LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXIII, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

kazami
post Nov 16 2009, 08:38 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(wailup @ Nov 16 2009, 01:36 PM)
1.6AT got problem is because of the foremen simply pour in ATF and use local AT filter la.. i believe if you use the correct ATF, original AT filter and service it at recommended interval, then it shouldnt have so many problems.

@masao : if i was you, i will opt for the 1.6AT, then later on got money, will mod it to manual de.. more fuel efficient.
some mech recommend toyota type-iv oil because the grade is higher compare to proton and mitsubishi which both using grade 3 oil. of course mitsu will be better as it is gb for wira is made from mitsu

QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 16 2009, 04:14 PM)
actually, the thought has crossed my mine before tongue.gif
but i need to do more homework to know how the entire process is first.
next, need to bring out calculator  sweat.gif
UPDATE: googled and found that stroking the 4G15P engine with 1.6 will cost about RM1500.
then today i saw this ad, also cost rm1500...
mod RM1500 for 4G15p
thats the twincam 1.5 engine rite? but... got huge advantage or not ah over 4G15?
oil cooler in intake system?
look weird

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 16 2009, 07:30 PM)
Geez, today went to check
Confirmed rear caliper have to change, inside rusted like ballz and the piston jam.....and the best of all is

THE PRICE OF A FREAKING 1.6 REAR CALIPER IS LIKE CLOSE TO RM400 CHOP SHOP!!! 1#$!#%!#^@$& NEW 1 EVEN WORSE, >RM1000
This is BLASPHEMY!!!

So those with rear disc brakes, better take care of it, its damn painful to even source for a used caliper, don't say new 1 ~_~
How will the gomen think, ban imported used parts?? RM1500 for a new 1.6 rear caliper each? More than half of my monthly salary, dammit!!!
Not only that, my brake pad also jammed till habis, changed new brake pads also

Then wiper also KOed as well, changed the mechanism at the bottom, wah liao......overbudget this month, sigh
change to drum brake... cheaper and easier to maintain... can be silent killer as well
like wat they said, change 2 pots but rear 2 pot and front normal... no use also as our car depend more on front brake....
wailup
post Nov 16 2009, 09:24 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(kazami @ Nov 16 2009, 08:38 PM)
some mech recommend toyota type-iv oil because the grade is higher compare to proton and mitsubishi which both using grade 3 oil. of course mitsu will be better as it is gb for wira is made from mitsu
yup.. i was using toyota type-iv ATF, the gb response is GOOD! thumbup.gif can feel more torque and price is affordable. mitsu ATF is expensive.
kelvinlys
post Nov 16 2009, 10:38 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(kazami @ Nov 16 2009, 08:38 PM)
oil cooler in intake system?
look weird
change to drum brake... cheaper and easier to maintain... can be silent killer as well
like wat they said, change 2 pots but rear 2 pot and front normal... no use also as our car depend more on front brake....
Rear 2 pot and front normal can meh? Later brake that time oversteer? NO?
cheeann
post Nov 16 2009, 11:10 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 16 2009, 08:30 PM)
Confirmed rear caliper have to change, inside rusted like ballz and the piston jam.....and the best of all is

THE PRICE OF A FREAKING 1.6 REAR CALIPER IS LIKE CLOSE TO RM400 CHOP SHOP!!! 1#$!#%!#^@$& NEW 1 EVEN WORSE, >RM1000
This is BLASPHEMY!!!

So those with rear disc brakes, better take care of it, its damn painful to even source for a used caliper, don't say new 1 ~_~
How will the gomen think, ban imported used parts?? RM1500 for a new 1.6 rear caliper each? More than half of my monthly salary, dammit!!!

Then wiper also KOed as well, changed the mechanism at the bottom, wah liao......overbudget this month, sigh
dun worry~
my uncle help me get my air-cond compressor also not cheap leh~
da price about 40% increase from last time i ask him get for me~ sad.gif sad.gif
shinjite
post Nov 16 2009, 11:48 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

kazami, talk is easy.....once you experienced it then you know the damage, plus converting to drums do need $$$$ as well plus I am freaking broke. If drums are that good, 1.3 and 1.5 owners won't even bother to change to disc brakes and the price won't skyrocket till its current price now ~_~ Yours is a suggestion and I appreciate it but the price is utterly bullshit mad.gif vmad.gif

Maddriver even better, what drum bakes, take off the whole rear brake system shocking.gif Well it will definitely lighten the car and the car will go faster, the joke is a fact but I treasure my life more. Oh well its already 16 years so I have no complaint about it but RM1500 for a rear caliper? That's utterly ridiculous doh.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif

Oxigen, yes those crazy numbers are for a stock 1.6 rear caliper each only (used is RM400 each, new is RM1500 each), brake pads you get it yourself doh.gif

Anyway, cheeann, thx for sourcing out 1 used 1.6 rear caliper for me. Owe you a lot on this. Treat's on me smile.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Nov 16 2009, 11:56 PM
post Nov 17 2009, 12:02 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 16 2009, 08:50 AM)
engine braking is ok if you know when to stop the car (eg traffic lights). but is totally useless during emergencies, and it is a risk to use during spirited driving as the weight transfer is hard to predict.

you are joking right ?
alvinz
post Nov 17 2009, 12:17 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlys @ Nov 16 2009, 08:01 PM)
I think i need to shop alot from chop shop now before they raise the price.

3k?  shakehead.gif 

Can get u 4pot front 2pot back?
bila bila? rmb ajak me along, i wan go also le ...

QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 16 2009, 11:10 PM)
dun worry~
my uncle help me get my air-cond compressor also not cheap leh~
da price about 40% increase from last time i ask him get for me~    sad.gif  sad.gif
eh, when u bringing me to ur uncle shop? ... i havent been to a chop shop b4 le ... hehe
TSOly
post Nov 17 2009, 12:32 AM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

i try to survey for you rear caliper...
alvinz
post Nov 17 2009, 04:45 AM

832 posts

Just for laughs :

http://www.mudah.my/Proton-Wira-1.5GLi-MANUAL-4444781.htm

i wonder where can we find 4 d!*k brake .. hmm.gif ... LOLz ... maintint? ... hahaha
lady owner? ... wira se front bumper? ... bodykits? .. sport rims? ... d!*k brakes? .. this is one hell of a lady owner flex.gif ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Nov 17 2009, 04:47 AM
wailup
post Nov 17 2009, 07:40 AM

97 posts

fuyoh... unbelievable... she actually use the d!*k for braking?? wonder how it works leh.. kekekeke
the d!*k needs to be very strong oh.. and also long lasting for wear and tear. hahahaha
Kyusuke_FD3S
post Nov 17 2009, 07:45 AM

430 posts

hi every master,

i got a problem with my car now.

this morning, when i turn my key from ON to START,

my starter didnt function at all. no crank sound at all.

then, i turn my key from ON to START again, then my starter works fine and my engine get started.

after i reach my workplace, i turn off my engine, and i start again, my starter works fine.

what is the problem then ? starter ? battery ? alternator ? or what else ?

anyone experience this problem before ?

ps: my battery is new one.

This post has been edited by Kyusuke_FD3S: Nov 17 2009, 07:46 AM
masao343
post Nov 17 2009, 08:52 AM

QUOTE(alvinz @ Nov 17 2009, 04:45 AM)
Just for laughs :

http://www.mudah.my/Proton-Wira-1.5GLi-MANUAL-4444781.htm

i wonder where can we find 4 d!*k brake .. hmm.gif ... LOLz ... maintint? ... hahaha
lady owner? ... wira se front bumper? ... bodykits? .. sport rims? ... d!*k brakes?  .. this is one hell of a lady owner flex.gif  ...
my guess is, the car registered under a lady's name, but used by a guy. usually (just generalizing) ladies cant be bothered with all those "specs" mentioned in the ad. ok lah, give her benefit of a doubt, maybe her husband helped her put the advertisement (that also explains the d!ck) sweat.gif

QUOTE(wailup @ Nov 17 2009, 07:40 AM)
fuyoh... unbelievable... she actually use the d!*k for braking?? wonder how it works leh.. kekekeke
the d!*k needs to be very strong oh.. and also long lasting for wear and tear. hahahaha
i dare not try use my d!ck for braking. cannot be replaced one, dont play play whistling.gif

p/s: dont understand why ppl still think that "lady owner" for a car ad means the car is in better condition than a "male owner"?
i think lady owner tend to forget to do servicing. example, almost all the "lady owners" i know, they start the engine immediately and drive off, never warm up the engine first (unless they wait inside car put make-up). that is why sometimes i think "lady owner" can mean a badly maintained car. wat do u guys think? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Kyusuke_FD3S @ Nov 17 2009, 07:45 AM)
hi every master,

i got a problem with my car now.

this morning, when i turn my key from ON to START,

my starter didnt function at all. no crank sound at all.

then, i turn my key from ON to START again, then my starter works fine and my engine get started.

after i reach my workplace, i turn off my engine, and i start again, my starter works fine.

what is the problem then ? starter ? battery ? alternator ? or what else ?

anyone experience this problem before ?

ps: my battery is new one.
no sound at all? usually means battery problems.
but weird is, ur 2nd time crank it worked. so hard to say.
u try loosen the negative batt terminal (loosen, not detach). start your engine, then detach the negative terminal.
if ur car mati engine, that means ur alternator spoil liao. if engine still running, that means your new battery needs to be checked.

This post has been edited by masao343: Nov 17 2009, 08:53 AM
mrhaz
post Nov 17 2009, 08:53 AM

283 posts

salam.
morning guys!

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 16 2009, 07:30 PM)

This is BLASPHEMY!!!

hoh?! oh my gucci! mine also feels like rosak dy.. now pull handbrake also like nothing..
just changed the brake cable last 3months..wth?
u series ar rm400? mannnn...i was tinikin of doing it next month or so...aaaaahhh..
ill just use the P function then..luckily auto!

masao343
post Nov 17 2009, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(mrhaz @ Nov 17 2009, 08:53 AM)
salam.
morning guys!
hoh?! oh my gucci! mine also feels like rosak dy.. now pull handbrake also like nothing..
just changed the brake cable last 3months..wth?
u series ar rm400? mannnn...i was tinikin of doing it next month or so...aaaaahhh..
ill just use the P function then..luckily auto!
when AT set to P means the car wont move also when pushed?
(as u all knw by nw, i'm a AT noob)
afosz
post Nov 17 2009, 09:35 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 17 2009, 08:52 AM)
p/s: dont understand why ppl still think that "lady owner" for a car ad means the car is in better condition than a "male owner"?
i think lady owner tend to forget to do servicing. example, almost all the "lady owners" i know, they start the engine immediately and drive off, never warm up the engine first (unless they wait inside car put make-up). that is why sometimes i think "lady owner" can mean a badly maintained car. wat do u guys think?  hmm.gif
Lady owner always referred to in good condition I assume, considering the interior and exterior wise still nice like brand new. In term of maintenance wise, well I do agree with your statement. Mostly, not all, only knows to drive and go. When something goes wrong, just send to workshop and pay. Enough mileage, go service. If something broken or damaged, common statement heard "Eh that day already service".

QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 17 2009, 09:10 AM)
when AT set to P means the car wont move also when pushed?
(as u all knw by nw, i'm a AT noob)
Yup, P is for parking thumbup.gif (I'm MT noob)
masao343
post Nov 17 2009, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(afosz @ Nov 17 2009, 09:35 AM)
Lady owner always referred to in good condition I assume, considering the interior and exterior wise still nice like brand new. In term of maintenance wise, well I do agree with your statement. Mostly, not all, only knows to drive and go. When something goes wrong, just send to workshop and pay. Enough mileage, go service. If something broken or damaged, common statement heard "Eh that day already service".
Yup, P is for parking thumbup.gif (I'm MT noob)
yes u r rite, most ppl advertise "lady owner" as in "car in good condition" but we all should know better la.
guys can "sayang" their car more, u know. but guys tend to drive a little more aggressively (again, in general, not say 100%) compared to ladies.

haha, u are so right about the comment ladies like to make "eh that day already serviced".
when they say service, they think EVERYTHING is fixed during the service sweat.gif

Added on November 17, 2009, 10:15 am
guys, during engine oil change, the "oil sump" drain screw-hole has started to lost its "threads" (the bunga botak). currently i using seal to make sure engine oil wont leak. how much is it to replace the entire oil sump base plate for 4G15p?
i dont like the idea of sucking our old engine oil with vacuum pump. like not clean liddat.

This post has been edited by masao343: Nov 17 2009, 10:16 AM
sqwerk2
post Nov 17 2009, 10:45 AM

The Big One
1,799 posts

guys, juz wanna ask sumthing.

i did top overhaul last 2 months or so. things are fine, but there is one thing tht kinda bugs me. whenver the car was left idle for a very long time, say, 8 hours like tht. when i start the engine, i will warm the engine up before moving. after the engine have been warmed up, when i turned on the AC, there is this squeking sound of the timing belt. i noticed this for quite some time already, then one day i decided to open the hood and see it.

i look at the timing belt rotation speed, it was ok at first, then i tried turning on the AC, then the soudn appears, i also noticed that the speed of the timing belt has dropped and turned a bit slower before i turn on the AC. i asked my mech, he said it could be the crank pulleys and need to change it.

however, the sound is will not appear after the engine is fully warmed up and i've been driving it for a while even with the AC on. so, just wanna ask u pros here, can u guys tell me wat is wrong? i got think of spraying some lubricant to the pulleys, will it help? sorry for the long post.
masao343
post Nov 17 2009, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Nov 17 2009, 10:45 AM)
guys, juz wanna ask sumthing.

i did top overhaul last 2 months or so. things are fine, but there is one thing tht kinda bugs me. whenver the car was left idle for a very long time, say, 8 hours like tht. when i start the engine, i will warm the engine up before moving. after the engine have been warmed up, when i turned on the AC, there is this squeking sound of the timing belt. i noticed this for quite some time already, then one day i decided to open the hood and see it.

i look at the timing belt rotation speed, it was ok at first, then i tried turning on the AC, then the soudn appears, i also noticed that the speed of the timing belt has dropped and turned a bit slower before i turn on the AC. i asked my mech, he said it could be the crank pulleys and need to change it.

however, the sound is will not appear after the engine is fully warmed up and i've been driving it for a while even with the AC on. so, just wanna ask u pros here, can u guys tell me wat is wrong? i got think of spraying some lubricant to the pulleys, will it help? sorry for the long post.
if your mech is trustworthy, then listen to him. if u suspect he wants your money, then go find another mech and get a 2nd opinion.
IMHO i think its not abnormal to have some squeaks from the belts when its cold. i have it when its cold at night and when i start the car in the morning. i'd think its water/vapour having gotten in between the belts and the pulleys, causing minor, harmless slips.

for your case, could be the same thing. BUT timing belt dont slip, it has teeth to prevent slips. when AC compressor comes on, it puts a load onto the engine, thus slowing down the RPM a little.

This post has been edited by masao343: Nov 17 2009, 11:00 AM
sqwerk2
post Nov 17 2009, 11:05 AM

The Big One
1,799 posts

QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 17 2009, 10:52 AM)
if your mech is trustworthy, then listen to him. if u suspect he wants your money, then go find another mech and get a 2nd opinion.
IMHO i think its not abnormal to have some squeaks from the belts when its cold. i have it when its cold at night and when i start the car in the morning. i'd think its water/vapour having gotten in between the belts and the pulleys, causing minor, harmless slips.

for your case, could be the same thing. timing belt dont slip, it has teeth to prevent slips. when AC compressor comes on, it give resistance to engine, thus slowing down the RPM a little.
my friend said the exact same things, but he said that crank pulleys doesn't need to be replaced, and need to change under certain conditions. wat he suggested was, the pulleys are a bit loose and need to be tightened up, or, because it happen when i turn the AC on, he also suggested that it could be the AC compressor needs to be serviced. anyone had the same idea as well?

This post has been edited by sqwerk2: Nov 17 2009, 11:06 AM
masao343
post Nov 17 2009, 11:29 AM

ur fren could be rite.
did u just called ur mech about it, or had him looked at it?

could be an improperly tightened crank pulley bolt. but probably not, since u only hv that squeak when the engine's cold.

126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0329sec    2.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:13 AM