HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

rx330
post Apr 16 2007, 01:58 PM

11,811 posts

i think it will be printed on the dvd player, got write upsaling or upscaler.

i got one for rm 599 the other day, sony, with HDMI input, and in only upscales with HDMI, component kenot, component only progressive
ana
post Apr 16 2007, 02:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Apr 16 2007, 10:48 AM)
Right now Best Denki and SenQ have similar deals. The DVD player is also Philips, model DVP595K if I'm not mistaken, with HDMI and Divx compatibility. The DVD player on its own is worth RM 499. And yes, from the DVD player to the LCD is thru HDMI. The downside is that the DVD player only has coax and no optical digital output. Not a problem if you have a good amp.
just want to know..is this dvd player region free? i have mixed dvd collections - R1 & R3. i know some upscaling dvd player is region lock. if this model is region free..might thinkin to get it icon_rolleyes.gif

Lord_Ashe
post Apr 16 2007, 02:12 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(ana @ Apr 16 2007, 02:10 PM)
just want to know..is this dvd player region free? i have mixed dvd collections - R1 & R3. i know some upscaling dvd player is region lock. if this model is region free..might thinkin to get it  icon_rolleyes.gif
I tested the Philips 595K out with many original and durian discs - basically R1s, a few R2s and R3s. So far they all work well, but I'll go back and test some just to be sure.
raoul
post Apr 16 2007, 02:49 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(spana @ Apr 16 2007, 01:05 PM)
Hi...I just bought myself Sharp 32BX6M yesterday from Sharp/SenQ roadshow at lowyat.

After thorough Q&A session with the Sharp rep and also SenQ rep, I finally decided to take up BX6M due to following reason: -

1. BX6M got a S-video connector while PX dont have. I think Astro would work better in S-Video compared to composite...right ?
2. BX6M lcd can swivel while PX can't.
3. BX6M has a side speaker (bigger) which I think should be better in terms of audio output.
4. And finally, the price for BX6M is about few hundres cheaper than PX when all the features and quality remain the same.

Anyway, this is just my opnion. Maybe other forumers got other info.  hmm.gif
Dun worry lar...which ever model you choose...at least you still can afford a LCD TV and enjoy a whole new world of movies & gaming entertainment.

Good buy since S-Video input on Astro definitely an improvement over PQ. nod.gif

mikeeeee
post Apr 16 2007, 03:05 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(spana @ Apr 16 2007, 01:52 PM)
what is the cheapest upscaling dvd player now ? how to know if our current dvd player has upscaling features...(sorry noob question)
i saw 1 LG dvd upscaller at harvey norman for rm399 if not mistaken ... output via hdmi too ...

but dunno the quality ler ...
rx330
post Apr 16 2007, 03:10 PM

11,811 posts

anyway to debug a dvd player to be region free?

for me i cant see the difference btwn s video and composite for astro
ooikl
post Apr 16 2007, 06:38 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(spana @ Apr 16 2007, 01:05 PM)
Hi...I just bought myself Sharp 32BX6M yesterday from Sharp/SenQ roadshow at lowyat.

After thorough Q&A session with the Sharp rep and also SenQ rep, I finally decided to take up BX6M due to following reason: -

1. BX6M got a S-video connector while PX dont have. I think Astro would work better in S-Video compared to composite...right ?
2. BX6M lcd can swivel while PX can't.
3. BX6M has a side speaker (bigger) which I think should be better in terms of audio output.
4. And finally, the price for BX6M is about few hundres cheaper than PX when all the features and quality remain the same.

Anyway, this is just my opnion. Maybe other forumers got other info.  hmm.gif
1. agree with you, PX dun come with s-video which i was surprised as well.... but not sure how much improvement for the astro via s-video... still a doubt for me.

2. swivel.... i will no need this... biggrin.gif

3. speaker quality wise, not sure is there any difference

4. price a few hundred diff, but PX come with 2 contrast which catch me....
spana
post Apr 16 2007, 07:56 PM

1,018 posts

which contrast u r referring to... i check that all the features between this 2 model is the same. BX6M also has dynamic contrast of 6000:1 same as PX.
bem69
post Apr 16 2007, 08:41 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

Shit, so BX6 has s-video? Damn, I chose PX5M because it looks nicer and has the speakers on the bottom. I need the space and I use my logitech for sound most of the time. Too bad astro looks shit unless watching from afar. Glad you made your decision smile.gif
silencer
post Apr 17 2007, 12:36 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

waaaa...Lord Ashe..TV baru aaaaa......
spana
post Apr 17 2007, 07:41 AM

1,018 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ Apr 16 2007, 08:41 PM)
Shit, so BX6 has s-video? Damn, I chose PX5M because it looks nicer and has the speakers on the bottom. I need the space and I use my logitech for sound most of the time. Too bad astro looks shit unless watching from afar. Glad you made your decision smile.gif
at first i was thinking of getting the px model too...but changed my mind after spending more than few hours going thru all the details. blush.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Apr 17 2007, 08:03 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Apr 17 2007, 12:36 AM)
waaaa...Lord Ashe..TV baru aaaaa......
Ya lah bro...got it in a fit of madness. Now still scratching head wondering how the hell did I get to that decision shocking.gif

Pics will be up soon in the Post Your Setup Thread smile.gif
ooikl
post Apr 17 2007, 11:46 AM

421 posts

QUOTE(spana @ Apr 16 2007, 07:56 PM)
which contrast u r referring to... i check that all the features between this 2 model is the same. BX6M also has dynamic contrast of 6000:1 same as PX.
based on www.sharp.com.my and sharp aquos catalogue, all BX series is come with native contrast which is 1200:1

PX series come with native contrast 1200:1 and dynamic contrast 6000:1
rx330
post Apr 17 2007, 12:22 PM

11,811 posts

er.... so? its the same mar
bysquashy
post Apr 17 2007, 02:03 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(ooikl @ Apr 17 2007, 11:46 AM)
based on www.sharp.com.my and sharp aquos catalogue, all BX series is come with native contrast which is 1200:1

PX series come with native contrast 1200:1 and dynamic contrast 6000:1
The PX has a newer generation panels. It produces better and more accurate color compared to BX.
spana
post Apr 17 2007, 03:42 PM

1,018 posts

bysquashy...will sharp stop the production of bx after this new px model comes out ?
ooikl
post Apr 17 2007, 03:46 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Apr 17 2007, 02:03 PM)
The PX has a newer generation panels. It produces better and more accurate color compared to BX.
thanks for the info, most probably i will opt for PX.... just too bad that PX doesnt come with s video..... which is weird
rx330
post Apr 17 2007, 06:26 PM

11,811 posts

prefered the BX design though
redken
post Apr 17 2007, 08:55 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

So anyone knows where to get nice HD showcase clips on the net? those from quicktime, wmvhd and nero sucks la. Too many artifacts.
Lord_Ashe
post Apr 18 2007, 09:14 AM

1,495 posts

You can try bloghdtv.com. Nice materials, but they're all rapidshare so you know what it means smile.gif

129 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:52 PM