Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V3 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇
ianho
Oct 24 2009, 10:36 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(okk @ Oct 24 2009, 07:09 AM) Coz it's very troublesome everytime to remove the UV, and replace with the CPL, then remove CPL and replace with UV again....imagine you are on a trip where you go outdoor and indoor throughout the day. At bright daylight outdoor, you need CPL and once you go indoor or places with no sunlight, you have to remove the CPL again and replace back with UV. If I can stack it up, UV will always stay on the lens. OMG the way u use LX3 is more complicated than ppl using SLR. It's supposed to b a small, nice n convenient camera with superb IQ for us to just put in pocket, go out n enjoy, not to give us headache with all those things.
hkhk
Oct 24 2009, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 24 2009, 10:36 AM) OMG the way u use LX3 is more complicated than ppl using SLR. It's supposed to b a small, nice n convenient camera with superb IQ for us to just put in pocket, go out n enjoy, not to give us headache with all those things.  Uncle, U miss understood liao. He is asking whether can let the always UV sit on the lens, with the CPL stack up on the UV, so less hassle. -------- Vigneting might occur at wide angle when stacking the UV+CPL, but if u don mind just leave it lo. For me I will zoom a little bit to avoid that la.. coz my CPL whether stack or not, it give me vignetting. This post has been edited by hkhk: Oct 24 2009, 10:51 AM
ianho
Oct 24 2009, 11:00 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(hkhk @ Oct 24 2009, 10:48 AM) Uncle, U miss understood liao. He is asking whether can let the always UV sit on the lens, with the CPL stack up on the UV, so less hassle. -------- Vigneting might occur at wide angle when stacking the UV+CPL, but if u don mind just leave it lo. For me I will zoom a little bit to avoid that la.. coz my CPL whether stack or not, it give me vignetting. I know what he meant. What Im saying is all those converters, Uv filters, CPL n everything is like a massive headache for a compact camera which is meant to be taken out of pocket, shoot, keep back in pocket. Using it like this Is not a compact camera oredi. Might as well buy an SLR which costs the same. Plus the lil Leica lens though a marvel, is already compromised due to compact design constraints, sumore wanna add so much inferior glass in front of it?
hkhk
Oct 25 2009, 10:18 AM
But somebody just don like the size and weight of a SLR.. but they wan SLR style.. U should propose the micro 4/3. haha
I m going to sell one my A200 buy a Compact PnS. Was thinking to get this LX3 or ...
ShenWoo
Oct 25 2009, 09:24 PM
LX3 so far doesn't disappoint at all. Just got back from a family dinner, nearly 20 tables full for reunion dinner in a fancy chinese hotel. With flash at iso 100 or using the rapid shutter at iso400, pictures still came out sharp. The auto WB is also really good, sometimes even compensating the flash output. Even attached a sunpack flash LOL. It was double the height of LX3 pointing up. Makes me want to invest on a flash too hehe. Quick question. Where did you guys buy the CPL and UV filter? Looking for a forumer or shop to start off my photography project  .
reader
Oct 25 2009, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Oct 25 2009, 09:24 PM) Quick question. Where did you guys buy the CPL and UV filter? Looking for a forumer or shop to start off my photography project  . http://yamiya.com.my/store/http://shashinki.com/shop/both are fast and provide excellent services.
Nightstalker1993
Oct 25 2009, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Oct 25 2009, 09:24 PM) LX3 so far doesn't disappoint at all. Just got back from a family dinner, nearly 20 tables full for reunion dinner in a fancy chinese hotel. With flash at iso 100 or using the rapid shutter at iso400, pictures still came out sharp. The auto WB is also really good, sometimes even compensating the flash output. Even attached a sunpack flash LOL. It was double the height of LX3 pointing up. Makes me want to invest on a flash too hehe. Quick question. Where did you guys buy the CPL and UV filter? Looking for a forumer or shop to start off my photography project  . planning to get the oly fl36. the fact that its using 2AA instead of 4AA is really, really tempting
ShenWoo
Oct 25 2009, 10:25 PM
shashinki has soooooo many empty stock.
I also notice each filter has a more expensive version. regular kenko filter will be rm30, but the multicoat version will be up to 97 or more. Does it realllly matter for a P&S camera like LX3 or save the quality stuff to DSLR?
reader
Oct 26 2009, 08:26 AM

QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Oct 25 2009, 10:25 PM) shashinki has soooooo many empty stock. I also notice each filter has a more expensive version. regular kenko filter will be rm30, but the multicoat version will be up to 97 or more. Does it realllly matter for a P&S camera like LX3 or save the quality stuff to DSLR? save it for DSLR. use LX3 as a P&S as it was designed for. Adding a filter will need an adapter that makes it no less bulky as a DSLR (and $$$ too). If u really care about quality, get an entry level DSLR (RM2000+ 0nly). If u like it for fun, get all the accessories and don't worry too much about the $$$. - any extra glass put in front will affect the quality, but then any photo will be limited by the worst piece of parts used. So don't be too calculative, but dun spend too much on LX-3 too. For me, i'll get the multicoated one. but i will not spend more than RM200 on a piece of filter for LX-3.
sE_vIxEn
Oct 26 2009, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Oct 20 2009, 10:44 PM) what is the cheapest price in KL/selangor ? and where is the shop ?? btw...24mm lens consider wide angle ?? i remember my canon ixus 890 is a wide angle 28mm i asked for RM1500 from Key Color of Mid Valley. sorry i can't give the staff name, i wouldn't want them to be bombarded. try and haggle around! so far i've surveyed the whole of Sungei Wang. they're selling RM1599 firm and when pushed, they say their price is firm. hem hem.  omaigosh i am dying to get this camera. how do you explain to a camera fool of a brother that 24mm is teh 1337 and the small zoom range doesn't matter?!
Nightstalker1993
Oct 26 2009, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(sE_vIxEn @ Oct 26 2009, 10:11 AM) i asked for RM1500 from Key Color of Mid Valley. sorry i can't give the staff name, i wouldn't want them to be bombarded. try and haggle around! so far i've surveyed the whole of Sungei Wang. they're selling RM1599 firm and when pushed, they say their price is firm. hem hem.  omaigosh i am dying to get this camera. how do you explain to a camera fool of a brother that 24mm is teh 1337 and the small zoom range doesn't matter?!  most of the time, showing him this thread should solve everything
Hico
Oct 26 2009, 04:45 PM
may i know what accessories is available for Lx3? except bag, battery and memory card  ..i mean like lens caps, wide screen lens etc etc..which is available for Lx3?
JasonSky
Oct 26 2009, 04:53 PM
A Ricoh LC-1 lens cap is a definite must accessory for LX-3!
ShenWoo
Oct 26 2009, 08:02 PM
After playing with the thought of accessories, I went ahead and got the adapter with Fish Eye kit and also Hood leans. Why Fish Eye? Cause the price of the actual lens for dlsr is simply INSANE!!! Unless you have lots of money lying, most probably a telephoto lens and wide end lens will be top priority before this "fun" lens is considered. For rm234 is child's play for LX3 to have fun  . About the filters, I consider the need for it is simply not practical. It is still an awesome camera but a P&S camera nonetheless. And to buy a 52mm filter for a lens that is maybe just 35mm across doesn't benefit it. Bottom line, just get the adapter + Hood + fish eye + flash to get the most of what the camera can do. Filters are great but you need quality ones (rm100++) to justify the end results. Nothing can beat a LEICA lens  . PS: RICOH LC-1 SURELY A WIN TO GET IT. Can't tell you how much enjoyable taking pictures is with it now. Added on October 26, 2009, 9:39 pm LX3 with SUNPACK auto 266D flash. This post has been edited by ShenWoo: Oct 26 2009, 09:39 PM
HW-Racer
Oct 27 2009, 09:54 AM
which one will u choose ? went to 2 camera shops yesterday...here is what I got on the pricing
1) Panasonic LX3 RM16xx 2) Canon S90 RM16xx 3) Canon G11 RM18xx
which is the best value for money ?? prefer something with good night/low light performance camera !! want sharp pictures, use mainly when travelling...group photo, scenery....landscape..
please advise
Hico
Oct 27 2009, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Oct 26 2009, 08:02 PM) After playing with the thought of accessories, I went ahead and got the adapter with Fish Eye kit and also Hood leans. Why Fish Eye? Cause the price of the actual lens for dlsr is simply INSANE!!! Unless you have lots of money lying, most probably a telephoto lens and wide end lens will be top priority before this "fun" lens is considered. For rm234 is child's play for LX3 to have fun  . About the filters, I consider the need for it is simply not practical. It is still an awesome camera but a P&S camera nonetheless. And to buy a 52mm filter for a lens that is maybe just 35mm across doesn't benefit it. Bottom line, just get the adapter + Hood + fish eye + flash to get the most of what the camera can do. Filters are great but you need quality ones (rm100++) to justify the end results. Nothing can beat a LEICA lens  . PS: RICOH LC-1 SURELY A WIN TO GET IT. Can't tell you how much enjoyable taking pictures is with it now. Added on October 26, 2009, 9:39 pm LX3 with SUNPACK auto 266D flash. wow...tats fantastic. i am planning to get a LC-1 too and telphoto lens, wide angle lens and a leather bag for it.  might order from ebay tho..
sE_vIxEn
Oct 27 2009, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Oct 26 2009, 02:19 PM) most of the time, showing him this thread should solve everything  lol i found that thread yesterday. omgwtf you guys are killing me!
archangel82
Oct 27 2009, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Oct 27 2009, 09:54 AM) which one will u choose ? went to 2 camera shops yesterday...here is what I got on the pricing 1) Panasonic LX3 RM16xx 2) Canon S90 RM16xx 3) Canon G11 RM18xx which is the best value for money ?? prefer something with good night/low light performance camera !! want sharp pictures, use mainly when travelling...group photo, scenery....landscape.. please advise LX-3 can get lower than 1.6K
ShenWoo
Oct 27 2009, 03:38 PM
I find the Canon S90 focus/exposure/menu ring a better convenience than LX3 flimsy joystick. Holding down the joystick and seeing it miss the focus point and readjusting it kinda gets frustrating then turning a dial.
Nairdamil
Oct 27 2009, 04:11 PM
guys, i plan to get 1 external flash soon...what brand of flash should i get...i dun mind getting 3rd party brands...