184 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

dvlzplayground
post Jan 19 2010, 09:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jan 19 2010, 08:44 PM)
alrite then , i think my aim will be on teh 450d , thanks !

anyway , wads this digic 3 / 4 thing anyway ?

Added on January 19, 2010, 8:46 pmbtw , why so mani people jump to the ' dark side ' and so little hopping into the ' bright side ' ? biggrin.gif
digic 3 n 4 is the image processor. i think the main difference is digic 4 handles noise better tongue.gif

im not sure about 450D vs 500D. if u're comparing D3000 vs D5000, the d5000 is kind of a mixed bag. it's got a lot of the tech from D90, but limited by the controls of the d3000. if u dont want the d3000, might as well jump to d90 lah tongue.gif just my opinion
Giff
post Jan 19 2010, 10:15 PM

22 posts

mm have to be sensible lah, 2k wont get u a D5000. secondhand G1 maybe laa

[/quote]

mm, forget about the budget, i seldom hear ppl use the Lumix DSLR compare to nikon
if compare lumix n nikon, which are better?
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 10:38 PM

1,862 posts

[quote=dwin95,Jan 19 2010, 08:44 PM]alrite then , i think my aim will be on teh 450d , thanks !

anyway , wads this digic 3 / 4 thing anyway ?

Added on January 19, 2010, 8:46 pmbtw , why so mani people jump to the ' dark side ' and so little hopping into the ' bright side ' ? biggrin.gif

[/quote]
Digic is the name of the image processor that Canon places in their DSLRs.

And that's a really subjective question. When the 1000D had only the D60 to compete with lots of people opted for the 1000D because it was the best.

Added on January 19, 2010, 10:44 pm[quote=Giff,Jan 19 2010, 10:15 PM]
mm have to be sensible lah, 2k wont get u a D5000. secondhand G1 maybe laa

[/quote]

mm, forget about the budget, i seldom hear ppl use the Lumix DSLR compare to nikon
if compare lumix n nikon, which are better?

[/quote]
Lumix makes good cameras, but Nikon is one of the top guns in the DSLR market... Presumably, the Nikon would be better. Not much heard of Lumix DSLRs yet though.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Jan 19 2010, 10:44 PM
Tenshi
post Jan 20 2010, 01:27 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 19 2010, 04:33 PM)
Definitely the D90. The 50D costs about the same, and it has better FPS rate than the D90, but D90 has movie. Decide carefully. It'll be up to you to choose your preference, whether you want the video or the more serious shooting.

You can single out the 500D, it's an entry-level 1000D with video, that's all. Just a few added things here and there.
So, 500D is not worth it? From what I know, the only advantage of 500D is with HD video but its actually its exactly the same as 450D, right? correct me if I'm wrong... smile.gif

Hmm... thanks for the opinion, I'll take the video option into serious consideration....

Secondly, which model has lesser noise lvl? D90 or 50D?

Another thing, according to dpreview spec review, I found out that D90's sensor is manufactured by Sony, should we concern about this too?

Sorry, if my questions sounds noob.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Tenshi: Jan 20 2010, 02:58 AM
nkymark
post Jan 20 2010, 07:24 AM

433 posts

Hi guys,

I'm in Melbourne and was shopping around for duty free dSLR. Got this deal for the D3000;

NIKON D3000 18-55&55-200MMVR TWIN LENS KIT
AUD899 = RM2822

Is it worth it? I'm a beginner FYI, and I don't plan to spend too much on a dSLR. Just a sufficient one will do :-)

! Love Money
post Jan 20 2010, 08:42 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jan 19 2010, 07:59 PM)
so basically a 450d got outrunned by 500d is just the video recording ?
no only video recording but more pixels sensor and improved DIGIC IV image processor
FerrariST
post Jan 20 2010, 12:19 PM

340 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact Camera
Budget : Below 600
Your Location : KLANG - KL
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait, night shot
Any specific models in mind? : Canon
Any specific features u want? : HD, touch screen, Panoramic, good, anti shock, good battery life

bingozero
post Jan 20 2010, 12:36 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Jan 20 2010, 08:42 AM)
no only video recording but more pixels sensor and improved DIGIC IV image processor
But the price is far difference, if you have low budget can consider 450D.
! Love Money
post Jan 20 2010, 12:48 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 20 2010, 12:36 PM)
But the price is far difference, if you have low budget can consider 450D.
3.2k for 500D is acceptable... coz 2 years ago when the new 450D is announced it also cost around 3k...
i bought mine for rm2.8k after half year it appear in the market smile.gif
dwin95
post Jan 20 2010, 01:41 PM

wow i finally get to type here since 2009
1,257 posts

well , lets see how the market will be around sept , maybe the price of 450d can be replaced by 500d , then confirm sapu . biggrin.gif , d5000 is also a step up of d3000 / 450d with video recording right ?
bingozero
post Jan 20 2010, 02:33 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jan 20 2010, 01:41 PM)
well , lets see how the market will be around sept , maybe the price of 450d can be replaced by 500d , then confirm sapu . biggrin.gif , d5000 is also a step up of d3000 / 450d with video recording right ?
450D don't have video record, if you want video record, go for 500D.
I think before sept, 500D replace by 450D course I ask a few shop say 450D discontinue already, but some shop still available.
But D5000 no focus motor.
aidono
post Jan 20 2010, 04:22 PM

1,124 posts

Need advice on which camera to purchase

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2400 - RM3500
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon and Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Nightscene
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 500D, Nikon D5000 and Olympus E620
Any specific features u want? : Friendly user camera (first timer in DSLR)
TheWandererX
post Jan 20 2010, 05:54 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Tenshi @ Jan 20 2010, 01:27 AM)
So, 500D is not worth it? From what I know, the only advantage of 500D is with HD video but its actually its exactly the same as 450D, right? correct me if I'm wrong... smile.gif

Hmm... thanks for the opinion, I'll take the video option into serious consideration....

Secondly, which model has lesser noise lvl? D90 or 50D?

Another thing, according to dpreview spec review, I found out that D90's sensor is manufactured by Sony, should we concern about this too?

Sorry, if my questions sounds noob.... sweat.gif
Not exactly the same. Quote I Love Money, an upgraded Digic IV processing engine, a sleeker body, 'HD' video. As far as I know HD is 1280x760 30fps. It's not close to that. So yeah. It's just 'video'. HD merely a marketing term.

2. Both results turn out to be very close. In DPReview there is a section in both the D90 and 50D review that shows the ISO comparison. It's marginal. Don't need to worry about that.

Also, although the sensor is produced by Sony, the algorithms and the processing is totally different and designed by Nikon. That's the main point. Yes sensor does play a big role, but the processing engine bigger. Each manufacturer developed their own processing algorithms, and that's what makes the difference.

QUOTE(nkymark @ Jan 20 2010, 07:24 AM)
Hi guys,

I'm in Melbourne and was shopping around for duty free dSLR. Got this deal for the D3000;
NIKON D3000 18-55&55-200MMVR TWIN LENS KIT
AUD899 = RM2822
Is it worth it? I'm a beginner FYI, and I don't plan to spend too much on a dSLR. Just a sufficient one will do :-)

Hmm, it sounds like a good offer. Online shopping? I was wondering if you'd be able to find a local shop, cause then you're more likely to be able to bargain and grab yourself some freebies.

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Jan 20 2010, 08:42 AM)
I have to correct this. Firstly. APS-C sensors are all the same. From 1000D to 500D to 50D to 7D the sensors share the same size.

Also, Digic IV is just the noise processing. Maybe it processes noise better or something but I don't see much difference between 450D/500D in terms of image quality. Can't compare exactly because of the megapixel thing.

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jan 20 2010, 12:19 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact Camera
Budget : Below 600
Your Location : KLANG - KL
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait, night shot
Any specific models in mind? : Canon
Any specific features u want? : HD, touch screen, Panoramic, good, anti shock, good battery life
Ouch, not sure if you'd be able to achieve that. 600 is a bit too low. Also, Canon's don't make touchscreen cameras. They are focused on image quality. Secondly. HD is only available on the RM1k+ models I think. Should be, I'm not sure.

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jan 20 2010, 01:41 PM)
Impossible. DSLR market prices do not depreciate that quickly. Camera bodies only depreciate when there is a newer model out. The 500D has been out for around a year alr plus minus. Expect later in the year, most likely next year for a new model.

QUOTE(aidono @ Jan 20 2010, 04:22 PM)
Need advice on which camera to purchase

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2400 - RM3500
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon and Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, Nightscene
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 500D, Nikon D5000 and Olympus E620
Any specific features u want? : Friendly user camera (first timer in DSLR)
All DSLRs have a degree of complexity that you'll have to learn up. But in terms of user friendliness compared to the pro-er models (50D, 7D, 1D, D300s, D700, D3, E-3) these are better.

Firstly I'll have to say I don't trust Olympus. That's my opinion and I'm sticking with it. Their image quality is just so-so. If you're wondering, there's a reason why Canon and Nikon have the top market share in Malaysia.

If you're thinking of the Canon, I suggest you find a 450D kit. It costs RM2k+-, a shocking thousand bucks cheaper than the 500D, which is essentially a 'facelifted' 450D with video. It's not even HD, so why bother? The Olympus E-620... Only reason I know is that it is smaller than both Canon and Nikon.
Tenshi
post Jan 20 2010, 07:16 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 20 2010, 05:54 PM)
Not exactly the same. Quote I Love Money, an upgraded Digic IV processing engine, a sleeker body, 'HD' video. As far as I know HD is 1280x760 30fps. It's not close to that. So yeah. It's just 'video'. HD merely a marketing term.

2. Both results turn out to be very close. In DPReview there is a section in both the D90 and 50D review that shows the ISO comparison. It's marginal. Don't need to worry about that.

Also, although the sensor is produced by Sony, the algorithms and the processing is totally different and designed by Nikon. That's the main point. Yes sensor does play a big role, but the processing engine bigger. Each manufacturer developed their own processing algorithms, and that's what makes the difference.
Thanks a lot TheWandererX!! I guess I have my decision more or less biggrin.gif

No matter what, I'll still will go and try both 500D and D90, if possible 50D too... hehehe...

In the end, hands-on is a must, to feel the "body"... hahahha!! tongue.gif

dwin95
post Jan 20 2010, 07:51 PM

wow i finally get to type here since 2009
1,257 posts

o ? d5000 no focus motor = canon 500d wins ?
TheWandererX
post Jan 20 2010, 07:54 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jan 20 2010, 07:51 PM)
o ? d5000 no focus motor = canon 500d wins ?
That is so not true. Just because D5000 doesn't have an AF motor doesn't mean it can't AF. It only applies to older lenses. You won't need to worry a thing if you're not gonna be really into DSLRs and just want good photos.
aidono
post Jan 20 2010, 08:01 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 20 2010, 06:54 PM)
All DSLRs have a degree of complexity that you'll have to learn up. But in terms of user friendliness compared to the pro-er models (50D, 7D, 1D, D300s, D700, D3, E-3) these are better.

Firstly I'll have to say I don't trust Olympus. That's my opinion and I'm sticking with it. Their image quality is just so-so. If you're wondering, there's a reason why Canon and Nikon have the top market share in Malaysia.

If you're thinking of the Canon, I suggest you find a 450D kit. It costs RM2k+-, a shocking thousand bucks cheaper than the 500D, which is essentially a 'facelifted' 450D with video. It's not even HD, so why bother? The Olympus E-620... Only reason I know is that it is smaller than both Canon and Nikon.
Well, I know most of the people would prefer to go for Canon and Nikon at Malaysia compare to other competitors such as Olympus, Sony or even Pentax. That is why I am trying to survey out what's best around by asking your favor and I really appreciate what you have to share. Thanks.

You are right with the 450D kit come at RM2k+ and it is a thousand bucks cheaper compare to the 500D, but will the outcome of the picture of 450D fare better than 500D? But then, I will start to compare the picture taken with a D5000 and at the first point of view I think Nikon win over this two modals. Would the auto focus play a role to get a good picture and effect your judgment before purchasing your ideal camera?

If to change my mind set to purchase a 450D, I will be taking Sony’s Alpha DSLR - A350 for the comparison. And talking about video, what's HD? Thanks again for answering my inquiry earlier.
TheWandererX
post Jan 20 2010, 08:32 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Jan 20 2010, 08:01 PM)
Well, I know most of the people would prefer to go for Canon and Nikon at Malaysia compare to other competitors such as Olympus, Sony or even Pentax. That is why I am trying to survey out what's best around by asking your favor and I really appreciate what you have to share. Thanks.

You are right with the 450D kit come at RM2k+ and it is a thousand bucks cheaper compare to the 500D, but will the outcome of the picture of 450D fare better than 500D? But then, I will start to compare the picture taken with a D5000 and at the first point of view I think Nikon win over this two modals. Would the auto focus play a role to get a good picture and effect your judgment before purchasing your ideal camera?

If to change my mind set to purchase a 450D, I will be taking Sony’s Alpha DSLR - A350 for the comparison. And talking about video, what's HD? Thanks again for answering my inquiry earlier.
Not really, the difference is marginal. These two models are both entry-level models. Therefore the difference won't be big, if there is any. Just so you know, the Nikon's algorithm contains sharpening and touch-up elements, so what you see isn't the real deal. It's modified in camera. Definitely the Nikon's output would look better. This is a very subjective question though. So there is no definite answer.

Also, yes, auto focus does play a TINY role. In the Nikon's, their older lenses (example the 50mm 1:1.8D) don't have built in autofocus motors because it was made for film cameras which had no autofocus. The AF motors inside the body is to help the older lenses to focus.

If you're gonna compare the 450D to the A350, definitely the 450D will stand out. I've played with both previously, and even the stats of the 450D outmatch the A350. It's another subjective question, and if I voice out a little too much I'll be accused of fanboyism. So I shall recommend you to go ahead and scour Google, this forum and other forums for your answer.

Good luck on making up your mind.
afizzat
post Jan 20 2010, 08:53 PM

40 posts

i've posted before but unfortunately 'bajet lari'. so come post again..
need recommendation... icon_question.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point & shoot Camera
Budget : 500-550
Your Location : Shah Alam
Preferable brand : lumix, samsung
Type of photography u want to do : outdoors,daylight shot, night shot, snap everyday pics, blogging purposes, events..
Any specific models in mind? : ~~
Any specific features u want? : good battery life (use li-ion is more preferrable), pic stabilizer,value 4 money..

can sum1 recommend me??i wan to get a camera after i got my scholarship..
demo set or ori set, i won't mind..

This post has been edited by afizzat: Jan 24 2010, 02:13 PM
x-death-x
post Jan 20 2010, 09:31 PM

175 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact camera
Budget : rm1000-1100
Preferable brand : panasonic lumix or fujifilm
Type of photography u want to do : everyday use, outdoor activity,vacation
Any specific models in mind? : no
Any specific features u want? : good macro,at least 10mp, wide lens, good battery, nice design(slim), not bulky

icon_question.gif

thanx for your help

This post has been edited by x-death-x: Jan 20 2010, 09:37 PM

184 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:12 PM