37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Plasma Series 6 650 50inch (PS50B650S1R), Discuss this new plasma tv here.

de_lasoul
post Aug 5 2009, 01:04 PM

624 posts

aiya.. still no display arrived in Penang yet... damn..
enrg
post Aug 5 2009, 01:23 PM

36 posts

@ ronaldjoe

What about brightness, sharpness and details between B650 and S10?

Can you provide comments?

TSlightning69
post Aug 5 2009, 01:28 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 5 2009, 09:15 AM)
1) Buzzing - so far no, hopefully not  tongue.gif
2) I find LCD too bright for me.
3) Flicker - I find sometimes but S10 is worse
4) Hot - S10 is much hotter than B650
5) Astro - later of the year Astro would have HD channel (stage by stage tho), I watch HD content mostly of the time

Features that I like (add on):
1) Much better GUI compared to S10
2) Networking (wireless/ LAN)

Much like a pros and cons situation. Strongly suggest V series for those with fat wallet like our TS.  biggrin.gif
I don't have fat wallet lah. Not like some of members here already have a few plasma tv at home lol.

Added on August 5, 2009, 1:46 pmThe last time i try out an LG plasma, i see image retention after leaving a still image on the screen for a min or so. That is too bad. I can accept if we get retention after leaving a still image on the screen for a long period of time like 30mins or 1hr but not when only after a few minutes.

For me i can try to avoid having any still image on the screen but there is too many programs that have channel logo and especially gaming which have hud that might cause permanent burn-in.

I hope the those new samsumg plasma owners can provide more info regarding how prone is the new set to burn-in

This post has been edited by lightning69: Aug 5 2009, 01:46 PM
putih
post Aug 5 2009, 02:17 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 4 2009, 11:56 PM)
Actually panny plasma's also have this, its just not as bad. LG and Sammys are slightly worse. Panny's recover faster, sammy and lg takes a little longer. Phospor residue....Some people do not like to hear this, but Pioneer does fare very well in this regard.
Agreed with you totally. My 8th gen Kuro had no retention issue at all. The orbiter really works! I did not even do proper burn in. Out of the box, it's been working like a horse and the picture is getting better everyday. If you mampu to pay 6000 for a korean plasma, might as well top up 2000+ more and get 508XG... guaranteed you will smile upto your ears smile.gif
ronaldjoe
post Aug 5 2009, 02:28 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Aug 5 2009, 02:17 PM)
Agreed with you totally. My 8th gen Kuro had no retention issue at all. The orbiter really works! I did not even do proper burn in. Out of the box, it's been working like a horse and the picture is getting better everyday. If you mampu to pay 6000 for a korean plasma, might as well top up 2000+ more and get 508XG... guaranteed you will smile upto your ears  smile.gif
Compared B650 and 508XG side by side at Best KLCC. 508XG still wins on PQ. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
But B650 only lose marginally as 508XG PQ is more natural... sweat.gif I need full hd panel. So resort to B650.

Added on August 5, 2009, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Aug 5 2009, 01:28 PM)

Added on August 5, 2009, 1:46 pmThe last time i try out an LG plasma, i see image retention after leaving a still image on the screen for a min or so.  That is too bad.  I can accept if we get retention after leaving a still image on the screen for a long period of time like 30mins or 1hr but not when only after a few minutes.

For me i can try to avoid having any still image on the screen but there is too many programs that have channel logo and especially gaming which have hud that might cause permanent burn-in.

I hope the those new samsumg plasma owners can provide more info regarding how prone is the new set to burn-in
Nowadays quite a lot hd program with 'transparent logo'. So it should be okay...
I will press 'red alarm' if my set 'kong'. So far it's still doing well. Just have to be cautious. unsure.gif
My wife watches a lot HD TVB series/programme, channel logo is on top right. So far no burn in yet.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Aug 5 2009, 02:32 PM
anfieldude
post Aug 5 2009, 02:37 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(tewwyble @ Aug 5 2009, 11:09 AM)
Yes it is. It's fine during low lighting situations (after 6pm). Daylight watching seems dimmer.

Fullscreen whites should never look grey. I believe it is some setting that you have not optimized. Fullscreen white will not be as bright as a LCD due to the nature of plasmas APL but it shd never look grey.

I would say dim. Somehow i suspect it's dynamic contrast. Here's how i test. I use PC HDMI as source so i can control.
> 1st test picture, 100% white. Screen dims, whites becomes greyish.
> 2nd test picture, 50% white, 50%. The whites becomes whiter.
> 3rd test picture, 10% white, 90% mix color. perfect whites.

No changes in TV settings. Just different type of picture. Even easier to see the effect of dimming when i drag a white window around the screen. When it fills up 100% of the screen, the white becomes grey. Can see the dynamic contrast ratio (or dimming) adjusting itself.

I have turn off all enhancements. May try to put on Game mode and let you guys know the result.
Hope it does!
No complains on fast moving pictures at all. No ghosting whatsoever. Again, easiest to test by dragging window. However, horizontal bleeding seems to be a major problem. Eg, scrolling text / credits will exhibit image bleeding. That annoying as well.
The disappointments i have with this set is below:
- Scrolling bleed
- Buzzing
- Astro PQ
- 100Hz only works for 50Hz input. It will not optimize HTPC movies channeled via HDMI. The signal must be in 50Hz or 1080p/24Hz to take advantage of the cinema smooth function.

The likes i have:
- DLNA (even plays MKVs)
- Price / size ratio
- Color accuracy and black levels
- Thin (surprising for a plasma)

However, i don't think i can get a 50' LCD within the same price range with the blacks and color accuracy
The screen dims when it displays a 100% white screen is the nature of plasmas. I don't think this will be a problem with actual content.
The power supplies are very high voltage, to display a full 100% white screen will cause the power supply to overload, hence the APL (Automatic Peak Limiter), this limits the supply to the power supply thus dimming the screen intensity. This will not happen in real life since there will always be some other colours/shadow in pictures. You will not see this in real life movies. If you are seeing it, there is an enchancement that is causing this.

Plasmas shd be calibrated with window screens. Bleeding is a non issue, there is some setting that is not optimized.

Buzzing, some plasmas do buzz, check and see if you move the plasma a little, there might be some resonance, if it is too high, ask them to come and check, it might be a power supply issue.

100Hz is meant to only work on 50Hz material only, there shd be no other use for 100Hz. HPTC is normally transmitting at 60Hz, you cannot use 100Hz for that since it is not a multiple. 60Hz material shd not judder anyway unless the source has a weird cadence.
Astro PQ, give it some time.
Alan Yee
post Aug 5 2009, 10:35 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(tewwyble @ Aug 5 2009, 11:09 AM)
Yes it is. It's fine during low lighting situations (after 6pm). Daylight watching seems dimmer.

Fullscreen whites should never look grey. I believe it is some setting that you have not optimized. Fullscreen white will not be as bright as a LCD due to the nature of plasmas APL but it shd never look grey.

I would say dim. Somehow i suspect it's dynamic contrast. Here's how i test. I use PC HDMI as source so i can control.
> 1st test picture, 100% white. Screen dims, whites becomes greyish.
> 2nd test picture, 50% white, 50%. The whites becomes whiter.
> 3rd test picture, 10% white, 90% mix color. perfect whites.

No changes in TV settings. Just different type of picture. Even easier to see the effect of dimming when i drag a white window around the screen. When it fills up 100% of the screen, the white becomes grey. Can see the dynamic contrast ratio (or dimming) adjusting itself.

I have turn off all enhancements. May try to put on Game mode and let you guys know the result.
Hope it does!
No complains on fast moving pictures at all. No ghosting whatsoever. Again, easiest to test by dragging window. However, horizontal bleeding seems to be a major problem. Eg, scrolling text / credits will exhibit image bleeding. That annoying as well.
The disappointments i have with this set is below:
- Scrolling bleed
- Buzzing
- Astro PQ
- 100Hz only works for 50Hz input. It will not optimize HTPC movies channeled via HDMI. The signal must be in 50Hz or 1080p/24Hz to take advantage of the cinema smooth function.

The likes i have:
- DLNA (even plays MKVs)
- Price / size ratio
- Color accuracy and black levels
- Thin (surprising for a plasma)

However, i don't think i can get a 50' LCD within the same price range with the blacks and color accuracy
Does the buzzing sound seems normal?
Can it be heard easily? Or it just below average volume?

WereWolf84
post Aug 5 2009, 10:56 PM

984 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 5 2009, 11:18 AM)
I have curtain down which effectively can block sun lightbiggrin.gif
Hi, bro, mind to share with us by post some pictures icon_question.gif
ronaldjoe
post Aug 5 2009, 11:01 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:56 PM)
Hi, bro, mind to share with us by post some picturesĀ  icon_question.gif
Nothing special...The curtain is just thick enough that it can block sunlight and make the room dark biggrin.gif
A re-post...this pic was taken around 6pm on first day of delivery:
(You can still see sunlight at the edge of curtain)

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Aug 5 2009, 11:07 PM
anfieldude
post Aug 5 2009, 11:08 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 5 2009, 11:01 PM)
The curtain is just thick enough that it can block sunlight and make the room dark  biggrin.gif
A re-post...this pic was taken around 6pm on first day of delivery:
(You can still see sunlight at the edge of curtain)

Most plasmas have some sort of anti reflective coating on the glass, it really should not be so bad until u need to close everything. You will get used to it.

ronaldjoe
post Aug 5 2009, 11:13 PM

3,569 posts

Right. I just like dark room... this B650 is better than S10 on reflection.
S10 seems a bit grey-ish in bright room.
formalin
post Aug 6 2009, 12:36 PM

114 posts

Can anybody help, where can I still get Panasonic TH-50PY850 in Malaysia ?
putih
post Aug 6 2009, 03:51 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 5 2009, 11:13 PM)
Right. I just like dark room... this B650 is better than S10 on reflection.
S10 seems a bit grey-ish in bright room.
I saw an older B450 sammy in senQ and i thought the PQ was excellent - solid contrast, deep black and nice color. I bet B650 must be much much nicer. Somehow the Panasonic displays there were all "grey" and even worst, the color was a bit orangish. Why Panasonic is like that ah?

ronaldjoe
post Aug 6 2009, 03:55 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Aug 6 2009, 03:51 PM)
I saw an older B450 sammy in senQ and i thought the PQ was excellent - solid contrast, deep black and nice color. I bet B650 must be much much nicer. Somehow the Panasonic displays there were all "grey" and even worst, the color was a bit orangish. Why Panasonic is like that ah?
The black of B650 is like 50% blacker than B450. laugh.gif
Best place to view it is at Harvey Norman Pavilion (with other plasma) or Best Denki KLCC (side by side with Pioneer 508)....
low98944
post Aug 6 2009, 04:18 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(formalin @ Aug 6 2009, 12:36 PM)
Can anybody help, where can I still get Panasonic TH-50PY850 in Malaysia ?
I saw 1 unit at the Kuching. Price is around RM4,XXX. At MJC.
chewkl
post Aug 6 2009, 04:53 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 6 2009, 04:18 PM)
I saw 1 unit at the Kuching.  Price is around RM4,XXX.  At MJC.
@ that price is would be a f@rking steal!!! (assuming its a new and not demo unit)
ronaldjoe
post Aug 6 2009, 04:59 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 6 2009, 04:53 PM)
@ that price is would be a f@rking steal!!! (assuming its a new and not demo unit)
Demo oso dun mind la... as long as it's in good condition...no scratch etc... some it's been 'break-in' already
5 yrs warranty ... made in Japan drool.gif
chewkl
post Aug 6 2009, 05:01 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 6 2009, 04:59 PM)
Demo oso dun mind la... as long as it's in good condition...no scratch etc... some it's been 'break-in' already
5 yrs warranty ... made in Japan  drool.gif
What if they "break-in" with a static image? doh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Aug 6 2009, 05:52 PM

3,569 posts

Can view mah... but normally they would do it with demo disc smile.gif
de_lasoul
post Aug 6 2009, 07:57 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 6 2009, 04:59 PM)
5 yrs warranty ... made in JapanĀ  drool.gif
Made in Japan?? 5 years warranty?? and so cheap???

This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Aug 6 2009, 07:58 PM

37 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:39 PM