97 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

chewkl
post Aug 20 2010, 04:35 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 20 2010, 04:27 PM)
I'll try to get the avr trim at 0, the sub sld be at abt near 10 o'clock or less.

My current PB13-Ultra is at slightly above 9o'clock, 0 at avr level. Level checked, 74-75dB
Thanks taikor. Will re-Audassey again when I have the time.
TShtkaki
post Aug 20 2010, 09:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You are welcome, Elite Chew smile.gif

When are you going to upgrade your speakers?

maja_5365
post Aug 20 2010, 10:34 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 20 2010, 04:27 PM)
I'll try to get the avr trim at 0, the sub sld be at abt near 10 o'clock or less.

My current PB13-Ultra is at slightly above 9o'clock, 0 at avr level. Level checked, 74-75dB
Tauke, when u free can come down and do the spl for me.

When I did the spl, it set my sub to +5.0db. Sub gain at almost 9 o'clock.

Using Audy. AVR trim is +3db. Can guide me. Still confused. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by maja_5365: Aug 20 2010, 10:36 PM
chewkl
post Aug 20 2010, 11:57 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 20 2010, 09:48 PM)
You are welcome, Elite Chew smile.gif

When are you going to upgrade your speakers?
Just finished redoing my Audassey. With the sub gain at just above 9 o'clock, the trim on the AVR is +0dB. But cannot boom boom pow to test now as everyone is already asleep. sweat.gif

Taikor, need to save some moolah for other stuff. I'm very happy with my HT setup now, so no intentions for any upgrade for now. Peasant don't have high expectations so entry level stuff will suffice. biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Aug 22 2010, 07:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 17 2010, 11:14 PM)

Vol of 68.5 is equal to what on the dB scale? I think you can switch to the dB relative scale.
Checked it. It's-13.5dB smile.gif

Just finished redoing my Audassey. With the sub gain at just above 9 o'clock, the trim on the AVR is +0dB. But cannot boom boom pow to test now as everyone is already asleep. sweat.gif

Taikor, need to save some moolah for other stuff. I'm very happy with my HT setup now, so no intentions for any upgrade for now. Peasant don't have high expectations so entry level stuff will suffice. biggrin.gif

Taukeh ar188 poisoned you to buy those bling bling? tongue.gif
chewkl
post Aug 22 2010, 08:47 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 22 2010, 07:17 PM)
Checked it. It's-13.5dB  smile.gif
Taukeh ar188 poisoned you to buy those bling bling? tongue.gif
Wow elite AR got new bling bling? notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Aug 22 2010, 09:42 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Aug 20 2010, 10:34 PM)
Tauke, when u free can come down and do the  spl for me.

When I did the spl, it set my sub to +5.0db. Sub gain at almost 9 o'clock.

Using Audy. AVR trim is +3db. Can guide me. Still confused. rclxub.gif
Boss, set the PC12-Plus' gain at slightly above 10 o'clock. Then, do Audyssey. It sld be abt 0 to +1dB. If you intend to run hot, you may increase the gain at PC to abt 11 o'clock.

Wow elite AR got new bling bling? notworthy.gif

Elite Chew, it's his annual practice lah. Buy bling bling every year.
klimal
post Aug 23 2010, 12:26 PM

1,136 posts

Max,
Should one strive to to achieve 0 at the avr subwoofer gain, after Audysey.
Mine shows -6dB, with the subwoofer knob at 11 o'clock.
What benefits are there in achieving 0 at the avr level?
chewkl
post Aug 23 2010, 12:46 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 23 2010, 12:26 PM)
Max,
Should one strive to to achieve 0 at the avr subwoofer gain, after Audysey.
Mine shows -6dB, with the subwoofer knob at 11 o'clock.
What benefits are there in achieving 0 at the avr level?
I just redid mine after advice from Maxx. Previously it was -8dB trim at AVR with sub gain at 12 o'clock. Now it is 0dB on AVR and about 9 o'clock at sub. What I "felt" was the bass is now "more controlled". Less boominess and more thump. Not sure if this is just placebo effect or real. Just sharing my limited peasant experience.
klimal
post Aug 23 2010, 03:26 PM

1,136 posts

Since 2EQ does not have filters for the sub, can I adjust the trim manually with the SPL meter, without running Audyssey again?.

TShtkaki
post Aug 23 2010, 09:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Can. Trim avr to 0 dB and then adjust sub's gain accordingly. By then, your PC12-NSD's gain sld be abt 9 o'clock plus.
klimal
post Aug 24 2010, 05:34 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 23 2010, 09:39 PM)
Can. Trim avr to 0 dB and then adjust sub's gain accordingly. By then, your PC12-NSD's gain sld be abt 9 o'clock plus.
Absolutely spot on notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Aug 26 2010, 09:08 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro,

I ain't have the PC12-NSD. Waiting for the new gen of PC12-NSD (with DSP amp) to be here. Sld be in Nov / early Dec along with the rest of PC series.

New PB launching will be a tad earlier.

JiauBoy
post Aug 26 2010, 09:47 AM

727 posts

some noob question. what so good abt with DSP amp?

since you are selling mission speaker and SVS. how is the the SVS s series center speaker compare to the mission center speaker?
klimal
post Aug 26 2010, 11:22 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 26 2010, 09:08 AM)
Bro,

I ain't have the PC12-NSD. Waiting for the new gen of PC12-NSD (with DSP amp) to be here. Sld be in Nov / early Dec along with the rest of PC series.

New PB launching will be a tad earlier.
I am thinking of dual sub setup and I have a few Q's
Will these new PC12-NSD be different from the current bash amp fitted ones?
If dual sub set-up, integration will be problem or not since they will have different characteristics for sure.
Can retrofit the new dsp amp?

Got special pre-order price for the new NSD?
Returning customer get an extra discount on top of that or not? whistling.gif
TShtkaki
post Aug 26 2010, 05:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The new DSP amp will have marginally more linear response. Possibly slightly tighter bass. Apart from that, nothing much except better reliability.

I doubt it would be difficult to integrate as the 'signature sound' will be identical. The DSP amp fitted PB and PC could see a rise in price. Not sure how much. Indicative is 5% - 15%.

JiauBoy, the SCS-01 has much thicker vocal and tonal quality. It is better than the Klipsch RC52 too. wkw7889 (IIRC the nick) auditioned both system.

anfieldude
post Aug 26 2010, 06:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 26 2010, 11:22 AM)
I am thinking of dual sub setup and I have a few Q's
Will these new PC12-NSD be different from the current bash amp fitted ones?
If dual sub set-up, integration will be problem or not since they will have different characteristics for sure.
Can retrofit the new dsp amp?

Got special pre-order price for the new NSD?
Returning customer get an extra discount on top of that or not?  whistling.gif
Dual sub is the way to go....and oh, get an AS-EQ1 as well. The sound signature shd not change too much with the amps, as the internals of the cabinet and drivers are all the same. The DPS amps allow more tweaking (not for the user) to attempt to push more out of the driver but the BASH amps are no pushover either.

chewkl
post Sep 1 2010, 01:20 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Watched 12 Rounds this morning. I swear I could hear about a second of massive distortion during 1 boom boom pow scene, at that was at -20dB on my AVR. Never thought that could happen to PB12. sad.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 1 2010, 02:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

is it bottoming out? That must be one powerful LFE scene there.

Do you have Percy Jackson iso? You may try out the last 4 scene (IIRC) where Percy fights with Luke at a rooftop.
chewkl
post Sep 1 2010, 03:09 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Bro, it is not bottoming out, but just some massive distortion, like something is going to fall apart somewhere. Not sure if it was some part of my living room vibrating or the sub itself. Anyways it just happened once and I can't reproduce it.

I have Percy Jackson, will test it out next week. smile.gif

97 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:40 AM