Jan 23 2011, 08:38 AM
12,696 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Jan 25 2011, 07:48 AM
1,437 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: The state of 9 |
Papago M8 is available via update. Read it in iTunes that its only a map update. Now downloading and have a test run later to see any improvements to the interface.
For the newbies, using gps app like papago DOESN'T require 3G or internet connection. Using it is free and it comes with preloaded maps from malfreemaps which to me has the most updated map for Msia and Singapore. Sure, ppg is not perfect but it serves me well. I'm using the pro version and absolutely love the junction view option. Makes life more easier when driving in big cities. This post has been edited by liverpool red: Jan 25 2011, 07:49 AM |
Jan 25 2011, 08:08 AM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Yeap M8 is outtttt... But not on WIFI, no way to download.
Jan 25 2011, 09:37 AM
889 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Just updated Papago M8, the start screen graphic is still M7, LOL. Did not see much difference.
Last update was on 29/12/2010 for version 7.1.5, now is version 8.0.0. That's about one month ago. This post has been edited by CPURanger: Jan 25 2011, 09:38 AM |
Jan 25 2011, 09:38 AM
60 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Updating PPG M8...
Only map update? |
Jan 25 2011, 09:46 AM
Tested it for a whole this morning. Seems like the car pointer flying off from the road problem is lesser. Or maybe it's because i wasn't driving too fast.
Yup, the front page still says M7. There is a new function which I have no idea what it does. Latest map is January 2011 malfreemaps map. |
Jan 25 2011, 05:19 PM
376 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Lol. Seems like they updated map and added 8.0 thats all. I need wifi to update >.<
Jan 25 2011, 05:46 PM
2,792 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Neverland |
M8 now has a recording feature. I havent tested it yet but i think you can recorded routes that you set. Other than that nothing new it seems.
Still the same old laggy and pixelated stuffs. Well it looks pixelated on ip4 and does feel abit laggy during routing. |
Jan 26 2011, 11:27 AM
753 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
To newbies, please read the previous pages before you throw in any question. While we are not going to be hostile towards any question posed, a repetitive one might make us otherwise. Do some homework and we can contribute more into this thread.
Btw the M8 looks like a half-baked upgrade. Basically Maction doesn't have to jiggle with map update, they can simply download it from the never-ending-effort of MFMappers site. But still, they haven't do anything on the lagginess, font issue and what not. The icon still not RDed, still M7 icon, still less than friendly search function and then they thrown in their useless recording function so they can make a cosmetic change to the name. It's just a function from another app they are selling as Papago Driving Recorder. You can check it out in iTunes. The recording instruction font is in chinese and the recording icon when turned on will even wrap the Papago word. This is indeed by far the worst and lousiest update for PPG ever! |
Jan 26 2011, 12:30 PM
Wow now I know what is the recorded all about. I guess there's really no such thing as a perfect product in the market. If not for malfreemaps I won't consider PPG
Jan 26 2011, 03:55 PM
90 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Jan 27 2011, 09:12 AM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
hey guys...is the new papago M8 worth to buy?..or should i wait till the Garmin release in malaysia?..the last i try is M7..which is very disappointing...the interface is laggy..Tom Tom is kind of better and much smoother interface..but very exp..how ah?
Jan 27 2011, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jan 27 2011, 09:12 AM) hey guys...is the new papago M8 worth to buy?..or should i wait till the Garmin release in malaysia?..the last i try is M7..which is very disappointing...the interface is laggy..Tom Tom is kind of better and much smoother interface..but very exp..how ah? If you already have M7, what is the necessity to buy? M8 is just a natural update to M7 |
Jan 27 2011, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 27 2011, 12:08 PM) i dont have it...last time when i 1st get my iPhone 4, i got JB it to test the apps...so got test M7 and TomTom for GPS..now i want to buy it..but dont know which to buy....quite exp, not like those games 0.99, can buy anytime.. |
Jan 27 2011, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jan 27 2011, 01:46 PM) i dont have it...last time when i 1st get my iPhone 4, i got JB it to test the apps...so got test M7 and TomTom for GPS..now i want to buy it..but dont know which to buy....quite exp, not like those games 0.99, can buy anytime.. Good to know that you're willing to buy the genuine nav app unlike some forumers who keep on yelling why their crack apps not working. I meant, if you bought rotten apple, don't blame others why it doesn't taste as good as the ori one. My advice, wait for Garmin to see what they have to offer. While I'm skeptical they are going to bring preloaded map, let see what do they have for Malaysian version. As for TomTom, it doesn't even cut into my wishlist unless it cost 0.99. It's the map that of utmost important at least to me. This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jan 27 2011, 04:24 PM |
Jan 27 2011, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 27 2011, 04:24 PM) Good to know that you're willing to buy the genuine nav app unlike some forumers who keep on yelling why their crack apps not working. I meant, if you bought rotten apple, don't blame others why it doesn't taste as good as the ori one. yup..i will buy the apps..those apps mostly 0.99 which is abt rm3+..so cheap why need to get cracked??..lol..the exp apps just the gps..thats y i m asking opinion b4 i buy..coz now no more JB , so cant test..i JB at 1st place coz want test out how good is the apps in iphone, previously i m using nokia 5800...the apps kinda My advice, wait for Garmin to see what they have to offer. While I'm skeptical they are going to bring preloaded map, let see what do they have for Malaysian version. As for TomTom, it doesn't even cut into my wishlist unless it cost 0.99. It's the map that of utmost important at least to me. hope the garmin is as good as in my 5800 last time or even better...hehe |
Jan 27 2011, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jan 27 2011, 04:44 PM) yup..i will buy the apps..those apps mostly 0.99 which is abt rm3+..so cheap why need to get cracked??..lol..the exp apps just the gps..thats y i m asking opinion b4 i buy..coz now no more JB , so cant test..i JB at 1st place coz want test out how good is the apps in iphone, previously i m using nokia 5800...the apps kinda Don't put to much high hopes on it then. stick to the ground. the current review on US iTunes doesn't looks promising.hope the garmin is as good as in my 5800 last time or even better...hehe P/s: my wife uses 5800. and I know exactly the performance of GMXT. but on narrow screen of 5800 + resistive, it does looks suck. This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jan 27 2011, 05:12 PM |
Jan 27 2011, 08:46 PM
12 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Garmin is the best GPS for mobile outside, with iphone 4, I think Papago is the best option. Have been using it quite long, so far so good.
Jan 27 2011, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 27 2011, 05:12 PM) Don't put to much high hopes on it then. stick to the ground. the current review on US iTunes doesn't looks promising. yalo...5800 using GMXT damn good..very accurate somemore..just sometimes the app will hang... P/s: my wife uses 5800. and I know exactly the performance of GMXT. but on narrow screen of 5800 + resistive, it does looks suck. QUOTE(karlok92 @ Jan 27 2011, 08:46 PM) Garmin is the best GPS for mobile outside, with iphone 4, I think Papago is the best option. Have been using it quite long, so far so good. papago not laggy meh?... |
| Change to: | 0.0537sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:17 AM |