is a heavy burden. Start small business first to gain your experience, then you will know who and where to seek for funding for your next big venture in business.

Or you can simply ask for help from rich friends/relatives/family members.

QUOTE(megawoon @ Sep 14 2010, 12:02 PM)
Hi,i am new to this thread..but i love a lot here..because it gave me a lot of knowledge about business...ok,back to the main point.. currently,i have 300k capital..and i am looking for a business...but i dun have any idea what business should i go for..is there any suggestion? Recently, my gf told me she wish to open a clothes shop... i think is it not a bad idea,as i know... opening a normal clothes shop just need around rm30k-rm50k then can open d...is it a profitable business? is there anyone know where to get the supplier for the stock? Help me pls!!
Your question is too broad. What are you good in? Are you capable in handling restaurant/cafe? Are you able to run a laundry business? Think of what you want to start up and ask for suggestion. Then we can help by giving opinions.

I'm not in clothing industry, therefore I'm not able to provide any valuable suggestion to you.

QUOTE(hackwire @ Sep 14 2010, 12:05 PM)
you can always hire someone like me to provide marketing and consultation if you want.
I can do a report for you and locating finding that suit the type of business. Pm me if you want to engage my service. i can charge a very nominal fee that will put your goal into action. smile.gif
@megawoon, you just got yourself a consultant. smile.gif

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Sep 14 2010, 04:46 PM)
i managed to finish this thread within 5hours of reading.

TS, thanks for the info.

Dear forummer,
Please include more info and details of what you are doing. not just dump a few sentences here and there and wait for your ans.
Thanks for the time and effort. Cheers. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(frozenfeel7 @ Sep 14 2010, 06:25 PM)
Hi Edyek,
can i know more about your oil plam plantation company? (the start up period, expected capital). i believe this is a good industry to go into, however the start up capital is quite large.

My oil palm company is not cultivating oil palm (Personal oil palm plantation is only 10 acres). It is merely a management company which helps those owners who do not have experience/time to manage their oil palm estate. Revenue are based on fruit production and market price.

I've pump in RM 150k to start up the management company. Machinery such as lorries and harvesting tools.
SUSrelaxtoday
post Sep 16 2010, 03:18 PM

125 posts

I know business has risk.... and every different kind of industry has its own risk.. but which kind of business has less risk of closing down?
maybe you can give a list of business from relatively safest to dangerous?

boringz
post Sep 16 2010, 03:19 PM

181 posts

low risk: sell backside.

but even that has some risk. hahaha
mezerwi
post Sep 16 2010, 11:03 PM

340 posts

Hi all especially thread starter~

Currently:

Printing and Photocopy kiosk
Capital : forgot
Monthly/Daily Income : 600~1600[peak], 400[friday]
Workers : 2 fulltime, 5 part time
Opinion : Good business. But im a bit tension with my time management as im still studying. Huh~

153 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0385sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:26 PM