Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

Seng_Kiat
post Jan 31 2011, 12:01 PM

5,580 posts

guys ..

how good is papago m8 if compared to garmin in win mobile? .. USD21 is a bit expensive to spend for it .. tongue.gif .. i would rather get Garmin GPS device at rm400. tongue.gif.

but if it is good, then I dont have to spend extra for the garmin device. smile.gif.
SkywalkerxX
post Feb 2 2011, 08:21 AM

Protection & Control
590 posts

according to itunes rate/comments on papago M8, it sucks. better to wait for garmin on iphone.
TSJasonjinct
post Feb 3 2011, 01:19 AM

185 posts

papago is good enough for me to travel. Already wait a good GPS for iPhone for few years, at least Papago! came out, so far no problem to use it, better than nothing. About Garmin, wait so many years, no sign of it. Now at least got US non-offline map version of Garmin for iPhone, if Garmin still use online map, papago still the best choice for that time.
k-bkeat
post Feb 3 2011, 05:07 PM

2,201 posts

definitely papago smile.gif
shark7
post Feb 7 2011, 10:37 PM

1,378 posts

i have been using papago and maps(default iphone)

it seems like maps is better although it's simple than papago

papago sometimes it doesn't accurate,always give the wrong way,im using papago m7 btw

but maps although quite accurate but quite hard to use,it load page slow,and not as easy as papago but more accurate

but both suuckss battery

im currently looking for gps that can avoid a few tol that can be avoided .is there any ?

ahmadcivices01
post Feb 7 2011, 10:45 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Feb 7 2011, 10:37 PM)
i have been using papago and maps(default iphone)

it seems like maps is better although it's simple than papago

papago sometimes it doesn't accurate,always give the wrong way,im using papago m7 btw

but maps although quite accurate but quite hard to use,it load page slow,and not as easy as papago but more accurate

but both suuckss battery

im currently looking for gps that can avoid a few tol that can be avoided .is there any ?
Now is M8 already u need to update,im also used papago HAPPY with that so far.
shark7
post Feb 7 2011, 10:54 PM

1,378 posts

whats the advantage of m8 ??
im using papago x5 on android phone before.same problem too
tabs
post Feb 8 2011, 01:15 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

if not papago u can try on tomtom malaysia.. slightly expensive but still accurate bcos it is using ur data to show the update road.. if not use papago m8 should be no problem since it is already update the road and even now got voice recording if not wrong
shark7
post Feb 8 2011, 06:14 PM

1,378 posts

What u mean by voice recording?
SUSstinky
post Feb 19 2011, 09:52 AM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Feb 8 2011, 01:15 AM)
if not papago u can try on tomtom malaysia.. slightly expensive but still accurate bcos it is using ur data to show the update road.. if not use papago m8 should be no problem since it is already update the road and even now got voice recording if not wrong
Sygic Malaysia nav just drop price, US9.99.....still thinking if I should wait for Garmin
Anyone with Sygic here can comment out the map if it is up to date
sawmania
post Feb 19 2011, 03:20 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Feb 19 2011, 09:52 AM)
Sygic Malaysia nav just drop price, US9.99.....still thinking if I should wait for Garmin
Anyone with Sygic here can comment out the map if it is up to date
Yea, I was tempted to buy it! and it comes with FREE map updates
SUSstinky
post Feb 19 2011, 04:13 PM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(sawmania @ Feb 19 2011, 03:20 PM)
Yea, I was tempted to buy it! and it comes with FREE map updates
I think most of the itunes nav comes with free map update....

as for Sygic, it's free update to Sygic Aura in April, so buying now at 9.99 and get free update to Aura is quite worth it. Map coverage for Malaysia is 75% with 14K POI.
Not sure about TomTom.....

sawmania
post Feb 19 2011, 04:30 PM

435 posts

Sygic price went back to 39.99usd.. zzz
gunit1512
post Feb 20 2011, 02:37 AM

i have purchased papago gps M7 pro malaysia and singapore, i want to know it this papago is consuming my phone data or not
because i tried switching off my 3g and cellular data, and it did not work. I'm using maxis postpaid, so i don't know my data consumption
, so i don't know if this papago will consume data or not. Can anyone answer my question?
tzxsean
post Feb 20 2011, 03:58 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(gunit1512 @ Feb 20 2011, 02:37 AM)
i have purchased papago gps M7 pro malaysia and singapore, i want to know it this papago is consuming my phone data or not
because i tried switching off my 3g and cellular data, and it did not work. I'm using maxis postpaid, so i don't know my data consumption
, so i don't know if this papago will consume data or not. Can anyone answer my question?
gps will consume ur data..
roommate
post Feb 20 2011, 07:33 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 20 2011, 03:58 AM)
gps will consume ur data..
Jeez.. no, it'll not consume data if u're using Papago as it is using an offline map, unlike Google maps where the phone need to retrieve the map via 3g data.

The gps will only consume data for like 10cents for initials startup coz the gps need retrieve ur current location by using cell-phone tower nearby, thus it'll send out a packet of data. Once ur gps know ur current location and locked it, then ur phone will not send out any packet data anymore and u're good to go.

Hope u understand the explanation given.

p/s:to pro, if I mistakenly giving the wrong info, plz enlighten me. tongue.gif
swosh90
post Feb 20 2011, 08:10 AM

is it good papago? gps apps quite pricey lor
PB|Axcelis
post Feb 20 2011, 09:31 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(swosh90 @ Feb 20 2011, 09:10 AM)
is it good papago? gps apps quite pricey lor
He asked my question tongue.gif I want to know it too.. Currently still planning which GPS worth to get. smile.gif
matrixation
post Feb 20 2011, 09:51 AM

540 posts

As far as im concerned, ppg does not consume data, because this app is satellite based.. Even when u start up initially ur start up location us determined by the satellite, so no data is required, i use my ppg app all the time, and im not on data plan.. And when i use it, i off
1.wifi
2.3g
3.data roaming
4.cellular data

And it still works!
dvlzplayground
post Feb 20 2011, 10:00 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

question about GPS use in brunei. i understand Maps app only use data for locking right?

so what if i start the Maps app in miri (sarawak), then i drive to brunei, does it still work? if i lock n unlock my phone in brunei, will it consume data to lock me again, or the GPS still can detect my position even when my phone is sleeping?

dun want to kena charge roaming data rates tongue.gif

91 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0525sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:51 PM