For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.

EroTe
post Aug 7 2010, 08:13 AM

235 posts

Guys, i'm thinking of setting up steamboat buffet restaurant (seafood) in Sabah with budget RM100k, do you think RM100k enough to setup a new steamboat seafood buffet restaurant? I do think for quite time and what i need to do now is survey the market (to see the condition of other steamboat businesses or other? ), location, supplier (didnt know how to find the supplier for seafood - is it possible to find in yellowpage, newspaper or internet for sabah seafood supplier?)

Btw, this is my very first business if i intend to open it up. About the experience, i am now working with my sister as manager of her company. I won't say i got a lot experience but i know so-so of the management as the problems always occur during my management. Still i am not very confident with my first business as RM100k is really big figure for me to get my real experience in future.

I need suggestion/opinions from you guys, any critics/comments will do, just hope to learn more from you all. Thanks in advance. (Please guide me what to do if i want to open up my business with RM100k and should i open it or not?)

This post has been edited by EroTe: Aug 7 2010, 08:15 AM
EroTe
post Aug 7 2010, 08:53 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Aug 7 2010, 08:39 AM)
My friend, you are managerial level. Opening restaurant is not only about managing it, is about other factors also. Are you experience in F&B field? If you don't better save the money to do other things that you are familiar with.

RM 100k for a new startup + no experience is a risky thing to do. Unless of course you can afford to lose that money, but why whould you want to lose the money since you doubt about opening the steamboat restaurant?

1. You have not come out with a proper planning on how to do.
2. You have not come out with the location.
3. You don't even know the supplier to supply you ice cream, seafood and other frozen food.

If you are really dedicated, you should come out with a planning 1st, then you will know how much you actually need. (Don't think for a month but din't write down your preliminary plan and take any action at all.)

Cheers. smile.gif
True biggrin.gif , will do that when i am back to Malaysia, currently working at oversea so couldn't do anything unless looking for supplier online, and location? Really appreciate if you could provide me the relevant info for it as u might know some (because u r from KK, while i am thinking of open up my biz at KK too tongue.gif )

Anyway, ur thread has changed my thinking a lot as firstly i didnt expect so many problems/procedures need to do if doing biz in Malaysia. When reading you guys sharing your experience, i do think that doing business is not so easy to deal with (Cashflow- survivability/management/customer) in order to get at least break even -> profit.
EroTe
post Aug 8 2010, 07:43 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 7 2010, 08:14 PM)
EroTe,

Why are you even considering of opening a business which you are doubting? Business is for the ones who ARE confident of their start up. As I have mentioned long time ago, experience can always be acquired, but your GUTS can not. If you keep playing it safe, you will always be scared when running your business, and trying to cut corners in setting up your business, which are often the reasons start ups fail.

You will also need to think about your cashflow. Since you said that RM100,000 is a lot of money to you, you probably have very less left IF you start your business. F&B businesses require months to pull the crowd because there is very limited avenue for you to advertise your business. So if you have very little business in that few months, are you very sure that you can sustain your salary to workers, utilities, rental and stocks? Seafood business is more difficult as you are dealing with perishable goods. Keep the food for a few days, and the freshness is gone. Once your food does not sell, your money will be gone. You HAVE to make sure that you are able to finish selling all your food within 3 days.
Well, it's true that confident (Gut) is a must to startup a business and i am aware i'm lacking of that maybe i am not risk-taker type but will try to do it anyway just like those gambling "high risk high return or vice verse" hmm.gif . Anyway, thanks for ur nice feedback, will try to make some plans before really into this business. I will be back if i got more questions which need you all sifus guide brows.gif
EroTe
post Aug 15 2010, 09:44 PM

235 posts

Btw, if want to setup the business in sabah, where to register the company and someone mind to explain the steps in details (for Sabah) only. Thanks in advance smile.gif
EroTe
post Sep 4 2010, 04:53 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 4 2010, 11:30 AM)
There is no need for you to rush your time, take your time and enjoy your time getting employed. Learn how to deal with people, learn what is office politicking, learn what is human nature, learn how to polish peoples shoes when necessary, learn how to shut up when necessary and etc.

There are so many things for you to learn when you are getting employed, and all those skills will be your surviving skills in your business in the future.
Lol..true on this, i also want to hv these kind of skill but currently working with family business and i dun think i can get that skill too because generally i am managing the company with few family-related people assist me and it makes my work smoothly + easier..so the only skill i can get is Learn how to deal with people, what is human nature. Anyway working with family is so much better than working with other employers but the skills obtained are also limited hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by EroTe: Sep 4 2010, 04:53 PM
EroTe
post Sep 5 2010, 12:24 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(angelsinlove @ Sep 5 2010, 10:52 AM)
Hi gapnap

so how it works by taking our best products and give it away for free?  smile.gif
Maybe about selling the best product with best quality with reasonable price (Low profit) ?? hmm.gif
EroTe
post Sep 5 2010, 05:58 PM

235 posts

In short, just let the customers know what you are selling and let them know that every cents they are paying for an item is worth more than what they are pay for it. Just focus on quality instead of quantity.
Just like Coffee, give them free sample and they will come back to you if your coffee is really nice.
Car = Test drive ( let the customers experience it in real life instead of letting them experience the car using your mouth. )
Clothes maybe can giveaway some related product, maybe buy 1 piece of shirt comes with free scarf to match it. They like it, they will come back to you. Just my self opinion smile.gif
EroTe
post Sep 29 2010, 06:03 PM

235 posts

Well, if u r new to China-trading stuff thing, at first u might get MINOR cheat or watever which is not so serious. But don't worry about 1st few attempts, just continue do the business with them, let them feel that u r their long-term customer and i bet the situation will be totally different. They might treat u nicer, cheaper price than before, get 100% the one u choose (no cheating anymore). That the beginning of ur business between M'sia - China smile.gif Just my opinion. Stupid joke - let them "eat" little bit to let them feel happy, after they "full" they will serve u seriously again tongue.gif

0.0200sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:54 PM