This car is good enough for spirited driving
◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy
Jan 5 2010, 09:34 AM
4,893 posts Joined: May 2008 |
lately whack corners alot using 2nd gear, luckily the shifter easy to tekan (not like u need to press to whole knob down)
This car is good enough for spirited driving |
Jan 5 2010, 10:16 AM
550 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 5 2010, 07:48 AM) that's exactly what my friend did for his car after u service 20k... mind tat u share me the amount.. my car going to 20 k also... heard that very expensive..speaking of which, now i remember after a few days getting my car, i got that steering sound too. Told the sc during 1st service, they sprayed wd40 to the joints, then the sound no more lol.. my mum's blm had to claim new door sensor and rear door rubber, it took months despite i'm in kl nope, not the 30 sec autolock feature. *Imagine* you just turn off the engine, then you come out, slam the door, then immediately locked. Not normal Oh well, will be going for my 20k service later today |
Jan 5 2010, 10:35 AM
509 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hey guys, the other day i front bumper kiss a van at the back.
so now the there is some crack at the front bumper and the lower air vent. Was wondering how much is a new front bumper? need to spray paint as well? ori and non-ori price? the bumper shape still look the same, as mention is crack for the lower part. |
Jan 5 2010, 10:53 AM
1,368 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(alt3ch @ Jan 4 2010, 10:07 PM) Nothing. No mod, all stock. Just that I using Mobil S2000 X2 Semi Syn oil and pumping Caltex always now. I find that Caltex gives my car a good balance of mileage, power and engine noise.Follow the tyre pressure as indicated in the sticker on the driver's door area. 31psi on front and 28psi on rear tyres. QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 4 2010, 10:07 PM) hrm.. can say 90-95% highway driving most of the time on LDP and ELITE. I usually like to cruise around 110-120 (if traffic permits) in LDP and in ELITE, i drive 140 most of the way. Once a while do some spirited driving, like overtaking and a bit hard accelaration after toll (rpm can go to 4k+-)Usually drive alone, but if got go out lunch with colleagues, i will drive and will have 3 passengers normally. Other than that, if my GF around in KL, i will go out with her quite frequent also. Now that I think about the recent trip, I actually managed to get 485km per tank with 4 adults in the car and little baggage in the but (biscuits, coffee, pamelo, shirt, shoe etc) Oh, and I used alot of the Cruise Control during the journey as well. Really comes in handy in long journey Added on January 5, 2010, 10:57 am QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jan 4 2010, 10:57 PM) If you put on D / N / P and pressing on the brake pedal, whenever a door closes, it will auto lock the doors.If N / P and use hand brake without pressing the brake pedal, it wont auto lock. I have tested many times to confirm this. QUOTE(cbkhor @ Jan 5 2010, 12:13 AM) Haha..have to be real careful...cuz this was already mentioned in car manual. The autolock after 30 seconds only happen if you unlock your car but not get in your car within the 30 seconds (as per written in the manual). then it will autolock. It does not autolock 30 seconds after you come out of car or stop the engine.This also I have tested and confirmed. This post has been edited by dARKaNGEl: Jan 5 2010, 10:57 AM |
Jan 5 2010, 10:59 AM
32 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Gonna have my IAFM replaced tomorrow (6th January 2010). Hope that no similar problem will arise AGAIN.
So far, anybody heard of the warranty replacement IAFM famous "tak tak tak" noise happening again??? |
Jan 5 2010, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jan 4 2010, 11:12 PM) to prevent myself getting lock out of the car (just in case if the autolock becomes gila) when i get down the car while engine is running, i will ensure my door doesn't get shut or i will actually wind down the window a bit so that my hand can still reach in if it really autolocks for no reason. |
Jan 5 2010, 12:55 PM
6 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Jan 5 2010, 11:59 AM) Gonna have my IAFM replaced tomorrow (6th January 2010). Hope that no similar problem will arise AGAIN. how long have you been wait for ur IFAM replacement? normally they told you need to place an order on some part from KL, how long does it take?So far, anybody heard of the warranty replacement IAFM famous "tak tak tak" noise happening again??? |
Jan 5 2010, 01:31 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
2 days ago is my bad day...my car cannot start at 7.30pm and i'm late to collect my ticket for chipmunk movie..i've called the proton i-care..but seem like they dont care bout me..the computer answering my call..so i have to go to the alamanda cinema with my friends...
yesterday in the morning about 8am, i call again the proton i-care..this time somebody take my call and once again i have to wait almost 2 hours b4 the technician came...fyi during the breakdown my car was at seri kembangan..so i follow the technician to the desa tun razak SC to repair my car..it took almost 6hours and i'm waiting for nothing..damn..send at 10am..only finished by 6pm..my car just 2 weeks old...what a bad day... after checking by SC, my problem is the wiring system..2 weeks already have wiring prob...aiii.... |
Jan 5 2010, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(naley @ Jan 5 2010, 01:31 PM) 2 days ago is my bad day...my car cannot start at 7.30pm and i'm late to collect my ticket for chipmunk movie..i've called the proton i-care..but seem like they dont care bout me..the computer answering my call..so i have to go to the alamanda cinema with my friends... sorry to hear that. don't really hear much about wiring problem. guess u must be one of the very few unlucky ones to encounter such problem with a new car.yesterday in the morning about 8am, i call again the proton i-care..this time somebody take my call and once again i have to wait almost 2 hours b4 the technician came...fyi during the breakdown my car was at seri kembangan..so i follow the technician to the desa tun razak SC to repair my car..it took almost 6hours and i'm waiting for nothing..damn..send at 10am..only finished by 6pm..my car just 2 weeks old...what a bad day... after checking by SC, my problem is the wiring system..2 weeks already have wiring prob...aiii.... |
Jan 5 2010, 01:50 PM
1 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Subang USJ |
QUOTE(naley @ Jan 5 2010, 01:31 PM) 2 days ago is my bad day...my car cannot start at 7.30pm and i'm late to collect my ticket for chipmunk movie..i've called the proton i-care..but seem like they dont care bout me..the computer answering my call..so i have to go to the alamanda cinema with my friends... LOL... u live in cyberjaya?!yesterday in the morning about 8am, i call again the proton i-care..this time somebody take my call and once again i have to wait almost 2 hours b4 the technician came...fyi during the breakdown my car was at seri kembangan..so i follow the technician to the desa tun razak SC to repair my car..it took almost 6hours and i'm waiting for nothing..damn..send at 10am..only finished by 6pm..my car just 2 weeks old...what a bad day... after checking by SC, my problem is the wiring system..2 weeks already have wiring prob...aiii.... |
Jan 5 2010, 01:51 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jan 5 2010, 01:43 PM) sorry to hear that. don't really hear much about wiring problem. guess u must be one of the very few unlucky ones to encounter such problem with a new car. The best things is i insist to see the mechanics repair my car even though the security guard a few times asking me to stay at the guest room..haha..its my car..who care? |
Jan 5 2010, 03:29 PM
Validating
2,073 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: last visited |
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 4 2010, 10:53 PM) Ermm dont think got sound coming from the speaker. For me, i got: about the metal clunking sound, is that the sound like metal vibrate and hitting each other occur only at 2k to 2.4k rpm?1) metal klunking from front 2) air cond vent sound 3) Rear sound from folding seat is back! 4) Sound coming from the front passenger door, most probably the door rubber is hitting with each other to produce that rubber sound Temporary solution, play music as loud as i can Oh btw, i got one problem, my car suddenly goes autolock by itself sometimes when i close the driver's door. Can't imagine if it autolock while i'm outside and the key is inside (my friend had a gen2 cps, and he kena once, but lucky in front of his house only, some more while engine still running |
Jan 5 2010, 04:04 PM
346 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: On the Heavenly Cloud |
During my service, i found out that my brake pads are not evenly used, right side 'makan' more
QUOTE(shelby_yong @ Jan 5 2010, 10:16 AM) after u service 20k... mind tat u share me the amount.. my car going to 20 k also... heard that very expensive.. I got myself a free oil filter since i'm a member. Here is the bill:Wallet broken, I iz sad But they gave me 2 ferarris for free: I'm somewat happy QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Jan 5 2010, 10:59 AM) Gonna have my IAFM replaced tomorrow (6th January 2010). Hope that no similar problem will arise AGAIN. instead of replace, mine was 'modified' since the sc told me the original iafm was a little too long that it was suppose to be. After that, my iafm never produce that sound anymore So far, anybody heard of the warranty replacement IAFM famous "tak tak tak" noise happening again??? QUOTE(! Love Money @ Jan 5 2010, 03:29 PM) about the metal clunking sound, is that the sound like metal vibrate and hitting each other occur only at 2k to 2.4k rpm? ermmm... it is a metal-hitting-each-other sound that can be heard when you are going into an uneven roadOn the other note, was u the one send an sms to The Star complaining about gardenia bread lol? saw ur thread in /k/ |
Jan 5 2010, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 5 2010, 04:04 PM) During my service, i found out that my brake pads are not evenly used, right side 'makan' more May I know which SC branch you went that uses Shell Helix engine oil and give u free ferraris?I got myself a free oil filter since i'm a member. Here is the bill: Wallet broken, I iz sad But they gave me 2 ferarris for free: I'm somewat happy instead of replace, mine was 'modified' since the sc told me the original iafm was a little too long that it was suppose to be. After that, my iafm never produce that sound anymore ermmm... it is a metal-hitting-each-other sound that can be heard when you are going into an uneven road On the other note, was u the one send an sms to The Star complaining about gardenia bread lol? saw ur thread in /k/ |
Jan 5 2010, 06:35 PM
771 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Earth |
QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jan 5 2010, 10:53 AM) Nothing. No mod, all stock. Just that I using Mobil S2000 X2 Semi Syn oil and pumping Caltex always now. I find that Caltex gives my car a good balance of mileage, power and engine noise. aiseh...no wonder...la....90% highway....sure good FC... Follow the tyre pressure as indicated in the sticker on the driver's door area. 31psi on front and 28psi on rear tyres. hrm.. can say 90-95% highway driving most of the time on LDP and ELITE. I usually like to cruise around 110-120 (if traffic permits) in LDP and in ELITE, i drive 140 most of the way. Once a while do some spirited driving, like overtaking and a bit hard accelaration after toll (rpm can go to 4k+-) |
Jan 5 2010, 06:55 PM
Jan 5 2010, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 5 2010, 05:04 PM) During my service, i found out that my brake pads are not evenly used, right side 'makan' more Regarding the IAFM, may u share what have them modify for u? just incase mine have same problem, can ask for the SC ppl do it for me as well...meet a nice technicia at SC, i check where the sound come out from my door panel and ask him to replace the faulty part for me...he just close one eye & do it....need to chia him makan roti canai liao...lolI got myself a free oil filter since i'm a member. Here is the bill: Wallet broken, I iz sad But they gave me 2 ferarris for free: I'm somewat happy instead of replace, mine was 'modified' since the sc told me the original iafm was a little too long that it was suppose to be. After that, my iafm never produce that sound anymore ermmm... it is a metal-hitting-each-other sound that can be heard when you are going into an uneven road On the other note, was u the one send an sms to The Star complaining about gardenia bread lol? saw ur thread in /k/ |
Jan 5 2010, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(alt3ch @ Jan 5 2010, 09:02 PM) Regarding the IAFM, may u share what have them modify for u? just incase mine have same problem, can ask for the SC ppl do it for me as well...meet a nice technicia at SC, i check where the sound come out from my door panel and ask him to replace the faulty part for me...he just close one eye & do it....need to chia him makan roti canai liao...lol Ermm.. by default, i guess most iafm owners will suffer from this, according to my sc, the iafm manufacturer produced a wrong dimension specification for the iafm. Funny and blasphemy this kind of thing can happen. Anyway, this is what my sc told me, no official statement from proton anyway I showed to them last september when my car starts producing "ktak" sound. The guy immediately identified the problem and said to me that they need to modified the iafm a bit. The mech took off my iafm and went inside. He came back and showed me, but i wasn't paying attention, darn. But after he installed it back, the sound gone, and until now no problem, the fc still good. well, maybe u can call them and ask, or i can ask also since they should familiar with me ady. But u didn't ask your mech about the iafm? This post has been edited by heavencloud: Jan 5 2010, 09:39 PM |
Jan 5 2010, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 5 2010, 10:37 PM) Ermm.. by default, i guess most iafm owners will suffer from this, according to my sc, the iafm manufacturer produced a wrong dimension specification for the iafm. Funny and blasphemy this kind of thing can happen. Anyway, this is what my sc told me, no official statement from proton anyway lol, mine still no prob as the moment. hope it wont happen to me, just have to refer ur case first, who know rite? some more most of the mech only know settle all the problem by replace new part, if replace new part will solve the problem of cos i like it. But if replace the part & some more need to take out lot of stuff under ur bonnet, i rather ask them to refer to ur branch so to gain the knowledge to solve it. very troublesome & headache when visit to SC...lolI showed to them last september when my car starts producing "ktak" sound. The guy immediately identified the problem and said to me that they need to modified the iafm a bit. The mech took off my iafm and went inside. He came back and showed me, but i wasn't paying attention, darn. But after he installed it back, the sound gone, and until now no problem, the fc still good. well, maybe u can call them and ask, or i can ask also since they should familiar with me ady. But u didn't ask your mech about the iafm? |
Jan 5 2010, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(alt3ch @ Jan 5 2010, 10:28 PM) lol, mine still no prob as the moment. hope it wont happen to me, just have to refer ur case first, who know rite? some more most of the mech only know settle all the problem by replace new part, if replace new part will solve the problem of cos i like it. But if replace the part & some more need to take out lot of stuff under ur bonnet, i rather ask them to refer to ur branch so to gain the knowledge to solve it. very troublesome & headache when visit to SC...lol laaaa.. |
| Change to: | 0.0315sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:03 PM |