QUOTE(shanecross @ Sep 29 2009, 08:29 PM)
Batu Berendam, Melaka.Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion
Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion
Sep 29 2009, 08:30 PM
585 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Penang |
Sep 29 2009, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 29 2009, 11:00 PM) While we're on the topic of layoffs and DOMS: I'm going through my 3rd week of not working out. I'm eating normally again (carb-heavy), sleeping normally (i.e. not enough), drinking, and going for long periods without food. It feels great to be normal. I'll start working out and eating right again beginning this Sunday. Wah, how did you manage to live through 3 weeks of guilt? |
Oct 3 2009, 02:24 AM
Man some people just need to read those stickies or at least go to youtube and search for videos about fat loss
HSJKKWHDWUIHDOIWJIOSXWJOISXJWOXWJKLSJALS URGH I can't stand another hello I'm new and I need to lose fatty on my tummy, how many sits up must I do to lose my tummy but I don't want to look huge from doing all those sits ups posts. >: O Newbies are just not reading those stickies unless we tell them to read the stickies. Something needs to be done to make sure they read those life saving stickies! Maybe I'll try to find some videos for beginners and post it up somewhere. This post has been edited by Florian: Oct 3 2009, 02:27 AM |
Oct 4 2009, 02:35 PM
Oct 4 2009, 02:43 PM
Oct 4 2009, 09:40 PM
Oct 4 2009, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Oct 4 2009, 10:46 PM) To 'activate' the lats (I'm not sure what to call it), I did this once: That's why when you do a pull up, make sure you chest face up and try to touch the chest with the bar and elbows out to squeeze the scapula.Do a double bicep pose (or similar). Place elbow/upper arm on the dips bars. Try to lift myself up (I'd have no other way to do it but contract the lats). Hold for a few seconds. After a few reps, then I go do my pull ups. I did feel the lats working. I did it purely out of curiousity, and I cannot be certain that it will work for everyone. Heck, I'm not even sure if the method works. Maybe my lats were already a bit sore/fatigued---thus making me 'feel' as thought they are activated during the pull ups. Check out this video, that guy shows you the correct form for lat exercises. http://www.myfittribe.com/videos/complete-...-workout-part-1 This post has been edited by Florian: Oct 4 2009, 11:03 PM |
Oct 5 2009, 06:38 PM
Went to OHM in Melaka today for the first time. Awesome gym. Never I got so enthu to train my back. Some people came to promote some analgesic spray, got one bottle for free LOL. That place is loaded with huge people.
This post has been edited by Florian: Oct 5 2009, 06:38 PM |
Oct 5 2009, 09:59 PM
Oct 6 2009, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 6 2009, 07:52 PM) After finished working out, the gym owner ( who used to be my trainer ) accidentally saw me writing what i workout today in my log book. so he catch a glimpse and said to me that its not suitable for us to do 5 reps x 5 sets. he says that it suitable for westerners more and we, asians more suit to 6 reps x 4 sets which we need to increase load every set. I don't know whether its true but i'm going to try it this saturday. he said it will increase growth faster than 5x5. Have been doing 6-8x4sets, then as strength increases shift to 8-12x4sets, then increase weight and back to 6x4sets ever since I started 4 years ago. I tried 5x5 for a month before, doesn't work on me at all. Well maybe sometimes I do 5 sets if I feel 4 sets is not enough but never 5 reps or less. I thought 5x5 is for powerlifters.BB is all about the feel. Do it when you feel it's working. I feel 5x5 is not giving me what I expected and I don't get the results I want as compared to my usual routine, so I don't do it. But if you feel 5x5 is working for you, then you can do it. This post has been edited by Florian: Oct 6 2009, 09:33 PM |
Oct 7 2009, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(hakimz @ Oct 7 2009, 01:00 PM) Hello , i got a question here.. my friend do chest workout more than me and he's stronger than me.. he do reps more than me but his chest is really stubborn to grow and mine is bigger than him.. he also pelik edi... can someone give explanation ? There's a sticky thread titled "Why aren't you growing" which answers your question. |
Oct 10 2009, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 10 2009, 12:16 PM) Dude outside, advise is needed. Why are you doing 15 reps? When you can just increase the weight and drop the reps, plus make it 4 sets. I can see you're not taking your training seriously enough.I have heard that muscle has 'memory' and hence, we should not do the same routine work forever, there must be increased in speed, and/or weight etc. When i do hand lifting (sorry i am very weak in the machine's name). I started off at 60 and currently forcing myself to take 60 x 3 sets, at 15 times each and 70 x 1 set at 10 times each. It has been a month already. I still cant just focus doing 70 for 3 sets. It happens for other lifting too. That being the case, will it affect my progress? For abs, i do the chair exercise. Doing 150 separated in 3 sets. Any other way to loose abs fat? Lastly, when i come back from gym recently, my muscle is ok. It is not as sore as i firstly joined gym despite i have increased lifting weight etc. Does that mean i have not been effectively working out? Advise is needed. thanks. You need to read more. |
Oct 12 2009, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 12 2009, 10:23 PM) The point where you did bicep curls today shows that you don't get the crux of the things I've written. Thought that he would post a bicep curl post sooner or later haha.DO compound exercises (Of course I'm not going to explain what compound is) Even if he does biceps curls, I bet he swings a lot. To be honest, I'm just able to do bicep curls 25lbs DB on each side for 8-12 reps, with strict proper form. ok I need to stop flaming now. btw, saw this on FB http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=2222878669&topic=10185 I think I'm a permabulker too...but then, not big enough la. Scared to be thin back. |
Oct 12 2009, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 12 2009, 10:56 PM) aiyuh wrong again There's always the bench machine, dumbbells. I started using the bench press machine. Then started BB bench pressing without the weights on the bar.i searched youtube and know what compound is so only do SQUAT, DEADLIFT, BENCH PRESS and no bicep or leg press exercise? i dare not do bench press first cz i am most of the time alone, so no one there to assist me. furthermore, the place is always full of SAME gang of ppl for hours. For your full body compound training, try adding shoulder presses, lateral raises, DB flyes, lat pull downs, BB row. |
Oct 13 2009, 11:43 PM
Oct 13 2009, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 13 2009, 11:34 PM) Ops, i tot that is also considered weight lifting? this time i din use machine oh...ops ops wil kena again Here, we do weight training.okok wil do compound exercise tomorrow. My grandmother can lift weights, too. Also, you said something about toning. Read the thread title again. It says body BUILDING. Not body toning. We build muscles, not tone them. We build them but then we tone later. Later as in after a few years of weight TRAINING. This post has been edited by Florian: Oct 13 2009, 11:46 PM |
Oct 13 2009, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Oct 13 2009, 11:43 PM) Janganlah begitu, i tot so long i dont use the machine is already T_T I thought I said this before and this is the second time I'm going to say this.Jz checked compound exercise, I am interested to do bench press, must i get some one to stand beside me to ensure everything go well? As most of the time i notice that someone will stand either beside or behind on stand by. USE A M-FKING DUMBBELL TO BENCHPRESS. It's called dumbbell bench presses. Start light. OH MY GOODNESS. Don't tell me you need someone to spot you using a 5lbs dumbbell? Unless you have some muscle disease or dystrophy or something. |
Oct 13 2009, 11:52 PM
Oct 14 2009, 12:03 AM