Shoes for (real) men

DeadRoots P
post Nov 5 2021, 07:02 PM

Probation

QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 5 2021, 01:57 PM)
Ah, from your other thread you are a fellow leathercrafter. So in your case the appropriate tool is a scratch awl instead of a needle.
Yep, I have one lol. It'll be much easier to use a scratch awl since it has a large handle. Also, I have gum tragacanth/tokonole, should I use it to glue the loose threads? Or should I just stick to using PVA glue as you've mentioned?
niakulah
post Nov 5 2021, 09:15 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(DeadRoots @ Nov 5 2021, 07:02 PM)
Yep, I have one lol. It'll be much easier to use a scratch awl since it has a large handle. Also, I have gum tragacanth/tokonole, should I use it to glue the loose threads? Or should I just stick to using PVA glue as you've mentioned?
PVA. Gum trag and tokonole are not adhesives. They're for edge burnishing.
thelibran.kl P
post Nov 15 2021, 09:47 AM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Sep 6 2021, 08:54 AM)
Yeah I am aware it is not going to be cheap.

One of the reasons for GYW shoes is that it is possible to resole and not to ditch away those shoes with nice patina.

Whats more important is that high quality leather shoes / boots that has molded to your feet nicely already. hahaha

Wonder if our neighbouring country, Singapore has cobblers that fixes GYW shoes...
Ironicaally, all our neighbouring countries have craftsman that resole GYW shoes, but not us sweat.gif
thelibran.kl P
post Nov 15 2021, 09:57 AM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(ngkwdaniel @ Oct 15 2021, 09:09 PM)
Does anyone know any good cobbler in KL/PJ who can do resole for Onitsuka tiger?
Love the pig skin lining on the Onitsuka tiger that I cannot bear to see them in bin
Your best option is Cobblerman at Jaya One.
thelibran.kl P
post Nov 15 2021, 10:06 AM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(nocko @ Sep 10 2021, 09:48 AM)
hey shoes sifus,

been a sneaker head and wanting to get some (real) shoes to mix in my wardrobe.

any recommendation for styles that can be for formal and casual? or should i have separate shoes?
There is no straightforward answer to this.
Ultimately, it is best to have separate shoes.
But to answer your question, my best recommendations are single monk straps and Chelsea boots.

thelibran.kl P
post Nov 16 2021, 09:19 PM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(ngkwdaniel @ Oct 15 2021, 09:09 PM)
Does anyone know any good cobbler in KL/PJ who can do resole for Onitsuka tiger?
Love the pig skin lining on the Onitsuka tiger that I cannot bear to see them in bin
You can try Cobblerman at Jaya One.
thelibran.kl P
post Nov 16 2021, 09:40 PM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(lvoonjian8888 @ Nov 1 2021, 12:46 PM)
Dear all sifus, I wish to purchase my first ever Goodyear welted shoe from Skolyx. Wish to ask, is it all the Goodyear welted shoe is 1 size smaller than my normal sneaker size?

I am wearing Nike UK10 now, mean I should get UK9 for Goodyear welted shoe?
Like the other sifus mentioned, it is not that straightforward. Even for sneakers, Adidas and Nike follow different standards.
With buying online, it is important to know the measurements of your feet, at least the length and width.
I know that I am a true UK 9 and a UK 9 in Nike, for Adidas I'm a UK 9.5.
If you look at the size guide/list of my goodyear welted shoes on my website, I didn't need to size down from my sneaker size.

thelibrankl d0t c0m shoe-size-guide

For GYW shoes, the Last the shoes are made on affects the fit and every brand has their own Last design.
StyleForum and AskAndy are not good places to understand the fit of shoe brands, as Caucasian's feet are shaped differently and may not apply to Asians.
Plus, when they talk about sizing down 1 size or half size is confusing, as not all of them mean choosing 1 or half size smaller.
Some are just about the conversion from US size to UK size, where by "general" standards is the same size, it's just 1 number smaller.
lvoonjian8888
post Nov 25 2021, 10:48 PM

285 posts

Anyone know where to try Goodyear Welted shoe in KL?
thelibran.kl P
post Nov 26 2021, 04:38 PM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(lvoonjian8888 @ Nov 25 2021, 10:48 PM)
Anyone know where to try Goodyear Welted shoe in KL?
P.Lal Store on Jalan Gasing
WJ & Co in Bangsar Shopping Centre
Pre-loved sellers on Carousell/Shopee that are willing to let you try, ie. www.thelibrankl.com
skystrike
post Dec 1 2021, 09:27 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

just discover saphir already has official store at shoppe...
lol0919
post Dec 6 2021, 01:25 AM

168 posts

Cheaney's shoes during Black Friday Sale
niakulah
post Dec 6 2021, 11:02 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(lol0919 @ Dec 6 2021, 01:25 AM)
Cheaney's shoes during Black Friday Sale
Very nice! How much? Were you hit by tax when it arrived?
lol0919
post Dec 6 2021, 10:24 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Dec 6 2021, 11:02 AM)
Very nice! How much? Were you hit by tax when it arrived?
£165.83 after offer and £20 shipping ,no hit tax since ship to SG and the price does not exceed 400sgd

pixelrider
post Dec 27 2021, 05:14 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 5 2021, 01:16 AM)
patch rubber outsole on it if no one can do
I think some handbags repairs shop do it.. some people send Chanel handbags or shoes to repair.. can try ask

most cobbler or factory here don't bother to do.. because they say GYW cost is too high as need to invest GYW machines
probably higher chance if to find those GYW by hand cobblers.. but that's not going to be cheap
Late to the discussion, but AFAIK some boot manufacturers in Malaysia actually produce goodyear welted shoes. Look for brands such as Hammerland, Black Hammer, Police, Guzzi...etc on Shopee. I wonder if they will accept request to resole dress shoes?

Example with video
https://shopee.com.my/Police-93063-Men'...ee-9618ea9b5530
thelibran.kl P
post Dec 31 2021, 06:19 PM

Probation
23 posts

[quote=pixelrider,Dec 27 2021, 05:14 PM]
Late to the discussion, but AFAIK some boot manufacturers in Malaysia actually produce goodyear welted shoes. Look for brands such as Hammerland, Black Hammer, Police, Guzzi...etc on Shopee. I wonder if they will accept request to resole dress shoes?

Yes, I'm guessing these would be made my Kulitkraf which only deals B2B. I've tried contacting them but tak layan. Or if anybody has contacts that works there, maybe can try.
Jitty
post Jan 3 2022, 11:43 AM

1,046 posts

Hi guys, can recomend any good loafers.

Budget around rm200-250

Thanks ya all sifus.
Preferred those that can tahan lama
thelibran.kl P
post Jan 12 2022, 11:05 AM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jan 3 2022, 11:43 AM)
Hi guys, can recomend any good loafers.

Budget around rm200-250

Thanks ya all sifus.
Preferred those that can tahan lama
For that price range, the best you can get physically are Clark’s at outlets as some of their shoes are Blake Stitched. But, you need to know that not all shoes in a brand are made the same, so you need to know how to identify quality leather and construction as I shared on my blog.

If you are not particular on shoe construction. I have heard good things about Earnest & Collective and Arden Teal.
rexus
post Jan 16 2022, 11:42 AM

Bruh
614 posts

Looking to take care of my shoes a bit more. In terms of the bare minimum essentials, is there anything I should get apart from:

1. Shoe tree
2. Horse hair brush
3. Conditioner

Not sure if I really need a cream polish/ wax polish if I get the Saphir Renovateur.
niakulah
post Jan 17 2022, 10:35 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(rexus @ Jan 16 2022, 11:42 AM)
Looking to take care of my shoes a bit more. In terms of the bare minimum essentials, is there anything I should get apart from:

1. Shoe tree
2. Horse hair brush
3. Conditioner

Not sure if I really need a cream polish/ wax polish if I get the Saphir Renovateur.
I too bought renovateur early on. I see now that it's not all that necessary. Creme is more beneficial. It nourishes and recolours.

Renovateur would be useful if the leather is seriously dry, something I've never let happen to my shoes.

Unless you have many different colours of shoes and are on a budget, then the colour neutral renovateur makes sense as a first buy.
niakulah
post Jan 17 2022, 10:38 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 30 2014, 02:14 PM)
Yes! Finished reading 133 pages! Thanks for all the info guys. Don't have any shoes worthy of this thread yet, but here's my latest haul.

[attachmentid=3836608]
Just for fun, wanted to see when I bought it. 2014! I still have 1/3 of the jar left.

Aaagh cringe. What the heck did I buy the renomat for.

290 Pages « < 281 282 283 284 285 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:55 PM