Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

ahpingko
post Dec 11 2010, 07:42 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

Guys..i m thinking of buying papago..that m7 good or not??..it is still laggy??..worth to buy??
ahpingko
post Jan 5 2011, 11:38 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 5 2011, 10:53 AM)
Check US iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/garmin-stre...d411462555?mt=8

or for those without US iTunes: AppShopper
Notice the red sentence.

user posted image user posted image

meaning it will use 3G to load?..no 3G coverage then how??
ahpingko
post Jan 27 2011, 09:12 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

hey guys...is the new papago M8 worth to buy?..or should i wait till the Garmin release in malaysia?..the last i try is M7..which is very disappointing...the interface is laggy..Tom Tom is kind of better and much smoother interface..but very exp..how ah?
ahpingko
post Jan 27 2011, 01:46 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 27 2011, 12:08 PM)
If you already have M7, what is the necessity to buy? M8 is just a natural update to M7
i dont have it...last time when i 1st get my iPhone 4, i got JB it to test the apps...so got test M7 and TomTom for GPS..now i want to buy it..but dont know which to buy....quite exp, not like those games 0.99, can buy anytime.. tongue.gif ..need consider which is best to use..
ahpingko
post Jan 27 2011, 04:44 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 27 2011, 04:24 PM)
Good to know that you're willing to buy the genuine nav app unlike some forumers who keep on yelling why their crack apps not working. I meant, if you bought rotten apple, don't blame others why it doesn't taste as good as the ori one.

My advice, wait for Garmin to see what they have to offer. While I'm skeptical they are going to bring preloaded map, let see what do they have for Malaysian version.

As for TomTom, it doesn't even cut into my wishlist unless it cost 0.99. It's the map that of utmost important at least to me.
yup..i will buy the apps..those apps mostly 0.99 which is abt rm3+..so cheap why need to get cracked??..lol..the exp apps just the gps..thats y i m asking opinion b4 i buy..coz now no more JB , so cant test..i JB at 1st place coz want test out how good is the apps in iphone, previously i m using nokia 5800...the apps kinda sweat.gif .. laugh.gif

hope the garmin is as good as in my 5800 last time or even better...hehe
ahpingko
post Jan 27 2011, 08:48 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Jan 27 2011, 05:12 PM)
Don't put to much high hopes on it then. stick to the ground. the current review on US iTunes doesn't looks promising.

P/s: my wife uses 5800. and I know exactly the performance of GMXT. but on narrow screen of 5800 + resistive, it does looks suck.
yalo...5800 using GMXT damn good..very accurate somemore..just sometimes the app will hang... laugh.gif

QUOTE(karlok92 @ Jan 27 2011, 08:46 PM)
Garmin is the best GPS for mobile outside, with iphone 4, I think Papago is the best option. Have been using it quite long, so far so good.
papago not laggy meh?...
ahpingko
post May 14 2011, 01:58 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(levanter @ May 14 2011, 01:32 PM)
hmm SYGIC just dropped price to $12.99!
really tempted...
anyone currently using SYGIC?..how good is it?...POI and MAP-wise good?...i wan about to buy it....just need to confirm...if compared with Papago..which better?
ahpingko
post May 14 2011, 03:44 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(raeshad @ May 14 2011, 03:36 PM)
I bought Sygic SG and MY when it was on sale too. I have used PPG M8 (v8.15) once before as well, and from my short experience:

Voice of navi - Sygic hands down. Loads of choices, even for english - you have australian, british, american. You get limited choices in PPG. You're fine if you wannna use Mandarin or Cantonese, but the English is just OK, and their Bahasa is horrendous. No disrespect, but that Bahasa is unuseable.

UI - Sygic hands down. Rerouting time is negligible and i love lane assistant. The 3D buildings and city guides are also a plus.

Maps + POI - i dare not compare coz it depends on the user ultimately. Die hard users of PPG will vouch for the mfm maps, but im happy with sygic. Hasnt failed me once. I think, if you're used to using PPG you might feel Sygic's kinda defective as you cant install custom maps+poi. If not, Sygic is efficient enough.

You only wanna know bout the maps and POI right? At USD 13, Sygic is definitely a steal; and a no brainer to me.
hands down means?....lol...

from your message, i get :

-UI wise, sygic is better..
-voice, sygic better?..
-map poi - both seemed quite the same..

i got question for u, since u used both..and i tried papago+tom tom before..

- map switching and moving, is it laggy ?
- POI searching for famous latest places - is it always got, or sometimes u cant get the place u want..
- battery consumption?
- if while navigation , i got phone call, what happen to the navigation?..able to resume after that?..or quit and need to start again?
- any crash problem so far?..on iphone 4 and ios 4.3.3?
- how long does it update the map? and how it update - a whole new version of sygic to download or able to update it in-app(in app, press update, and it will request map file from server to update itself)
- does it need any in-app purchase to have good map or watsoever?...i pay $12.99 will get full features?..its original price is 49.99 rite?
- which version is better?... SE Asia or SG&MY?..which 1 got junction view?

This post has been edited by ahpingko: May 14 2011, 04:28 PM
ahpingko
post May 14 2011, 05:16 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

yes..bought it..downloading it now....haha..will provide some feedback later on... tongue.gif

Added on May 14, 2011, 7:29 pmans back my own question now..lol

- map switching and moving, is it laggy ?
very smooth!
- POI searching for famous latest places - is it always got, or sometimes u cant get the place u want..
alot POI now..really sufficient!..just abit troublesome to search a place...now any search box to place in my search query string...i have to set a country, state/city, street then only can see nearby POI.. doh.gif ..but still okla..since i will mostly get a coordinate from google maps before i start my journey and then set as my favourite..so this not so big deal...
- battery consumption?
not yet really try to use for long period, but from what i see, really lesser consumption despite its superb UI..
- if while navigation , i got phone call, what happen to the navigation?..able to resume after that?..or quit and need to start again?
no prob...smooth multitask..
- any crash problem so far?..on iphone 4 and ios 4.3.3?
i encounter once...how to get it?..i close sygic, terminate it, then open again..then while loading, crash back to my springboard...
- how long does it update the map? and how it update - a whole new version of sygic to download or able to update it in-app(in app, press update, and it will request map file from server to update itself)
dont know how long it update the map..
- does it need any in-app purchase to have good map or watsoever?...i pay $12.99 will get full features?..its original price is 49.99 rite?
no any in-app purchase for SG+MY version..full features available...lots more options then tomtom/papago..
- which version is better?... SE Asia or SG&MY?..which 1 got junction view?
not sure which better but definitely better than tomtom/papago(my personal opinion-not to defame ppg/tt)..not sure about junction view..need try on the road..

these ans should ans most question ppl need to know about sygic my+sg..USD 12.99 definitely a must-buy! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ahpingko: May 14 2011, 07:29 PM

0.0447sec    0.47    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:32 PM