nice pics!

More shoe care posts please, guys!
Thanks! Now how about some pics of those new shoes? Hehe
niakulah
post Apr 2 2017, 10:38 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 2 2017, 08:39 PM)
Hey guys wanna ask. For regular departmental stores leather shoes like hush puppies, camel, geox etc etc...

What grade of leather do u think they generally are? If they are just low grade leathers, do we still need to apply conditioners and polishes to take care of them? Will it make any difference?

Which departmental stores brand do u think have ranges for full grain leather? Those like clarks they all?
I polish them only to recolor them basically. Cover scuffs etc.

I have a pair of brown Clarks. I brush them only. No conditioners or anything else.
teongpeng
post Apr 2 2017, 10:40 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Apr 2 2017, 10:36 PM)
Thanks! Now how about some pics of those new shoes? Hehe

Wait ill add more pics of the shops and stuff when i get the photos from my camera.
Kelvw
post Apr 3 2017, 02:28 AM

1,591 posts

Here're some shoecare, my pair of Loakes mirror shined

Kelvw
post Apr 5 2017, 03:11 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Mar 25 2017, 06:30 PM)
Went to crockett and jones, barker, trickers store in jermyn street. Best service is at crockett and jones. Sales person was informstive and helpful. First time i have ppl actually measured my feet, give recommendations and even put on the shoes for me. Felt like a VIP. Tried on a bunch of shoes...

The service at barker though were dissapointing as the salesperson werent very well informed of its own products. Trickers meanwhile, were behaving quite disinterested in serving (maybe coz i face problem or what). But in the end also have to reluctantly bring out the shoes to let me try. Hehe.
I have to agree, CJs service is exceptional and this applies to most of their stores I've been to.
Trickers is an odd one, I just go there to check out its interior. John Lobb and Edward Green isn't too bad either when they are a bit more relaxed.

Here's my new CJ Camberley purchase. wub.gif

niakulah
post Apr 5 2017, 04:12 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 5 2017, 03:11 PM)
I have to agree, CJs service is exceptional and this applies to most of their stores I've been to.
Trickers is an odd one, I just go there to check out its interior. John Lobb and Edward Green isn't too bad either when they are a bit more relaxed.

Here's my new CJ Camberley purchase.  wub.gif

Very nice as always bro. Is it just me or is the fit and finish at the back lining a bit off?
teongpeng
post Apr 5 2017, 05:07 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 5 2017, 03:11 PM)

Here's my new CJ Camberley purchase.  wub.gif

Swag shoe bro.
Kelvw
post Apr 5 2017, 06:21 PM

1,591 posts

thanks bros. The inner lining does look a bit off from the pics but the outer is fine.

There's a Super Trunk show happening next month in London and I'll be there to check out a few other shoemakers particularly Vass. Will post some photos when the time comes
Ewww!
post Apr 9 2017, 04:45 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Mar 15 2017, 10:39 AM)
Gotta post some photos of your results.

Here's mine, weekend polish  smile.gif

Before polishing with a bit of Saphir Renovateur. Applied and left to soak in a bit before brushing off

First round of spit shine. Weather was a bit cloudy at the time

A little bit more shine overnight

Whoa! That photography skills. Impressive
JTWL
post Apr 12 2017, 12:45 PM

Nice shoes gentlemen. The photos look really impressive!

I noticed many of you were looking for shoe care products and wanted to share with you what I discovered a few weeks ago.

Went to Singapore for a family weekend trip and my abang there introduced me to a shoe care company at their side. I just got a pair of leather shoes here and was still wondering how I could take care of them. They are a new local start-up so I didn't think very highly of them but decided to give it a try anyway since it was strongly recommended.

And after buying their shoe conditioner and shoe trees, I've used them for weeks now and would give them two thumbs up thumbup.gif Same day free shipping and not very expensive too.

Not only that, they gave me a discount code that anyone can use "YS01" right after I signed up as their affiliate. After other people use, I get commission also. Really not bad!

For those of you who go SG often, don't say I never jio biggrin.gif
teongpeng
post Apr 15 2017, 06:40 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

Yo guys ! I scrapped my shoe on the kerb. Its C&J and im just curious, is this really full grain leather? Do full grain leather get torn like that over a light brush against rough pavement?

[attachmentid=8732596]Attached Image

Is this normal?

This post has been edited by teongpeng: Apr 15 2017, 06:41 PM

niakulah
post Apr 15 2017, 07:23 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 15 2017, 06:40 PM)
Yo guys ! I scrapped my shoe on the kerb. Its  C&J and im just curious, is this really full grain leather? Do full grain leather get torn like that over a light brush against rough pavement?

[attachmentid=8732596]Attached Image

Is this normal?
Have you wiped it down with a damp cloth? I'm wondering if the whiter bits could be part of the pavement.
teongpeng
post Apr 15 2017, 07:57 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Apr 15 2017, 07:23 PM)
Have you wiped it down with a damp cloth? I'm wondering if the whiter bits could be part of the pavement.
Its not bro...the white part is under the scrapped "leather".
This is the model i bought

Its unlikely to be a fake from C&J's very own London store right?

This post has been edited by teongpeng: Apr 15 2017, 08:05 PM
niakulah
post Apr 15 2017, 08:50 PM

Senior Artisan
1,277 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 15 2017, 07:57 PM)
Its not bro...the white part is under the scrapped "leather".
This is the model i bought

Its unlikely to be a fake from C&J's very own London store right?
Not sure bro. I would expect it to be tan at most. Unless you gouged it all the way to the toepuff.
Kelvw
post Apr 17 2017, 04:18 AM

1,591 posts

I believe it's normal. I checked my other shoes, mainly around the eyelet where it's been punched through and they are white. A bit of polish should blend those scuffs in.
Kelvw
post Apr 18 2017, 05:03 PM

1,591 posts

Shoe circle updated biggrin.gif

ZintanthraX
post Apr 18 2017, 05:19 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 18 2017, 05:03 PM)
Shoe circle updated  biggrin.gif

in love with the tan collection. maybe later can replace the shoe tree in the middle with the holy grail of your collection, another reason to gas. lol.
JurgenKlopp69
post Apr 18 2017, 07:55 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 18 2017, 05:03 PM)
Shoe circle updated  biggrin.gif

looking good ! especially loved the ones in brown color rclxms.gif
JurgenKlopp69
post Apr 18 2017, 07:57 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Kelvw @ Apr 3 2017, 02:28 AM)
Here're some shoecare, my pair of Loakes mirror shined

how do u do mirror shine for your shoes ? using kiwi & brush + abit of water from the army ? tongue.gif
Kelvw
post Apr 19 2017, 04:38 AM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(JurgenKlopp69 @ Apr 18 2017, 07:57 PM)
how do u do mirror shine for your shoes ? using kiwi & brush + abit of water from the army ?  tongue.gif
Don't really use kiwi, I have it somewhere but shelved away now. Most of my shoes are shined with saphir.
My routine:

- Brush
- Renovateur (if needed)
- Saphir Pommadier Cream to cover any marks and to condition and then brush
- Pate de Luxe Wax all over shoe with focus on the toe cap and heel. Buff with cloth once it's dried. I repeat about 3 layers
- More hard wax on cap until smooth with a bit of water (spit shine at this point)
- Lastly top up with Saphir Mirror Gloss Wax (optional)

However once you get the mirror shine, everyone will be looking at your feet sweat.gif It's inevitable.

290 Pages « < 225 226 227 228 229 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:26 AM