8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.

Awakened_Angel
post Dec 21 2009, 09:05 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 19 2009, 12:24 PM)
WAH...... soooooo many business ar

this is mine... and only sad.gif

business-hardware cum building materials
Capital : 1mil
Partner : 1(my wife)
Monthly/Daily Income : newly opened(<1 year range from 10k-15k perday)
Workers : 6 workers. RM 400 per person. 2 foreign labour
Duration : <one year.
Opinion : too many competition... big fish tend to eat smaller fish... here`s the catch... cash term, and your business is small, credit term, your sales is big and majority contractor`s term is bad and you`ll be dead...

Added on December 21, 2009, 9:11 am
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 20 2009, 04:09 AM)
what TS did was great, however it is far from the complete picture.........

1. how long do you expect the capital to last?
2. who are your competitors and what are they offering?
3. how stiff is the competition? (eg, how aggressive are they? or are there too many around the area?)
4. how do you plan to be different?
5. what's your marketing plan?

that also doesn't add to the complete picture. IMO every business is a battleground, and they're all DIFFERENT.

you can't just jump into a business without proper planning.
this is what I notice

and before you start, and you conuld do all the marketing survey thing and etc... but when you actually start, there`s more than meet theeye.. even more indirect competition rather than direct...

this is what I cant do in business.... just sit and ponder when customer will come in..............

Added on December 21, 2009, 9:17 am
QUOTE(wengkee87 @ Dec 20 2009, 10:32 PM)
I'm just an ordinary fresh graduate / young working adult hanging around to seek some opportunities. This thread is very valuable, thanks for sharing  thumbup.gif
this is the golden rules from my mum... experience chinaman style...

1) never talk bad/gossip about anyone... if you do, your credibility drops
2) never quarrel with someone till there`s no return... you`ll never know when you`ll meet them again
3) NEVER give credits/terms... you will ONLY know how people will do just not to pay... "you need to be a professional begger before you give credit"
4) if you forcefully give credict/terms based on project basis, get a proper black and white.. you will know how people would do just to bend reality and truth
5) NEVER make a promise you cant keep
6) NEVEr lie to customer

Added on December 21, 2009, 9:24 am
QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Dec 20 2009, 05:15 AM)
what about a paintball related business?
with the paintball sports starting to bloom in malaysia,
do u think it is a good time to start a paintball shop or paintball field? smile.gif
I would be delighted if the battlefield is like warscence or alien planet etc rather than obstacles of baloons doh.gif

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Dec 21 2009, 09:24 AM
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 21 2009, 12:08 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(gunners4ever @ Dec 21 2009, 01:02 PM)
As what I saw here all are needed quite a sum for a capital,anyone mind to share about early stages?How they gain the money,how they start to build their career?That will be interesting,at least for me.  tongue.gif
1) you are son of lee kar seng etc....
2) saving from working for decades
3) bank loans(this only apply if you have property for bank to hold)
4) partners.. which might result betrayal or quarrel...
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 21 2009, 04:29 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 21 2009, 04:04 PM)
Nowadays hardware business seems hard to survive, especially those with small capital and surviving in the city. It is not thriving as the golden age 5-10 years ago, whereby there is massive development.
In this kind of business, plus others like distributing or manufacturing etc., whoever gave the most flexible credit term is the winner. And for small capital players, this is bad bad bad. Very very bad, as you need cashflow to cover the overhead and expenses. Unless of course you have a list of major good payer, then that would be fine.

I've a friend who venture in hardware shop in a small town. And frankly speaking his business is good. As small town does not have big players, and he sweep almost all the hardware business in town.
true indeed..... things happen when your supply goods to you and your customer at the same price...

Angel, do you go and tender some big contract? Supplying paint, ironmongery, doors, etc?

NOPE... NEVER think of... mine is SME.. not MEGAE.. as each contract will easily sum up to 10 of millions or 100 mills for mega projects

mine range between 10k-100k ++ for each project... for CASH..

two major player....

main con like simedarby or sunway.. or government

Added on December 21, 2009, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(constant @ Dec 21 2009, 04:23 PM)
Pay for local worker only rm400 a month? How to survive? What is the pay of the foreign worker? doh.gif  Where is your shop?
foreign? RM 750.00...

government set the minimal line

Added on December 21, 2009, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 21 2009, 05:12 PM)
from what i see la, the BEST way is to go with Awakened_Angel's point #2.

even if business fail you still lose only what you saved, not ending up in debt to others.

as for partners or family, end up we OWE people. even if $$$ paid up all then still have a TIE / BOND that's forever there.

later anything they can come say "oh don't forget when you started blablablabla.............." some after later see your success they want a PORTION and very hard for you to decline cos you owe them to begin with.

and in worst cases, partners run away. shit happens, money can change people.

I have witnessed real brother and so called BROs quarrel till the point of no return... in partnership....

unless, you clearly stated in black and white

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Dec 21 2009, 04:32 PM
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 21 2009, 05:57 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 21 2009, 05:40 PM)
Ah, so you ask for cash terms and in return you give them a better discount?

I think you can approach some small and medium housing development. My friend approach a medium developer lately to supply paint, doors, ironmongery, WC and tiles. And he contra back half of his contract sum for a unit of terrace house. Not bad actually, considering the developer don't want to input heavy payment, and my friend wants a housing property so that he can sell for higher price upon completion of the project.
this is another option for baddebts.. but its the same where contrators unwilling to pay and will mark up the house price slightly higher...

I have few contractors who would contra

for some @$$h0l3 one, some would threatened to burn my house if I dare to ask money or resort ahlong or debt collector

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Dec 21 2009, 06:09 PM
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 21 2009, 06:27 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Dec 21 2009, 07:16 PM)
Success:
1. Freelance Marketing Consultant
I want to ask this freelance amateur "consultant" ....

are you willing to be responsible for anything else??

as consultant earn their title for it........

and often people provide "lip service" tend to call themself consultants doh.gif

as consultant bear their decision and be responsible for it... they get sued and get in jail for wrong advice given....
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 22 2009, 09:03 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 22 2009, 01:55 AM)

the difference between them? Preseverence! oh and of course, being REALISTIC in running business. Clearly the earlier party had no wisdom and knowledge when it comes to running business, having stupid and unrealistic expectations, and then resort to quitting when things don't look good.
many young businessman aren`t realistec.. many tend plan to be bill gate in shortest time possible...

many fallen into traps of deceive and lost all their money
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 22 2009, 09:47 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 22 2009, 10:06 AM)

I do have this wild dream when I first started, until I get a heavy whack from the failure from my 1st biz, I realize dream is just a dream. Being realistic and having an achievable dream is the right way.

My dad advice to me is "Don't wander too far off from your goals."
everyone wants to be like lee kar seng or bill gates.. but miracles don`t happen....in real life...

hard work does...

and if things are too good to be true, it is not true
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 22 2009, 12:04 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 22 2009, 12:45 PM)
It is not legal.  shakehead.gif
However in Malaysia, there are no enforcement to enforce those copyright laws. My friend is studying in Australia, and their Uni strictly do not allowed photocopy Text book. He come back to Malaysia to buy the text book using RM (which is way cheaper), get a few extra books and bring back to sell in AUD.  sweat.gif
*If the Uni is providing architectural course, therefore your colour printing services will have a big boost.
last time when I studied at TARC, the publisher came with a police and lawyer..

Rm 10,000 for each copy...

the tauke bancrupt on the spot....

Awakened_Angel
post Dec 22 2009, 03:35 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 22 2009, 03:48 PM)
our law enforcement organizations are useless la. pirated VCD / DVD shops are all over the place but they never take action also. at night no need to work already. like that how the ORI shop sellers going to survive?
one thing funny though

they are busy capturing pirated cd owners while everywhere in shopping mall people are selling it
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 27 2009, 09:27 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(jamzz @ Dec 27 2009, 12:05 AM)
Any bro can guide me in f&b line... can elaborate how does thg woks n management of it.... any bro succeed in f&b line r most welcom to share thk....
research your self.... google,

or do like what I did.. go to any kopitiam/mamak or mega chain restaurant, order a drink.. sit there for hours... see how their supply chain works.... from ordering to delivery
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 28 2009, 02:35 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Dec 28 2009, 10:29 AM)
F&B line is a wide industry. What do you have in mind? Cafe? Kopitiam? Restaurant? Franchise F&B?
Well said.  thumbup.gif
There is a time when I decided to open a rest stop with food court. And I've been to MacD to work just to see how their works to apply to the new food court.
yes... there were once where I drew their supply chain on paper....

still, they really perfected 5S, Kaizen, JIT etc....
Awakened_Angel
post Jan 3 2010, 09:15 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(convivencia @ Jan 2 2010, 02:11 PM)
dude ...

supply chain ain't "ordering to delivery"

pls google the real meaning of "supply chain" before you wanna spam here

dropping technical jargon may seems cool to the greenhorns, but to those who know what "Supply Chain" really mean, please ...
and by the way, back to the real topic

sitting in a mamak store for hours ain't gonna give anyone any insight on how to operate a mamak store

else you can just sit in a 7-11 for a whole day and go out to build a much better "8-12" chain to defeat 7-11 in their own game

business don't work this way

in F&B, one has to know about food and drinks, know how to keep the food fresh, know how to make the drink interesting and know how to keep the cost low so to make profit out of the operation

please be careful of those "experts" who tell you he can draw "Supply Chain" on toilet paper, else you would end up losing your life savings
I am from engineering background and worked in factory.. so indeed, what I said aint BS or spamming...

supply chain will make your company run more efficient... not make your market sharea bigger.. that is marketing d...

Awakened_Angel
post Jan 24 2010, 10:20 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(MikeLim @ Jan 24 2010, 06:09 AM)
Greetings.. i feel so lucky that i am able to come across this thread. i seriously need some advice..

Business had in mind.
1) photocopy shop ( near college location)
2) prepaid top-ups & idd machine (investment)

Question:
1. What is the minimum start up capital for a photocopy shop and any guidelines to operate it?
2. prepaid top-ups & idd to be sold to coll/uni students and also foreigners ( in my point of view good market )

* Note: currently still a college student with 0 capital at all.
finish your study first.. forget about the photocopy business and you might proceed with prepaid top up card business (low capital and no need to keep lot of stock)
Awakened_Angel
post Jan 25 2010, 09:26 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(MikeLim @ Jan 24 2010, 02:47 PM)
well i've did a lil survey and i found that photocopy biz can realli generate a huge income. well im not quite sure why ur against this is it becoz its illegal and high risk..but on the other hand not to forget it can generate lotsa income.
yes... I`ve seen photaostate company bancrupt when publisher came with police raided their shop....

this is what I did... lecturer gave me notes to photocopy and I gave to shop and take it back to class... in between the shop gave me commission....

average, each month I earned RM 500.00

my cost? my time and my motorcycle petrol....... no need to buy 10k machine and rent a shop and spend hours flipping the paper and press

Added on January 25, 2010, 9:27 am
QUOTE(pokeat @ Jan 25 2010, 10:00 AM)
I'm a college kid too, but deferring one biggrin.gif

Other than kedai runcit, I guess I can get wine and watches/camera one but with sky high cost to purchase. My question is; how to start small using Internet to sell grocery stuff ? <- Working ?
depends.... if you are selling apples, definately not feasible.... groceries have short life span......

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Jan 25 2010, 09:27 AM
Awakened_Angel
post Jan 25 2010, 09:39 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Jan 25 2010, 10:35 AM)
Apparently I am from Engineering school and thus I haven't heard of many of these business related competitions before. Will ask my biz friends to see if they got any ...

Putting that aside, isn't that like very dangerous? Your business plan can be copied by anyone if you take it to a competition.
frankly, competition is a cheap ways to buy marketing plan compared to professional advices...... if you read the terms, your ideas belongs to them wink.gif
Awakened_Angel
post Jan 25 2010, 10:05 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(ming19852 @ Jan 25 2010, 11:03 AM)

I think it will be easier to earn money in service industries nowadays, you dont need to have a lot of capital, some occasions you dont even need a shop/office. All you have to do is just work hard!
true... this is the future of business...... tertiary industry
Awakened_Angel
post Jan 25 2010, 02:34 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Jan 25 2010, 02:42 PM)

Sounds like a lazy way out laugh.gif
Well, I have asked many of my peers regarding their plan after they graduate. Many replied "don't know" or "wait til the time comes".
Very few talked about their plan (or they do not wish to talk about it), even if they do, they talk about working for a company ...

But I believe there are a few who have plans but decided to keep quiet about it.
that would be many.. not few... when interview, your manager ask you, what is your plan in 5 years... you want to answer I want to be your manager in 5 years time? doh.gif
Awakened_Angel
post Feb 21 2010, 01:31 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(anakjohor @ Feb 1 2010, 05:38 PM)

how much in average if we get in one foreigner?
it falls average RM 100 per month.... for one workers

RM 850 for salary, Rm 100 for rental & other annual fees.....

Added on February 21, 2010, 1:32 pm
QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 1 2010, 07:08 PM)
My supervisor is local and the rest of the workers below supervisor is foreigner. In Sabah, it is around RM 1,000++ to guarantee a foreign worker.
I am looking for more foreign workers.... your from sabah? I`m from east coast... its hard to get foreign workers nowadays...

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Feb 21 2010, 01:32 PM
Awakened_Angel
post Feb 21 2010, 05:16 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 21 2010, 05:47 PM)
Yes. Currently I'm located at Sabah. Yap, there are some policy in hiring foreign workers these days. Too much hassle.
this is what I heard from agents....

only few sectors are opened... construction, plantation & manufacturing..... service are closed......
Awakened_Angel
post Feb 22 2010, 11:16 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 21 2010, 07:26 PM)
1. Construction = Too much projects running on these days. Local workers are not enough. If we do not depends on foreign workers, I don't think there will be any rapid development going on in M'sia.

2. Plantation = Esp palm oil. These kind of hard works, any local workers want to do?

Not sure about service sector though. happy.gif
true.... will you work in KL for RM 700 for 6 days a week, 8-12 hours shift.. on lifting heavy things, collect shit or do wodn the drain to collect rubbish right under hot sun??

for me, my sector(as you know, hardware) which do quite similar job scope.. but its under service....

service?? eg... restaurant, salon etc...

frankly, I would hire foreign workr than locals........... why? for example....

1) 2 of my local female worker(age 20+) who would simply come to work and off as they like... I give them few warning yet the same.. then oen day morning , I cannot tahan and scold them... and they quit job on noon.. tell other staff that they quit...

2) No initiative.. even they`ve been working for a year, they still fail to follow their SOPP.... eg... when stock reach, they would pack and leave it there... without put them in rack... almost "EVERYDAY" I have to remind them.. put in rack after pack.. put in rack after pack.... doh.gif If I raise my tone, they would not come to work tomorrow.....

for my foreign worker its totally different things......... very initiative... when saw rubbish they`ll collect, when saw error, they`ll automatic fix it.. if they dono, they`ll ask me how to..... that is why I never being calculative with them... bring them to fancy restaurant once in a while.......... smile.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0640sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:20 PM