153 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.

EroTe
post Sep 4 2010, 04:53 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 4 2010, 11:30 AM)
There is no need for you to rush your time, take your time and enjoy your time getting employed. Learn how to deal with people, learn what is office politicking, learn what is human nature, learn how to polish peoples shoes when necessary, learn how to shut up when necessary and etc.

There are so many things for you to learn when you are getting employed, and all those skills will be your surviving skills in your business in the future.
Lol..true on this, i also want to hv these kind of skill but currently working with family business and i dun think i can get that skill too because generally i am managing the company with few family-related people assist me and it makes my work smoothly + easier..so the only skill i can get is Learn how to deal with people, what is human nature. Anyway working with family is so much better than working with other employers but the skills obtained are also limited hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by EroTe: Sep 4 2010, 04:53 PM
pinkantelope
post Sep 4 2010, 05:12 PM

52 posts

To be honest, I do know that this market is really over-saturated, but I still do see some opportunity there because very few provides choices for bigger sizes ladies. They all assume all girls have to be/ are slim, around size S-L. that's what i think will make my store stands out from the rest.
As for the plan, on how to promote my products, and etc, yea, i'm still figuring it out till I found this thread and learned some new ideas about business.
I guess I need to do more research and be more creative in promoting it. Nice thread btw thumbup.gif

[/quote]

Sorry no offend, but I really doubt this idea of yours will work or make you stand out among the rest. hmm.gif
misscreamypie
post Sep 4 2010, 10:47 PM

84 posts

[quote=pinkantelope,Sep 4 2010, 05:12 PM]
To be honest, I do know that this market is really over-saturated, but I still do see some opportunity there because very few provides choices for bigger sizes ladies. They all assume all girls have to be/ are slim, around size S-L. that's what i think will make my store stands out from the rest.
As for the plan, on how to promote my products, and etc, yea, i'm still figuring it out till I found this thread and learned some new ideas about business.
I guess I need to do more research and be more creative in promoting it. Nice thread btw thumbup.gif

[/quote]
Sorry no offend, but I really doubt this idea of yours will work or make you stand out among the rest. hmm.gif

[/quote]

Mind to tell me why u think so?
I'm open to opinions and ideas. Anything =)
gapnap
post Sep 5 2010, 02:42 AM

1,782 posts

To misscreamypie ,

Don't let others bring you down .
Just do your online shopping thing .

Online blog shop was how i started out .
Back then , many people criticized my ideas ...

I've been selling online for 5 years . 2 years ago , i started my shop . We just celebrated our 2nd year ...
http://gapnap.com/2010/09/01/music-master-is-2-years-old/

How to make your business stand out online ?
Take your best product , and give it away for free .

Apply it properly . Be crazy . Generate Curiosity . Money is always secondary . Value , is primary .

This post has been edited by gapnap: Sep 5 2010, 02:43 AM
Conroe
post Sep 5 2010, 03:20 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Tror @ Aug 30 2010, 05:37 AM)
hi, im still a student but i wanted to start a business so badly and this is my 1st business so i hope can get come advice from u all:)

my plan was starting a bulble tea + waffer shop near my college..

i had check the rental is aproximate 1.2k.
the machine aproximate 5k for everting i needed
one helper around 1k a month .

im seeking whether my calculation is correct ? and should i anything i should add in as consideration? THx:)
I have the same idea but i'm thinking to open it at shopping mall lower ground which are reserved for F&B.In my area,this shopping mall lower ground is specially reserved for F&B and there's starbucks,olden day kopitiam,pelita nasi kandar,kenny rogers.

I'm planning to sell bubble tea,all types of tea,coffe,waffer,cakes,doughnuts,puffs and ice creams.
The doughnuts i'm planning to intro is something like dunkin and the ice creams like baskin robin with cheaper price since my town is in perak where people won't pay anything rated to KL pricing.Planning with WIFI facility as well.

I'm planning to do something and this will be my first business,i thought of opening a gadget store but there's already alot of that type of stores here.
I have some experience with everything mentioned above since my parents owned a bakery before except ice cream but i'm willing to learn.

I need input pls.

This post has been edited by Conroe: Sep 5 2010, 03:32 AM
angelsinlove
post Sep 5 2010, 10:52 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Sep 5 2010, 02:42 AM)
To misscreamypie ,

I've been selling online for 5 years . 2 years ago , i started my shop . We just celebrated our 2nd year ...

Apply it properly . Be crazy . Generate Curiosity . Money is always secondary . Value , is primary .
Hi gapnap

so how it works by taking our best products and give it away for free? smile.gif
EroTe
post Sep 5 2010, 12:24 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Sep 5 2010, 10:52 AM)
Hi gapnap

so how it works by taking our best products and give it away for free?  smile.gif
Maybe about selling the best product with best quality with reasonable price (Low profit) ?? hmm.gif
gapnap
post Sep 5 2010, 01:31 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Sep 5 2010, 10:52 AM)
Hi gapnap

so how it works by taking our best products and give it away for free?  smile.gif
Look around you...

Air asia . How do they make money ?
angelsinlove
post Sep 5 2010, 01:47 PM

264 posts

AirAsia is different. How do you expect a cafe owner to offer the best food and give it away for free? Each business engage a different way, it might work for you but not for others. smile.gif
ivan.nickivan
post Sep 5 2010, 01:52 PM

41 posts

Say if I am selling cars, I have the best car to offer and I am giving it away free? how am i to earn money? I couldn't understand that as well. hmm.gif
TSedyek
post Sep 5 2010, 02:03 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(misscreamypie @ Sep 4 2010, 04:46 PM)
notworthy.gif Thanks for your opinion.

I guess I need to do more research and be more creative in promoting it. Nice thread btw  thumbup.gif
I've an opinion for you.

1) Spend 1-2k to revamp your blog. Your blog is not "interesting". Not user friendly some more.

2) Write yourself a story about your shop, what you are selling, why you start this business, bla bla bla.

3) Send it to the newspaper article section. Let them publish your story.

Then, you will have the media attention you need, might boost your sales also.

*Forget something.
@misscreamypie, if you really want to be serious in your business, you should give my opinion a try. I know it works because I've ask my friend to do the same thing for his blog, and his blog now has 100++ unique visitors each day. Not much I would say, but at least it is better than where he start off.

I've been giving this method to some people on Lowyat, and they just don't seems to take me seriously. smile.gif

This post has been edited by edyek: Sep 5 2010, 02:21 PM
gapnap
post Sep 5 2010, 02:38 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Sep 5 2010, 01:47 PM)
AirAsia is different. How do you expect a cafe owner to offer the best food and give it away for free? Each business engage a different way, it might work for you but not for others.   smile.gif
Ever walked to Supermarket , pick up a sample of a coffee . Tasted it , it was so good and you just bought A CUP on the spot ?
After few days , you feel like drinking coffee again , you thought of THAT place again ..you call up 5-7 of your friends to go along with you ..

Giving products away for free , creates Curiosity , Curiosity creates POWERFUL viral marketing .

QUOTE(ivan.nickivan @ Sep 5 2010, 01:52 PM)
Say if I am selling cars, I have the best car to offer and I am giving it away free? how am i to earn money? I couldn't understand that as well.  hmm.gif
The best thing about driving the car , is the experience . Not the car .
Give that experience away for free ..Why do you think big car companies advertise "we invite you for a test drive for FREE" .

You can apply it in any situation , in ANY business .
It is whether you can identify what to give away , and what to sell .

Feel free to throw me more examples .
Curious for more ? www.gapnap.com .Find Philosophy & Business category .

This post has been edited by gapnap: Sep 5 2010, 02:39 PM
nekko
post Sep 5 2010, 02:58 PM

30 posts

hi gapnap

"taking your best product and giving it away for free" like in the case of the coffee I can still accept because you give out samples(smaller sachets to take home). But in the case of the car giving people a test drive is just giving people a taste of the experience you're not actually giving out the car like the coffee. In the case of misscreamypie how do you expect her to do so? she does not have a physical outlet for people to try out.

This post has been edited by nekko: Sep 5 2010, 03:00 PM
nickoeleven
post Sep 5 2010, 05:06 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(nekko @ Sep 5 2010, 02:58 PM)
hi gapnap

"taking your best product and giving it away for free" like in the case of the coffee I can still accept because you give out samples(smaller sachets to take home). But in the case of the car giving people a test drive is just giving people a taste of the experience you're not actually giving out the car like the coffee. In the case of misscreamypie how do you expect her to do so? she does not have a physical outlet for people to try out.
Giving away sample of your products and/or test use has already been in practice for a very long time for most businesses. I think Gapnap should further provide explanation to his short statement of "taking your best product and giving it away for free" instead of leaving it written and expecting people to know how to go about it. Of course everyone knows that at the end of the day, it's not free also.
EroTe
post Sep 5 2010, 05:58 PM

235 posts

In short, just let the customers know what you are selling and let them know that every cents they are paying for an item is worth more than what they are pay for it. Just focus on quality instead of quantity.
Just like Coffee, give them free sample and they will come back to you if your coffee is really nice.
Car = Test drive ( let the customers experience it in real life instead of letting them experience the car using your mouth. )
Clothes maybe can giveaway some related product, maybe buy 1 piece of shirt comes with free scarf to match it. They like it, they will come back to you. Just my self opinion smile.gif
gapnap
post Sep 5 2010, 07:15 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(nickoeleven @ Sep 5 2010, 05:06 PM)
Giving away sample of your products and/or test use has already been in practice for a very long time for most businesses. I think Gapnap should further provide explanation to his short statement of "taking your best product and giving it away for free" instead of leaving it written and expecting people to know how to go about it. Of course everyone knows that at the end of the day, it's not free also.
My short statement , is just a concept how to quickly gain popularity and viral marketing . A mindset.

Read this for a better understanding...
http://gapnap.com/2010/01/17/surviving-the-working-musician/

1.You must have multiple streams of income
2.Once you have multiple streams of incomes , you can afford to give ONE stream for FREE . Your ONE stream is going to be POPULAR , because it is FREE.
3.Once you gain popularity on that one stream . Link up all the other streams to it . So that you it enhance the popularity of your other streams of income . Just like what AirAsia is doing to Tunetalk , Tunehotels , goholiday .
4.Identify what brings in the most money , focus on it . That is , your Golden Eye.

QUOTE(nekko @ Sep 5 2010, 02:58 PM)
hi gapnap

Thats why , how you market your product is very important .
You MUST know how to MARKET THE EXPERIENCE . Rather than focusing on the value & Price of the product .
Ever seen how a luxury car salesman sell car to rich people ?

They talked about the feeling , the experience when you are in it . People buy luxury cars NOT because of value for money , price and specs .
They value for the experience & feeling MUCH more than this car top speed , made in what country etc .

In the case of misscreamypie ? Of course it is possible ... my ideas are always crazy & unpredictable smile.gif
i can draw out a 1 year marketing blogshop plan but it is quite hard to explain it in a forum like this .

This post has been edited by gapnap: Sep 5 2010, 07:37 PM
misscreamypie
post Sep 6 2010, 05:02 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Sep 5 2010, 02:42 AM)
To misscreamypie ,

notworthy.gif Thanks for your reply =) i'll consider about that.
btw, congratulations to you for your shop's 2nd anniversary. You have some real good business going on there.

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 5 2010, 02:03 PM)
I've an opinion for you.

1) Spend 1-2k to revamp your blog. Your blog is not "interesting". Not user friendly some more.

2) Write yourself a story about your shop, what you are selling, why you start this business, bla bla bla.

3) Send it to the newspaper article section. Let them publish your story.

Then, you will have the media attention you need, might boost your sales also.

*Forget something.
@misscreamypie, if you really want to be serious in your business, you should give my opinion a try. I know it works because I've ask my friend to do the same thing for his blog, and his blog now has 100++ unique visitors each day. Not much I would say, but at least it is better than where he start off.

I've been giving this method to some people on Lowyat, and they just don't seems to take me seriously.  smile.gif
notworthy.gif Hey edyek. Thanks for your suggestions!! They're really good ones. I'll definitely give them a try once I have enough capital!
lol.... Im uni student now, and capital are quite limited, around 2-3k? yea. But I'll try to revamp my blog, cus i know it just lack something and will try get .com instead of blogspot.com. Thanks for telling me. For suggestions 2, 3, i'll definitely try my best.
Btw, do u have any idea how the 3rd one will cost? I have some friends working at local newspaper company, but i basically do not know how to do so, but will check them out. thanks biggrin.gif
JOSEPHONG
post Sep 6 2010, 11:39 PM

Does Anyone interest doing general insurance..?????
boringz
post Sep 7 2010, 12:38 AM

181 posts

don't hesitate too much, just do it. everything begins with a thought, accompanied by action.
COMBOConvenience
post Sep 7 2010, 03:06 AM

19 posts

nice forum... keep up!
bring on any new ideas.

btw.. does anyone involve in karaoke business? like redbox etc..

153 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0297sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:38 PM