Samsung Plasma Series 6 650 50inch (PS50B650S1R), Discuss this new plasma tv here.
enrg
Aug 5 2009, 10:03 AM
@ronaldjoe
You seem to be happy with the Samsung B650, but why do you say the Panny V will be better? Any experience with it?
From what I read, the V should be no different than the G except for the THX Mode. But that would be useless anyway as the G in asia has more adjustable pro options for calibration.
enrg
Aug 5 2009, 01:23 PM
@ ronaldjoe
What about brightness, sharpness and details between B650 and S10?
Can you provide comments?
enrg
Aug 7 2009, 02:53 PM
So after all things considered:
Is it 50B650 or 50S10?
enrg
Aug 12 2009, 07:21 AM
@ronaldjoe
I have seen both the B850 and S10 in comparison, but in bright lighting environment, where of course the S10 looks washed out.
Havent been able to seen them in dim lighting as all stores are bright.
So cannot really compare how they are in dim lighting. So cannot comment on the sharpness, brightness and details in that environment.
Just thinking the B850 is almost twice the price of the S10, is it really worth it?Considering it could have issues like buzzing and more IR than the panny.......
This post has been edited by enrg: Aug 12 2009, 07:23 AM
enrg
Aug 12 2009, 10:02 AM
Thanks Ronaldjoe and Anfieldude
I guess I need to make final comparison before deciding.
Just one last question, does this plasma really have better black level than say the latest Samsung B series LCDs? or have the best LCD's catched up?
enrg
Aug 13 2009, 11:27 AM
@ronaldjoe
How grey is the S10 though in the day? will it cause severe unenjoyment? I have bright lighting so again leaning toward the Samsung though more expensive.
Also,I heard that the S10 pictures is soft in HD, and B650 in sharper for a Plasma.
Can you confirm this?
enrg
Aug 13 2009, 12:30 PM
@ ronaldjoe
But even then you mentioned that B650 goes blacker at night than S10, is this correct?
@ anfieldude
I thought you cant adjust gamma for the S10?
enrg
Aug 13 2009, 03:34 PM
@ ronaldjoe
then it seems that the S10 only wins on price. Since B650: -is blacker ind dimly lit room -has less reflective screen -has sharper picture -has deeper/better colors -better in daylight viewing -more controls (ie gamma)
umm did I miss anything? any area where S10 is better?
enrg
Aug 21 2009, 09:24 AM
My Samsung 50B850 is being delivered tomorrow.....will give review and post pics when available!
Added on August 21, 2009, 9:25 amSo perhaps can have comparison against the 50B650
This post has been edited by enrg: Aug 21 2009, 09:25 AM
enrg
Aug 21 2009, 09:41 AM
@ronaldjoe
If I had a choice between the B650 and B850, prob would get a B650.
Yeah pic quality would prob be similar, only the ultra filterbright plus is difference in bright lighting. Thinner is nice, but not essential.
The B850 also has Crystal FullHD Engine and Cinema Smooth, are these features in the B650 as well?
But since only B850 is out in my country....so no choice! Its around 11k, with free 22"lcd and brackets.....
Definitely not value for money :-)
But thinking that its competitor is the Panny 50V10, which would also launch (if ever) at around the same price or slightly cheaper from extrapolating the 50S10 vs 50V10 prices in Aussie....
So hope I made the right decision!
enrg
Aug 21 2009, 09:49 AM
No lah.
Been saving for awhile! to purchase this TV....plan to keep it for a long time (fingers crossed)
enrg
Aug 24 2009, 10:42 AM
Hi all,
I received my Samsung Plasma B850 (similar spec to B650 except slim factor) on Saturday.
Been playing around and have 25 hours usage in the weekend.....happy with it overall....colors are nice and bright, picture is sharp, motion is good, no picture noise....black is pretty black in bright lighting (though not as black as the Sammy LED screens) but better than the Panny S10.
IR is there, but goes away after changing source. buzz is there but I dont hear it that much so it does not bother me. So no issues of this sort.
But my main concern is black level....I have a Sony LCD V400 for upstairs room for comparison. And when comparing the black levels on this plasma and the Sony LCD...they are about equal??
What gives, thought that the Plasma would have deeper black levels? I have not calibrate it of course, and contrast is set low at 50 to avoid excessive IR....but during night sequences in dim lighting, black level is lacking.
I dont think I have a defective panel since all other things are fine. I dont think contrast/brightness is the factor since I played around for it for a couple of minutes to see whether I can improve the black but nothing changed....so what am I doing wrong?
Is it because the plasma cells have not aged yet? will the blacks be better when I get to 100-200hours usage?
Anyway, happy with it, but the blacks are below my expectations for a plasma....perhaps with more hours with it....
Any other samsung plasma owners can share answers? thanks.
enrg
Aug 25 2009, 09:40 AM
Just found out why blacks are washed out. Its the darn Cinema Smooth glitch, which also reported in US models.
When I changed back film mode to Off, blacks are good. Though of course not Kuro levels.
I am happy though.
This also happens for B650?
enrg
Aug 25 2009, 11:52 AM
@ronaldjoe
Yours is black in dim lighting or bright lighting? In bright lighting yes black is black.
But I dont think that any plasma can be full black in dim lighting, even the Kuros cannot give perfect black.
My perception is that the B Plasmas have dark grey black in dim lighting. better than most conventional LCDs, but still far from perfect (with film mode at off, not cinema smooth :-)).
I also turned all advanced settings off.
Does the pixel shift affect black? And which settings do you mean we can adjust black level?
Added on August 25, 2009, 11:55 am@anfieldude
To tell you the truth, I do not see any differences having the film mode at off or Cinema Smooth, so no big deal I will leave it off rather than going to service menu and mess something up.
Anyway you are right, colors are amazing in the Samsung B plasmas
This post has been edited by enrg: Aug 25 2009, 11:55 AM