153 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

For Small and Medium Business Owners, Come In and Share Your Biz.

TSedyek
post Aug 30 2010, 11:32 AM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Tror @ Aug 30 2010, 05:37 AM)
hi, im still a student but i wanted to start a business so badly and this is my 1st business so i hope can get come advice from u all:)

my plan was starting a bulble tea + waffer shop near my college..

i had check the rental is aproximate 1.2k.
the machine aproximate 5k for everting i needed
one helper around 1k a month .

im seeking whether my calculation is correct ? and should i anything i should add in as consideration? THx:)
You miss out a few things
1) Electricity and water expense?
2) Materials supply?
3) Your booth/stall setup?

Your monthly expenses is RM2.2k (labour + rental). You plus item no. 1 and no.2 you have your monthly expenses.
Can you estimate how much you can sell and how much you want to charge per cup and per waffer?

Tror
post Aug 31 2010, 01:58 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Aug 30 2010, 11:32 AM)
You miss out a few things
1) Electricity and water expense?
2) Materials supply?
3) Your booth/stall setup?
Your monthly expenses is RM2.2k (labour + rental). You plus item no. 1 and no.2 you have your monthly expenses.
Can you estimate how much you can sell and how much you want to charge per cup and per waffer?
thx:).from my estimation the montly elec and water supply is be around 150-200 and material is around 500 per month the booth setup is around 3k.. for bubble tea per cup is range at rm 2.80-4.00 and the waffer Rm 2.50..

based on your eperience do you think is profitable?? thx alot sifu smile.gif
TSedyek
post Sep 1 2010, 12:29 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Tror @ Aug 31 2010, 01:58 PM)
thx:).from my estimation the montly elec and water supply is be around 150-200 and material is around 500 per month the booth setup is around 3k.. for bubble tea per cup is range at rm 2.80-4.00 and the waffer Rm 2.50..

What is your estimation of cups and waffers sold per day?
Omage007
post Sep 1 2010, 12:38 PM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 1 2010, 12:29 PM)
What is your estimation of cups and waffers sold per day?
exclude the fix asset investment, and assume [elec and water supply+material+etc expenses] is RM1k, so his monthly expenses for labour + rental + others is RM3.3K, then he daily business need to be at least RM110 to cover the expenses, so around 20 cup bubble tea + 20 waffer. . .

This post has been edited by Omage007: Sep 1 2010, 12:39 PM
YuNGSeNG
post Sep 1 2010, 12:53 PM

1,382 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by YuNGSeNG: Sep 1 2010, 12:55 PM
Omage007
post Sep 1 2010, 12:56 PM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Sep 1 2010, 12:53 PM)
Waffer selling price is RM 2.50 (Maximum profit around RM 2)
Bubble tea selling price is RM 2.80 - RM 4.00 ( Make it average to RM3.50 and maximum profit is around RM 3 )

Therefore, minimum have to sell around 25 cup of bubble tea and 25 waffer.
The material expenses is already include at the RM1k there. . . else his monthly expenses is below RM3k if exclude material; of coz the more he sell the higher the material expenses. . .

if average daily sell 50 cup of bubble tea and 50 waffer, then can get monthly profit RM3K - RM4K. . .

This post has been edited by Omage007: Sep 1 2010, 12:59 PM
YuNGSeNG
post Sep 1 2010, 01:03 PM

1,382 posts

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Sep 1 2010, 12:56 PM)
The material expenses is already include at the RM1k there. . .  else his monthly expenses is below RM3k if exclude material; of coz the more he sell the higher the material expenses. . .
Yes, sorry for me to overlook "your RM1K is include material expenses".

However, usually we didn't calculate the material expenses as fix cost, but we calculate it as variable cost, as the material expenses is based on sales volume and not fix per month.

Tror
post Sep 1 2010, 09:38 PM

22 posts

i estimate will get around 35cups of bubble tea per day and 30 waffer.. which give me profit of Rm165 per day and Rm4950 per month.
based on my calculation is profitable.. but can i know wat others factor i should take as a percoution..??smile.gif thx for your comment.aligator:)
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 1 2010, 09:52 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Tror @ Sep 1 2010, 10:38 PM)
i estimate will get around 35cups of bubble tea per day and 30 waffer.. which give me profit of Rm165 per day and Rm4950 per month.
based on my calculation is profitable.. but can i know wat others factor i should take as a percoution..??smile.gif thx for your comment.aligator:)
peak season and low season....

season where sales are damn good

season where sales are damn bad.. no matter what you do
mousepad87
post Sep 1 2010, 10:14 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 1 2010, 09:52 PM)
peak season and low season....

season where sales are damn good

season where sales are damn bad.. no matter what you do
ya ya especially during semster break when student going back to hometown. (so u running cost of this month must be dived for other month..so u have money to pay rental- this is important so u dont use ur personal money.

Tror
looking on ur estimate ruining cost monthly... i think u should find shop lot rental which is much cheaper. rm1k+ for selling waffle only maybe to expensive(try to rent potion of the shop maybe?). nontheles this biz have good potential especially when u give more choice and variety(tassstyyyy sandwic maybe ?)

just my non pro advice. good luck tror. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mousepad87: Sep 1 2010, 10:19 PM
Jordy
post Sep 2 2010, 01:32 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Tror @ Aug 31 2010, 01:58 PM)

Tror,

Your target market is students, and you are selling your goods at above average price. Tell me, are you opening up in Sunway or Monash area? doh.gif

The IDEAL price to achieve your above estimated volume would be RM2.50 for bubble tea and RM2 for wafer. Anything more than that, students will not buy, unless you open up in the 2 areas mentioned.

"i estimate will get around 35cups of bubble tea per day and 30 waffer.. which give me profit of Rm165 per day and Rm4950 per month"

Tell me, which college has classes 7 days a week, 30 days per month? Unless you are opening up in the student accommodation, then you might be able to achieve sales every day. Also, for 35 cups of bubble tea and 30 pieces of wafers, your daily profit would only be RM90 (on the assumption that your price at RM2.50 and RM2). Your monthly profit based on 20 days would be RM1,800. Deduct your rental and the salary, you will be at a loss. That is not including utilities.
furiousangel
post Sep 2 2010, 02:20 AM

28 posts

Rental is too high for a low margin business, you need to get a high volume of sales per day in order to be profitable in the long run. Jordy has a point, students won't pay too much EVERYDAY to drink bubble tea, anything above rm2.50 will be too expensive for them. Think about it.
MohdRidhwan
post Sep 2 2010, 04:53 AM

337 posts

How about being a distributor? Im thinking of bringing a product from the US.

How does the process flows?
Does the product ships on monthly basis or order then ship type?

Thank you.
zeneyam
post Sep 2 2010, 11:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Jul 8 2010, 10:12 AM)
Suddenly flash back to the time when I first startup my construction firm. From supervisor, managing tender, to preparing award, consultant meeting etc...Lots of work until 24 hours a day is not enough for me. I even sacrifice my time with my gf and lucky she din't dump me.  sweat.gif
Hi big boss edyek.Do you need lot of experience to open the construction firm ?Can you share your experience in construction line last time when you first started the company? Thanks!
Jordy
post Sep 2 2010, 07:50 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(zeneyam @ Sep 2 2010, 11:32 AM)
Hi big boss edyek.Do you need lot of experience to open the construction firm ?Can you share your experience in construction line last time when you first started the company?  Thanks!
zeneyam,

This is a very skill intensive sector. Anyone wanting to start up a business in this sector must be experienced themselves. It is not as easy as just starting up a company and hope to employ good supervisors, managers and QS to run the whole show for you. As the boss, you must have the detailed know-how of how the site works, costing, tender procedures, good contacts (sub-contractors, suppliers, JKR, TNB and police). Actually, there are a lot you need to know, most importantly you WILL need to know more than the supervisor you employed.

I am also in this industry, but I didn't start where edyek did. I did Diploma in Quantity Surveying and started working as a hard labour to gain the skills and experience.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 3 2010, 09:26 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 2 2010, 08:50 PM)
zeneyam,

This is a very skill intensive sector. Anyone wanting to start up a business in this sector must be experienced themselves. It is not as easy as just starting up a company and hope to employ good supervisors, managers and QS to run the whole show for you. As the boss, you must have the detailed know-how of how the site works, costing, tender procedures, good contacts (sub-contractors, suppliers, JKR, TNB and police). Actually, there are a lot you need to know, most importantly you WILL need to know more than the supervisor you employed.

I am also in this industry, but I didn't start where edyek did. I did Diploma in Quantity Surveying and started working as a hard labour to gain the skills and experience.
true... you need to have it all....

i mean, you need to have the technical, experience, finanacial management, project management, people management, communication skills, risk managements, and most of all... connections
TSedyek
post Sep 3 2010, 02:23 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(zeneyam @ Sep 2 2010, 11:32 AM)
Hi big boss edyek.Do you need lot of experience to open the construction firm ?Can you share your experience in construction line last time when you first started the company?  Thanks!
QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 2 2010, 07:50 PM)
zeneyam,

@zeneyam, as @Jordy has said, yes you need experience in this field. This is not about normal business whereby you buy and sell. Construction industry is hard work and time consuming sector, but the reward is also lucrative.

@Jordy, I'm also graduate in QS (Diploma). biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 3 2010, 09:26 AM)
true... you need to have it all....

i mean, you need to have the technical, experience, finanacial management, project management, people management, communication skills, risk managements, and most of all... connections
Correct. Connections is one of the crucial part in construction. biggrin.gif
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 3 2010, 03:36 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 3 2010, 03:23 PM)
@zeneyam, as @Jordy has said, yes you need experience in this field. This is not about normal business whereby you buy and sell. Construction industry is hard work and time consuming sector, but the reward is also lucrative.

zero experience/planning in this sector is imminent failure
Jordy
post Sep 3 2010, 09:05 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Sep 3 2010, 02:23 PM)

@Jordy, I'm also graduate in QS (Diploma).  biggrin.gif
Correct. Connections is one of the crucial part in construction.  biggrin.gif
edyek,

From my experience, the reward can also be little as contractors can face losses too. Contractors risk not getting paid, and there is currently still no law that protects contractors in such an occurrence. Contracting is a high risk high return game.

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 3 2010, 03:36 PM)
zero experience/planning in this sector is imminent failure
Awakened_Angel,

Well, there is a way around it. If you can partner with an experienced supervisor or contractor, then you could avoid the failure, but you risk being cheated and getting less profit.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 3 2010, 09:59 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Sep 3 2010, 10:05 PM)
edyek,

From my experience, the reward can also be little as contractors can face losses too. Contractors risk not getting paid, and there is currently still no law that protects contractors in such an occurrence. Contracting is a high risk high return game.

true.. i`ve seen many contractors went into bancrupcy during 2008 olympic when steel price rise to 4k++ and factory face extreme loses after it ended which make the steel price drop to below 2k

Awakened_Angel,

Well, there is a way around it. If you can partner with an experienced supervisor or contractor, then you could avoid the failure, but you risk being cheated and getting less profit.
many fail this way.. even the partner is 20 year old buddy or real brothers....

153 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:52 PM