HTC Desire, Officially Launched!

whatsayyou
post May 1 2010, 06:38 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 1 2010, 06:33 PM)
if orders outside from UK then no need to pay VAT.. VAT is something like our GST
well my bro is in sweden. supposed to be studying, but he's just touring europe (lucky b__tard ...)
thinking i could get him to buy 1. cause i dont want to deal with customs if i order direct.
hihihehe
post May 1 2010, 06:44 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(persia @ May 1 2010, 08:32 PM)
coz its price is 100 to $150 (USA $) more than other countries!! that's why i said is very high!!! and since it is open source and the os is almost free so it should be much cheaper than HTC HD2 with the larger LCD and expensive OS!!!
err...are you staying in malaysia? i assume you don't know the high tax in malaysia... sweat.gif
and this device is not manufactured or made from malaysia.

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ May 1 2010, 08:38 PM)
well my bro is in sweden. supposed to be studying, but he's just touring europe (lucky b__tard ...)
thinking i could get him to buy 1. cause i dont want to deal with customs if i order direct.
mayb your brother can buy it from clove/handtec and ship to sweeden for cheaper shipping?
mikelanding
post May 1 2010, 06:51 PM

2,865 posts

Just to let U all know, clove.co.uk didnt provide any document for you to claim back yr VAT if U decided to send to UK/EU.

They stated very clearly in their FAQ:
"Can I get a tax redemption for use at airports?

As an online mail order company, operating in the UK we can NOT supply a VAT/Tax redemption form even if you can prove to us that your country of residence is outside the UK."

Without the VAT/Tax redemption form, there is no way U can claim back the 17.5%VAT even U are a genuine tourist.
golvin
post May 1 2010, 06:51 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 1 2010, 03:04 PM)
Still looking for it... there are a few but very pricey.. some which i like but only in UK...
zzz
what are they? I saw the official HTC one is quite decent, but the delivery cost should be almost the price of the case itself =(

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ May 1 2010, 05:53 PM)
Why not try epikcase? drool.gif

no offense, but it seems a bit thick for my taste.
z3r0717
post May 1 2010, 07:02 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(golvin @ May 1 2010, 06:51 PM)
what are they? I saw the official HTC one is quite decent, but the delivery cost should be almost the price of the case itself =(

yea, i like the HTC leather pull out pouch which was very nice but the stock is coming in this month and yea the delivery cost very expensive just for one pouch...
These are the sites, there are still more...
http://shop.htcpedia.com/index.php
http://www.pielframa.com/htc-desire-cases.htm < -- VERY nice but VERY expensive.. lol
case-mate.com <-- waiting for htc desire as they have for N1 is nice but does not suit
http://www.mobilefun.co.uk/blog/2010/04/to...c-desire-cases/ <-- this one have the most nice cases but does not provide worldwide shipping =/

etc...

This post has been edited by z3r0717: May 1 2010, 07:05 PM
linkinawe
post May 1 2010, 07:06 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 1 2010, 07:02 PM)
yea, i like the HTC leather pull out pouch which was very nice but the stock is coming in this month and yea the delivery cost very expensive just for one pouch...
These are the sites, there are still more...
http://shop.htcpedia.com/index.php
http://www.pielframa.com/htc-desire-cases.htm < -- VERY nice but VERY expensive.. lol
case-mate.com <-- waiting for htc desire as they have for N1 is nice but does not suit
etc...
hey bro , we have the same taste . I am waiting the tough case for Desire as it protects the phone using hybrid protector .Yeah , it maybe be thick a bit , but I dont want any things happen to my phone when it falls accidently , this things cant be sure. Any idea where to get matte screen protector for Desire ?

This post has been edited by linkinawe: May 1 2010, 07:06 PM
hihihehe
post May 1 2010, 07:08 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ May 1 2010, 08:51 PM)
Just to let U all know, clove.co.uk didnt provide any document for you to claim back yr VAT if U decided to send to UK/EU.

As an online mail order company, operating in the UK we can NOT supply a VAT/Tax redemption form even if you can prove to us that your country of residence is outside the UK."

Without the VAT/Tax redemption form, there is no way U can claim back the 17.5%VAT even U are a genuine tourist.
first of all,you wont get charge any VAT if you import or buy it back to malaysia but malaysia will charge u tax,etc
whatsayyou
post May 1 2010, 07:08 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ May 1 2010, 06:51 PM)

the VAT is damn confusing. If ordering from handtech, can claim back VAT i think. But my bro is in sweden, the seller is uk. Still can claim back from swedish customs?
z3r0717
post May 1 2010, 07:09 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ May 1 2010, 07:06 PM)
hey bro , we have the same taste . I am waiting the tough case for Desire as it protects the phone using hybrid protector .Yeah , it maybe be thick a bit , but I dont want any things happen to my phone when it falls accidently , this things cant be sure. Any idea where to get matte screen protector for Desire ?
haha... i don't know about matte screen protector but i got one of these
http://www.boxwave.com/products/cleartouch...desire_3829.htm

You can try
http://www.zagg.com/invisibleshield/htc-de...ins-shields.php <-- top notch SP but very expensive

Added on May 1, 2010, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(whatsayyou @ May 1 2010, 07:08 PM)
the VAT is damn confusing. If ordering from handtech, can claim back VAT i think. But my bro is in sweden, the seller is uk. Still can claim back from swedish customs?
Why can't your bro just buy from some shop and then claim VAT at airport?

This post has been edited by z3r0717: May 1 2010, 07:10 PM
rattan
post May 1 2010, 07:38 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 1 2010, 03:41 PM)
y high n not fair?is high end phone
Wait another 1-2 months HTC will launch another phone and the price of this phone is going to plunge, HTC always champion in new models. hehehe
mikelanding
post May 1 2010, 07:41 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 1 2010, 07:08 PM)
first of all,you wont get charge any VAT if you import or buy it back to malaysia but malaysia will charge u tax,etc
I was actually refer to whatsayyou's plan to ask his bro to bring back from sweden with the assumption he purchase from clove.co.uk and ship to his bro.

But what U stated is correct. Clove.co.uk ship to non UK/EU will not have any VAT incur.
lhongwuh
post May 1 2010, 07:47 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ May 1 2010, 07:06 PM)
Matte SP is available now!
PM me if interested smile.gif

Added on May 1, 2010, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(golvin @ May 1 2010, 06:51 PM)
no offense, but it seems a bit thick for my taste.
haha...different ppl different taste smile.gif
To me 2-3mm is not thick biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lhongwuh: May 1 2010, 07:49 PM
hihihehe
post May 1 2010, 07:50 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ May 1 2010, 09:38 PM)
Wait another 1-2 months HTC will launch another phone and the price of this phone is going to plunge, HTC always champion in new models. hehehe
technology keep advancing brother...not only HTC will be champion

QUOTE(mikelanding @ May 1 2010, 09:41 PM)
I was actually refer to whatsayyou's plan to ask his bro to bring back from sweden with the assumption he purchase from clove.co.uk and ship to his bro.

But what U stated is correct. Clove.co.uk ship to non UK/EU will not have any VAT incur.
oic
freakenstein
post May 1 2010, 10:59 PM

2,239 posts

Good news for those who always have headache just because of Android couldn't save apps to your SD cards.
Engadget

This post has been edited by freakenstein: May 1 2010, 10:59 PM
hihihehe
post May 1 2010, 11:01 PM

13,790 posts

saw it few days ago..but dun think the update will coming to htc desire as sooner as nexus one..maybe 2-4months later?
z3r0717
post May 1 2010, 11:18 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

It doesn't matter, as long it's coming then ok liao
hihihehe
post May 1 2010, 11:36 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ May 2 2010, 01:18 AM)
It doesn't matter, as long it's coming then ok liao
but later this is same case as htc hero then gg
but doubt it will
Andrewtst
post May 2 2010, 01:26 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

QUOTE(linkinawe @ May 1 2010, 04:18 PM)
not fair ? lolz compare with Iphone , almost same the price la ... sorry to making this sound offended , if this is out of your budget , get Legend instead  biggrin.gif , or save more money  ..... You cant expect the price of the phone is same as your expectation price , Rm1.8k ~2k for this monster phone ?Then who is going to buy Legend and Nexus ??
Desire is same high spec and comparable with Nexus One. (only slighly extra RAM but missing one mic)

Nexus One cheapest now as it is older than Desire.

Actually I do feel Legend over price, it is too near than Nexus One and Desire just slightly expensive than it.

I see no point getting Legend as Legend can be said half spec than Nexus One or Desire but just slighly lower price.
linkinawe
post May 2 2010, 07:42 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 2 2010, 01:26 AM)
Desire is same high spec and comparable with Nexus One. (only slighly extra RAM but missing one mic)

Nexus One cheapest now as it is older than Desire.

Actually I do feel Legend over price, it is too near than Nexus One and Desire just slightly expensive than it.

I see no point getting Legend as Legend can be said half spec than Nexus One or Desire but just slighly lower price.
hey bro , still remember me ? thanks for your opinion last time notworthy.gif . Nexus is about Rm100 cheaper than Desire because it released earlier . To me , both of the are them are the same , but I like the design of Desire more. We wont notice the advantage of slightly increased of RAM when we're using it , unless we check the specification , 576MB~512MB . Nexus dual microphone is better for people who tend to use it in public , to reduce background noises thumbup.gif ... In the next following months , the price of Nexus and Desire will stand firm unless a new HTC phone release , or Desire sis price decrease .

By the way, how long your battery goes ? Mine used up battery quite fast . just browsing for 1 hour , the battery already dropped 7%~10% ..need to kill apps ?

This post has been edited by linkinawe: May 2 2010, 07:45 AM
hihihehe
post May 2 2010, 11:10 AM

13,790 posts

i cant find it anywhere that n1 is cheaper than desire. all i found in australia is around AUD$50-100 exp than desire. if buy it direct from google compare with desire from UK, N1 still abit exp than desire because of postage...

for the battery,not only you complaint.and also heard kill apps will not help anything and MIGHT be make ur device run slower(from what i heard in N1 thread)
so just leave the background apps run and try to off your 3g,wifi,low brightness,etc if you never use..if u browsing website with flash then it will not surprise to drop so fast for ur battery..
but still it is smartphone comes with android that focus more on "Cloud" connection...

i never own htc desire but i read it from other forum regarding htc desire..
hope it helps smile.gif

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0343sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:53 AM