128 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

AS1M, ASM, ASW, ASB V2, PNB fund

CrossFirE
post Sep 22 2009, 11:27 AM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Sep 22 2009, 03:18 AM)
Depending how much you trust the government is probably the risk.

Excluding the collapse of PNB and probably the government;

In terms of financial risks of complete loss, zero.

In terms of financial risks of no returns, negligeble but not zero.

In terms of risk of less return compared to other safe investments, moderate risk.
Basically falls between FD and other unti trusts. You get the apparent safety of FD but not the potential profits of unit trusts.

All in my opinion anyway, everyone here has one of their own.
thanks for your explainations. i think that i am going for FD because it is safer and i not willing to take the risk. i want to ask, if i put my money to FD in one of those banks. 12 month period, meaning that i cannot take out my money for 12 months right? if i do so, they will charge me right? after 12 months, i can take my money out right?

about unit trust, it is more risky but it's revenue is much more higher compare to FD?
MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2009, 11:49 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 22 2009, 11:27 AM)
i want to ask, if i put my money to FD in one of those banks. 12 month period, meaning that i cannot take out my money for 12 months right? if i do so, they will charge me right? after 12 months, i can take my money out right?

Every bank has different T&C actually. Certain banks will pay you the interest upfront and some allow you to make partial withdrawals.

You can still take out your money anytime but there will be a penalty on your interest earned.

about unit trust, it is more risky but it's revenue is much more higher compare to FD?
Unit trust is more of a long term investment so you can get the maximum potential profit. Not the kind of thing for me though.

CrossFirE
post Sep 22 2009, 12:31 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 22 2009, 11:49 AM)
Every bank has different T&C actually. Certain banks will pay you the interest upfront and some allow you to make partial withdrawals.

You can still take out your money anytime but there will be a penalty on your interest earned.
Unit trust is more of a long term investment so you can get the maximum potential profit. Not the kind of thing for me though.
icic.. because now i got FD investment in HL bank. it pay interest for me every month but i not sure if i can take the money out after 12 months period.

Unit trust is a long term investment? how long? 5 years? 10 years? and the potential profit is how much compare to FD?
cheahcw2003
post Sep 22 2009, 04:31 PM

5,379 posts

thanks for your explainations. i think that i am going for FD because it is safer and i not willing to take the risk. i want to ask, if i put my money to FD in one of those banks.
if u invest in AS1M, u can also withdrawl the money as and when u need it, the dividen is based on the lowest balance of the month, but only pay out once a year on its financial year end, as long as your account remain active, u will get your share of dividen.
rebel_azri
post Sep 22 2009, 04:57 PM

22 posts

hey guys im a newbie here.just want to ask.what is the different between asb,asn,asm and other related gov. fund?im still dont understand although ive read about it several times in the website.
CrossFirE
post Sep 22 2009, 05:03 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 22 2009, 04:31 PM)
if u invest in AS1M, u can also withdrawl the money as and when u need it, the dividen is based on the lowest balance of the month, but only pay out once a year on its financial year end, as long as your account remain active, u will get your share of dividen.
hmm.. icic.. but i heard that every bank has different kind of FD right? some have to input money in every month right?
cheahcw2003
post Sep 22 2009, 05:09 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(rebel_azri @ Sep 22 2009, 04:57 PM)
hey guys im a newbie here.just want to ask.what is the different between asb,asn,asm and other related gov. fund?im still dont understand although ive read about it several times in the website.
ASB/ASD: fixed price fund at rm1, only for bumiputera
ASW2020/ASM: fixed price fund at rm1, 51% for bumiputra, 49% for non-bumi
ASN/ASN2: variable price products, only for bumi
ASN3/ASG: variable price, no quota, for all malaysian
AS1M: fixed price at rm1, newly launched, bumi 50%, chinese 30%, indian 15%, others 5%

all of the above are growth fund with 50% to 90% in Malaysian Equity mainly investing in GLC, PNB does not have overseas exposure to date.
You can read the website www.asnb.com.my for the recent fund performance. For fixed price products, ASB outperform the other funds judging fr the historical record. For the variable price products like ASN/ASN2/ASN3/ASG, there is no different from other equity funds from other private mutual fund companies. The initial sales charge for these variable products are 5%, if u invest using EPF fund, it will be 3%.

AVAILABILITY
if u are a bumi, all funds are available except for ASM which already fully subscribe. If u r a non bumi, only AS1M is avail for fixed price products. ASN3/ASG (variable products) are also available for non-bumi

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Sep 22 2009, 05:14 PM
TScherroy
post Sep 22 2009, 05:17 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 22 2009, 11:49 AM)
QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 22 2009, 12:31 PM)
Unit trust is a long term investment? how long? 5 years? 10 years? and the potential profit is how much compare to FD?
UT is long term investment, but it doesn't mean long term must generate your profit, it's return rate is total unknown which generally depended how equities market performing.

It can still generate you negative return rate aka loss money for you even after long term.

CrossFirE
post Sep 22 2009, 05:22 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 22 2009, 05:17 PM)
UT is long term investment, but it doesn't mean long term must generate your profit, it's return rate is total unknown which generally depended how equities market performing.

It can still generate you negative return rate aka loss money for you even after long term.
wow.. so this is kinda of gambling right? it can even make you lose your money? hmm.. so the higher the risk the higher the return rate i presume.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 22 2009, 08:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 22 2009, 12:31 PM)
icic.. because now i got FD investment in HL bank. it pay interest for me every month but i not sure if i can take the money out after 12 months period.

I am unaware that there is such a FD account offered by Hong Leong Bank that pays out the interest every month with a locked up period of 12-month. Anyways, even if you're on a 12-month contract, you still can cancel it anytime. Just that there will be penalty on your interest earned. I have done this so many times smile.gif

For more informations on Fixed Deposit/Time Deposit, please proceed to the dedicated Fixed Deposit/Time Deposit thread as this thread is solely for the discussion of investment schemes offered by ASNB.

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 22 2009, 05:22 PM)
wow.. so this is kinda of gambling right? it can even make you lose your money? hmm.. so the higher the risk the higher the return rate i presume.
Correct.
darkknight81
post Sep 23 2009, 07:56 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

Someone told me that PNB fund was dried out of money. They create new units every year to pay the dividend. They have been creating new units annually for the past few years. So, i wonder how long they can sustain if the next election PKR win out then the secrets might be revealed??
dreamer101
post Sep 23 2009, 08:22 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 22 2009, 05:22 PM)
CrossFirE,

<<the higher the risk the higher the POTENTIAL return rate>>

There is NO GUARANTEE that your higher risk translate into return either.

Dreamer

Ken
post Sep 23 2009, 10:32 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 23 2009, 08:22 AM)
CrossFirE,

Dreamer
but 100% guarantee no risk no return ... tongue.gif
davinz18
post Sep 23 2009, 03:27 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Sep 23 2009, 07:56 AM)
Someone told me that PNB fund was dried out of money. They create new units every year to pay the dividend. They have been creating new units annually for the past few years. So, i wonder how long they can sustain if the next election PKR win out then the secrets might be revealed??
I also heard the story..... maybe it's true. I don't know. I don't care how many times they create new units every year, I invest only little bit not until max amount, so less effect on me. If PNB pays my dividend every year min 6% p.a, I'm happy with it, if they pays less 6% p.a, then you see what will i do... PNB better make sure they pays min 6% dividend every year which I think is reasonable level for non-bumi, but if can sure want 9-12% dividend. Who don't want 9-12% p.a dividend rate. Sure everyone in m'sia want it. hehehe. Politics is dirty dude, the people will do all things to hold on to federal power. brows.gif NO more comment on politics, it very sensitive topic.
CrossFirE
post Sep 23 2009, 04:26 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 23 2009, 08:22 AM)
CrossFirE,

Dreamer
that is still depend on how much risk you can tolerate. if you can tolerate higher risk then you get higher return lor right?

dreamer101
post Sep 23 2009, 07:01 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Sep 23 2009, 10:32 AM)
but 100% guarantee no risk no return ...  tongue.gif
Ken,

Not true either.

In financial term, loaning money to government is risk free. You still get return. Ditto for FD. Still it is guaranteed.

Dreamer

Added on September 23, 2009, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 23 2009, 04:26 PM)
that is still depend on how much risk you can tolerate. if you can tolerate higher risk then you get higher return lor right?
CrossFirE,

<<if you can tolerate higher risk then you get higher return lor right?>>

NO!!!

Let me REPEAT ONE MORE TIME and try to get through your THICK HEAD.

There is NO GUARANTEE that you will get HIGHER RETURN if you take HIGHER RISK.

In fact, for most NORMAL people the HIGHEST RISK is STUPIDITY. People invest on stuff that they do not understand.

In MOST CASES, stupid people take on HIGHER RISK and get LOWER RETURN. Vice versa, SMART PEOPLE take on LOWER RISK and get HIGHER RETURN.

The KEY FACTOR is YOU.

Do you KNOW what are the 4 things that you MUST know before you invest on ANYTHING?

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 23 2009, 07:07 PM
CrossFirE
post Sep 23 2009, 07:27 PM

FreaK 400D CommandeE
1,969 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 23 2009, 07:01 PM)
Ken,

Not true either.

In financial term, loaning money to government is risk free.  You still get return.  Ditto for FD.  Still it is guaranteed.

Dreamer

Added on September 23, 2009, 7:07 pm
CrossFirE,

<<if you can tolerate higher risk then you get higher return lor right?>>

NO!!!

Let me REPEAT ONE MORE TIME and try to get through your THICK HEAD.

There is NO GUARANTEE that you will get HIGHER RETURN if you take HIGHER RISK.

In fact, for most NORMAL people the HIGHEST RISK is STUPIDITY.  People invest on stuff that they do not understand.

In MOST CASES, stupid people take on HIGHER RISK and get LOWER RETURN.  Vice versa, SMART PEOPLE take on LOWER RISK and get HIGHER RETURN.

The KEY FACTOR is YOU.

Do you KNOW what are the 4 things that you MUST know before you invest on ANYTHING?

Dreamer
4 things before investing?

u must fulfill your basic needs or necessity
u must have savings.

i only know this 2. tongue.gif

dreamer101
post Sep 23 2009, 07:41 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 23 2009, 07:27 PM)
4 things before investing?

u must fulfill your basic needs or necessity
u must have savings.
i only know this 2. tongue.gif
CrossFirE,

You know NONE of the 4.

Before you invest on something, let call this as X.

You must know

A) How you can make money from X??

B) How you can lose money from X?

C) Under what condition and what price you should buy X?

D) Under what condition and what price, you should sell X?

This applies to ANY investments. It can be FD, stock, real estate and whatever. If you DO NOT KNOW (A) to (D), you definitely do not know enough to invest.

Dreamer

STUPIDITY is the BIGGEST RISK to the investor.

Over-confidence is the second BIGGEST RISK.

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 23 2009, 07:42 PM
darkknight81
post Sep 24 2009, 07:36 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 23 2009, 08:41 PM)
CrossFirE,

You know NONE of the 4.
Before you invest on something, let call this as X.

You must know

A) How you can make money from X??

B) How you can lose money from X?

C) Under what condition and what price you should buy X?

D) Under what condition and what price, you should sell X?

This applies to ANY investments.  It can be FD, stock, real estate and whatever.  If you DO NOT KNOW (A) to (D), you definitely do not know enough to invest.

Dreamer

STUPIDITY is the BIGGEST RISK to the investor.

Over-confidence is the second BIGGEST RISK.
Yup agreed. nod.gif
You must know the strength and weaknesses of your investmnet .
You must be able to handle any changes on your investment.
There is no investment that you can invest and sleep for 30 years... you have to monitor it at least every month not the price but the fundamental

I plan to offload all my asw and asm before the next election as i think it is quite risky maybe the fund is empty internally already ....

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Sep 24 2009, 07:37 AM
dreamer101
post Sep 24 2009, 07:58 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Sep 24 2009, 07:36 AM)
Yup agreed.  nod.gif
You must know the strength and weaknesses of your investmnet .
You must be able to handle any changes on your investment.
There is no investment that you can invest and sleep for 30 years... you have to monitor it at least every month not the price but the fundamental

I plan to offload all my asw and asm before the next election as i think it is quite risky maybe the fund is empty internally already ....
darkknight81,

<< There is no investment that you can invest and sleep for 30 years... you have to monitor it at least every month not the price but the fundamental >>

Who say so?? Yes, there is. But, a person needs to have the FINANCIAL INTELLIGENCE and DISCIPLINE to invest it and not to monitor them. Insurance companies invest for 30 to 100 years. Harvard university invest for 150 years.

I only monitor my investment to decide where to put my new money. I re-balance once every year.

One of my mutual fund had survived and do well for 80 years.

<<You must know the strength and weaknesses of your investmnet . >>

A person needs to work like a portfolio manager. Have a mix of investments that diversify and complement each other. So, if you want to sleep, you do not have SINGLE investment.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Sep 24 2009, 08:00 AM

128 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:51 PM