HTC Desire, Officially Launched!

linkinawe
post Apr 25 2010, 10:34 PM

683 posts

yeah , cant go wrong with either N1 or Desire , pretty much the same . I am waiting for Desire ... Did someone here say Desire is available in garage sales ? nah , all is pre-order , except US set , price is Rm2500 ++ , get in 4 5days after deposit . Dont know why Desire is so slow , Australia and HK already got the stock , officially launch in next week or first week of May .
linkinawe
post Apr 26 2010, 07:52 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Apr 26 2010, 07:48 PM)
I heard that the Desire supports 720p recording but didn make it to the final firmware. They say maybe future updates will support it .

I not sure pun hmm.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTC_Desire
Desire 5 megapixel camera lose to Iphone 3GS 3.2 megapixel camera . Go youtube check 3GS vs Desire video recording . 3GS is much more better . so even the firmware support 720P recording , the video quality still so~so because camera quality
linkinawe
post Apr 26 2010, 08:03 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 26 2010, 07:58 PM)
You sure??
Iphone's camera is so and so only LOL~~"
If Desire's Cam lose 2 iphone, then dry.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DdK11UJutk here is Desire vs Iphone ..

but you also can search 3GS recording and Desire recording separately then do the comparison
linkinawe
post Apr 26 2010, 08:27 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Apr 26 2010, 08:17 PM)
The desire video is a bit suspicious though IMO. Desire does records higher resolution videos right? (Correct me if wrong)
Maybe that guy was some iPhone fanatic or something to make the iPhone look better  tongue.gif

All in all , just my opinions la . Wait for the final product to be released then we'll know rclxms.gif
so that why I said search Desire recording and 3GS separately for comfirmation smile.gif
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 07:41 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 27 2010, 04:09 AM)
Unless and until you have both, kindly refrain from making sweeping comments / one sided comments..

Can get it from so many retailers in UK and get it sent worldwide unlocked.

Android games are usually not as good as iPhone
1. latecomer
2. can't install to sd card due to linux limitation so have space limitation thus limited good games..

but, there are alot of games that can pass your time really quick
1. Abduction
2. Doodle Jump
3. Robodefence
4. Jewels
huh ? I just said the Desire camera is bit bad compare to 3GS , did I mention anything about GAMES rclxub.gif ??! 4:09AM are you full awake ? lolz whistling.gif ... So if I want to compare camera , I need to get both phones .. omg , I dont have that extra $$ icon_rolleyes.gif , just read the review from internet will do , that's one of reasons that Internet exist

Added on April 27, 2010, 8:25 am
QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 26 2010, 10:12 PM)
lol.....
yea, i got it from UK and i'm currently in AUS...
the Iphone 3gs is my gf's one not mine... yea, i can compare if you guys want.. haha
after tmr, i'll not be so busy..
hey bro , do you think you can show the video playing in Desire ? I watched lot of Desire youtube , but none of them playing video in desire .. would like to see video playback in Desire , better use a good format like avi or mp4 video if possible .. thanks !

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 27 2010, 08:27 AM
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 12:44 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(nestahng @ Apr 27 2010, 11:09 AM)
From Holland. I bought that at airport
Malaysia dont even have the phone , so how come there is a case ready ? need order from USA . I'm wondering , why don't you get Desire with case together ? instead of coming back to m'sia to get the case rclxub.gif

QUOTE(mikelee @ Apr 27 2010, 11:28 AM)
Oh yeah, hopefully very soon. From HTC Malaysia's Facebook:
fans saying only ~~~ not HTC offcial announce .. sigh

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 27 2010, 12:48 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 04:53 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(mbcx4jrh @ Apr 27 2010, 04:29 PM)
I got my desire yesterday. Ordered from clove.co.uk, delayed by volcano but not the Ministry of Bribes, sorry Customs.
I think I know why it got through - but wont say here in case the dark ones read LYN.

Total price, incl delivery via FedEx, : RM 1753
huh ? I thought you will go through TAX ,SIRIM process or what ??
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 26 2010, 10:04 PM)
refer to the previous post then u will know..he get it from clove(UK) to australia(no need to worry about stuipid tax,sirim,etc at malaysia)

n he can compare his desire with iphone 3gs lol..he got both
you are not in Malaysia ?
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 05:10 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(mbcx4jrh @ Apr 27 2010, 05:09 PM)
Mines very responsive - equal to iphone.
dude , you haven answer me icon_question.gif .. did u deal with SIRIM and tax ?
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 05:12 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 27 2010, 05:08 PM)
me and z3r0  currently at australia so no need worry about tax problem except the item that cost $1k above smile.gif

btw i saw that htc desire touchscreen not rly responsive when scroll to the next page compare to iphone.  or it just me?
Because Iphone expert in making this kind of phone .. if Iphone rated 100% responsive , then Desire is 95% responsive...another issue is Desire running live wallpapers thumbup.gif , which Iphone dont have ~
if Desire is consider SLOW to you ,

then check out these comparison

jump to 0:26 , tried 3 times ?!

Samsung need to enhance more on UI

Compare the responsive of UI ,
HTC Desire jump to 0:40 , clicking camera icon

Galaxy S jump to 2:18 , clicking camera icon

After the galaxy S is release , I've been thinking to change from Desire to galaxy , but now just stick to HTC ...

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 27 2010, 05:13 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 05:15 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(mbcx4jrh @ Apr 27 2010, 05:13 PM)
No. No SIRIM. No Tax. No Bribes. No Dark Ones. The police didnt even charge me 50RM on the way home that evening
oh really ? hihihehe , would mind explain why he doesnt need to deal with tax and SIRIM icon_question.gif ? because I also wan order from clove.uk ..... Malaysia Desire stock is holding me too long

QUOTE(draco82 @ Apr 27 2010, 05:14 PM)
He manage to escape from being trace n tax ~~
is this possible ? or just happen in coincidence that kast*m curi tulang ? lol

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 27 2010, 05:16 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 05:34 PM

683 posts

??? , check page-34 ... mbcx4jrh said he is from cyberjaya MAlaysia and ordered Desire from clove.uk .. but he didnt encounter any SIRIM or tax ? hmmmm
linkinawe
post Apr 27 2010, 11:32 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Apr 27 2010, 11:23 PM)
They said its the hardware-wise problem with the AMOLED screen itself not quite solvable with a firmware update.
there are only 5~15% users encountered this problem , so far watching the Desire review in youtube , I dont see any pinkish . The Desire video I watched are usually HD.
linkinawe
post Apr 28 2010, 01:03 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Apr 28 2010, 12:37 AM)
Actually there are some videos i've seen got this pinkish tint on the screen thou , especially when in the camera app.

Look closely , somewhere when he lifts the phone slightly . U'll notice some pinkish tint there .

Look at this one , this is obvious that it has a pinkish tint there . This thing will come out whenever there are slight Grey coloured things .
Yeah , lets hope it does but quite impossible .
I posted this is not to make people scared to buy this phone but to let people know what they are getting.
Its still a great phone and has very nice features.

I still considering getting this , Desire or the Nokia N8 which does 720p recording.

Edit : How to embed the Youtube video ?  icon_question.gif  wink.gif
Edit 2 : Done smile.gif
eii , can you give us the timeline ? thanks

linkinawe
post Apr 28 2010, 05:14 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Apr 28 2010, 02:17 PM)
the price of htc desire will be at rm2290..
QUOTE(ayiezs @ Apr 28 2010, 03:28 PM)
RM2299 looks reasonable. This is because if we take the price from clove.co.uk + shipping will total RM1760 (exchange rate 4.95 from BNM website). Then add 30% import tax equals RM2278.

My guess only...
ZZZzzzz why need to guess ? just wait for the pricing , even if you give Rm1800~2000 , does it make a effect on real pricing ? nope , you are just comforting yourself and get disappointed eventually sweat.gif .. and dont compare with clove.uk pricing , this tax thingy aint 100% accurate , sometimes cheaper sometime expensive due to other factors.

Even i said so ! I also want to give my guess tongue.gif refer to Legend and Nexus one Malaysia SIS set pricing
GOOGLE NEXUS ONE RM2280
HTC LEGEND RM1950

N1 already cost Rm2280 , so do you think Desire will be Rm2290 ? nope ~~~~~ It will be a bit more expensive than N1 , my guess is at least Rm2.4k

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 28 2010, 05:45 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 28 2010, 05:45 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 28 2010, 05:29 PM)
Bro... are you sure you're replying on the right thread let alone replying to the right post? Thats a flat out copy from my post on the Samsung Galaxy S thread. This is Desire thread.

And I'm the one discouraging price speculations based on converting prices from other countries.

Anyway, RM2290 for Desire isn't entirely baseless. True, the N1 is around this price. But its not available in this country. Availability through imports don't count. Still the RM2299 price point is left vacant in the Malaysian market.

Also... only geeks or enthusiasts like us care to buy or consider Nexus One. Normal people buy whatever phones officially sold in Malaysia. The statistics say it all. biggrin.gif
bro calm down ~~~ I quoted the wrong one , please check it , Editied already biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 28 2010, 05:46 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 28 2010, 05:51 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Apr 28 2010, 05:48 PM)
does desire has the 720P recording? O.o
sadly , no ~
linkinawe
post Apr 30 2010, 01:22 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 30 2010, 01:03 PM)
There's a reason why HTC Desire AP is expensive. Its hard to get, no signs of original units yet and it is highly sought after. Naturally, traders would like to take advantage on that. Its capitalism. Still we will have early enthusiast buying them.

We've seen these pricing trends for a lot of times. Let me quote some examples:

1. Nokia 5800. Nokia's very first Symbian S60 touch phone.
Took sometime to get here too. The AP came and was priced RM1800-2000. Then few weeks later, original units started selling and the price was a big shock. RM16xx and dropping, lower than what AP traders speculated. AP price went down to RM1300. Second hand AP units was being dumped at RM1000 and below. Original units finally settled at RM13xx +/-. This incident burnt a lot of fingers.

2. Motorola Milestone
Sold around RM2000-2200 for AP. 1 month later original units started selling and was priced at RM22xx. The AP price go down to RM15xx-18xx.

If we see any trends, original price will usually replace the AP's initial price point. So RM2399-2499 potential price point for Desire is very real. Of course this is just a guess. I see this as a strategy to compete with parallel importers. Trying to undercut their margin and discourage potential buyers.
for whatever phones , the price will eventually drop one .. because new technology come out . Try to compare 5800 with Desire , this maybe rude but I have to say 5800 is crap comparing to Desire ... So laters on , when a new phone come out , example Desire X2 , then Desire is lame than Desire X2 , price will drop ... this theory apply to computer hardware too , or whatever that is related with "technoloy" . When a newer one come out , the old one will sure drop price ... but for people , most of the people still want the newer one ! let say you want Desire for Rm2.3k , later on , Htc say Evo 4G is available for GSM , Desire drop to Rm1.8k , Evo 4G is Rm2.3k . Under whatever phone you get, the price you paying is still Rm2.3k ... So what I mean is , you are waiting Desire to drop price .. What if another great phone release out ? With extraordinary features which cant be found in Desire , Do you still want Desire ? Then at tat time , you wait for the price of new phone to drop again ? then you keep waiting forever .... Most of the people chasing the trend

PS: I said you wait for the price , just an example , no offence

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 30 2010, 01:59 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 30 2010, 02:01 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 30 2010, 01:51 PM)
Actually I don't intend to compare 5800 with Desire. Its obvious. However, the examples are meant to show everyone here to not fall into that position to get your fingers burnt for buying AP now. You may be able to own a Desire now but with the same money or cheaper, you could have the original unit few weeks later. Why am I saying this? Because AP is RM2340 instead of RM2080 as originally indicated.

I think we all know 5800 is an affordable phone made of cheap materials and we all know where it stands in the market during its time.

Of course this post is not meant to down play the role AP traders play in this whole thing. For example, the HD2's price was super expensive at RM2899 and now RM2699. The AP traders brought down the price with AP units for RM20xx. Good price.
hmm ....
you said there is no sign of original units ? HTC Desire official launch confirmed at Spore 14 May 8pm at Suntec.

S'pore HTC fan page http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?p...150124449655422
HTC Desire = SGD938 , from what I refer to post #763 , with this price it is sis set
Do you mean now it is Rm2340 , then next week become RM2000 ? a bit impossible hmm.gif .. because why ? just few days later then price drop Rm340 ? nope .. and I have another reason wink.gif . Now the Legend is about Rm2k for sis set , if Desire ap drop to Rm2k , Do you think still got ppl buy sis set Legend ? They rather get ap Desire instead of sis Legend for better features in trade off of 1 yr warranty . I mean most of the people , most of the people like me , prefer Ap set because it is cheaper , and 1 yr warranty is enough. If you do root , 2 yrs mean for nothing .So ori will affect the ap price , but the other phone around also affect it , like Legend ~ Desire ... . So Rm2340 will last for 4 5 months .. until newer phone come out , or cheaper sis price .

For , HD2's price was super expensive at RM2899 and now RM2699 , because HD2 price is too high for people , so it is easy to drop to make it affordable.

This post has been edited by linkinawe: Apr 30 2010, 02:05 PM
linkinawe
post Apr 30 2010, 02:09 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 30 2010, 02:06 PM)
i somehow disagree with linkinawe for some reason which hard for me to explain tongue.gif

and i guess u misunderstood what davidmak trying to say..
thr no point to compare price with sg too..

just my opinion
notworthy.gif I know Davidmak trying to say original price will bring down the price of AP set , because original is not around yet . My English very poor , so you guys might think I misunderstood him icon_rolleyes.gif need to improve my English , haha
linkinawe
post Apr 30 2010, 02:11 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Apr 30 2010, 02:09 PM)
normally price will drop 50 weekly..
bro , I have pre order with you right ? Can I wait for next week to drop rm50 first ? lol icon_idea.gif ahaha

0.0480sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:40 PM