Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

saif_bear
post Dec 6 2009, 11:54 PM

Th3 MiGhtHy ReDs!
1,186 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Dec 6 2009, 11:09 PM)
saif can u take a picture of ur 4ft tank.i wanna get ideas on how to make mine 'arowana frindly' tongue.gif
Sure bro. But tomorrow, I'm working right now. biggrin.gif
Devillsin
post Dec 7 2009, 12:05 AM

17 posts

lol no problem bro take ur time xD
TSjackbanner
post Dec 7 2009, 10:58 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(c0c0nut @ Dec 4 2009, 06:31 AM)
Enjoy...

Lovely!

pigpig
post Dec 7 2009, 11:17 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(hanzzz @ Dec 6 2009, 01:42 PM)
ketapang leaves is very good for most tropical fish...can soften water and lower ph value by creating 'blackwater''....many use for bettas, discus and also arowana
can get from the tree also known as indian almond tree
kk thx.. just leave it in the filter.?
TSjackbanner
post Dec 7 2009, 11:26 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(exforce @ Dec 6 2009, 05:53 PM)
so sad my name is not on the list, . cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
so sad......

Added. Of course your name should be in the list. You have now become one of the experience members biggrin.gif

BenSow
post Dec 7 2009, 02:44 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Wow, my arowana saved his own life by jumping! Last night while looking at my small planted tank I suddenly here some crashing sound, I look around and there was nothing... So I continued do a little change of scape in my planted tank then another loud bang, this time I look more carefully, I suddenly fear the worst-the stand is collapsing. I immediately look under the stand, I see that the support isn't that strong and wouldn't hold long. Then suddenly another loud bang and some water splashed out onto my back, now I know its my aro jumping like mad for the first time, so I weigh the hood down and inform dad about the stand. If it weren't for the jumping I wouldn't have looked at the stand and it may come crashing...

And what do you guys think of the pics?

Water Change 6Dec

BIKA
post Dec 7 2009, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 7 2009, 04:14 PM)
Wow, my arowana saved his own life by jumping! Last night while looking at my small planted tank I suddenly here some crashing sound, I look around and there was nothing... So I continued do a little change of scape in my planted tank then another loud bang, this time I look more carefully, I suddenly fear the worst-the stand is collapsing. I immediately look under the stand, I see that the support isn't that strong and wouldn't hold long. Then suddenly another loud bang and some water splashed out onto my back, now I know its my aro jumping like mad for the first time, so I weigh the hood down and inform dad about the stand. If it weren't for the jumping I wouldn't have looked at the stand and it may come crashing...

And what do you guys think of the pics?

Water Change 6Dec

u r so lucky my friend,look at the center of the base wooden panel,is sagging.very dangerous and ur tank bottom joint may crack due to
the water pressure.shld have more solid built stand to aviod worse circumstances.u wouldnt want to see ur aro swiming on a flooded floor,would u? shocking.gif sad.gif jus newbie 2 cents of thought.

This post has been edited by BIKA: Dec 7 2009, 04:06 PM
BenSow
post Dec 7 2009, 04:17 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Yeah I am really lucky.... The right leg is already bending out a bit and some of the screws are comming out, will take pics of it... Going to LFS to either buy or place order(I hope its buy, it won't hold long..) And guys, do you think a student can order fish in bulk?Like neon tetra, those ornamental fish, not feeders... Because me and my frinds want too, so I thinking order bulk is cheaper for all of us...

Added on December 7, 2009, 4:42 pmAnd now I need help... How can I carry my 3ft aquarium? I will take out all the gravel and decor... But the water is very heavy and I don't have that many buckets to drain the water, I am thinking of massive w/c.. Any more tips? And I will also ask few people to help carry...

This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 7 2009, 04:42 PM
BIKA
post Dec 7 2009, 05:33 PM

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 7 2009, 05:47 PM)
Yeah I am really lucky.... The right leg is already bending out a bit and some of the screws are comming out, will take pics of it... Going to LFS to either buy or place order(I hope its buy, it won't hold long..) And guys, do you think a student can order fish in bulk?Like neon tetra, those ornamental fish, not feeders... Because me and my frinds want too, so I thinking order bulk is cheaper for all of us...

Added on December 7, 2009, 4:42 pmAnd now I need help... How can I carry my 3ft aquarium? I will take out all the gravel and decor... But the water is very heavy and I don't have that many buckets to drain the water, I am thinking of massive w/c.. Any more tips? And I will also ask few people to help carry...

bulk order from lfs,shldnt be problem jus ask for discount.

dangerous act to carry loaded tank bro even wit 4 persons .jus go buy some buckets to avoid injury,not worth trying.buckets wont cost u much anyway.
2 person shld enough to carry a 3' empty tank. 3' x 1.5' iron stand can easy get from lfs...anyway 3' tank wont last long for ur silver aro.upgrading aro is easy but upgrading ur tank size is hel a lot of work.imo,temporary locate ur tank on floor (safe corners) and go seach up n down for a bigger tank set rather spending more to remedy ur current tank ofcos $$$ is another issue.jus newbie opinion.together we learn.cheers

This post has been edited by BIKA: Dec 7 2009, 05:36 PM
Jules
post Dec 7 2009, 05:42 PM

50 posts

Hi, can add me to the list as well? I've an RTG now. Nothing to show coz no money to buy camera. And also, any jalan to get affordable 2 tier tanks? Looking to upgrade my tanks, doesn't matter second hand or brand new as long as in good condition.
Devillsin
post Dec 7 2009, 08:26 PM

17 posts

saif u know the stand that came with'cha tank , is it strong enough to last for years ? (i think i have the same tank =D )
btw all the masters out there, is there any nice looking not so big fish that can be kept with arowana ? anything which is okay sized and not expensive ???

This post has been edited by Devillsin: Dec 7 2009, 08:36 PM
pigpig
post Dec 7 2009, 09:44 PM

50 posts

Kelah merah smile.gif
fishboy
post Dec 7 2009, 09:45 PM

No problemo bro. Any good stock of HB at Kin Fatt ?

got also spoon head last time i went to c,but now dont know la biggrin.gif
Devillsin
post Dec 7 2009, 10:21 PM

17 posts

what about keeping an oscar with an arowana ? any1 know how much they costs and how big they get ?
BenSow
post Dec 7 2009, 10:47 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Hey Devill, I have an Oscar with my aro but to play safe, the oscar must be at least half the size of your aro. My aro was about 13cm when I got my 7.5cm oscar and they get along fine.

Good luck
Devillsin
post Dec 7 2009, 10:54 PM

17 posts

thanks for the info bro.the aro im planning on buying is about 15 cm long (still a baby silver) how much does a oscar cost and do they have any classic names that the small lfs will know ? ( like pleco = bandar raya fish , u know that sorta thing) or will they know when i ask for a oscar ? i dont wanna suddenly bring back a flowerhorn or something xD
hanzzz
post Dec 8 2009, 01:25 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(pigpig @ Dec 7 2009, 11:17 AM)
kk thx.. just leave it in the filter.?
use dried 1 only...remember to clean it first...
u can tie a bundle and put in d water...until the ph lvl that u wanted had reached..than can remove to avoid water become too acidic
u also can soak d leaves in water to make a very concentrated ''black water'' and keep in a bottle...jz add in to ur aquarium as required...
other way can wait the sifus in here to reply

Added on December 8, 2009, 1:27 am
QUOTE(Devillsin @ Dec 7 2009, 10:54 PM)
thanks for the info bro.the aro im planning on buying is about 15 cm  long (still a baby silver) how much does a oscar cost and do they have any classic names  that the small lfs will know ? ( like pleco = bandar raya fish , u know that sorta thing) or will they know when i ask for a oscar ? i dont wanna suddenly bring back a flowerhorn or something xD
i thk all the lfs noe wat is a silver aro and oscar lo...basic 1 they should noe...dont worry

This post has been edited by hanzzz: Dec 8 2009, 01:27 AM
BenSow
post Dec 8 2009, 01:37 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

My LFS is chinese based and the name for oscars is "pig" lol... They cost less than RM10 usually but bigger ones costs more.

Added on December 8, 2009, 1:40 pmHey guys, I am very happy about getting a 6footer soon... But last night when watching TV I suddenly think bad about it... 6 footer costs A LOT. Then I was thinking that 6footer is for my arowana's own good, but should I invest in it? Or should I...stop rearing arowana? I don't know what to do... I oso not much savings... Should I save or spend?

Really need help...

This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 8 2009, 01:40 PM
hanzzz
post Dec 8 2009, 01:50 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 8 2009, 01:37 PM)
My LFS is chinese based and the name for oscars is "pig" lol... They cost less than RM10 usually but bigger ones costs more.

Added on December 8, 2009, 1:40 pmHey guys, I am very happy about getting a 6footer soon... But last night when watching TV I suddenly think bad about it... 6 footer costs A LOT. Then I was thinking that 6footer is for my arowana's own good, but should I invest in it? Or should I...stop rearing arowana? I don't know what to do... I oso not much savings... Should I save or spend?

Really need help...
custom urself lo...mayb can save some cost
Devillsin
post Dec 8 2009, 02:14 PM

17 posts

Ben, u see first cause from the pics ur arowana doesnt look so huge yet.perhaps u should save up cash and buy a 6footer later on smile.gif thisis just my two cents on the situation smile.gif btw thanks bout the oscar info

127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:20 AM