184 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

TheWandererX
post Jan 18 2010, 07:13 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ Jan 18 2010, 12:32 AM)
I hope you guys can read this and do research before state something smile.gif
and I always hate not so clever fanboys who talks blindly...

btw, this quote from albnok from Sony Alpha Thread:

Prices quoted from http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/885593 and http://www.shashinki.com/.
Cheap doesn't mean best. Not intending to start a brand war, but um, the Canon 300mm F2.8L is cheaper? 135 F2L? And you're comparing a CZ 1.4 with Canon's 1.2? Canon's 28mm F2.8 cheaper too? Comparing the beercan with an L lens? I'm not sure what to say. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(sevensigns @ Jan 18 2010, 10:42 AM)
hello.I want to ask.If my budjet is only rm2k.What will should i get the dslr camera?.D60 or D80?.which one with good with my budjet..
Definitely the D80. The D60 is a step down from it.

QUOTE(sevensigns @ Jan 18 2010, 06:22 PM)
how about d80 and d90.Does any differences about this 2.
d3000 vs d60
D90 is the successor to D80. D3000 is the successor to D60. And an added tip, the D3000 has improved very much since the D60.

Added on January 18, 2010, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(destfull @ Jan 18 2010, 04:11 PM)
Up to you la dude, fenbui will always be fenbui.. I hope your math got credit or passed during SPM, if not I know the reason smile.gif
And just so you know, we discuss, not flame. I guess you're just trying to start a flame war, no? Reported.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Jan 18 2010, 07:16 PM
mengsuan
post Jan 18 2010, 08:23 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

No comments should lead to personal attacks.
Tenshi
post Jan 18 2010, 11:06 PM

292 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : 4k +/-
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : -
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 500D or Nikon D90
Any specific features u want? : -

Can I have some opinions on the models mentioned above?

I'm in dilemma... smile.gif
shahiryusoff
post Jan 19 2010, 04:23 PM

487 posts

Hi guys, would like some help as i'm about to buy a DSLR. I would like to ask, where is the best place to buy a DSLR in KL where you can get it cheap or discounts maybe? I prefer Cannon. Any good shop which gives best price and service? icon_question.gif
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 04:33 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Tenshi @ Jan 18 2010, 11:06 PM)
Budget : 4k +/-
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : -
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 500D or Nikon D90
Any specific features u want? : -

Can I have some opinions on the models mentioned above?

I'm in dilemma... smile.gif
Definitely the D90. The 50D costs about the same, and it has better FPS rate than the D90, but D90 has movie. Decide carefully. It'll be up to you to choose your preference, whether you want the video or the more serious shooting.

You can single out the 500D, it's an entry-level 1000D with video, that's all. Just a few added things here and there.

Added on January 19, 2010, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Jan 19 2010, 04:23 PM)
Hi guys, would like some help as i'm about to buy a DSLR. I would like to ask, where is the best place to buy a DSLR in KL where you can get it cheap or discounts maybe? I prefer Cannon. Any good shop which gives best price and service? icon_question.gif
YL Camera in Pudu Plaza, DigitalsMania too. Pertama Complex... I can't remember. Should be Photo Selangor or something like that. There's Yuan Ghie Hsin which brings in grey units (Taman Megah). That's as far as I know la. I'm not really well-versed in this so apologies if my help is not adequate.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Jan 19 2010, 04:35 PM
Nidz
post Jan 19 2010, 05:12 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : mFT; or shud i just buy dslr?
Budget : 3-4k max
Preferable brand : Lumix/Canon/Nikon

Type of photography u want to do : general shooting, sometimes low light conditions... but most of it will be for general event as well as when holiday-ing and sight seeing

Any specific models in mind? : ive prepared budget for Lumix GF1, but juz wanna know others opinion.

Any specific features u want? : i want it to be portable, (GF1 is the perfect size for me) and i dun really see that i will upgrade my gear so soon, so i wanted to know wut other things that i shud know about, especially about flash.
do i really need external flash? TTL? Wireless trigger?

thx in advance for ur kind feedback.
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 05:15 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 19 2010, 05:12 PM)

Type of photography u want to do : general shooting, sometimes low light conditions... but most of it will be for general event as well as when holiday-ing and sight seeing

Any specific models in mind? : ive prepared budget for Lumix GF1, but juz wanna know others opinion.

Any specific features u want? : i want it to be portable, (GF1 is the perfect size for me) and i dun really see that i will upgrade my gear so soon, so i wanted to know wut other things that i shud know about, especially about flash.

General shooting, the GF1 would work perfectly. Lumix churns out wonderful cameras, but this one's based on the Micro Four Thirds system so you'll struggle a bit if you're thinking of taking wide-angle shots. Go for it, if you're all set then.

External flash is only needed if you really are dissatisfied with the built-in. Have a play around first. TTL is a technology implemented in modern flashes. The built-in one has it, don't worry about that. Wireless trigger is more for studio shots/shots with preparation. No, it's not practical.
dvlzplayground
post Jan 19 2010, 05:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 19 2010, 05:12 PM)

external flash would help a lot for low-light indoors, but then it'd make ur camera less portable. us casual photographers wont need wireless trigger

i really like the GF1, but for the price i'd still get a dslr. it's still too big for a jeans pocket, so im still gonna be carrying it around my neck n shoulders anyway.
Nidz
post Jan 19 2010, 05:48 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 19 2010, 05:15 PM)
General shooting, the GF1 would work perfectly. Lumix churns out wonderful cameras, but this one's based on the Micro Four Thirds system so you'll struggle a bit if you're thinking of taking wide-angle shots. Go for it, if you're all set then.

External flash is only needed if you really are dissatisfied with the built-in. Have a play around first. TTL is a technology implemented in modern flashes. The built-in one has it, don't worry about that. Wireless trigger is more for studio shots/shots with preparation. No, it's not practical.
ok then, u suggest that i need not buy any external flash yet, juz play with the built in first. will consider that. thumbup.gif
btw, which camera will suite my budget (hopefully small size) if i want to take wide angle shots as well? lumix lens 14-45mm is not wide enuff?

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 19 2010, 05:33 PM)
external flash would help a lot for low-light indoors, but then it'd make ur camera less portable. us casual photographers wont need wireless trigger

i really like the GF1, but for the price i'd still get a dslr. it's still too big for a jeans pocket, so im still gonna be carrying it around my neck n shoulders anyway.
well, wut dslr will u get if u were in my shoes? i dun mind carrying around neck or in bag, bt i dun really like if got many accessories need to bring also...
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 05:55 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 19 2010, 05:48 PM)
ok then, u suggest that i need not buy any external flash yet, juz play with the built in first. will consider that. thumbup.gif
btw, which camera will suite my budget (hopefully small size) if i want to take wide angle shots as well? lumix lens 14-45mm is not wide enuff?
well, wut dslr will u get if u were in my shoes? i dun mind carrying around neck or in bag, bt i dun really like if got many accessories need to bring also...
14-45mm will translate to 28-90mm. Not too wide and not too zoom-y either. Anyway, don't go for external flash unless you're really sure you need it or you'll be wasting your money.

Also, I'd get a Canon EOS 50D. Not anything of a brand preference, I just find video useless to me (as in the Nikon D90) and I prefer to go with the 6.3fps. I shoot sports quite frequently.

Also, no, DSLRs are not dependent on accessories. I could attach a lens to my body and walk out not needing anything else. Those who overpack at their own expense la.
Giff
post Jan 19 2010, 06:24 PM

22 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : 2k include lens
Preferable brand : Nikon/Lumix
Type of photography u want to do : sport
Any specific models in mind? : D3000, D5000 @ G1
Any specific features u want? : friendly use for new user

This post has been edited by Giff: Jan 19 2010, 06:25 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jan 19 2010, 06:35 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 19 2010, 05:48 PM)
as TheWandererX said, 14-45mm wont be considered a wide lens already on a m4/3. crop factor is 2x~ shud consider DSLR or a compact for wide-angle IMO tongue.gif

uhmm i vote for the D90, not bcuz of the video, but just because i prefer nikon. the canon 50D would be nice as well. both are very good cameras. if u want something smaller, can go for nikon d3000 or canon 1000d. they're lighter as well, n only rm2k so u get to spend 1-2k on a nice fast lens, zoom lens, a good bag, n maybe an external flash biggrin.gif

Added on January 19, 2010, 6:36 pm
QUOTE(Giff @ Jan 19 2010, 06:24 PM)
Preferable brand :  Nikon/Lumix
mm have to be sensible lah, 2k wont get u a D5000. secondhand G1 maybe laa

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jan 19 2010, 06:36 PM
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 06:41 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Giff @ Jan 19 2010, 06:24 PM)
Preferable brand :  Nikon/Lumix
Sorry to tell you sports photography is not possible with any of these. Measly 3fps is not going to get you anywhere.

Definitely the Nikon D3000 would be your best preference in this case. D5000, forget it. Not even a 2nd hand. G1... you sure? :/

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 19 2010, 06:35 PM)
as TheWandererX said, 14-45mm wont be considered a wide lens already on a m4/3. crop factor is 2x~ shud consider DSLR or a compact for wide-angle IMO tongue.gif

uhmm i vote for the D90, not bcuz of the video, but just because i prefer nikon. the canon 50D would be nice as well. both are very good cameras. if u want something smaller, can go for nikon d3000 or canon 1000d. they're lighter as well, n only rm2k so u get to spend 1-2k on a nice fast lens, zoom lens, a good bag, n maybe an external flash biggrin.gif

Added on January 19, 2010, 6:36 pm

mm have to be sensible lah, 2k wont get u a D5000. secondhand G1 maybe laa
Adding on. Cameras with 24mm wide-angle (most Lumix compacts) would do you good.
Nidz
post Jan 19 2010, 07:04 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 19 2010, 06:41 PM)
Adding on. Cameras with 24mm wide-angle (most Lumix compacts) would do you good.
i see.. so, if i wanna wide angle as well as moderate zooming, then i shud get a dslr instead?
e.g, nikon d90 kitlens is 18-105mm, does this means the wide angle is 18mm?
devil94
post Jan 19 2010, 07:13 PM

Hi ! =D
1,524 posts

Budget :3K ?
Preferable brand : Dono....Any recomend
Type of photography u want to do : Any.....
Any specific models in mind? : Nope
Any specific features u want? : Dono Still New hmm.gif
dvlzplayground
post Jan 19 2010, 07:17 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 19 2010, 07:04 PM)
i see.. so, if i wanna wide angle as well as moderate zooming, then i shud get a dslr instead?
ure missing out something called crop factor. nikon D90 crop factor is 1.5x. u need to remember this

while a 18mm focal length is considered a wide angle, when attached to a nikon 'DX format' DSLR, the 18-105 lens will become a 27-158mm lens (multiply by 1.5). thus, those lumix cameras with 24mm is actually wider than an 18mm lens on D90.

the 18mm of the 18-105 kit lens is referred to as the 'wide end' meaning it's the furthest u can go. however it's not 'wide angle' because it acts like a 27mm lens. the 18mm end can only be considered as a wide angle lens if u put them on FX format DSLRs since they have no crop factor (it'll still act as a 18mm lens).

yeah this stuff is confusing tongue.gif this is all because the D90 (and other DX format nikons) have a smaller sensor than a photographic film
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 07:25 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Jan 19 2010, 07:13 PM)
Budget :3K ?
Preferable brand : Dono....Any recomend
Type of photography u want to do : Any.....
Any specific models in mind? : Nope
Any specific features u want? : Dono Still New hmm.gif
I'd suggest a Nikon D5000 or a Canon EOS 450D with 1k left to spare. Hard to find though, it's slowly being sold out. Another option is the 500D. I don't like the RM3k DSLRs though. They're all just entry-level DSLRs with added video.

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jan 19 2010, 07:04 PM)
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 19 2010, 07:17 PM)
ure missing out something called crop factor. nikon D90 crop factor is 1.5x. u need to remember this

while a 18mm focal length is considered a wide angle, when attached to a nikon 'DX format' DSLR, the 18-105 lens will become a 27-158mm lens (multiply by 1.5). thus, those lumix cameras with 24mm is actually wider than an 18mm lens on D90.

the 18mm of the 18-105 kit lens is referred to as the 'wide end' meaning it's the furthest u can go. however it's not 'wide angle' because it acts like a 27mm lens. the 18mm end can only be considered as a wide angle lens if u put them on FX format DSLRs since they have no crop factor (it'll still act as a 18mm lens).

yeah this stuff is confusing tongue.gif this is all because the D90 (and other DX format nikons) have a smaller sensor than a photographic film
I hope this explains it well, if not better. Thanks mate (:
dwin95
post Jan 19 2010, 07:59 PM

wow i finally get to type here since 2009
1,257 posts

so basically a 450d got outrunned by 500d is just the video recording ?
TheWandererX
post Jan 19 2010, 08:08 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jan 19 2010, 07:59 PM)
so basically a 450d got outrunned by 500d is just the video recording ?
Yup. Totally. They share almost identical specifications, if not the same. Definitely on the outside they don't look the same at all. But the internals are what matters.
dwin95
post Jan 19 2010, 08:44 PM

wow i finally get to type here since 2009
1,257 posts

alrite then , i think my aim will be on teh 450d , thanks !

anyway , wads this digic 3 / 4 thing anyway ?

Added on January 19, 2010, 8:46 pmbtw , why so mani people jump to the ' dark side ' and so little hopping into the ' bright side ' ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dwin95: Jan 19 2010, 08:46 PM

184 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:07 PM