125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

ashley17
post Jan 15 2015, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 12 2015, 10:50 PM)
If put the PF at 0.9 = 400w/(0.9x120v) = 3.7A.

There is another thing to consider. Here is 50hz. While US is 60hz.
so any idea to solve this out? hmm.gif
ktek
post Jan 15 2015, 01:24 PM

小喇叭
13,204 posts

QUOTE(ashley17 @ Jan 15 2015, 11:32 AM)
so any idea to solve this out? hmm.gif
for rotating equipment, it will turn slower. i think avr dont have need anything to spin up
kekura
post Jan 26 2015, 03:36 PM

322 posts

Does anyone know whether RXV-477 supports DTS HD Master Audio? I played a movie running Dolby TrueHD and the display shows 'TrueHD'. But when I run a DTS HD MA movie, it shows only 'DTS'. Is it supposed to show DTS only regardless DTS, HD HRA, HD MA, or this AVR doesn't support it?

The manual shows the logo supported as below, but why the 'RXV477 only' and 'RXV577 only' disclaimer in bracket?

p/s: I have done research on internet and all of them mentioned it support DTS HD MA on the specification page. I also cant find RXV series audio decoding comparison chart anywhere.

This post has been edited by kekura: Jan 26 2015, 03:41 PM
raif
post Jan 26 2015, 04:28 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 26 2015, 03:36 PM)
Does anyone know whether RXV-477 supports DTS HD Master Audio? I played a movie running Dolby TrueHD and the display shows 'TrueHD'. But when I run a DTS HD MA movie, it shows only 'DTS'. Is it supposed to show DTS only regardless DTS, HD HRA, HD MA, or this AVR doesn't support it?

The manual shows the logo supported as below, but why the 'RXV477 only' and 'RXV577 only' disclaimer in bracket?

p/s: I have done research on internet and all of them mentioned it support DTS HD MA on the specification page. I also cant find RXV series audio decoding comparison chart anywhere.
What is your movie format ie is it movie file (mkv, mp4 etc), bluray disc etc ?
SUSMatrix
post Jan 26 2015, 06:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 26 2015, 03:36 PM)

I have a RXV475, i think it support DTS-HD Master audio. I remember seeing DTS-MA before in some of my ripped movies.

Please try this, turn off all DSP processing. Press the "Straight" button on the remote to remove any DSP effect.

If still cannot, you can then maybe send it as PCM with the decoding done on your BD Player or whatever player. You are using BD Player right? PC also can send PCM with the right software decoder and player.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 26 2015, 06:09 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 26 2015, 07:53 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Confirmed. Just tested on my RXV475. The display show "DTS-HD MSTR". You need to press the "Straight"(Not Gay!!! Lol) button to get it. If you are not straight, it only shows DTS....It pays to be STRAIGHT...hehe

I am using PC with Media Player Classic.
raimy_m9
post Jan 27 2015, 09:42 AM

174 posts

just got myself a yamaha rx-v677 last night, good lah for the price..and the sound quality also quite good.
kekura
post Jan 27 2015, 10:43 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 26 2015, 07:53 PM)
Confirmed. Just tested on my RXV475. The display show "DTS-HD MSTR". You need to press the "Straight"(Not Gay!!! Lol) button to get it. If you are not straight, it only shows DTS....It pays to be STRAIGHT...hehe

I am using PC with Media Player Classic.
Thanks so much for sharing. Now I know it should display DTS-HD MSTR and is supported by RXV477. I have set it to straight btw.

Actually I was using Media Player (AC Ryan Playon 1st gen) and not BD Player. Reading some forum I found that the 1st gen AC Ryan do not support DTS MA passthrough, it will downgrade it to normal DTS.

Previously for Dolby TrueHD I used PS3 actual blue ray disc, hence shows exact decoding.

SUSMatrix
post Jan 27 2015, 11:20 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 27 2015, 10:43 AM)
Thanks so much for sharing. Now I know it should display DTS-HD MSTR and is supported by RXV477. I have set it to straight btw.

Actually I was using Media Player (AC Ryan Playon 1st gen) and not BD Player. Reading some forum I found that the 1st gen AC Ryan do not support DTS MA passthrough, it will downgrade it to normal DTS.

Previously for Dolby TrueHD I used PS3 actual blue ray disc, hence shows exact decoding.
Yep..old media players definitely won't pass DTS-HD MA, even for new Android boxes, not all can do it.
Ho Sun Sun
post Jan 28 2015, 10:45 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 27 2015, 11:20 AM)
Yep..old media players definitely won't pass DTS-HD MA, even for new Android boxes, not all can do it.
This DTS HD MA izzit a lot of difference?
Can Neo X8-H Plus player support it?

Ngto
post Jan 28 2015, 11:58 AM

4,350 posts

I don't know why, but my Yamaha 475 DTS-MA movies doesn't sound that good. I have a feeling the lower models like 475, they just channel the DTS core instead of downmixing the extra channels (from 7.1) to 5.1 channels. The movies lack punch and sounds subdued, like some details are missing.

Dolby TrueHD sounds a lot better on the 475.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 01:44 PM

11,554 posts

Most of the cheaper AVRs does not really put out power as said. Like you are only getting true 100W for the 2 front speakers while others are lesser.
Always check out the power consumption at the back.
This applies to most of the brands in the market.
Also, need to factor in surface area of the room, what we listen during demo in showroom won't be the same as we listen in our home. Like last time when I was using Pioneer's VSX-816, the sound are clearer in the kitchen than in the living hall. Change to Marantz now and clear in living hall.

This post has been edited by supersound: Jan 30 2015, 01:46 PM
Dickong
post Feb 1 2015, 06:55 AM

1,689 posts

Guys need suggestion whether to buy A2040 or A3040 n need to know whether a lot different between the two n conclusion which one is more worth. tq
ktek
post Feb 1 2015, 09:58 AM

小喇叭
13,204 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 1 2015, 06:55 AM)
Guys need suggestion whether to buy A2040 or A3040 n need to know whether a lot different between the two n conclusion which one is more worth. tq
1. Big room small room ?
2. Pair with ______ speaker
3. Going for atmos 5.1.4 or 7.1.2
Ngto
post Feb 1 2015, 12:22 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 30 2015, 01:44 PM)
Most of the cheaper AVRs does not really put out power as said. Like you are only getting true 100W for the 2 front speakers while others are lesser.
Always check out the power consumption at the back.
This applies to most of the brands in the market.
Also, need to factor in surface area of the room, what we listen during demo in showroom won't be the same as we listen in our home. Like last time when I was using Pioneer's VSX-816, the sound are clearer in the kitchen than in the living hall. Change to Marantz now and clear in living hall.
Actually it isn't about power, I was referring to.

For e.g one movie had both DTS-MA and plain Dolby Digital 5.1 (not even True-HD) . When I noticed the DTS-MA track lacking details and punch , I switched to the DD track, and was surprised everything sounded much much clearer, even the subwoofer was delivering better punch all round.

And it's like this with a lot of DTS-MA movies on this Yamaha 475. I really suspect only the core 5.1 is being used, with the extra 2 channels not being downmixed.

True-HD tracks on the other hand don't have this problem. Maybe these cheaper models don't really have the DTS-MA decoder built-in to cut costs, although they do show the source as DTS-HD on the AVR display screen.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 1 2015, 12:30 PM
SUSsupersound
post Feb 1 2015, 12:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 1 2015, 12:22 PM)

For e.g one movie had both DTS-MA (English) and  plain Dolby Digital 5.1 (not even True-HD) . When I noticed the DTS-MA tracking lacking details and punch , I switched to the DD track, and was surprised everything sounded much much clearer, even the subwoofer was delivering better punch all round.

And it's like this with a lot of DTS-MA movies on this Yamaha 475. I really suspect only the core 5.1 is being used, with the extra 2 channels not being downmixed.
Power delivery will be important.
But decoding plays the first part.
Not all recordings are DTS compliant.
SUSMatrix
post Feb 1 2015, 12:42 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

For e.g one movie had both DTS-MA  and  plain Dolby Digital 5.1 (not even True-HD) . When I noticed the DTS-MA track lacking details and punch , I switched to the DD track, and was surprised everything sounded much much clearer, even the subwoofer was delivering better punch all round.

True-HD tracks on the other hand don't have this problem. Maybe these cheaper models don't really have the DTS-MA decoder built-in to cut costs, although they do show the source as DTS-HD on the AVR display screen.
Bro, your source is original Blu-Ray or ripped movies? I can't really say for sure, as i don't have a lot of DTS-MA source...only have 1 DD TrueHD, which is very good compared to normal DTS. Most of my source DTS only...tongue.gif
ktek
post Feb 1 2015, 01:51 PM

小喇叭
13,204 posts

for those receiver that cannot bit stream dts master, better change the player output become multi channel linear pcm.

still a lossless codec instead of lossy one
bad2928
post Feb 1 2015, 01:59 PM

628 posts

For e.g one movie had both DTS-MA  and  plain Dolby Digital 5.1 (not even True-HD) . When I noticed the DTS-MA track lacking details and punch , I switched to the DD track, and was surprised everything sounded much much clearer, even the subwoofer was delivering better punch all round.

speaking of which,im also notice this with my entry level onkyo avr.Audible different between True HD and DD but not in DTS MA and DTS.
Dickong
post Feb 1 2015, 02:32 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 1 2015, 09:58 AM)
1. Big room small room ?
2. Pair with ______ speaker
3. Going for atmos 5.1.4 or 7.1.2
First thing first bro. i need to know which of the two is value for money. A2040 or A3040 tq.

125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:38 PM