=-:~ TOSHIBA Club ~:-= V2, Leading Innovation >>>

lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2011, 01:29 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Still doubt if bios setting will affect the bios accessibility except than giving it password...

The windows boot manager you mentioned, its like something safe mode, use last know config, etc like that ?

What about if press other F-keys ?
The bios reflash, I would take it as last resort..

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 5 2011, 01:35 PM
Azriq007
post Feb 5 2011, 01:38 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 5 2011, 01:29 PM)
Still doubt if bios setting will affect the bios accessibility except than giving it password...

The windows boot manager you mentioned, its like something safe mode, use last know config, etc like that ?

What about if press other F-keys ?
The bios reflash, I would take it as last resort..
thank you for the idea.. smile.gif

i have download the latest BIOS version and right now i can enter into my laptop bios once again.. smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2011, 01:42 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

and now the question, which setting in bios affect that laugh.gif
Azriq007
post Feb 5 2011, 06:32 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 5 2011, 01:42 PM)
and now the question, which setting in bios affect that laugh.gif
the setting i think is the boot speed.. smile.gif

thank you lee..

btw this is an edit post.. before this, i have a problem about my windows but right now all goes back to normal.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Azriq007: Feb 5 2011, 06:41 PM
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2011, 06:38 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Use this method ?
But your data on C:\ will be gone..
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 14 2010, 09:29 AM)

Added on June 14, 2010, 11:24 amDear Toshiba users,
It seems lately nearly all Toshiba notebooks are equipped with both 32-bit Operating systems (Windows for this case) as well as 64-bit Operating systems (which are installed into the hidden HDD partitions of each notebook). Notebook sellers prefer to start up the whole notebook with 32-bit OS , mostly because of the shorter time required to boot the whole system. Since 32-bit OS can only support around 2.98GB of RAM, those who bought Toshiba notebooks with RAM upgrades (to 4GB RAM- models include Satellite L510, Satellite Pro L510, M500, M300, T130, F60 etc.) will not be able to fully utilize the RAM. This can be settled by converting your 32-bit OS to 64-bit OS. You can do it via recovery from the Toshiba hidden partition itself, or via the 4 system recovery discs that you burnt when you 1st got your notebook  nod.gif

The guide to Toshiba's HDD system recovery can be found here: cdgenp01.csd.toshiba.com/content/.../PMA500339010_web.pdf

Generally, it would be easier to conduct the recovery from the Hidden partition than the recovery discs (noneed to keep on changing discs XD )
In general, the steps involved are:

1. Make sure you backup all important files, EVERYTHING will be reformatted (except the Hidden Partition) when you recover your system. Noneed to worry about drivers and Toshiba programs as they are included in the Hidden Partition/Recovery discs.

2. Plug in A/C adapter and if possible, plug in the battery just in case of blackouts (in Malaysia) XD

3. Shut down your notebook.

4. Press and hold the "0" and the "power" button. A window will appear asking you whether you want to load a 32-bit or 64-bit windows. The remaining will be easy, just choose the "recover to out-of-box state" (Actually noneed to change anything, as for the subsequent windows, the initial ticked box will be the recommended one)  XD

5. Partition reformatting will commence. Initiate the next step.

6. After that, leave everything to your notebook, it will restart on its own for quite a few times (to install the drivers and programs), may take up to 1-2 hours depending on your system. You will be configuring your OS in no time.

I guess that's all, hopefully this will help those who wanted to switched to 64-bit OS i.e. Eguy1314 ^_______^

** Be warned, Toshiba's feather touch buttons may become unresponsive after switching, still looking for answers for that one, it seemed there are no drivers for these buttons zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Anyway, Do refer to the link above for more elaborated details  icon_rolleyes.gif
Best of luck!
Azriq007
post Feb 5 2011, 06:42 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 5 2011, 06:38 PM)
Use this method ?
But your data on C:\ will be gone..
somehow i manage to reload back my original windows using data recovery.. and thank god, i dont have to reformat my laptop back.. biggrin.gif.. my laptop goes back to its original way.. smile.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 5 2011, 07:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

What did you do ?
just_kiing
post Feb 7 2011, 03:30 PM

28 posts

Something to share.
Using
1. Qosmio F60
2. Seagate 500gb Momentos 2.5inch HDD,5400rpm 8mb
3. Hotway HDG-SU2S2B-K [Black USB2.0+e-SATA] - external casing
4. HD Tune 2.55 - Hard Disk Utility

USB 2.0

esata

Anyone got benchmark for USB 3.0 ?

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Feb 7 2011, 05:12 PM
sayming
post Feb 9 2011, 07:45 PM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

Just got my white Sony Vaio E-VPCEA36FG
Pretty happy with it except for the speakers.
The speakers are so damn crappy its worse than a cheap handphone speakers... zzzz
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 9 2011, 07:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Feb 9 2011, 07:45 PM)
Just got my white Sony Vaio E-VPCEA36FG
Pretty happy with it except for the speakers.
The speakers are so damn crappy its worse than a cheap handphone speakers... zzzz
Grats on your purchase! Quite a powerful machine I would say ~
Err... wrong thread? laugh.gif
Anyway, Sony Vaios' strong point was never the speakers nod.gif
But you can always improve their audio quality (significantly) by buying external speakers icon_rolleyes.gif

sayming
post Feb 9 2011, 08:09 PM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 9 2011, 07:49 PM)
Grats on your purchase! Quite a powerful machine I would say ~
Err... wrong thread?  laugh.gif
Anyway, Sony Vaios' strong point was never the speakers  nod.gif
But you can always improve their audio quality (significantly) by buying external speakers  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha initially was considering the Toshiba Sattelite with the GT330 but then did some research and found out 5650 is more powerful so I went for the vaio instead. Like the new Toshiba design tho.
lee_what2004
post Feb 9 2011, 08:51 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The Vaio's HD5650 is underclocked though...
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 9 2011, 11:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 9 2011, 08:51 PM)
The Vaio's HD5650 is underclocked though...
LOL, I hope he doesn't see this bro laugh.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 10 2011, 12:03 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

The same thing with the L645 ?
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 10 2011, 12:24 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 10 2011, 12:03 AM)
The same thing with the L645 ?
Huh? The 5650 in the L645 is also underclocked? shocking.gif
I think he was eying on the M645 instead though
lee_what2004
post Feb 10 2011, 12:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Got one L645 user on the overclocking HD5650 thread, says his one is 450Mhz...
While the Acer one is 550MHz, and with the HD6550M, its 600MHz...
[PF] T.J.
post Feb 10 2011, 12:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 10 2011, 12:34 AM)
Got one L645 user on the overclocking HD5650 thread, says his one is 450Mhz...
While the Acer one is 550MHz, and with the HD6550M, its 600MHz...
Oh I see, just_kiing did mentioned that the Qosmio's F60 GT330M is also underclocked iirc.
And I think the stupid G310 in my gf's M500 is also underclocked as well hmm.gif
just_kiing
post Feb 10 2011, 09:27 PM

28 posts

Something to share.

Saw these netbooks in a PC shop in Sungai Petani Tesco Selatan building.

Nice, but can't test the speakers because the netbooks are off.

[PF] T.J.
post Feb 10 2011, 10:13 PM

24,193 posts

Thanks for sharing~
Yeah, I've seen quite a number of NB520 as well, they seemed to be very popular nod.gif
Its just too bad that only the Atom variant is sold here shakehead.gif
I bet the harman/kardon speakers are awesome... if only got the chance to compare the quality against the VX6 thumbup.gif
Sting Ray
post Feb 12 2011, 03:21 PM

153 posts

dear sifus, I just bought Satellite L645-1124XR today and it comes with free 2GB of RAM and 2nd year local warranty. I have just completed the online warranty registration but how do I know whether my unit will have the 2nd year warranty extension ?

do I need to call Tele Dynamics for the free 2nd year local warranty ?

111 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:44 PM