Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 23 2010, 11:57 AM

12,696 posts

Hi. People say the battery will drain fast using GPS. Want to ask, how fast is fast? Can it last for 1/2 day on GPS?

What's the built-in GPS software in iphone nowadays? Any good? Any voice navigation?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 23 2010, 12:01 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 23 2010, 12:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Jul 23 2010, 12:11 PM)
it depends on your usage to find a specific location. If u constantly using it to find a location then it would take about probably estimation about 3-4 hours or maybe less than that. However I wouldn't take that long to find a specific location.
Let's say.....

1. Have to drive from Point A to Point B so GPS has to be on continuously for about 1.5 hour.
2. Make 30 minutes calls.
3. Check mail....say.....20 emails.
4. Surf internet for say.....30 mins.

Can the battery last from 8am to 10pm?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 22 2011, 03:52 PM

12,696 posts

Hi
I am still using Nokia and one of the main thing holding me back from iphone is the GPS feature. What I like about Nokia GPS are:

1. The Nokia's OVI Maps GSP software is very well integrated into the OS.
2. I can geotag photos taken with the Nokia phone camera. When viewing the photo, can launch OVI from the photo to show me where that photo was taken and voice navigation to get me there.
3. Maps of country all over the world can be downloaded free into phone in Malaysia before going overseas to save on overseas data charge.
4. Oh.....it's in English and not Mandarin like Papago(?)

If iphone can do that, I am seriously thinking of getting one. Please advise. Thanks

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 23 2011, 08:38 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 22 2011, 11:45 PM)
The maps in iphone are downloaded when needed. Hence 3G connection is a must if u need the navigation fast. However, u can't preload map into the app unlike garmin mxt or ovi map.
Thanks. Seems like my No.1 reluctant to get iphone is still valid.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 23 2011, 12:11 AM

12,696 posts

Hi, I have a few questions:

1. If you want say.....Australia map or China map, how much do Papago charge?

2. If using iPhone with Papago, how many hours will the battery last?

Thks
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 24 2011, 07:05 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(boblp @ Jun 23 2011, 02:43 PM)

2. most of the time it will last for an hour or two.. for me.. but if im using it (papago) i will connect it to my car kit.. make sure its cool.. i blow one of my aircond towards the iphone coz it will get very hot using gps.
Only lasting an hour or two is terrible. I suppose this is the norm for all big screen smartphone?
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 17 2011, 01:22 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Jasonjinct @ Aug 14 2011, 12:31 AM)
The GPS is based on location service setting, that why turn 3G off won't effect the signal, but A-GPS does use up your data. But papago doesnt use A-GPS.
I am not an expert but I am pretty sure you are wrong. AFAIK, all phone GPS system allows you to enable or disable AGPS. Up to you to decide. The advantage of AGPS is faster satellite lock and uses about 10KB of data. If you do not use AGPS, then it can take from several seconds to several minutes or forever depending on your luck.

Added on August 17, 2011, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 15 2011, 10:36 AM)
There is one time, my experience of using without A-GPS from KLCC to Bukit Bintang (play play),
Jln Ampang -> Tun Razak -> Jln Bukit Bintang
it still not yet lock the satellites when I reach destination  doh.gif

Sometimes it locks faster though.
GPS need to find the position of satellite. Then do calculation as to where you are. If you keep moving, you are making things more difficult. It's like shooting a stationary target vs a moving target. Which is easier?

Added on August 17, 2011, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 11 2011, 11:40 AM)
As of today, Garmin for iPhone only has maps for US. The maps are not downloaded, and must use data-plan to download as you move.
Are you sure? Garmin system has always allow you to store maps in phone and no need to use data on the move. But if what you said is correct, then it's terrible.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 17 2011, 01:27 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 18 2011, 07:14 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 17 2011, 06:48 PM)
Without A-GPS:

Sometimes when I'm moving around the same area as stated above in a car, I can get lock in 2-5 minutes.

Sometimes I stand in the middle of open football field (don't ask me why I'm there), without moving, no building/trees/etc., minimal or no clouds, it still needs 2-5 minutes.
IMO, it has to do with 2 things:
Firstly, luck. Secondly, these are things mysteries that happen with computer, for example, if thing don't work, switch off and on couple of times and it work. How to explain?

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 15 2011, 06:10 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(irmond @ Aug 26 2011, 02:28 PM)
Actually what's wrong with using google map given on the iphone?
they are always 90% accurate for me.
they only thing, there's no girl voice saying 'turn left' nor 'rerouting'
You play with your phone. But for people who actually have to use the phone for navigation, they will laugh their heads off at your comment.

And BTW, try playing with your iphone and Google maps when you go overseas and see what will happen. Either you are super rich or you will get a heart attack receiving your next phone bills.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 15 2011, 07:39 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(_H20_ @ Oct 15 2011, 07:31 PM)
The difference is the interm of search result. Usually i use maxis finder to get location of bank or restaurant and etc. From maxis finder it will open built google map. From there you can navigate to that point using sygic.

I tried search using papago and always hv no results.
Never heard of Maxis Finder. Please tell me more.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 17 2011, 03:25 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Oct 17 2011, 01:45 PM)
Papago is freakin USELESS
Going from point a to point b
this stupid app will force you to take all the small left turn right turn.
Go to kampung road also never knew existed.
USELESS APP!
I never used Papago but I think it's your setting. Most system allows you to either direct you the shortest route (hence so many small road and through Kampung) or the fastest (taking highway instead).

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 21 2011, 10:31 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(eBase Solutions @ Oct 20 2011, 10:13 PM)
actually, what's wrong with Google Maps? Been using that since I bought my phone years ago, and I never had the need for an actual GPS device or apps.
Here's what Google couldn't do:

1. Voice. No voice navigation in Malaysia so if you are driving, you will have to take your eyes off the road. Not recommended.

2. Internet connection required. Try using that when overseas and then see the phone bills and you know why some people opts for other system whereby there are no need for Internet connection.

SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 2 2011, 11:16 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Nov 1 2011, 05:42 PM)
Once Google Maps has turn by turn all the other apps will be redundant.
Wait till you use it while overseas and see the phone bills. You sure will not like it and will instead off for other apps.

SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 3 2011, 12:56 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Nov 3 2011, 12:26 PM)
Guys download waze! It's an interactive gps system which allow users to report traffic, police both visible or non visible, weather and many more!!

Most important of all it's free! No maps to download you can use it all over the world as long you have data I guess cheers!!

It's fast and simple ! Definitely no regrets
Data is expensive when you are overseas so this is the very reason why you would not want to use waze when overseas. I don't know about other countries but it is RM50 per MB roaming in Singapore.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 3 2011, 12:57 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 4 2011, 05:50 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:50 PM)
last time i went HK & China, seem cannot use FREE GPS there... must run with data..
This is the No.1 reason why some people have to stay with Nokia. And why iphone user do not want to use google maps and look for alternatives.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 9 2011, 05:45 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Nov 9 2011, 01:31 PM)
What kind of app you're using? MOst GPS app doesn't require data at all. They only need satellites signal

Google Maps is a prime example requiring data connection to work.

What's this got anything to do with Nokia. I'm pretty sure even Nokia users are keen to install Garmin as it provides better navigation and local maps. That is the main reason I'm on Papago for iPhone: MFM

This goes to show you don't know much about overseas phone GPS usage. It's not easy to get China or Turkey or Australia or USA etc maps for free whereas Nokia gives you free. Garmin wanted USD100 for just USA map alone, multiple that with the numbers of country you wanted to travel to and you will suddenly find Nokia very attractive. Hence when one talked about phone GPS, Nokia is unique and hence worth a mention.

My Sygic works fine. Care to elaborate more on your problem such as JB or not. Genuine app or not. Indoor/outdoor..etc
This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 10 2011, 06:07 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 10 2011, 11:02 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(mmmbop @ Nov 10 2011, 09:46 AM)
That's why I say "MOST" app doesn't require you to use data. And if you have better & cheaper alternatives, why using google maps that is expensive when roaming.

Yes I'm not a traveller. But to go to new places I rather spend a few hundred bucks to get the best map database rather than stuck with half-baked google maps or nokia maps. The current nokia maps still showing my current housing area as bushes. And it has been what? close to 10 years old of housing area
You may find it hard to believe but I have seen housing estate that has been in existence for past 20 years that is still not being shown on Malfreemaps but was shown on Nokia Maps. So there are flaws in all maps.

Generally speaking, the bigger cities you go to, the better the maps so unless you want to Long Lama, Nokia Maps are useable.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 10 2011, 11:45 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 11 2011, 08:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(OgreKiLL @ Nov 11 2011, 07:25 AM)
can i know which free gps i can use offline ?
I could be wrong here but almost every other GPS navigation apps (Garmin, Papago, TomTom, Nokia Maps etc) can be used offline and there is no need for Internet connection except Google Maps. And reason why I see so many iphone user looking for alternatives.

Another thing you should be aware is, without the maps, all are useless. Unless you can get free community maps like Mapfreemaps (can be used offline) etc run by community or Google Maps (but can't be used without data connection) for free, almost every apps requires you to buy their expensive maps. Like I said, Nokia give you free apps (no need for hanky-panky pirated software) PLUS free worldwide maps (that many people don't realize until they went overseas) and that is why I said Nokia is unique when it comes to GPS navigation.

SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 11 2011, 10:05 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 11 2011, 09:25 AM)
yes, you are correct regarding about that GPS can be use while offline, and GPS is useless without maps. even when using google maps without data, it will still locate where are you, and when you move, the blue dot will be moving. Just that like you say, without the map, its useless because you can only see the blue dot moving with a grid background

anyway, i found it really really really hard to believe that housing estate that has been in existence for past 20 years that is still not being shown on Malfreemaps. may i know around which area it is?

it would be interesting to let the malfree/malsing community know about it

anyway, to me, GPS is not only about maps. it's also about the POI. reasons why i love malfree and malsing so much is because of their POI, even in small places, there are so many POI of finding food petrol stations and such. hence, google maps is irrelevant to me even if they got offline maps inside the iphone. even if apple design their own GPS software with build in maps, it will be useless too since i really doubt it will be better than malfree/malsing since the ppl working on it are malaysians.

PS: if can like papago, integrated with malfree/malsing then it's diff story biggrin.gif
I have only ever used Nokia Maps and Garmin (running Malfreemaps) so I know the later had surprised me when part of a 20+ yrs old housing estate road was missing but shown on Nokia map.

On POIs. Yes, Malfreemaps has a much more comprehensive database but on a phone with slow processor like the typical Nokia, the redrawing is so slow as to be a pain in the back side. Nokia's problem, not Malfreemap's. Nokia Maps saving grace is free worldwide maps ranging from Argentina to Zimbabwe and all for free.

On the other hand, Nokia's maps are so much easier clearer to read. All those colors on the Malfreemaps give me headache.

SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 11 2011, 11:42 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Nov 11 2011, 11:18 AM)
Can I know how GPS works ? Do we need 3G or Data in order for the system to detect our location ?
You needed 3 things:

1. GPS receiver. Practically all smartphone have it to receive free signal from satellite owned by the USA government. By itself, it may take a few second to a few minutes or forever to find the satellite up in the sky. To assist the phone finding the satellite faster, your phone will have a Assisted GPS (AGSP) setting that requires either EDGE/2G/3G connection and data involves is about 10KB or 10sen.

2. Maps. There are free community maps around and the most famous here is Malfreemaps but not all navigation software can read Malfreemaps (Garmin and I think Papago can also). If you can't find free community maps, then you have to pay to buy and they can be very expensive. For example, Garmin wanted USD100 for the USA maps. If you want to update your existing map, they wanted USD30 per update. After you bought a few maps, the total cost will be even more expensive than your phone. Except Google Maps and (most)Blackberry maps, others can be downloaded and stored inside your phone for offline usage (very important for overseas travel) and one reason iphone user looking for alternative to Google Maps.

3. Navigation software. To do route calculation and give you voice turn-by-turn instruction. Google Maps does not give voice instruction in Malaysia and another reason why iphone user are looking for alternatives.

No.2 and 3 are reasons why I decided against getting the iphone myself. Otherwise, I am impressed with the ease of use for iphone.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 11 2011, 11:46 AM

0.0700sec    0.56    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:01 AM