5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

TheWandererX
post Dec 15 2009, 03:53 PM

1,862 posts

Back on LYN after a loooooong break. Whee. laugh.gif

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 14 2009, 09:01 PM)
Wooh...
You're miri ppl also...  biggrin.gif

Nikon D90 is much better?  hmm.gif

Miri price I not yet check... Just check out lelong and ebay... price for body is RM2K ++
Lowyat price?
Second hand or new? New is around RM3k.

QUOTE(epos127 @ Dec 15 2009, 12:33 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories: Digital Cam
Budget:Below RM1100
Your Location: Kuantan/KL 
Preferable brand: Any major brand
Type of photography u want to do: Parties/Portraits 
Any specific models in mind?: Samsung ST500, Canon Ixus, Lumix Pana LX3?? lol 
Any specific features u want?: Anti-shake will be preferable. And least difference while print out

Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif
You might consider the Canon Ixus 100/110 IS or the Panasonic Lumix TZ15?

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Dec 15 2009, 02:22 AM)
wanna ask is canon 1000D good for amateurs?
It's a good start off point for DSLRs, no doubt. Just wondering what is your budget?

QUOTE(yeohkh @ Dec 15 2009, 02:04 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital Camera
Budget : No more than RM1300
Your Location : Penang
Preferable brand : Canon/Panasonic/Fujifilm
Type of photography u want to do : General photography, outing etc.
Any specific models in mind? : Canon IXUS 120/200, Lumix TZ7, Fujifilm Finepix F70EXR/F200EXR
Any specific features u want? : Anti-shake, sharp pictures, high quality photo, good night shot

Any model to recommend me?
The Fuji's work very well in low light conditions, but in normal shooting conditions, I'm not sure. The Canon and Panasonic are marginally better in those cases.

Blends down to personal preference. These three brands are really good ones. (;
TheWandererX
post Dec 15 2009, 11:09 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Dec 15 2009, 10:59 PM)
thanks for the advice.
so is it advisable to get the Kit EFS 18-55 or the Kit II EF-S18-200mm lens?
sorry but am really a noob at dslr here
18-200 kits are really hard to find. The 18-55 is a more popular choice.

I personally would go for the 18-200. You won't go wrong with it. But it'll set you back about 1K more. If I'm not mistaken. If you have the extra cash, you would definitely wanna opt for the 18-200.

In my opinion I'd go for the 18-200 too although it means another 1K gone. You'll find the extra zoom range useful for a beginner. I started off with the 18-55 LOL. It's a very short lens. You'll find yourself restricted to 'that' zoom range after a while.

QUOTE(epos127 @ Dec 15 2009, 11:08 PM)
Canon seems good. Hot camera. LOL
Do u know how much it cost? Real old models right?  cool2.gif
Not really. The 110 is hovering around the RM1k price range, while the 100 goes for around RM700-RM800. Good luck securing your deal. (:

And if you're considering the Panasonic, it's been out for a while already, but I think it is still a worthy contender.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 15 2009, 11:10 PM
TheWandererX
post Dec 16 2009, 12:58 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Dec 16 2009, 12:06 AM)
thanks for the advice, looks like another months salary is gonna go into lens.
HAHA. What to do. Photography is an expensive hobby. cry.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 16 2009, 11:03 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(babyiswara @ Dec 16 2009, 03:06 AM)
hi, I would like to know is Nikon P90 already enough for newbie?
or is there other series maybe can recommend to me?
Just require features that can take scenery and people can already.
budget maybe around RM2000 below...
Thanks and appreciate it a lot... ^^
RM2000? Just wondering what are you aiming for in your camera first? Superzoom or prosumer?

If superzoom, there is the Panasonic Lumix FZ35/FZ28 or the Canon Powershot SX10/20. The P90 is in the same category as these, so you might wanna do a bit of research to see which one would suit you best.

If prosumer, there's the Panasonic Lumix LX3/GF1, or the Canon Powershot G10/G11.

QUOTE(epos127 @ Dec 16 2009, 09:54 AM)
Yikes. I know. But its over my budget.. haha
You know anything about Samsung ST500? The dual lcd screen is really impressive. But I dont have confident in Samsung cameras, so I came here to survey first lol.  blush.gif
Off topic, but I'll share this bit. Recently came back from Korea after a long trip and during the start of the trip, one of my friends' cameras broke down. He had to buy a new one and ended buying this model for RM1300 converted from Korean won, LOL. And I saw it selling for RM1k in Taman Tun. Banner ad.

Back on topic, I think it's a really handy camwhore camera, but the quality,... I'm not so sure at all. Not much is being said about Samsung anyway. I think it'll do just well for a mid-range PnS.
TheWandererX
post Dec 16 2009, 03:10 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 16 2009, 02:07 PM)
I'm just asking price for Canon EOS 500D here at my place Miri, Sarawak.

The body only is RM2750...

While with kit lens(dunno what didn't pay attention) is RM4850...

While buying body and lens separately body is RM2750 + lense RM2870 = RM5620

Now, how much the price there at lowyat?
Can I get any cheaper than this?
Can't be that expensive.. I think the shop you visited placed high price tags, which surely can be bargained down..

You might want to do a lil bit more research in the Garage Sales area, the price is almost around there. The 500D (body) is around RM2.5k, while the kits...

Now there are two popular kits.

1. 18-55: RM3k
2. 18-200: RM4k+

Good luck on sourcing your deal, and don't forget to bargain, both for the price and freebies. smile.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 16 2009, 03:36 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 16 2009, 03:29 PM)
@TheWandererX:
I can't really agree with you that I'll go for the Canon 500D Kit Lens 2 (18-200 IS). It's around RM4k if not mistaken.
I'd recommend the Canon 500D Kit Lens 1 (18-55 IS) at RM3k + Canon EF-S 55-250 IS at RM800 = RM3.8k. Hence, you save RM200 rather than buying the Kit Lens 2 (18-200 IS). However, you'll be carrying 2x lenses (18-55 IS + 55-250 IS) but you get more range (by 50mm). The RM200 you saved can get you Hoya UV Filters, just my 2 cents.
I like the way you think. In fact I'm using the same setup, different body only. I'm suggesting the 18-200 because they're just stepping into DSLRs, and I think the 18-200 is a very good choice for a beginner. Personally I don't like changing lenses. Every time I need the zoom range when I'm shooting wide, I have to change lenses, and if I want to shoot wide when I'm on the 55-250 I have to change again. It is a bit of a hassle, don't you think? I wouldn't want to be burdened by that.

It gets really annoying sometimes for me, but I had no choice because back then, 18-200 kits were scarce, exception being the 50D. And I'm sure they'd love the accessibility of the whole range with one lens as a starter. wink.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Dec 16 2009, 04:24 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Digital Camera
Budget: 1k - 1.5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Need to snap Sharp Color (example, snap Model after makeup)
Any specific models in mind? :  TX1 & WX1
Any specific features u want? : Slim, Girl use..
Definitely the TX1, if you can afford. If you want to go for a cheaper alternative the WX1 would be nice. Not many cameras cater to the 'stylish' category nowadays.. Not much choices.

QUOTE(gwendoLYN @ Dec 16 2009, 05:19 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  compact dslr / micro 4 3
Budget: 3000-3500
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand :  canon
Type of photography u want to do :  all
Any specific models in mind? :  lumix gf1
Any specific features u want? : 
- great in low light
- compact/small body
- stabilizer (to handle shaking during shooting)
-interchangeable lens
- need to upgrade from my current canon g10. i hate the g10 fixed lens <----- the digic sensor controls the aperture once i start zooming-in (this happens in manual mode, FYI). my aperture is limited from f/3.5. but if i didn't use the zoom function, the aperture starts from f/2.8
thanks y'all
Hmm, I don't really know much, no chance to use a Micro 4/3 system.. but there's also the Olympus Pen series, you might wanna have a look at that.

QUOTE(jinaun @ Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Lens
Budget: ~RM4K
Preferable brand : canon
Type of photography u want to do : general purpose
Any specific models in mind? : 70-200mm f4l is
General purpose? I think I'll settle for a 70-200 F4 if you have jittery hands/want a lighter but as powerful lens. In fact I read on a review site somewhere that the F4 and F2.8 quality is almost the same, only the f-stop difference. So yeah.

QUOTE(korby @ Dec 16 2009, 06:18 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: rm3000-rm4000 (with kit lens)
Your Location:   PJ /KL
Preferable brand :  canon / nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  people
Any specific models in mind? :  500D / D90
Any specific features u want? :  im newbie, wanna learn to use dslr cam to take moving people (example concert). so which 1 actually more suitable? =)
The D90 is an intermediate DSLR, while the 500D is an entry-level DSLR. There's a RM1k price difference in between though, so choose carefully.

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 16 2009, 08:12 PM)
wat lens so expensive rclxub.gif dun get conned...
do more research and survey b4 u buy... even the 18-200mm lens is around 4k...
this 1 i agree with technodude...
if u never use the 18-200 b4 then u will never know its performance and IQ...
the most important for me is IQ and this 18-200 is far more worst than 55-250mm...
compact DSLR? then enty level like canon 1000d and nikon d3000 suits u with its small body with interchangeable lens...
but entry level have its disadvantages like poor perofrmance in low light condition, not very ergonomic hand grip and many more
Haha. Well, for one I haven't used it before. blush.gif I see. Hahah. Thanks for pointing out. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(epos127 @ Dec 16 2009, 08:25 PM)
Wow. Thats like effing expensive. Because that time I went PC fair the guy offered me 899 for ST500.
Thanks though! biggrin.gif
Oh yea, what about sony cams? My friend brought hers to show me.(Nt sure whts the model, but its touch screen and really thick in gold colour, used to be quite hot around 2006/7.) And dammmmmn. the colour is so beautiful. striking. <3 But the cam shop uncle said sony cam usually print photos with lotsa white dots(dunno what its called in pro term doh.gif)
Sony has been a not-so quality emphasized.. but recent models like the TX1 and HX1 are quite noteworthy. Still the best remains to be in the big market leaders.

Another brand that is quite good, but less talk about it, is Fujifilm. Not much is said about it, but the comments have been really good.

QUOTE(jackson5759 @ Dec 16 2009, 09:56 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point n Shoot Camera
Budget:around RM1-1.5k
Preferable brand :  Canon, Sony, Nikon, Olympus, Or any brand intro is good..
Type of photography u want to do :  any type...
Any specific models in mind? :  Nope..
Any specific features u want? :  For my gf so maybe self portrait or landscape..
For your GF? Might wanna consider a Sony TX1/WX1. If she'e the type which likes stylish gadgets more. If not, she'd love the Panasonic Lumix LX-3. It's something you won't go wrong with.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 16 2009, 10:24 PM
TheWandererX
post Dec 17 2009, 01:33 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(epos127 @ Dec 17 2009, 01:55 AM)
At first I thought Sony is a good brand(for cam), until I met the cam shop uncle. LOL Cuz I can see it EVERYWEHRE. Wonder of advertisements.
Ohh, another lowyatners recommend me fujifilm f70. Haha.
I marked all of the recommended ones down, gonna go 'meet' 'em later.
Thanks though, for all the hmm, recommendations and advices! biggrin.gif
F70EXR? Well I haven't heard a thing about it, LOL. Well good luck! (:

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Dec 17 2009, 12:00 PM)
Uhhmmm my turn,

specific one.
Olympus EP-1 + Pana 20mm F1.7 [Advantage: Smaller size]

or

Pentax k-7 + limited edition 70mm f2.4 [Advantage: Weather seal]

or

Sony A850 + 50mm F1.8 [Advantage: Full Frame]
Which one too choose?  rclxub.gif
Regards,

George
I'm not going to agree with noprob. Full frame right ahead?

I say these three choices are catered to three different groups of users. The EP-1 is for the enthusiasts who want a smaller camera which isn't that bulky. The K7 is an intermediate DSLR. And 70mm 2.4? Umm, I don't think you'd want to be stuck at 70mm forever... rclxub.gif The Sony A850 is for those running studios, etc, or they just wanna experience full-frame.

Either way, could you use the template? It'll give us a really good guide to work on. Thanks mate.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 17 2009, 12:53 PM)
sony marketing very good ;p even in audio products ppl tend to think sony produces the best headphones
im pretty new in this stuff too, but i dont think the sensor controls the aperture f-stops. it's the limitation of the lens itself. some tele lens maintain the maximum aperture throughout the zoom range..but expensive lar
Advertisement everywhere what to expect?

@gwendoLYN:

Your G10's lens is not a fixed aperture lens. It's a 6.1-30.5mm 1:2.8-4.5. Which means, at 6.1mm, your maximum widest is 2.8, while at 30.5mm the maximum widest is 4.5.
TheWandererX
post Dec 18 2009, 03:07 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Dec 17 2009, 11:43 PM)
general purpose means i can shoot portrait/landscape/ zoom in shots..etc .... need a telephoto lens to complement my wide zoom lens

i dun intent to use tripod.. that y i'm looking at the IS version.

and another question.. does the 2.8 vs 4 .. is any significant?  i know 2.8 its double the size of 4, maybe i can settle for f4 and increase iso to compensate? 

need some calculation..

eg.. can i shoot at long end, 200mm at f4 and with IS at iso 800 and 1/125 ?  i know IS onli helps with my hands.. and not the objects i want to shoot

or

maybe at 70mm f4 with IS at iso800 at 1/60???

but i prefer at 1/60 or faster coz objects tends to blur .. like moving things.. leaves, moving head.. etc

pls halp... i oledi blur liao
2.8 v 4 is quite significant if you shoot indoor a lot. I find it very, very hard to deal with indoor shots cause I have a 55-250, but I'm contented. Haha. Well, you could increase ISO to compensate, but it depends on what body you're using. If you're using a 1000D like me, don't think of touching on 1600 unless really necessary. The picture quality is horribly affected.

Btw, IINM a simple rule for steady shots is 1/focal length. In your case, which would be 1/200 without IS. IS helps tremendously with telephoto shots (we're bound to have jittery hands no matter how professional we are, we're humans after all), and I think you'd manage 1/50 at 200mm just fine. There is no set calculation, just formulas to help you find out the best settings to use.

QUOTE(jackson5759 @ Dec 18 2009, 02:30 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point N Shoot Camera
Budget:RM1.5k
Preferable brand :  Canon/Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do :  Any type
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon S90 / Panasonic Lumix LX3
Any specific features u want? :  Take DSLR quality image by using PnS camera

Guys i really need help with this... im confusing... getting a canon S90 or Lumix LX3 better? i read through a lot of reviews.. but still cant make any decision hope u all can vote for me which to buy.. thanks... smile.gif
Both are equally good performers. Since this is so, it's down to other factors. Consider the focal length, the product (it's new, or out for awhile already) and the usability. Different people have different preferences.

Good luck making up your mind, these two are really wonderful cameras.

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Dec 18 2009, 02:17 PM)
As requested..  tongue.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Looking for a professional DSLR for long term planning.
Budget: Quite depends, i would looking for something worth the money i paid. smile.gif
Your Location:   KL, PJ
Preferable brand :  Any professional brand, as long as its GREAT!  rclxms.gif
Type of photography u want to do :  Scenery, Potrait, Macro, Product, Building Structure.
Any specific models in mind? :  Professional
Any specific features u want? :  Good ISO rating, Great Picture Quality, Great White Balance, Great Nature Colour, Great Sharpness.
Mmm, long term planning. I like the way you think.

Well, since you mentioned, here's the breakdown.

1. You might have a chance with Micro Four Thirds system as it looks to have been revived. Is it a fad or a real future builder for cameras we don't know, but I think it'll be a big hit. Your biggest chance would be on this, out of your three choices.

2. Pentax? To be honest, I am not being brand-promoting or anything, but if you ask me, I wouldn't go for Pentax, and stick to the majority. Finding lenses here in Malaysia is so hard, and I'm not sure if their CS in Malaysia is any good (if they do have one).

Depending on where you're from, it'll affect your choice a lot.

3. Full-frame. It seems like quite a big leap for me. Nevertheless, a good idea, but not sure about the lens choices. I think you shouldn't start off with the 50 1.8 first, and get a normal kit lens or something. A normal walkaround for you to familiarize first.

And about your photography style, you'll need a few lenses, just so you know. An ultra wide-angle for scenery and building; portrait, macro and product should be able to be covered by one lens. But an extra macro lens won't hurt. laugh.gif

I hope I've helped you a bit in making up your mind, mate. (:
TheWandererX
post Dec 19 2009, 02:43 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wickednoto @ Dec 18 2009, 04:51 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : P&S Digital Camera
Budget : RM1200
Preferable brand :Canon / Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do :Normal PnS day and night , video
Any specific models in mind? :Ixus / FX
Any specific features u want? : slim , light and easy to carry around and produces good quality when develop into 4R size photos.

Hie, im a total noob in photography but this is my 1st time im goin to get a camera for myself. =)
i've been checkin around online for the products of those 2 brands and also, particularly the Ixus and FX model. I think these range of models suit me best but the thing is, i am confuse which to get.....
I'm a practical person who wish to use the camera for long term (bout 2-4 yrs) witout changing it often.
Also, i've been to few shopping malls in KL to check for the models and price, but they seemed to be overpriced and alot don't even carry alot of models..

Please if u would be kind enough to share where could i find shops that have decent price, it would be a great big help... =)

thank you so much.

Regards.
The best Ixus for you might be the 110/200 IS. Panasonic on the other hand, models which might appeal to you, might be the FX580/TZ6/TZ7.

The one which you should get is the one you're most comfortable with, cause when it comes down to this point, most models performance are already on par with each other. Therefore there is no 'clear winner'.

About the shops, I haven't been surveying around much, and therefore I'm not so sure. That I can't help you alot, sorry mate.

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Dec 18 2009, 05:06 PM)
Thanks for ur advice, need to be clarify, am at intermediate level person. no longer newbie, played wif A200, A300 before, twin kits lens.

Personally i would prefer big f value lens. instead of range, cause i always can walk around.. smile.gif

Cheers.
Oh, no wonder. Haven't been here for awhile, sorry. blush.gif

Well then I guess it's safe to say, your best bet would be on FF (;

QUOTE(HotChocolate @ Dec 19 2009, 12:45 AM)
Is there any good & cheap camera shop in PJ or KL.
What's the cheapest price you can get for Canon EF-S 17-55/2.8 IS USM?

Anyway,

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Standard Zoom Lens
Budget: RM3-4k
Your Location: PJ
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Nothing in specific (Wide angle to moderate range)
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS USM
Any specific features u want? : Good quality picture of cause  cool2.gif
Yghsin? YL Camera? DigitalsMania? These are just a few good shops you might wanna consider.

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Dec 19 2009, 02:36 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Prosumer or DSLR
Budget: < 2k
Your Location:   Pg
Preferable brand :  Any, as long as its of good quality and value for money
Type of photography u want to do :  Preferably good for taking pictures of products to use in brochure or catalog making.
Any specific models in mind? :  -
Any specific features u want? : Basic DSLR features
Hi guys, im looking for a good cameras that consist of basic DSLR features for taking pictures of products to be included in brochure or catalog. Preferably, one that is user friendly and easy to handle as im new to cameras
Hmm. Now this is quite a hard decision to make. You could either settle for a Panasonic Lumix LX3/Canon Powershot G10/G11 or a DSLR like the Nikon D3000 or the Canon EOS 1000D. You'll have to narrow it down to personal preference. All of them have practically every basic DSLR feature (basic controls, etc) so you'll have to decide: do you want a pocketable camera or a DSLR? That I can't help you answer.

Good luck in making up your mind.
TheWandererX
post Dec 20 2009, 01:52 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Dec 19 2009, 04:10 PM)
Thx bro, your advice pretty much simplified things. As my preference is more towards entry level DSLR, i think the choices are more or less narrow down to either 1000D or D3000
Haha. Yups. And just a note, if you do ever come by a D60 deal, don't get it. The D3000 is MUCH better than its ancestor. Honestly.

QUOTE(HotChocolate @ Dec 19 2009, 04:27 PM)
And where are these places. Lol.
Elaborate maybe?
My sincere apologies for leaving you with such a short line.

The three I just mentioned are essentially, a few of the big camera shops in KL.

YGHsin is located in Taman Megah, DigitalsMania and YL Camera in Pudu Plaza. I don't think I can link any outside links here, but they do publish part of their stock onto a Lelong site. A simple search for their names will bring it up. DigitalsMania has a LYN account too, just so you know.

Next there are quite a few shops I've heard to be reputable, which are AverAwards (not sure about this one, but recently I went for a price quote and hey, their prices aren't so bad, just that you might needa bargain a lil harder to get some extra freebies), Leos Com (part of a shop in Digital Mall. It's like a 'joint operation' as in that shop there are 3 shops: an Apple shop, a phone shop and the camera shop). AverAwards has their own site, you can head over there and have a look at things, but I think the online pricing should be exorbitant. Leos Com however, is located on the ground floor of Digital Mall. It's the first shop to your left when you walk in.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 19 2009, 06:00 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Any
Budget : 1-2k
Your Location : Sibu
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : My baby
Any specific models in mind? : No idea whatsoever!
Any specific features u want? : Able to take my baby's picture in the house + Image stabilizer

Basically, I already have a Panasonic Lumix FS15. However, I find that taking non-flash pictures of my baby inside the house with the normal household flourescent light is just horrible. Babies in general won't stay still and pose for you (they are constantly moving unless they are sleeping!!!!)

I sometimes take multiple shots to get a clear shot (hopefully) but with the poor lighting, the image might be clear but the iso would be high e.g. 400-800.

As I understand it, normal compact cameras have small sensors and just doesn't cut it even though they may be high-end or expensive......
Totally. Your last phrase practically tells the story.

But there are prosumers which do produce good quality pictures that might be able to contest the big guns.

Assuming your maximum is 2k, I'll suggest a Panasonic Lumix LX-3, albeit old, still a very good camera. A Canon Powershot G10/G11, depending on which you can find below 2k, both are equally powerful cameras too. Also there is the mid-ranged cameras, but seeming as you have a high budget, might as well go for the best. wink.gif

If you need a superzoom, there are models like the Nikon P90, Lumix FZ/TZ series, and the Canon Powershot SX series.

I have an FS15 too btw. Got it with a purchase of an LCD. laugh.gif

TheWandererX
post Dec 20 2009, 04:55 PM

1,862 posts

Apologies for leaving out you guys. Suddenly had to rush out.

QUOTE(JrRetriever @ Dec 19 2009, 06:08 PM)
Please help...
Type of camera/lens/accesories: Prosumer 
Budget: less than 2k
Preferable brand : Nikon 
Type of photography u want to do : Scenery, people 
Any specific models in mind? : Coolpix P90 
Any specific features u want? : Good picture quality
Prosumer superzoom? Well, you have quite a few choices. There is Panasonic with the FZ28/FZ35/TZ7 and Canon with their Powershot SX1/SX10/SX20 IS. Along with the P90, these few models are the best in the respective category.

Personally, I'd go for the TZ7 because it's a pocketable superzoom, while the Canon SX1 for the quality images. Not sure where the P90 fits in as I haven't used it before.

QUOTE(keperek @ Dec 19 2009, 11:24 PM)
guys..
Digital IXUS 200 IS worth buying or not??
hows the pic quality compared to the LX3??
The LX-3 is a dedicated prosumer. And the sensor is noticeably bigger than the Ixus 200 IS (1/2.3" over 1/1.63"). That's a huge difference.

Unless you need the looks of the 200 IS, go for the LX3. You won't regret it.

QUOTE(DavidLai @ Dec 20 2009, 01:16 PM)
Please help me to choose,
which DC better?? sad.gif

Plan to buy a digital camera about 1.1k.
Panasonic - LUMIX DMC-ZR1

or

Canon - Digital IXUS 200 IS
Thanks!!
These two cameras are on par in terms of hardware specifications, so it gets down to which one appeals more to you. I'll suggest you go to any photo shop and have a play around with these two before making up your mind, cause if I had to deal with this choice I wouldn't know which to choose either. Both are equally good performers in their category.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 20 2009, 04:27 PM)
Damn! What LCD did you buy that gives a free digital camera? 50 inch????  drool.gif

Our forumer timothy was advising me on a few cameras and I decided that I would probably go for the Canon EOS 450D. A bit higher than my budget but I guess my baby  wub.gif is worth it.

Just wondering whether it's lens kit of 18-55mm would be suitable to take indoor baby pictures at closeup as I noted that it's minimum shooting range is 1.5m.

Would the 450D be adequate and would the lens be ok? Thx.
Yup! laugh.gif a while back.

Btw, the 450D is really cheap now, good idea. Haha. Well, the 18-55 has a minimum of 0.25m. I find the 55 to be too short for my liking, but yes, it's a perfect camera and yes, the lens will be okay. Be warned though that when you step into the realm of DSLRs... you'll never stop craving for more brows.gif

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Dec 20 2009, 04:33 PM)
as TheWandererX said, u could get better results with manual cameras like the panasonic LX3 and canon S90 cuz they have a fast lens. but sometimes they're still not fast enough in low light. and both dont do well enough above ISO 400.

u're right about the sensor size. bigger sensor size can use higher ISOs while still looking good. i think the best solution for u is getting an external flash. bounce the flash to ur ceiling and it should give u good lighting and u wont get blurred pictures. u can buy an LX3 + flash for ur budget
External flash is something really out of poster's league. It's something you need to learn about, not just attach and snap. Just my two cents, an external flash on an LX3 is pointless. (if the flash mentioned is going to be one of those Nikon SB flashes or a full-sized flash).
TheWandererX
post Dec 20 2009, 11:06 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(calvin_5185 @ Dec 20 2009, 05:04 PM)
u can never go wrong with a lumix...lx3 recommended...regret i didn't get that >.<
Haha. What did you get?

QUOTE(kmarc @ Dec 20 2009, 05:51 PM)
Oopss, my mistake... must have read the wrong info on the minimum range.

Yeah, I'm already poisoned with bounce flash and macro and what not.........  sweat.gif Me super noob in DSLR wanna fly before can walk....  laugh.gif
HAHA. Not unexpected. laugh.gif

Slowly, slowly. You'll get to learn everything, don't worry. Only question:

Got money or not?

QUOTE(vexus @ Dec 20 2009, 08:40 PM)
wanna buy digital camera between

Panasonic DMC FX-48, DMC FX-38, canon ixus 200IS,

which one is better?
Kick the FX38 out if you have the FX48 in - it is a lower-spec FX48, that's all.

Now the FX48 and the 200 IS are both very similar in terms of specifications. The 200 IS outdoes the FX48 a little though, you might wanna have a look at that. Other than that it all boils down to personal preference. nod.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 21 2009, 07:51 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Harrylbr @ Dec 20 2009, 11:49 PM)
Want to ask some pro here!!!
I just bought a canon 500d with EF-s 18-200 IS kits
kingmax waterproof class 6 SDHC 8GB,
Digital King 72mm slim UV protector,
Crystal view lcd protector
a canon bag.
All of this about RM4200.Is this price ok?i scared i buy expensive
Yup quite a reasonable price.

QUOTE(vexus @ Dec 21 2009, 12:15 AM)
ops made a mistake.

panasonic FX48 vs canon ixus 120IS

ixus 200 is very expensive.
HAHA.

QUOTE(Paduka @ Dec 21 2009, 12:26 AM)

Added on December 21, 2009, 12:27 am
Type of camera/lens/accesories : 2nd hand DSLR camera
Budget : RM2.5k include kit lens
Your Location : KL
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : D80
Any specific features u want? : a.s.a.p
You might want to consider a 2nd hand 40D alongside. That's all the competition left. Happy choosing sides. smile.gif

QUOTE(blugear @ Dec 21 2009, 11:49 AM)
Is Sony DSLR A550 worth it to buy for a beginner?
Not really sure. Well, just wondering, what is your budget? Might help with a few choices.

QUOTE(FeeD @ Dec 21 2009, 12:50 PM)
Can anyone give me comment between this two cameras G11 and lx3, i am deciding between this 2  sad.gif
The G11 is obviously the better. It's about RM500+ more expensive, what else can I say?

I'd say go for the G11 in this case, but if you want to save the extra money, yup, the LX3 is a good model too.

QUOTE(renaelyng @ Dec 21 2009, 03:41 PM)
Hye people!

Need a lil' advice here please.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM3k
Your Location : Penang, but currently in Bintulu
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape/Portrait/anything
Any specific models in mind? : Clueless sad.gif
Any specific features u want? : Haha clueless about this also.

Any advice? Many thanks!
RM3k will get you:

1. Nikon D3000 with extra 1K
2. Canon EOS 450D/1000D with extra 1K
3. Canon EOS 500D with no extra
4. Olympus E-520 with less than 1K extra
5. Sony a550 with no extra

If you ask me I'd take the 450D, because the previously 3k+ model has now dropped to 2k, it's a deal well worth your every cent. nod.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 22 2009, 12:43 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Dec 21 2009, 07:28 PM)
Need help guys.. Which is better?

Canon 500D or Sony A550
Definitely the 500D. While some fanboys might criticize me and label me as brand promoting, you are free to do your own research and take a look at reviews all around.

Like here.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos500d/
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonyalphadslra550/

QUOTE(xk2 @ Dec 21 2009, 07:39 PM)
thinking to buy fujiflim F70 EXR, any coment ?
Not much has been said about Fuji cameras, but so far no bad reviews, so I guess you'll be okay with that.

QUOTE(S E K A I @ Dec 22 2009, 12:30 AM)
Upgrade(or shud i say migrate biggrin.gif ) from compact to DSLR  smile.gif

Budget : RM4k-5k including lens
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Anything
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 5od? Nikon d90/d300?  rclxub.gif  icon_question.gif
Any specific features u want? : Video recording features..is it worth to have this features? eg d90/canon 7d?

recommend me any shops at LYP/sg wang  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
Definitely the 7D is out of reach - it is already RM5.6k body only.

50D doesn't have video recording which leaves you left with the D90.

My personal opinion, video recording is pointless unless you're talking about the real deal ones (in the 7D, 5D MkII, etc).

So yup. In a nutshell, if you really need the video, get the D90. If not, the 50D would be a much better choice.

QUOTE(renaelyng @ Dec 22 2009, 08:40 AM)
Hye thanks for the advice!

You said the 450D has now dropped to 2k, but why at statement #2 I need an extra k to get EOS450D?

Pardon me noob here. sad.gif

What about 500D? What I know is that 500D has the video recording feature when 450D doesn't have it.

Thanks!
Statement 2 notes that you'll be able to get a 450D/1000D with RM1k left to spare if your budget is RM3k.

Btw, IMHO video is not a big deal, and video for an extra RM1k? It's more worth it to settle for the 450D.
TheWandererX
post Dec 22 2009, 02:15 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 22 2009, 01:58 PM)
hello guys...

it's X'mas time and i really would like to get myself a camera as a present...

before yesterday i was aiming for Canon Powershot S90, due to it's compact size with pretty large CCD... so i went down to test drive it in a store, and it didn't feel so bad as some reviews put it in terms of ergonomic... i was about to make my final decision until i saw the G11... fiddled with it for a while and fell in love with it... lust.gif

now the problem is, as u may ve guessed, price... i live in SG, and the lowest price i ve been quoted are SG$660 for S90 and SG$799 for G11...

i will be bring this new camera with me to Australia as the new Uni semester starts in March, and i'll be taking shots in various different places... city, portraits, scenery, indoors (like functions), night, etc...

and i am still a pretty new learner of photography, so i was wondering, is the G11 overkill??? or is the S90 good enough for me???
UOW student? Wow. I've lived in the campus with my cousin before for a few months, and hey, I kinda like the facilities and the frequent events. laugh.gif

Anyway, back to the topic. I recommend you make a trip down to KL and get a G11 at RM1.6k +- (Garage Sales average pricing). Coming down to KL with AeroLine (RM70) and bus/taxi fare (varies, from RMx to RMxx) is totally worth it. Instead of forking an exorbitant RM2k for a G11 in SG.

I assume you'll be there for quite a while, and I think the best is to get the best. You never know. nod.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 22 2009, 08:46 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(skyklg @ Dec 22 2009, 03:38 PM)
is G11 better than LX3 in terms of IQ??
isnt the Leica lens sharper?
besides from longer zoom and tilting LCD.... any comments?
also if i'd to compare LX3 with Nikon D60... im not saying that LX3 will be better... but in terms of normal usage... not for event or business... LX3 produces at least same IQ as D60 or sony A200??
The G11 definitely outdoes the LX3. It's priced higher for a reason. The Leica lens MIGHT be the best lens in the world (example), but if the body is mediocre, the results will also be mediocre.

Comparing the LX3 with the Nikon D60/Sony a200 would not be a wise decision. The LX3 is a prosumer, while the D60/a200 has a full-fledged APS-C sensor. Although this might be a big difference, the D60/a200 are entry-level DSLRs. Not to mention that the a200 was previously at the same price range with the LX3.

It is a really hard question to answer, but in my opinion, the D60 and a200 might lose out to the LX3 in normal shooting conditions but when it comes to low light, the DSLRs will excel. Even my entry-level 1000D does really well at ISO 800/1600, although if I pixel peep, it is horrible.. a little.

Anyway, in my opinion it is not worth to get a D60/a200 unless you're really into DSLRs and you want a quick buy to satisfy. If not, I'd suggest you stick with a prosumer, or save up a little bit more for a DSLR.

For your info, the Canon EOS 450D/1000D is priced at 2k+- now, whilst Nikon has their own new entry-level model, the D3000, priced at RM2k too. A bit up from the G11 but if you ask me, totally worth it.

QUOTE(jmunchar @ Dec 22 2009, 04:44 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR 2nd Hand
Budget: 2K below
Your Location:   Sel / KL
Preferable brand :  NIKON / CANON
Type of photography u want to do : 
Any specific models in mind? :  NIL
Any specific features u want? :  NIL
Before I proceed, may I know if you're a starting beginner or have you played around with DSLRs before?

Well, IF you're a starting beginner, I wouldn't recommend going for a 2nd hand DSLR, as you may not know how to handle it if problems arise. If you have done so before, well, here's a few of your choices.

There is the Canon EOS 450D/1000D as I've mentioned, or you might want a Nikon D80/D3000. In my opinion, the D60 just doesn't cut it. 3 AF points is not going to satisfy your needs, and I'm pretty sure you'll get to feel the lack one you get it, so I definitely would not recommend a D60. There is also the choice of going for older models like the 400D/30D/Nikon D70, but you'll be best off with the 5 that I've just listed (these models are already very, very old, and while lenses do not devalue, camera bodies do because the technology in them is constantly improving). In short, your choices with the biggest potential are the 450D/D80/D300, but you might want to consider the 1000D too.

QUOTE(getz6921 @ Dec 22 2009, 05:29 PM)
ype of camera/lens/accesories :DSLR
Budget : 2500-3200
Your Location: KL/PJ
Preferable brand :nikon, panasonic or canon
Type of photography u want to do :Normal PnS day and night , video
Any specific models in mind? : panasonic GF1, nikon D90
Any specific features u want? : slim , light and easy to carry around and of course user friendly, wide angle

do u try on the GF1+20mm?
cause try LX3 before, the picture are not bad, so now upgrade to dslr will try on this light weight camera.
D90? As far as I know the most basic model is 4k, and body only, it is already 3k. It won't fit in your budget unless you fork out a bit more.. perhaps a 18-55? But honestly. I'd rather you get the 18-105. The 18-55 is a slow focuser. I had a chance to try both the 18-55 and the 18-105 on my girlfriend's DSLR, and the difference is big.

Now, the GF1 is a really new model, but Panasonic have been doing really well so far, so I think it'll do you good. No promises though. It's based on the Micro Four Thirds system though, so it should be a good performer.

QUOTE(wgn_white @ Dec 22 2009, 07:04 PM)
I want to ask...

Canon EOS 500D with lense 18 - 50mm with price RM3450 is ngam or over priced?  icon_question.gif
18-50? Are you sure? Are you mentioning the Canon EF-S 18-55 instead? Or the Tamron 17-50?

I'll assume you're mentioning the normal kit, the 18-55. It's not ngam, neither is it outrageously overpriced. But in Garage Sales the average price is RM3k. I'm sure you'll be able to find a better deal with one of the sellers, paying an extra RM450 is not something I'd do.

QUOTE(S E K A I @ Dec 22 2009, 08:05 PM)
wise choice  blush.gif
btw, can recommend me any shop at LYP/sg wang?
I need to do the testing first before buy  biggrin.gif
Haha. Any camera shop would do, as long as they quote you a proper price. There are two shops that I know of, that will give you a good price, both being in Pudu Plaza. DigitalsMania and YL Camera. Not so sure about LYP/Sg Wang, because I never go to shop there. Never have a chance, actually. cry.gif

Well good luck scoring your deal, and don't forget to bargain for freebies nod.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 24 2009, 04:52 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Kapish @ Dec 22 2009, 09:30 PM)
Budget: 2K
Your Location:  Sel / KL
Preferable brand :  NIKON / CANON
Type of photography u want to do : Scenery . macro , potrait
Any specific models in mind? : 

Hello Sifu and Tailo ...
I'm a begineer, what model would you recommend ?

In my mind there's 

nikon d3000
nikon d60
canon 1000d
canon 450d

-any other suggestions ..?
Pls pls help me decide guys smile.gif
THANK YOU
Forget the D60. The D3000 kicks its ass. The D60 has only 3 AF points. Wanna suffer that? I'm sure not.

The Canon 1000D is a notch down from the 450D, and now that the price is the same already (both also RM2k), definitely go for the 450D.

Between the D3000 and 450D, the 450D does marginally better than the D3000 as it was meant for a segment in between entry-level and intermediate-level. Therefore the better would be the 450D, but you're free to make up your mind by personal preference.

QUOTE(DavidLai @ Dec 22 2009, 11:47 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital compact camera
Budget: 1k - 1.2k
Your Location: Selangor / KL
Preferable brand : any good brand
Type of photography u want to do : anything
Any specific models in mind? : no idea
- low noise when shoot in low light.
- wide angle.

Thanks!
Low noise? That'll definitely be the Fujifilm F200EXR/F70EXR. Not sure how well the EXR technology is but so far no complaints, I shall regard it as satisfactory. If not, you might want to consider a Canon Ixus 110/120 IS or a Panasonic Lumix FX.

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Dec 23 2009, 12:37 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital compact camera
Budget: 1k
Your Location: jb
Preferable brand : nothing specific
Type of photography u want to do : anything
Any specific models in mind? : nope
Any specific features u want? : nope

asking for friend. thx for ur help.
Nothing specific? Well the cameras that can fit within your budget are the Panasonic FS15, or the Canon Ixus 100 IS.

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Dec 23 2009, 08:47 PM)
I have attended photography class as one of my minor in college, and recently I was given a green light on getting my first dslr, but I have minimal knowledge on camera's gear, therefore I am not sure which one ease me well. I have been playing with friend's camera on and off, it is a canon 450D, I hate how you need to press another button to change the aperture, comparing to Nikon D70 which has two different separate dials for each program. If Nikon interface are the same, I will be glad to have Nikon instead of Canon, but please provide me a truthful comment. Thanks before, appreciate any reply and comment. cheers mate.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : dslr
Budget: < RM3000
Preferable brand :  Nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  D60, D80, D3000
Any specific features u want? :  Good in capturing Lowlight, more than 5 focus point.
For the 450D, in M mode, you just need to turn the dial to change the aperture. While for the shutter, you'll need to hold down the +- button and turn the dial. I think the same thing applies for the D70, only the difference is that the buttons for the respective commands are on top with the screen, rather than at the bottom.

Now, I would suggest you get a Canon EOS 450D/Nikon D5000. The 450D is in the middle of intermediate-level and entry-level while the D5000 is an entry-level with video. The reason I'm recommending the 450D is that the price has dropped steeply following the release of the Canon EOS 500D which is just a blown-up megapixel DSLR with video. Paying RM1k extra isn't a good idea.

I'd therefore go for the 450D, and have RM1k still in my pocket.

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 24 2009, 10:05 AM)
450D with D700? different category... u r comparing a entry level with a high-end...
i assume u r selecting the manual mode in ur friend's 450D which u will need to hold the exposure compensation button while turning the main dial...
but if u playing with intermediate level like 50D it have 2 dials...
even the above model that u proposing also have only 1 main dial except the D80 coz it is all entry level DSLR...
it is not the matter bout brand interface or wat but more on cost cutting that if u pay for a entry level DSLR then u will get less feature than a intermediate level or high end DSLR...
go do more research...
He was mentioning D70, the model released before the D80.

QUOTE(squee2much @ Dec 24 2009, 11:34 AM)
dear sifu-sifu in LYN.need some help in here! tongue.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories :Compact
Budget : 600-750
Your Location: Penang(plz recommend some good shops too)
Preferable brand : anything
Type of photography u want to do : usual,normal stuff
Any specific features u want? : with video recording
Not so sure about the entry-level PnS range. But I think you might do well with a Panasonic Lumix or a Canon Powershot A-series. Never go for the Samsung/Olympus PnS. They are honestly horrible in image quality.

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Dec 24 2009, 02:04 PM)
I'm not good in camera yet but i wanna learn about them.So hope u all understand wat i want tongue.gif
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital
Budget : Below 1.2k
Your Location :  KL
Preferable brand :  Any good brand
Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape/scenery and macro shot
Any specific features u want? :  Normal 1 will do,if got touch screen will be even better
Definitely. Well, there is the Canon Ixus 110/120 IS or the Panasonic Lumix FX series as quoted previously from the similar request above. Both these two are leaders of their pack and will do well.

QUOTE(aberrant80 @ Dec 24 2009, 02:13 PM)
Hi all, getting an itch to upgrade from my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28 after seeing my friend's Nikon D90. Looking for possible alternatives to D90 lower price.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR with kit lens
Budget: < 5k, preferably 4k
Preferable brand :  Recommend me
Type of photography u want to do :  For fun and hobby for now, maybe stock photography.
Any specific models in mind? : D90 seems good; alternatives? 
Any specific features u want? : Good kit lens? Probably won't buy any lens anytime soon if I'm getting a DSLR
Lower price D90? How low do you want to go?

The basic D90 kit is an 18-105, which is priced at 4K, which will fit perfectly in your budget. Definitely, DSLRs are wonderful tools for stock photography. The 18-105 is a wonderful kitlens too. Compared to the 18-55 offered in the entry-level models, the 18-105 owns.

QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Dec 24 2009, 02:54 PM)
Budget : RM3500 include kitlens
Your Location : Kuching
Type of photography u want to do : All types....maybe mostly Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : D60, D80
Any specific features u want? : -

preferably for beginners...
I shall repeat this - never go for a D60, although it is cheap because it is discontinued. The D3000 does much better if you want a RM2k DSLR.

Now, as you have an extra 1.5k, why not consider the D5000/500D? These two have video, if you want the function.

If you don't want the function though, my advice is to quickly grab a 450D as they are very cheap now (2K) and as previously mentioned, a notch up from these two models. Therefore the wisest choice, if you want a DSLR and don't need the video, is to get a 450D.

Adding on, if you do find a 2nd had D80 in good shape, go for it. It is a very good intermediate-level camera too.
TheWandererX
post Dec 25 2009, 11:17 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 24 2009, 09:22 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Point and Shoot
Budget: Around rm 500, max rm 600
Your Location:   KL, Lowyat
Preferable brand :  any brand as long reputable
Type of photography u want to do :  scenery and portrait
Any specific models in mind? :  no idea
Any specific features u want? :  best can get within budget
A Canon A480/A1000IS might appeal to your needs. Canon most probably dominates the entry-level sector as they have managed to lower the price drastically and create a cheap and powerful camera.

QUOTE(jw5052 @ Dec 25 2009, 12:05 AM)
Sifu, may i know what is the difference of canan S90 and Digital IXUS 200 IS?
The S90 is a prosumer while the 200 IS is more towards style. Although the 200 IS is a really good camera, it can not beat the S90, because the S90 is a no-joke camera. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ivango88 @ Dec 25 2009, 09:50 AM)
Thanks TheWandererX.

I have heard people saying that Nikon is good at capturing greenery subject where Canon captured a better skin tone color, I am wondering if this is true. As I prefer capturing landscape instead of portrait. I don't think I like either the D3000 & D5000. The Video function and the twisted screen annoyed me for an SLR, no offence though. that's my personal thought. that's why I am looking into Dxx series. I've got few friends having Canon, and I really think that I want a Nikon instead. Shall you provide me more options, thanks for the advise in advance. Cheers!
That is a really subjective comment. These can be altered using Picture Styles in both Canon and Nikon. The twisting screen.. yeah, I agree, maybe because I don't see a use for it in my usage. Different people use DSLRs for different reasons though.

QUOTE(icemanz @ Dec 25 2009, 12:22 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  no idea
Budget: 1000-1800
Your Location: perak 
Preferable brand :canon/sony 
Type of photography u want to do :wanna learn using DSLR 
Any specific models in mind? : dont know..newbie here 
Any specific features u want? :n/a
The best bet for you, seeing as you're a newbie, is to go for a Canon EOS 450D or a Nikon D3000, which both cost RM2k. You might be able to find one at RM1.8k, but hard.

QUOTE(stephy_06 @ Dec 25 2009, 02:36 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point and Shoot Digital Camera
Budget : RM500
Preferable brand : Canon, Sony,Casio
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Canon A480, Sony S930
Definitely the Canon Powershot series. Consider getting the A480/A1000IS. These two are considerably good cameras for their range. Other than that you might want to give the Panasonic Lumix a thought, but as far as I know their entry-level cameras aren't as good as the Canon's.

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Dec 25 2009, 05:05 PM)
Thx ! Love Money and TheWandererX biggrin.gif
Now there is 1 cam in my mind-Panasonic Lumix LX3,wonder isit suitable for me?
Definitely suitable. It depends on your preferences though.

QUOTE(Decky @ Dec 25 2009, 06:47 PM)
Hi , yeah , I plan to get a DSLR soon to start a hobby in photography , and I have no idea what to get . lol , I would prefer something beginner friendly .
Budget:Rm2k +/-
Your Location: Petaling Jaya
Preferable brand :  Nikon or Canon ?
Type of photography u want to do : Entry level hobby?
Any specific models in mind? :  nope
Any specific features u want? : Beginner friendly please
As mentioned previously, at this point of time, the two best entry-level DSLRs are the Canon EOS 450D/Nikon D3000. And as mentioned previously too, the 450D sits in between entry-level and the intermediate-level range. Therefore it is a wiser choice to go for it. No promoting though - you're free to choose the model to your liking.

QUOTE(maeyi @ Dec 25 2009, 06:50 PM)
Hi, I would like to buy a camera.
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  any
Budget: about 1K-1.2K
Your Location:   PJ
Preferable brand : Sony, canon or Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : beautiful scenery, and capture portrait in natural colour
Any specific models in mind? : Sony WX1, Canon 120IS or FS15?
Any specific features u want? :preferably low light capturing, eg in KLCC aquaria (can't use flash)
Appreciate the advise. Thanks!
Definitely, if you could, the Canon Ixus 120 IS is better for non-flash situations. Good ISO handling coupled with a fast lens (f2.8-5.9 compared to the Sony's f2.4-5.9 and the Panasonic's f3.3-5.9) will be really a really good tool. Although the Sony has an f2.4-5.9, I still don't trust their ISO processing enough to recommend the Sony, although it has improved remarkably over its previous models.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 25 2009, 10:57 PM)
Got considered A480, but ended up with Fujifilm FinePix S1500 for rm 850 with bag, 2gb and 4 battery with charger. Any comment about it?  blush.gif
Not sure if I can comment. Not informed about the Fujifilm line, but as far as I know, Fuji is quite a good brand. smile.gif

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Dec 25 2009, 11:22 PM
TheWandererX
post Dec 26 2009, 06:14 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Dec 26 2009, 12:38 AM)
Need advice for a budget PnS camera with large LCD and compact if possible. It's for my mom. tongue.gif
I wanted to give my old Canon A570IS but I think it's slow and big. blush.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS camera
Budget : <RM700
Your Location : PJ
Preferable brand : Panasonic or Canon or Others?
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait and Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic FS62, Panasonic FS15, Canon Ixus 95IS
Any specific features u want? : fast focus, image stabilizer, large LCD, compact

Please advice, thanks. notworthy.gif
I think the FS15 will outperform the 61 and 95 IS. I don't really like the 95's performance. Not as satisfactory.

QUOTE(airmanz82 @ Dec 26 2009, 12:54 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : camera
Budget: RM1500+-
Your Location: Kuantan/Penang
Preferable brand : Sony/Olympus
Type of photography u want to do : people and scenery
Any specific models in mind? : A300(lens 18-70mm)@A350(lens 18-70mm)@olympus E520 (lens 14mm- 42mm and zoom lens 42mm - 140mm)
Any specific features u want? : Had decide either go for one of them but unable to decide. Need some advice

please help me coz this is my 1st dslr..
All these models are already old ones. A300 and A350 replaced by the A380, and the E520 replaced by the E620.

I definitely do not recommend aiming for ANY of these, as Sony and Olympus have improved a lot, and those models were, really... mediocre. You'd expect more from a DSLR. If it IS a must though, you should head for the A350, as the E520 was... not really good with high ISOs, and the A300 is a notch lower,... and worse. In fact, IMHO the A200 and the A300 were underperforming cameras. I have used both before and even the D60 performed much better.

If you would accept recommendations though, I suggest you look for a used Canon EOS 450D. I can't help repeating it but it's the best camera you can get at an entry-level price.

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Dec 26 2009, 12:57 AM)
Alrite,thx TheWandererX biggrin.gif
Now i'm aiming for dat 1
No problems mate.

QUOTE(senyii @ Dec 26 2009, 03:32 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : camera
Budget: RM1500+-
Preferable brand : panasonic/canon
Type of photography u want to do : people and scenery
Any specific models in mind? : LX3/T27 14mm- 42mm
Any specific features u want? : best night mode,extra zooming, nt so bulky,nice beach pic
Extra zooming will lead you to the TZ7. LX3 has a measly 2.5x zoom range only. If you're willing to sacrifice image quality for zoom range, then get the TZ7; if not, get the LX3. You won't regret it.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0595sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:48 PM