126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V12, Live to Ride, Ride to Live

SUSSyphon
post Nov 27 2009, 12:07 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Nov 26 2009, 11:57 PM)
izzit the same between AM and Trail?  hmm.gif
i also dunno what's trail for. mcm xc only. hmm.gif
radmaszeal
post Nov 27 2009, 01:24 AM

boredom is caused by lack of ignorance
1,546 posts

went 2 loops at kdcf in the afternoon. trail changed alot, a few fallen trees on the trail, had to detour. added about 1 minute to ride. only managed to do it in 13 minutes, cannot beat the lerun or the tbolt record laugh.gif

but climbing much nicer with the hfs frame. lol

after that went to lbs fix headset, was making weird sound. so around 14km.

then 8.30 join night ride at FRIM, 18km. the rest of the riders were damn strong sweat.gif, could barely keep up. light wasnt bright enough to go fast on the DH sections, had several near crashed cos of cornering and seeing obstacles late. still need to improve alot lol.

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Nov 26 2009, 11:57 PM)
izzit the same between AM and Trail?  hmm.gif
trail is more like filling a gap between XC and AM. xc 100mm travel, trail 120-140mm, AM 150-180mm.

xc steep head and seat tube angles, long stems, flat bars, bar ends laugh.gif. AM and trail about the same angles, same wide riser bars, short stems i think.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 27 2009, 12:00 AM)
Personal opinion is XC is for riding from A to B and then back again.

AM is for putting it on the bike rack.. drive it from point A to B... ride around B... wash it... put it on bike rack and drive back to A again.

FR/DH is for Whistler.

Added on November 27, 2009, 12:03 am

I wud think "Trail" is a burlier XC bike with slacker angles, wider riser, shorter stem ain't it?
i think so too. or maybe bike companies are plugging non existent holes in the market? like the bmw x6? tongue.gif

Added on November 27, 2009, 1:32 amany1 wanna buy 2010 specialized epic?

http://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/upda...d-and-pro-24138

cracks found laugh.gif

This post has been edited by radmaszeal: Nov 27 2009, 01:32 AM
chamelion
post Nov 27 2009, 01:33 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

i thnk it's balance between weight (speed) and toughness.

XC is mean for
-higher speeding
-off road (emphasis on "still some road")
-lighter component, less tough compare to am part

AM
-lower speed
-tougher part thus heavier
-any terrain
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 27 2009, 02:19 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Nov 27 2009, 01:24 AM)
went 2 loops at kdcf in the afternoon. trail changed alot, a few fallen trees on the trail, had to detour. added about 1 minute to ride. only managed to do it in 13 minutes, cannot beat the lerun or the tbolt record laugh.gif

but climbing much nicer with the hfs frame. lol

after that went to lbs fix headset, was making weird sound. so around 14km.

then 8.30 join night ride at FRIM, 18km. the rest of the riders were damn strong sweat.gif, could barely keep up. light wasnt bright enough to go fast on the DH sections, had several near crashed cos of cornering and seeing obstacles late. still need to improve alot lol.
trail is more like filling a gap between XC and AM. xc 100mm travel, trail 120-140mm, AM 150-180mm.

xc steep head and seat tube angles, long stems, flat bars, bar ends laugh.gif. AM and trail about the same angles, same wide riser bars, short stems i think.
i think so too. or maybe bike companies are plugging non existent holes in the market? like the bmw x6? tongue.gif

Added on November 27, 2009, 1:32 amany1 wanna buy 2010 specialized epic?

http://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/upda...d-and-pro-24138

cracks found laugh.gif
trail is usually at 140mm. 150-180 is freeride/light downhill territory edi lol.
radmaszeal
post Nov 27 2009, 02:32 AM

boredom is caused by lack of ignorance
1,546 posts

now FR/DH is 180mm-200mm edi whistling.gif

FR/DH 180mm is 2 years ago tongue.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 27 2009, 09:51 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

only DH is 200mm lol.

freeride and light downhill is ard the 150-180mm area
sniper on the roof
post Nov 27 2009, 10:01 AM

23,414 posts

Next thing ya know.. they'll have ABS brakes.
dinraxxx
post Nov 27 2009, 10:14 AM

Ex-Intern Editor for Lowyat.NET.
1,836 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 26 2009, 08:49 PM)
Adds Spinner Aeris Sports
[attachmentid=1324881]
Yup... got smitten by the retro bug and voodoo's especially the Bizango. See how lar.. very troublesome to change frame, no specially good deals and scared a Bizango will karat tongue.gif
Wooot.How much will this be?Looks nice! icon_idea.gif

Added on November 27, 2009, 10:14 am
QUOTE(xandman @ Nov 26 2009, 10:22 PM)
guys long time no spam...
spam a bit la...malam raya spamming!
enjoice! brows.gif

Selamat hari raya qurban to all!  rclxms.gif
HOPE sialll!!!How much for those brakes bro?Is this 4 pot? blink.gif

This post has been edited by dinraxxx: Nov 27 2009, 10:14 AM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 27 2009, 10:27 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Nov 27 2009, 10:14 AM)
Wooot.How much will this be?Looks nice! icon_idea.gif
Dunno about Malaysia and Aeris got many diff models. Should be around the same as the RST FIRST kwa.
xandman
post Nov 27 2009, 10:29 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

thx all for helping me to clarify.
So in short...

XC components focuses on weight
AM components focuses on toughness.

in terms of usage...no difference.
rclxms.gif

so theoritically...i can use AM components on XC bike but compromising weight. rite?

dinraxxx...
no bro...not the 4-pot m4.
this is the 24mm 2-pot v2! brows.gif
timothyy
post Nov 27 2009, 10:42 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 27 2009, 10:01 AM)
Next thing ya know.. they'll have ABS brakes.
Well, u come out with it, you will be super rich.
Come come... let's design it.

Meaning no endo for noobies.

QUOTE(xandman @ Nov 27 2009, 10:29 AM)
So in short...

rclxms.gif

so theoritically...i can use AM components on XC bike but compromising weight. rite?

dinraxxx...
UNker xand, my bike is AM, your bike is XC... how come my bike lighter than yours one? whistling.gif whistling.gif

And on your berak... kesian la... no ppl know anything about your hope. Which model also we donno. Kekeke...
sniper on the roof
post Nov 27 2009, 10:50 AM

23,414 posts

So in short...

rclxms.gif

Basically you can use any component on any frame. There's people building weight weenie AM bikes also but then it won't be strong enough to actually do much without kena skewered by broken off KCNC seatpost etc... and vice versa.. what's the point of building an Abram tank XC bike.. it'll be too heavy.

So my suggestion... choose one:

1) Hold your horses... keep money in bank or send it this way (PM me for my bank account)... and ride more.

2) Choose a direction and focus towards that.. if you think you'll be doing mainly XC.. get the best components for that and vice versa for trail/AM/DH

3) Upgrade your Anthem X towards "Trail", get a Reign, get Driver 8 and get a Cervelo. Then you have everything... oh... + a folding bike for mamak.
xandman
post Nov 27 2009, 10:51 AM

7,214 posts

hahahaha...
bcoz like u said...
my Anthem is a gap filler only... tongue.gif
equipping it with bling before changing frame maaaa...

and the brakes...
it shouts subtly...
so i m good... brows.gif

chamelion
post Nov 27 2009, 10:51 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

So in short...

rclxms.gif

dinraxxx...
actually the limit start from frame. 4" anthem will not be plushy as a 5".
like F1 compare to Dakar rally car. one is light for speed; another is toughness. in between hybrid will no win cool.gif
xandman
post Nov 27 2009, 10:53 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 27 2009, 10:50 AM)
Basically you can use any component on any frame. There's people building weight weenie AM bikes also but then it won't be strong enough to actually do much without kena skewered by broken off KCNC seatpost etc... and vice versa.. what's the point of building an Abram tank XC bike.. it'll be too heavy.

So my suggestion... choose one:

1) Hold your horses... keep money in bank or send it this way (PM me for my bank account)... and ride more.

2) Choose a direction and focus towards that.. if you think you'll be doing mainly XC.. get the best components for that and vice versa for trail/AM/DH

3) Upgrade your Anthem X towards "Trail", get a Reign, get Driver 8 and get a Cervelo. Then you have everything... oh... + a folding bike for mamak.
ill choose number 1!
thx sniper.
this is actually making some sense to me right now.
rclxms.gif

i better stop spending and start riding. biggrin.gif
sniper on the roof

23,414 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 27 2009, 10:51 AM)
like F1 compare to Dakar rally car. one is light for speed; another is toughness. in between hybrid will no win  cool.gif
I think there's a term for that... my malay rusty di... Ahhh.. yes... Its called

--> PONDAN
chamelion

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

else build ur own batcave with 1 XC, 1 AM, 1 DH, n 1 folding. when you have mission, you choose the best bike..
xandman
post Nov 27 2009, 10:54 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 27 2009, 10:51 AM)
like F1 compare to Dakar rally car. one is light for speed; another is toughness. in between hybrid will no win  cool.gif
this is agree!
jack of all trades master of none.
so i'll focus towards XC/trail.

what do i need to do to make anthem into trail focused?

Added on November 27, 2009, 10:56 am
QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 27 2009, 10:53 AM)
else build ur own batcave with 1 XC, 1 AM, 1 DH, n 1 folding. when you have mission, you choose the best bike..
AM = 7-7.5" travel?
DH = 8" travel double crown?

or can an AM bike be used for DH?

This post has been edited by xandman: Nov 27 2009, 10:56 AM
chamelion
post Nov 27 2009, 10:56 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

then u need a thule roof with 3 carried "the folding can put in boot". your mother ship will launch bike as u go...

Added on November 27, 2009, 10:57 amwat pedal u using? err spd?

This post has been edited by chamelion: Nov 27 2009, 10:57 AM
xandman
post Nov 27 2009, 10:59 AM

7,214 posts

chamelion...
u tokking to me?
i m using crank bros. 50/50 X. biggrin.gif

1 rack oso koyak d...now 3 racks?
i die liao!

126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top