Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
SUSMatrix
Dec 13 2010, 10:59 AM
Dear All,
I want to know where i can send my old Yamaha AVR RXV-520 for repair? It's not totally broke, but some of the function cannot be activate any more. Need to send back to factory? Or is there some good trustworthy shop for repairs?
This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 13 2010, 10:59 AM
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 10:11 AM
Guys, can recommend me an entry level(aka CHEAP) Yamaha AVR? My old RX-V520 is a bit sot sot oready. I am looking foward to get one with HDMI in/out so i can get rid of all the optical cables....XBOX, WDTV Live etc goes to the AVR and AVR goes to the LCD TV. Pls advice...and remember...CHEAP...haha..
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Dec 17 2010, 10:15 AM) I had a RX V420 before, but had since sold it to upgrade to RX V467. I hope you might consider getting V467. How much is the price? Any good shops?
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(LoonFay @ Dec 17 2010, 10:37 AM) BU, as indicated in under the Char Siew.  Added on December 17, 2010, 10:48 amQUOTE(ameenskywalker @ Dec 17 2010, 10:44 AM) As for me, i did most of the auditioning in HN as well, but after comparing prices end up buying it at desa ht. Roughly wat's the price?? I bought my Yamaha AVR and sub woofer from Desa many years ago also... This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 17 2010, 10:48 AM
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(LoonFay @ Dec 17 2010, 10:56 AM) Since you in Bandar Utama, the nearest, will be HN, Ikano ... But i don't trust HN price lor...their LCD price cut throat wan...I just bought one outside...so much cheaper!!! Added on December 17, 2010, 11:08 amQUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Dec 17 2010, 10:57 AM) For my V467, HN is able to match the price offered by Desa HT. But i bought from Desa at the end, because it is nearer to my house. How much lar bro?? Tell lar...at least i can budget whether can afford or not mah. This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 17 2010, 11:08 AM
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Dec 17 2010, 01:11 PM) Can we discuss the price openly here ? Why cannot???? All the price are discussed about LCD, XBOX, PCs whatsoever!!
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(azxel @ Dec 17 2010, 05:22 PM) Can.. I revealed my HN price for my 467 with speakers recently.. somewhere... Where lar???  ...fuiyo...so difficult to tell a number meh, since u already post!!!!
SUSMatrix
Dec 17 2010, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Dec 17 2010, 05:28 PM) I got my V467 at RM 1499.00 . Thank you bro! Seems like a nice option. Will go check it out at the shops when i am free.
SUSMatrix
Dec 20 2010, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(galantorian7116 @ Dec 20 2010, 01:35 PM) To be honest...... i have yet to see any DTS HD appearing at the panel. It has been only DTS whenever i select DTS HD. But i have no problem with Dolby TrueHD, weird isn't it ? Maybe ahem ahem disc dun have DTS-HD sound track? U know lar...rip here, rip there...like most DVD dun have DTS track also, only Dolby Digital. And sometimes, the movie itself dun have DTS-HD track....Dolby Digital is more common than DTS standard.
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 23 2010, 03:32 PM) After getting the Yamaha amp, I think will need to wait a while for more budget. So existing speakers from a HTiB set should still be doable right? I wouldn't advise that...those small satellite speakers...later explode got too much juice from the Yammy AVR. Save ur money until u can buy a complete set. After all, ur HTIB can work now. Spend so much just to 'get rid of optical' cable, IMO, is not very wise...
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(dariofoo @ Dec 23 2010, 04:06 PM) Care to elaborate,bro?  haha...i dunno...each speaker have their own 'Ohm' measurements...i am not sure if pairing a powerful AVR to those cheap small speakers are wise. I believe in the AVR manual got mentioned what is the 'Ohm' recommend for the specific speakers. Here: http://www.prestonelectronics.com/audio/Impedance.htmThis post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 23 2010, 04:16 PM
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 23 2010, 05:05 PM) The woofer seems to be dying already plus the receiver on my current HTiB has gone a bit haywire, sometimes it automatically shuts off the left side speakers and I have to off and on it again for the sound to be back. If that's the case, maybe should get an affordable HTiB set for the time being first? By the way, how to find out if a HTiB receiver can decode DTS or Dolby Digital sound. Don't seem to see it anywhere in specs sheet.  Yep, better buy a HTIB if budget is low....i think most should be able to decode DTS and DD...but check the spec sheet just to be safe...since some people mentioned certain Pioneer model cannot do that...  ..Which model r u looking at? This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 23 2010, 05:09 PM
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 23 2010, 05:19 PM) Currently looking at the Sony BDV-E370. That one for below RM2,000 is one of the factor.  That is a Blu-Ray player HT....if you don't need a BluRay player, i suggest something like this... http://www.sony.com.my/product/ht-sf470More connectivities (for future...PS3/XBOX/whatever), a few HDMI in, more power and also stands included.
SUSMatrix
Dec 24 2010, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(djlah @ Dec 24 2010, 02:04 PM) Hi all, appreciate if anyone here can share or confirm my question. I found in the Manual setup there is I/O assignment option. Can our AVR accept multiple audio input simultaneous and project out? example, via HDMI input, RCD input and optical input. or AVR only able to playback 1 audio input? from RX-V663 user. I think u need a sound mixer, not an AVR... http://usa.yamaha.com/products/live_sound/mixers/
SUSMatrix
Dec 27 2010, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Dec 26 2010, 06:09 PM) Nope, the box didn't write anything except stating it's for video. It's quite a cheap cable, the shop claimed that it is from Taiwan. So wait, does this mean even if it is written that the cable is for video, it will carry audio signals across too? I need to know this so that I know whether I need to go back to the shop to exchange or not. Thing is I don't have new amp or receiver yet, that will probably come after new year so can't test the cable now.  Normal RCA also can send, but probably not so good or optimal. A good coaxial will have proper shielding and such. I bought one for RM50 from AceHardware last time...now lying in the cabinet...
SUSMatrix
Jan 21 2013, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 13 2013, 02:49 PM) My mistake. HN is biggest Yamaha authorized dealer. HN price is like cow and pig slaughtering price....was looking at the YSP-2200 last week there...price was RM36xx ....Desa HT only RM2999...automatically quote me RM 2.8K when asked.. Anyway, i might be looking for a new receiver...budget should not exceed 2K (but the cheaper the better). The V 473 looks like good choice...RM 1.3K?? Is there an entrey level V 373 model? This one won What HIFI award wor... Currently using RXV - 520...got some problems, probably will buy a new one if not fixable. I am very satisfied with my RXV-520....this RXV-373 seems to be more than adequate. I don't need so much power...even the 520 i only set max 35% of the volume most of the time...(  ...don't want neighbours came knocking with pitchforks). http://my.yamaha.com/en/products/audio-vis...3_g/?mode=modelCan get for RM 1K or thereabouts?? Or this model not selling anymore?? This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 21 2013, 07:32 PM
SUSMatrix
Nov 2 2013, 02:30 PM
How much is the rxv475? I am now in lowyat, but the place used to be desa now under reno for kfc???
SUSMatrix
Nov 5 2013, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Nov 3 2013, 10:56 AM) Harvey Norman IPC having sale on Yamaha Amps and Sound Bar, worth checking out. Yamaha RX-A730 going for RM 2399. I grabbed one unit of RX-A830, letting go my nearly 6 month old RX-V673 soon. How much you are letting go your v673? Can it do passthrough hdmi to tv without turning on the amplifier? Sonetimes I just want to watch tv without the amp.
SUSMatrix
Nov 9 2013, 11:50 PM
Just pop by Accoustic System today and bought an RXV-475.  Cheap enough to suit my budget and i don't need canggih receiver...5.1 to replace my existing old half spoilt RXV-520 is good enough...and there is more than enough power in these amps to run just at maybe 30% of it max (already too loud i think). I have got all the cables connected and basic setup running. But the subwoofer seems like not on sometimes...not really sure...need to do more testing tommorrow.....cabling is freaking hard sweaty work.. One very pleasant suprise....this unit the much lighter than my decade old RXV-520...and also about 2/3 the depth only! Small and light with more modern features. This alone worth the replacement! Now i don't use the opticals anymore...all switched to HDMI.  But old optical cables still dangling here and there...sigh...need more sweaty work to remove those....hate pulling cables in tight spot behind tv cabinets!!! Grrrr....
SUSMatrix
Nov 13 2013, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(tencheenian @ Nov 13 2013, 12:15 AM) Guys, any of you know where i can get a good deal for Yamaha RX-V675 7.2ch Network AV Receiver in Penang or online store? I checked Lazada it is rm 2372 and Harvey Norman Penang actually asking for RM 2500+ I saw a old flyer from Desa Home Theatre is actually selling this AVR at RM2099 during sales back in september 2013..... I kind of need this very urgent. (need to buy within this week. Any advice will be appreciated!  I suggest you go to aacoustic system. They gave me a few offer for higher end models than the Rxv 475. I cant remember all, but I think the rxv 675 is rm 2099. Firget Harvey Norman...dont like the sales people there.