Samsung Plasma Series 6 650 50inch (PS50B650S1R), Discuss this new plasma tv here.

TSlightning69
post Aug 4 2009, 10:32 AM, updated 16y ago

2,298 posts

This seems like a nice plasma tv from samsung.

You can read more about the nice features on this new plasma here
Read the full spec here.

So far the review is pretty good. Reviews

WhatHifi Reviews

One major downside from one reviewer is that it tends to have image retention.

TSlightning69
post Aug 4 2009, 11:11 AM

2,298 posts

Samsung has been the leader in TV recently and i fully agree with that judging from the features and picture quality of their TVs. SAMSUNG have always manage to pack in tons of features that will put the japanese manufacturer to shame, however there is still one thing that made me shy away from samsung product and that is RELIABILITY. Most of the people i know recommend me to stay away from samsung products.

What do you guys think?
TSlightning69
post Aug 4 2009, 11:30 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 4 2009, 10:12 PM)
Update:
Those running htpc to be extra cautious during early panel hours
as slight retention mark would come in on still image even for time like 10+ seconds tho those 'mark' are temporary... sweat.gif
That is the major problem with plasma tv especially LG and Samsung. I think panasonic plasma don't have this problem.
TSlightning69
post Aug 5 2009, 01:28 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 5 2009, 09:15 AM)
1) Buzzing - so far no, hopefully not  tongue.gif
2) I find LCD too bright for me.
3) Flicker - I find sometimes but S10 is worse
4) Hot - S10 is much hotter than B650
5) Astro - later of the year Astro would have HD channel (stage by stage tho), I watch HD content mostly of the time

Features that I like (add on):
1) Much better GUI compared to S10
2) Networking (wireless/ LAN)

Much like a pros and cons situation. Strongly suggest V series for those with fat wallet like our TS.  biggrin.gif
I don't have fat wallet lah. Not like some of members here already have a few plasma tv at home lol.

Added on August 5, 2009, 1:46 pmThe last time i try out an LG plasma, i see image retention after leaving a still image on the screen for a min or so. That is too bad. I can accept if we get retention after leaving a still image on the screen for a long period of time like 30mins or 1hr but not when only after a few minutes.

For me i can try to avoid having any still image on the screen but there is too many programs that have channel logo and especially gaming which have hud that might cause permanent burn-in.

I hope the those new samsumg plasma owners can provide more info regarding how prone is the new set to burn-in

This post has been edited by lightning69: Aug 5 2009, 01:46 PM
TSlightning69
post Aug 7 2009, 10:03 AM

2,298 posts

Since samsung plasma have very bad image retention issue, i have to remove it from my shopping list. Looks like there is only the 50S10 on my list now.
TSlightning69
post Aug 10 2009, 10:31 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Aug 9 2009, 06:39 PM)
IR can be solve easy only.As i tried and it was successfuly. rclxms.gif
Can you please elaborate more .

Added on August 10, 2009, 10:38 am
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 10 2009, 12:22 AM)
STUPID  doh.gif
I just realised I didn't turn IR protection in menu.
Default it's OFF.
I remember one of the reviewer saying that the Samsung set is very prone to IR so I don't think that turning it on really helps as the problem is actually with the phospor itself.

IR if not careful will lead to permanent burn-in so best is to avoid this model. Just my opinion.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Aug 10 2009, 10:38 AM
TSlightning69
post Aug 13 2009, 11:07 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(tewwyble @ Aug 13 2009, 09:45 PM)
Update on my set:

1) IR is not as bad as it seems. Only visible if i search for it. Watched a movie for 2 hours with the black bar. Yes, IR will appear when i switch back to astro but disappears about 1/2 hour later. Does not concern me when I do normal viewing for normal shows on Astro. If i want to quickly remove the IR, samsung has a "window washer" setting that can be run. If i set that on, even the most stubborn IR stains will go away within 5minutes or so.

2) No S-Video sad.gif Manage to tweak the colors to be more accurate. The upscaling for SD content for this Samsung is better than Sony's BE2 engine (as comparison).

3) Buzzing sound getting less (or I got used to it).

4) Manage to use my Nokia N82 phone with the DLNA feature. Now i can stream my home video / photos recorded on my phone directly to the TV. This is actually quite cool but useless feature.

5) Reflection on this set is really under control. In fact, i went to compare the LED LCD Samsung vs this set and the LEDs are even more reflective! Hate looking at my half naked body when i watch movie for dark scenes.
IR for hr is not that good news. If plasma are to survive in the TV wars, this is not gonna help. Its simply not acceptable. I plasma screen that can get IR so easily will soon have permanent Burn In.
TSlightning69
post Aug 29 2009, 08:59 PM

2,298 posts

So far how many people here bought B650? Seems not many. I am really waiting for more opinions from people regarding the IR on this samsung set before I make any decision.
TSlightning69
post Sep 19 2009, 01:17 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Sep 19 2009, 10:17 AM)
if can afford, go with what d heart say lorr.. wah, at 5550, good price oredi right.. though abt d same price, seems everybody here think d sammy P50B650 is better than d panny P50S10..

i also might change direction.. been saving to get d panny.. if we double up order, can get sammy go cheaper ka?
I have heard a lot of good things about P50B650 better than the 50S10. But what really scare me is the image retention on the samsung set. Most reviewers noted that the samsung set is very prone to IR....can some one update on the IR after fully run-in.

I don't mind slightly inferior picture on the 50S10 since no one will notice it if watch by itself....afterall the difference is only noticeable if we place the 2 sets side by side.
TSlightning69
post Sep 23 2009, 07:58 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Sep 23 2009, 04:18 PM)
This shop even can deliver the same day if I wanted too but I prefer to get the set during this weekend when I move in my house.

And the final price I nego for this set is at RM5550 but without extended warranty (1 year panel, 2 years parts).

The shop fella told me don't worry on the warranty as this set can easily last for many years to come as Samsung reliability is on par with any other Japs brand based on the faulty return unit although I'm still a bit leary to decide whether to extend the warranty or not.

Anyway, can't wait for my set to arrive this weekend  rclxms.gif

And those who left me a pm, u got the reply and hope we can form a new B650 owners  thumbup.gif
For samsung brand , i think its a good good idea to go for extended warranty. Even my local samsung repair centre warn me that samsung got many problems and i can see from the many sammy lcd lying around waiting for repairs too!
TSlightning69
post Mar 26 2010, 12:22 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Mar 26 2010, 10:17 AM)
Not during normal viewing but when I change inputs or channels, it can be seen when the screen blacks out for a short moment. This also happens during the day, but after some time, there is no more IR.

Does anyone know if this tv can play videos via USB connection?
I am on the offshore rig right now and the tv room has a 50" Samsung Plasma tv. I brought along my TVix and watch some movies last night. The movie I watch have black bars on top and bottom and halfway thru the movies I can see IR on the plasma already. Once the whole screen darken in night scenes, the IR is very apparent on the screen with the movie portion of the screen appearing grey while the two black bars areas are darker. Even the place where the subtitles appear got IR too.

I own a 50" Panasonic plasma 50S10 at home but i have never seen any IR before. My conclusion is that the Samsung is just too prone to IR. Just sharing my experience.
TSlightning69
post Mar 30 2010, 12:47 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(bose00 @ Mar 27 2010, 11:02 PM)
i am using the series 6 50" plasma fy10 production ~ watch 2 movies about 5 hours in 16:9 resolution with black bar at the top and bottom of the screen.
so far no IR issue as describe, probably it depends on the batch of plasma panel.
Maybe the 2010 model is better.

0.0190sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:33 PM