Apr 2 2006, 01:07 AM
2,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The information provided below is valid from JUNE...I repeat JUNE...
Title: System "Manager" Job description: Project Management, R&D , BSBH (Bao suo bao hai-means do everything) Company: Chinaman and small size Industry: Software (commerce and mobile) Experience: 4 months industrial training before joining Duration with current comp: 2 years in June Degree: B.IT (ISE) Salary: 2700+200 allwance (1800->2000->2400) Benefits: Freedom as boss always away, friendly working environment, friendly and crazy-thnking boss... Currently 25 year-old ..consider ok?Kind dun like the title as "manager" as the pay doesn't really match up as manager.Somemore Crazy...I am a monkey, impossible for a monkey able to manage monkeys. Looking chances in bigger size company, as the margin of career growth is much narrow in current company. Actually I am getting an offer from other company (2800) which ask me to start in April. However,after getting "counter offer" |
Apr 2 2006, 01:27 AM
136 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hahaha.... u r funny dude
Apr 2 2006, 01:45 AM
261 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
I had almost the same career path as frequency and also started in a Chinaman small company for 2 years. The pay seems reasonable for 2 years, but it might not be very good to get a manager title so fast for a few reasons:
1. Are you a real manager? Will there be people reporting to you and how many? 2. Some companies like to give the term manager quite freely that it loses the meaning. Are you expecting for manager position in your next job? If you take a lesser job role.. it looks like your career path is going down. If you want a manager role, then the expectation would be quite different. 3. Some companies give the term manager to place more responsibility on the employee. Some like to throw the new "manager" to the customer firing line to take the heat from the company. As I said, my career path was almost identical to yours up to this point. Here's what happened to me after my 2 years with the chinaman company: 1. I left the job and took a job in a larger organisation as normal software engineer. 2. Almost a year later, I took a role as a senior software engineer in a smaller company 3. After that, I moved to the same role in an MNC Suggestion: Plan for your next move at the end of the year (or few months after your next increment). And don't take a counter offer again. |
Apr 3 2006, 05:59 PM
856 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(normaldude @ Apr 2 2006, 01:45 AM) I had almost the same career path as frequency and also started in a Chinaman small company for 2 years. The pay seems reasonable for 2 years, but it might not be very good to get a manager title so fast for a few reasons: i beg to differ on the last part. moving at the end of the year isnt that ideal as we all know it's festival time during that period. gotta have $$ coming in.1. Are you a real manager? Will there be people reporting to you and how many? 2. Some companies like to give the term manager quite freely that it loses the meaning. Are you expecting for manager position in your next job? If you take a lesser job role.. it looks like your career path is going down. If you want a manager role, then the expectation would be quite different. 3. Some companies give the term manager to place more responsibility on the employee. Some like to throw the new "manager" to the customer firing line to take the heat from the company. As I said, my career path was almost identical to yours up to this point. Here's what happened to me after my 2 years with the chinaman company: 1. I left the job and took a job in a larger organisation as normal software engineer. 2. Almost a year later, I took a role as a senior software engineer in a smaller company 3. After that, I moved to the same role in an MNC Suggestion: Plan for your next move at the end of the year (or few months after your next increment). And don't take a counter offer again. but more importantly, u should only move when u have $$ reserves that can last u few months without any job on hand. otherwise, think twice. |
Apr 3 2006, 07:46 PM
469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Move at end of the year? Hmmm, risky leh...
Apr 3 2006, 10:03 PM
261 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Correction: Moving at the end of the year is a no no. (I take my words back
I would definitely not leave a company if I have not secure another job. I didn't imply move irregardless if you have a job. Play safe and secure another job before you do anything. Leaving a job without securing another looks bad on your resume. Interviewers always like to look for gaps in your resume. If you spend a few months jobless, they might think that you either got fired, were forced to quit or just simply could not handle the pressure and chickened out. Having $$$ reserves is definitely a plus point, and should be the way. No job in the world is safe. Large corporations have huge layoffs and you won't know when these things will happen. Government jobs are probably the least volatile compared to all the others in this sense. |
Apr 4 2006, 11:56 AM
856 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
gov jobs volatile, but saturated.
Apr 4 2006, 10:08 PM
Haha ya man, get gov jobs.
Goyang all day... and makan gaji. Sorry just kiddin. This post has been edited by tALEz: Apr 4 2006, 10:08 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 03:26 PM
325 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
It is reasonable to be a bit choosy if you have working experience. For freshie..should take the job eventhough is underpaid.
Apr 8 2006, 01:35 AM
547 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Position: Systems Administrator
Qualification: BSc In Computer Science + MCSE + MCDBA... Experience: Fresh Grad Salary: RM 2100 Benefits: Medical, Dental, Optical - RM 2000 per annum Insurance mmm... what do you guys think?... |
Apr 8 2006, 01:49 AM
547 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Apr 8 2006, 02:10 PM
2,013 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: abyss |
Job Title : Purchasing & Shipping Assistant
Job Description : maintaining communication with local n ovrseas supplier 4 prompt delivery. Job Responsibilities : purchase order issuing, chase for delivery, manage supplier list n price, communicate with ovrseas supplier, shipping docs, containers arrival. n other stuff etc Company : MNC (Ink manufacturer) Industry : Manufacturing Tenure : Permanent Employment Level : Assistant Experience before joining : 3yrs+ with 1 of d manufacturing, 3month in a engineering company. Duration with current company: 2yrs+ Income : RM2K nett any1 with d same job title as i am? not a gud job though if u under a china man company while u hav 2 do all kinda non related stuff |
Apr 8 2006, 02:39 PM
11,151 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: russia with cash |
I tot "Purchasing & Shipping Assistant" mostly are female woh...haha
Apr 8 2006, 04:43 PM
1,333 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret |
Job Title : audit associate
Job Desciption : auditing Company : one of the big 4 firms Industry : EUMI (energy,utility,multimedia n infocomm) Tenur : waiting for confirmation Employment Level : junior Experience before joining : 0 salary : RM2100 working hours: uhh.. dunno... location: uhh.. flying here n there.. not confirmed |
Apr 8 2006, 07:43 PM
853 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Position: IT Support.
Qualification: Diploma In Computer Science + MCSE + MCDBA + MCP Experience: Fresh Grad Salary: RM 1700 (RM200-RM300 adjustment after 3-6 months) Benefits: Medical, Dental, Optical , Annual Leave , Bonus Company : Courts Mamooth Working hour : 9am-6am Mon-Fri Location : Kuala Lumpur This post has been edited by imisu29: Apr 8 2006, 07:44 PM |
Apr 8 2006, 09:10 PM
Apr 9 2006, 01:04 PM
Anyone earning more from their part-time than from their full-time yet?
Apr 9 2006, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(menghong @ Apr 8 2006, 10:38 PM) can check my previous post on previous page... i am doing purchasing n i dun really like my job.. maybe purchasing is just not my job la.. not gud at negotiation skill i guess.. This post has been edited by ben_ang: Apr 9 2006, 08:13 PM |
Apr 10 2006, 12:08 AM
1,333 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret |
| Change to: | 0.0286sec