LYN Tennis Lovers V3, continued in V4

Yan
post Sep 22 2009, 08:30 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 22 2009, 02:11 AM)
Hahaha ok laaa..
If you don't mind my slight bit of eye infection and sore back, then I'll come for a short hit. Been weeks since I touched my racquet.

What time are you all playing again?
no prob lah .. just come over ... i think shud b ard 4pm+ or so ...smile.gif ok will wait for u ...
SticH
post Sep 22 2009, 09:01 AM

964 posts

Hello guys, is it normal for the skin to peel at the following part ? rclxub.gif

celciuz
post Sep 22 2009, 09:32 AM

14,037 posts

Depends on your grip, I use semi western / western (sometimes grip slip tongue.gif), usually my skin tear on the middle finger.
inv
post Sep 22 2009, 09:37 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Sep 22 2009, 09:01 AM)
Hello guys, is it normal for the skin to peel at the following part ? rclxub.gif
holy crap. that looks serious. your finger gonna fall off adi..
SticH
post Sep 22 2009, 09:44 AM

964 posts

lol, I'm using semi western grip. I'm afraid that I might have use the wrong technique resulting skin peeling on that part lol, been hitting with wall these few days.
celciuz
post Sep 22 2009, 09:49 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Sep 22 2009, 09:44 AM)
lol, I'm using semi western grip. I'm afraid that I might have use the wrong technique resulting skin peeling on that part lol, been hitting with wall these few days.
Put on plaster or tape it when playing, happens to me if I were to stop playing for a period of time.
TSyanhui95
post Sep 22 2009, 09:51 AM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Sep 22 2009, 09:44 AM)
maybe because of your racket grip?
praetorian
post Sep 22 2009, 10:59 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Sep 22 2009, 09:01 AM)
Ouch bro, if I were you I would put some antiseptic powder or iodine on it and stop playing till it completely heals, this is the first time I have seen a blister on a finger so high, normal blister are mostly found on the palm area...

Please take care of your finger!

I suspect you are holding a semi western grip, but you are holding it in a way that hurts your hand, I have attached some pics, hopefully I explained it right...

Trigger 1,2,3 (Incorrect)
Trigger 1 is like you are holding a trigger but semi western style, when you are using this grip, held this way you will notice you 1st finger will take substantial damage if you mishit a ball, this causes twisting, hence not very good form for hitting and long term you will suffer some sort of finger trauma.

Trigger 2 is a pic from above.

When using this grip trigger1 style, hold the racket like so you are hitting a forehand, BUT hold it at contact point, ask a friend to hit your racket face with his hand pretending that it is a ball you will notice, that your hand recoils abit.

Now, try using semi western with the hammer grip, do the same exact experiment like above, does the racket feel more firm?Let me know, your thoughts.

This post has been edited by praetorian: Sep 22 2009, 11:22 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
hyperthom007
post Sep 22 2009, 11:17 AM

26 posts

Hey guys, I have seen Pure drive Roddick going for RM444 after discount 40% in Royal Sporting House. Is it worth the money ar? Or is there anywhere else in KL I can get it for cheaper price?
Yan
post Sep 22 2009, 11:17 AM

551 posts

hey i hav the same spot as you ... chk this out ...

The finger part is where i normally get my blisters and also the side of the thumb. Using an in-between grip (semi & full western). However the lower palm area is my first time and the most severe one.. from using a big butt KPS 88. the lower butt is more prominent on that particular racquet.. ..anyways at least i know how that came about. Thus i would say that the grip size and also the thickness, evenness and the way you wrap the grip affects whether you'll get blisters or not. rclxub.gif after today gotta take some time off to nurse my injuries... or put on a golf glove ? hmm.gif

Added on September 22, 2009, 11:18 am
QUOTE(hyperthom007 @ Sep 22 2009, 11:17 AM)
Hey guys, I have seen Pure drive Roddick going for RM444 after discount 40% in Royal Sporting House. Is it worth the money ar? Or is there anywhere else in KL I can get it for cheaper price?
when you say pure drive roddick.. u mean the older one w/o the cortex and w/o the GT ? if w/o both .. then i wud say expensive ... !!

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 22 2009, 11:23 AM
hyperthom007
post Sep 22 2009, 11:20 AM

26 posts

Yo Yan, Thanks for the quick reply hehe! Ya, it is without the GT but with the Cortex.
Yan
post Sep 22 2009, 11:25 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(hyperthom007 @ Sep 22 2009, 11:20 AM)
Yo Yan, Thanks for the quick reply hehe! Ya, it is without the GT but with the Cortex.
then let me put it this way for u ... rm530 for a PDR + GT or maybe can get less already i think since this price was when i bought it few mths back. not sure the current price as Topper doesn't have stock and gotta wait for the new batch to arrive. anyways my thinkin is this way .. if u planning to get an older technology racquet... why don't hunt for a 2nd hand @ a lower bargain price as i'm sure many out there since ppl are transitioning to the newer GT specs.... but if u r already gonna spend that amount for a new racq (older tech).. y dun bite the bullet n pay bit more n get the GT ? i mean that is ME lah ..keke

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 22 2009, 11:26 AM
praetorian
post Sep 22 2009, 11:27 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Sep 22 2009, 11:17 AM)
hey i hav the same spot as you ... chk this out ...

The finger part is where i normally get my blisters and also the side of the thumb. Using an in-between grip (semi & full western). However the lower palm area is my first time and the most severe one.. from using a big butt KPS 88. the lower butt is more prominent on that particular racquet.. ..anyways at least i know how that came about. Thus i would say that the grip size and also the thickness, evenness and the way you wrap the grip affects whether you'll get blisters or not.    rclxub.gif  after today gotta take some time off to nurse my injuries...  or put on a golf glove ? hmm.gif

Added on September 22, 2009, 11:18 am
when you say pure drive roddick.. u mean the older one w/o the cortex and w/o the GT ? if w/o both .. then i wud say expensive ... !!
Wow yan, thats crazy lah, I think you are trying to follow Federer, you are holding too low lah, BUT if you keep this up you will get callous and it will harden, then you wont feel anything later, but the finger part, see my above post and let me know what you think...
hyperthom007
post Sep 22 2009, 11:43 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Sep 22 2009, 11:25 AM)
then let me put it this way for u ... rm530 for a PDR + GT  or maybe can get less already i think since this price was when i bought it few mths back. not sure the current price as Topper doesn't have stock and gotta wait for the new batch to arrive.  anyways my thinkin is this way .. if u planning to get an older technology racquet... why don't hunt for a 2nd hand @ a lower bargain price as i'm sure many out there since ppl are transitioning to the newer GT specs.... but if u r already gonna spend that amount for a new racq (older tech).. y dun bite the bullet n pay bit more n get the GT ? i mean that is ME lah ..keke
Hm... like that ar... RM530 add another 90. Seems worth it. Thanks for the info
Yan
post Sep 22 2009, 11:45 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Sep 22 2009, 11:27 AM)
Wow yan, thats crazy lah, I think you are trying to follow Federer, you are holding too low lah, BUT if you keep this up you will get callous and it will harden, then you wont feel anything later, but the finger part, see my above post and let me know what you think...
haha... i think i need to rest a bit to heal my palm first .. coz that is the most painful part and can't impart much power coz the butt is resting on the lower side of my palm. However as i say .. this injury is not usual for me. 1st time kena onli and i know wat to avoid next time already ... so once heal i dun think the lower palm area will kena again ... I'll just stay away from Big Butt KPS 88...haha.....

however i will agree with u generally i hold quite low... half my little pinky will be exposed. however due to this injury i tried holding higher .. meaning all fingers on the grip ... always kena NET...haha...

This post has been edited by Yan: Sep 22 2009, 11:47 AM
SSJBen
post Sep 22 2009, 11:59 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Wow.... Yan, stich, thats something serious that.
I know that hurts like a b*tch.

I once use semi-western (now a modified eastern), but the part my skin tears off is at the top of my thumb....? Is that strange or what? I don't really know.

Ok Yan, I'll reach your place around 3:30pm or so?
Provided it doesn't rain that is.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 22 2009, 12:02 PM
Yan
post Sep 22 2009, 12:03 PM

551 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 22 2009, 11:59 AM)
Wow.... Yan, stich, thats something serious that.
I know that hurts like a b*tch.

I once use semi-western (now a modified eastern), but the part my skin tears off is at the top of my thumb....? Is that strange or what? I don't really know.

Ok Yan, I'll reach your place around 3:30pm or so.
tell me abt it .. i keep on compensating to avoid the painful area till now my stroke also siow siow ... anyways will c u later ... mayb u can tunjuk ajar me a bit on grip smile.gif i always thot i was semi-western until yest when i realized i'm holding the bottom part of the semi-western... almost to full western ...
lol
SticH
post Sep 22 2009, 02:49 PM

964 posts

Omg, praetorian, I'm using the trigger style semi western grip! But shouldn't it apply more top spin and more control if I hold it the trigger style and easier for me to pull back the racket ? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by SticH: Sep 22 2009, 02:50 PM
contreasjun27
post Sep 22 2009, 05:40 PM

542 posts

anybody going for the malaysian open game?
praetorian
post Sep 23 2009, 09:15 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Sep 22 2009, 02:49 PM)
Omg, praetorian, I'm using the trigger style semi western grip! But shouldn't it apply more top spin and more control if I hold it the trigger style and    easier for me to pull back the racket ?  rclxub.gif
To be honest, your style of grip is a beginner's mistake,the 1st digit of your hand is too high, I have been told by students who use initially used this style was because they are so used to this grip because of playing badminton. If you use to play badminton, this could be the primary cause, try lowering the finger slightly if no improvement , then use hammer grip.I am not saying you cannot use trigger finger style, but I personally feel , you are holding the 1st digit of your hand to high on the racket grip.

I suggest you either try a hammer grip like the last 2 pics above where all your fingers are close together, it will take some time to get use to,but no finger blisters...

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:37 PM