10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Shitmyx Top Management Conference, 8 of us representing 1.3m shitmyx users!

BugFace
post Aug 2 2009, 06:47 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Aug 2 2009, 03:50 PM)
its a simple question of available average bandwidth per user.
but dey avoid answering it anyways.
just meks me curious on how terrible the ratio is.........
Ratio? You mean this from streamyx faq?

QUOTE(http://www.streamyx.com.my/customer_care/customer_care.php?id=customer_care_faq)
37. What is a "contention ratio"?
To provide a cost effective service – Streamyx is 'contended' (shared) at the following ratios:
CODE

Package               Download Speed      Upload Speed         Contention Ratio
     Streamyx 384k            384k                  128k                   1:25
     Streamyx 512k            512k                  256k                   1:25
     Streamyx 1.0M            1.0M                  384k                   1:25
     Streamyx 2.0M            2.0M                  512k                   1:25
     Streamyx 4.0M            4.0M                  512k                   1:25

This contention is applied within the TM network - with other Streamyx subscribers on the same TM telephone exchange.

What this means in the 'worst case' is that you could be sharing a 1000 kbps connection with up to 25 other users. So if they were all using Streamyx at the same time 'theoretically' you would only get 40 kbps.

However, 'in reality' this scenario is very unlikely to happen and you should usually find it to be far faster than a dial-up connection.

Streamyx relies on individual users not making unreasonable traffic demands on the network to provide fast access speeds for all.

Remember if you are not getting the speed that you expect, it may not be due to the contention ratio only but many other factors including the capacity of the remote site you are accessing, the quality and distance of your telephone line from the local exchange.
I think they are way over this ratio, since the speed is terrible with so much issues. Some ISPs I seen in google claims 50:1 for residential and some especially business types 20:1 or less.
andrew9292
post Aug 2 2009, 07:53 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(BugFace @ Aug 2 2009, 06:47 PM)
Ratio? You mean this from streamyx faq?
No, not this kind of ratio.

It's more like, assuming TM has 150Gbps International Bandwidth

It is divided into:
1) 75Gbps goes to TM Corporate Users

2) 25Gbps goes to TM Special Component Users like Universities, Governent Sectors,
-if i've not mistake TM's MMU University has 155Mbps in Cyberjaya campus and 100Mbps in Melaka campus.

3) Remaining 50Gbps goes to TM Streamyx Home users

so the remaning 50gbps that goes to us, how is it being distributed? 25gbps to 4Mbps users? and remaining 25Gbps to be divided between other packages etc...

OR, it also could be 150Gbps "Intelligently Shared"

Which means, no fixed amount like above, but priority is given to Corporate users and Special Components Users... and is constantly being adjusted every second depends on the needs of different type of users...

Btw, the figures above are just to give an example of the ratio we are speaking about...they are not actual figures and no one knows the actual except for TM

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 2 2009, 07:54 PM
webdesignempire
post Aug 3 2009, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(hhbks @ Aug 2 2009, 05:21 PM)
hmmm...i also feel that the ratio really terrible....that's y they try not to answer it  vmad.gif
That's the so called "economic issues" that in contrast with the "technical issues". Andrews9292, still remember what you have asked on the other day and i haven't found a way to answer ur question? The bandwidth distribution is having high potential to be aka "economic issues".

LMFAO......

So, what's you guys' conclusion or how do you feel on the meeting?
Eoma
post Aug 3 2009, 11:21 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

I think they are way over this ratio, since the speed is terrible with so much issues. Some ISPs I seen in google claims 50:1 for residential and some especially business types 20:1 or less.
it's the other way around, 1:50. If TM really does give 1:25, it's better than 1:50, well in theory/numbers at least.

This post has been edited by Eoma: Aug 3 2009, 11:21 AM
mylinear
post Aug 3 2009, 12:10 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Aug 2 2009, 12:53 PM)
People already said it out who is the representitive in the earlier post already la..  laugh.gif
Where? Mind pointing it out again please?

phelix
post Aug 3 2009, 04:42 PM

Nexusan
924 posts

QUOTE(warez @ Aug 2 2009, 01:47 AM)
which ISP can fulfill the MCMC rules??
erm.. in my mind.. no one.
andrew9292
post Aug 3 2009, 10:35 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(webdesignempire @ Aug 3 2009, 09:49 AM)
That's the so called "economic issues" that in contrast with the "technical issues".  Andrews9292, still remember what you have asked on the other day and i haven't found a way to answer ur question?  The bandwidth distribution is having high potential to be aka "economic issues".

LMFAO......

So, what's you guys' conclusion or how do you feel on the meeting?
Took me some time to remember that question... but i remembered now... tongue.gif

QUOTE(phelix @ Aug 3 2009, 04:42 PM)
which ISP can fulfill the MCMC rules??
erm.. in my mind.. no one.
None i guess, except Maxis Wired Broadband... really really good speed those days

And when the quake last time broke the cables those users didn't really feel the impact, while most other ISP's are suffering.

Neways, my flying squad session postponed to this friday, my problem not theirs sad.gif

oh, and my speedtest for today :
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1098380/+720#

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 3 2009, 10:38 PM
cubeofzero
post Aug 3 2009, 10:40 PM

25 posts

Not Stable!!!
Always DC !!!!!
Expensive and not matching with the speed.
Singapore FOC WIFI faster than SH1tmik

This post has been edited by cubeofzero: Aug 3 2009, 10:41 PM
andrew9292
post Aug 3 2009, 10:52 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(cubeofzero @ Aug 3 2009, 10:40 PM)
Not Stable!!!
Always DC !!!!!
Expensive and not matching with the speed.
Singapore FOC WIFI faster than SH1tmik
The bolded part, any prove to that? Cause even if you think Streamyx is sucks, it is actually 2nd best in this country in terms of speed and reliability (for me)

1st winner is Jaring Wired of course, u get the speed you paid for and it's uptime is very good but not wide coverage. The recent NGN upgrade by TM seems to have affect Jaring tho, according to the Jaring thread created.

2nd is TM Streamyx i guess, widest coverage, uptime not bad, about 95% for me, but very very bad speed and quality.

3rd is Maxis, based on my experience, frequent disruption of service...but when it's up, speed is okay. It gives good speed, but worst reliability.

Singapore good? I wont be surprised tho, it's Singapore...

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 3 2009, 10:53 PM
Suk
post Aug 4 2009, 01:49 AM

2,330 posts

How is the meeting. Is the Top mgm promise anything ?

The CSR side. pick up the phone quite fast now. compare to last time which took me 20min waiting.
Blue07
post Aug 4 2009, 11:46 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 2 2009, 01:04 PM)
Really?  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif Tak nampak pun??
O btw, if i not mistaken, DAP IT Manager also came for the meeting, and he was good...

Really sent rockets to the TM ; ) and TM was so desperately deflecting his shots...

Ha! now i remembered....

He was asking how much total international bandwidth TM has and how is it being distributed in TM's network...

TM tried so hard to avoid that question i was LOLing so hard in my heart....
Hmm...seems that TM really cant tell us how much international bandwidth they have and how is it distributed....

hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Part of his report

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2009/08/04/can...adband-nations/

hhbks
post Aug 4 2009, 11:56 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Aug 3 2009, 12:10 PM)
Where? Mind pointing it out again please?
go & read this then u'll know who representing TM.

eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 4 2009, 12:30 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Aug 4 2009, 01:49 AM)
How is the meeting. Is the Top mgm promise anything ?

The CSR side. pick up the phone quite fast now. compare to last time which took me 20min waiting.

I waited 15mins last night.
nidup
post Aug 4 2009, 01:13 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 1 2009, 11:48 AM)
TM, they have a serious problem

A screenshot of the modem page showing 2048kbps cap downstream, screenshot took in May:
[attachmentid=1112321]

A screenshot of the modem page i took yesterday, due to a user at the meeting said his 4mbps like max out at 512, so i thought my port might have problems too. And i found out i was capped to 1024.
[attachmentid=1112340]

Previously can get : [attachmentid=1112341]

Today: [attachmentid=1112344]

Who gave TM the order to change the cap for my account? How can the technician change the cap without approval from higher departments? Does the technical team need approval to change capped speed? Or they can just suka suka change?

If this has happened to me, i believe that this can cause many other users to be re capped without their knowledge too... Currently i'm talking to TM on this matter... For me it seems there is a "traitor" in their organization doing this without their consent. Either that, or they were instructed to lower my cap on purpose because they hate me. hahaa  sweat.gif
I guess i know who did it without any inform even top mgt never know.
TM Vendors!
They never update in CASS system after make changing!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nidup: Aug 4 2009, 01:14 PM
andrew9292
post Aug 4 2009, 02:59 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(hhbks @ Aug 4 2009, 11:56 AM)
go & read this then u'll know who representing TM.

Yes, CEO was there... and many important TM ppl...

Well that's why i said without those ppl TM will not continue existing tongue.gif

Hurrah DAP! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I've created a thread on the report here, its a very good report:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1118874

just in case anyone cant access the blog due to whatever reasons

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 4 2009, 03:03 PM
liquidsny
post Aug 4 2009, 03:03 PM

589 posts

i will vote for PKR if they can fix this
andrew9292
post Aug 4 2009, 03:16 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

but i dont expect much out of DAP/PKR tho...

but it's a good start, if they can sustain their effort...my bet is thousands here will vote for them, even if they dont succeed.

because we know that the real culprit is always heavily "firewalled" by some other ppl ; )
genjo
post Aug 5 2009, 01:22 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

If our country got one more fixed line ISP....... Streamyx is going to doom very fast....
BlueWind
post Aug 5 2009, 01:01 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

So can we conclude that the meeting was rather unfruitful and left hanging yet again?
TSshitmyx
post Aug 5 2009, 03:12 PM

185 posts

Email sent on today 12.30pm:

1 hour later:

it seems that emailing the higher management straight away is more effective than going through those CS monkeys thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0246sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:51 PM