Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

TSteikwing
post Jul 17 2009, 06:27 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Jul 17 2009, 06:21 PM)
what if i use the sim card on 2 phone, example now using on iPhone later i change the sim to another phone to use it, and some moments later switch back to iphone, will the free data be void?
QUOTE(lil_fuzz @ Jul 17 2009, 06:23 PM)
what i mean is about the 500mb data.. when i collect the iphone can i change the number that i already book with my current one.. my current number will get the 500mb data bundle..
@elico:
i don't think Maxis is able to detect that you're using on 2 separate phones. just make sure the line is active to be able to receive the 500MB data bundle package.

@lil_fuzz:
IINM, you will still be able to change the plan when you collect your phone, i guess it's fine to change the number as well. do call up Maxis CS or head to the Maxis centre to verify? smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Jul 17 2009, 11:49 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ Jul 17 2009, 07:52 PM)
I probably will get the iData 50, and that have to register under primary account.
My supplementary line will be using the iphone... so will the free 500 MB be applicable for supplementary line as well?
Can i exchanged my primary and supplementary simm card into the iphone and still enjoy the 500 MB under iData 50, since both lines are under the same account?

QUOTE(psjjl @ Jul 17 2009, 08:47 PM)
I ask my friend who work with Maxis this morning and she confirmed to me that the package I choose shall be finalized upon 3G S pick-up on 31 July 2009. Plan can be changed but the size and colour of the 3G S is finalized during the online booking.

NOTE: teikwing ask me to confirm this point
QUOTE(tony9973 @ Jul 17 2009, 10:43 PM)
Have anyone heard of this? I call up maxis centre they say that if I will to get the prepaid plan for the 3Gs phone and at the same time keep my postpaid number, I have to change the postpaid number back to prepaid number first. Only than I can book it on line.One more thing is that the girl on the phone at maxis centre told me that we can't do any booking at any maxis centre. We only can do booking online. Is it true? Anyone has done his booking at maxis centre around KL area? rclxub.gif
@^prion^:
iData can only be tied to one specific account/line. if you subscribed iData for your supp line, then only the supp line will be able to enjoy the benefits.

@psjjl:
thanks for the info, mate. wink.gif

@tony9973
1. yes. that's true. or you can get a new simpack, get the phone at the Hotlink plan price and use it on your postpaid number. but you will not be able to enjoy the 500MB data bundle. (which comes with the Hotlink plan)

2. you can do the booking via the website or at any Maxis centres/partners and Machines outlets. but it's preferable to do it via the manual way as many users have been experiencing problems booking via Maxis's site.
TSteikwing
post Jul 18 2009, 09:59 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@jonest:
yes! it's 500mb PER month for a year! that's why quite a number of users are considering getting 3GS through the prepaid plans. albeit the price of the phone is slightly expensive, there's no contract and you will still get to enjoy data usage for 1 whole year. cost of maintaining the prepaid is affordable to. just RM63 like what you've mentioned. smile.gif

@vailance:
yes, you can. it's 500mb per month by the way. it's data usage not discount. biggrin.gif

@tony9973:
it's wiser to head to a Maxis centre straight rather than going through the website.

@tink:

thought you were away for the weekend? still got time to reply ahh? tongue.gif

TSteikwing
post Jul 19 2009, 12:29 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(jonest @ Jul 19 2009, 12:21 AM)
Teikwing,

It's 2 good 2 be true.... hopefully they don't come tell us it was a typo error at the end of the day!!!  shakehead.gif

Anyway a direct comparison:-
16GB + iData 50 (12 mths contract)
Phone = RM2090
iData 50x12= RM600
Total = RM2,690

16GB + Prepaid
Phone = RM2490
Prepaid=RM63
Total = RM2,553

Savings = RM137 = 5% of RM2690!

But what's the rate for over data usage for iData plans? Prepaid is charged at 0.5sen/kb.
yeah but i think it's for real. Maxis might wanna boost their sales. prepaid is definitely the 'smarter' plan. but for postpaid users like me, i have limited options. sad.gif

not too sure about over-usage for the iData plan. why don't you call up Maxis? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 19 2009, 12:30 AM
TSteikwing
post Jul 19 2009, 12:36 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(elico @ Jul 19 2009, 12:31 AM)
well u dun need Hotlink 365 to maintain a year validity if u are under 25 years old... just purchase the Hotlink Youth Club pack and u can have 4 year validity (with the condition of RM10 top up per year)...

pay my deposit... purchased my Best Skin Ever from their website... all now have to do is wait BSE and iPhone to arrive... biggrin.gif
that's a valuable piece of information there, bro. thanks for sharing. what's the price of the simpack? smile.gif

EDIT: got it. RM8.80

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 19 2009, 12:44 AM
TSteikwing
post Jul 19 2009, 02:49 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@raptar_eric:
i'll update the launch date to 28th July then. thanks for the info. smile.gif

again, a reminder, this thread is solely for discussion on rate plans, guys. for any post/discussions on registrations, booking, deposits, colors of iPhone, please proceed to this thread.

keep this thread clean from discussions concerning registrations and chit-chat. our fellow moderator, davidgary73 has been moving all of your posts every single day. please be considerate. would appreciate your cooperation.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 19 2009, 02:53 PM
TSteikwing
post Jul 19 2009, 05:53 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(cksia @ Jul 19 2009, 05:29 PM)
Hi guys, i have analysed the rates quite thoroughly and i have concluded that the prepaid plan may not be as attractive as it may seem.

First, i am a light phone users who makes very few voice calls. Although i am currently a non maxis user, i have calculated that my monthly call charges under the hotlink prepaid fee structure is around the region of RM 30 per month.

Thus,
iphone 32G (prepaid) + (RM30x12)= RM2990 + RM360 = RM 3350
iphone 32G (ivalue 1) + (RM100 x12) = RM2290 + RM1200= RM RM3490

So, the difference as u can see is RM 3490 - RM 3350 = RM 140= only 4%!!, which isn't particularly attractive when you consider the massive 333 minutes of call minutes that comes with ivalue 1.

What do you think?
well, that's in money terms. i think the main reason maxis offering this prepaid plan is to cater to those who wanted to get an iPhone but not willing to switch to postpaid or for those who just wanted to buy it outright (w/o contracts).

and for those where their calls usage is less and SMS a lot, prepaid is definitely a better go. smile.gif
TSteikwing
post Jul 20 2009, 12:44 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@elico:
the whole iValue plans caters to those who calls a lot and utilise data on their iPhones. therefore, SMS usage is not included. i think those who SMS & call usage are in the moderate level, should take up for iData or Hotlink.

there's no point getting iValue when you hardly use up to those stated free minutes for calls and get charged extra for SMS. smile.gif

@tink:
glad that you're back! the thread is lost without you. biggrin.gif
TSteikwing
post Jul 20 2009, 03:22 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@1337n00b:

> Get the Hotlink Youth Club simpack at RM8.80 if you're under 25 and you'll get 4 years validity (with minimum top up of RM10 per year) or
> Get a normal Hotlink simpack, subscribe to Hotlink 365 (maintain prepaid line validity for a year) for:
Subscription is RM33 (one time) + RM30 (min top-up within 1st 6 months) = RM63
**Both will ensure your prepaid line will be valid 24/7 to receive the 500mb data bundle!

@claudio:
yes. it would be a waste! data usage is essential for iPhone.

which plan did you went for? even the prepaid plan comes with 500MB of free data usage per month for a year.

Data Usage:
> Is iData/iValue's 500MB data bundle sufficient for casual surfing?
- Yes. Based on feedback from few forummers, Facebook, YouYube, IM, Surfing, Apps download and updates take up roughly 500MB per month. Just an estimation though. If you're an heavy user on downloads and YouTube, do take up higher capacity data bundle.
(Note that the allocated data per month is fixed for every month and cannot be carried forward)

do read up the CAQ sections on the first page alright? all the critical and helpful information are there.

and like what tinkberbel has mentioned, it all boils down to your usage. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 20 2009, 03:24 PM
TSteikwing
post Jul 20 2009, 03:30 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(lucas_lik @ Jul 20 2009, 03:26 PM)
I saw from here that the launching date is 28/7. But went to Maxis Center in Miri, they say is not true and will stick at 31/7. How come like that?
raptar_eric: Yesterday, 03:27 PM
For all your information, 28th is the launching date for i3gs, and 31st is the collection date...launching and collection is both diff thing...

I never read that, it's the maxis centre rep that told me so, cause she is involved in the road show for the launching, but god knows where is the launching, cos i nv bother asking =)

and FYI, it has been mentioned over and over again that this thread is meant for discussion on rate plans only. all matters concerning registration, booking, launch etc. shall be discussed here.
TSteikwing
post Jul 21 2009, 12:32 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@cksia:
since those port-in customers are new, there's counterparty/credit risk. the longer the term of the contract, the higher the risk are. same goes to bank loans. Maxis might be looking at this when they draft out the T&C.

@acronyx:
if you're on prepaid currently, just subscribe to it and have fun. regarding iData subscription/switching to postpaid after a year, you don't wanna stuck in a contract after a year when Apple is refreshing the iPhone models and Maxis might be having new plans and benefits again. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 21 2009, 12:34 PM
TSteikwing
post Jul 21 2009, 09:54 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(ah1 @ Jul 21 2009, 03:18 PM)
@Ms. tinkerbel
So it will just show total amount only?. but not show date time and location for how many data usage in the bill?. I was looking forward similar features just like phone call keep track
here's a shot of my bill. i'm under RM8 for 5MB per month plan (as i'm around WiFi hotspots most of the time. tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 22 2009, 10:13 AM
TSteikwing
post Jul 21 2009, 10:02 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@tink:
edited coz the photo was too huge. fixed. biggrin.gif

and to others, the bill will just show the amount of data you have utilised for the month. no time, date or whatsoever. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 21 2009, 10:04 PM
TSteikwing
post Jul 22 2009, 10:03 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 09:21 AM)
@teikwing,
You have that information in your bill because those are over and above what you subscribed too.  For those who subscribe the RM99 package, U won't know how much you've used because there won't be indication on the bill.  If U have indication like what teikwing's bill is therefore it only means U've exceeded your 3GB usage.

@LaiN87,
Yes apparently 500MB is helluva lot.

@victorchew,
If U don't intend to use your i3GS for Internet Tethering purposes, perhaps U could even consider the iData 2 plan.

Btw does anyone know, assuming I signed up with iData 2, can I upgrade to iData 3 later on?  Is that allowed?
@tink:
good morning! biggrin.gif

anyway, regarding my data usage bill, i think the amount stated what i've utilised for the month. coz if that's the amount that i've over-used, i don't see i'm being charged for the over-usage. the amount i've paid every single month is still fixed at RM5. weird. blink.gif

EDIT:
here's the comparison of the data plan and rebate i've received:

@tink:
re-edited my post for further clarification. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 22 2009, 10:12 AM
TSteikwing
post Jul 22 2009, 10:26 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 22 2009, 10:21 AM)
@teikwing,
hMm.. perhaps the information is given for those who purchased the smaller bundles.  I'm on the RM99 plan and they don't give me the usage.  All I see is GPRS Services under Value Added Service.  Hmm.. maybe it's because our usage are like v super low so they rather not tell us cause they afraid we will downgrade plans?! Anyhow I've put in a request for my data usage - let's just see how long it'll take Maxis to give me that information.

@jqss29,
It's expected - to finance the i3GS.  I sold mine off aeons ago.

@soonwai,
Am sorry U got the wrong information but I sure hope this thread did help put things in the right perspective.  I don't think Maxis will allow a downgrade because it's never been in their policy to offer downgrades but upgrades are usually permittable. 

I will check and get back to U.  Act, I sent an email to my Insider so let's just wait for his reply biggrin.gif

Eh... Ur not suppose to give things that U don't want to ur wife! *hmph*
@tink:
yeah. maybe mine was shown due to the fact that i'm on a 'limited' plan therefore they need to state my usage, in case i went over the limit. do update here once Maxis have responded to your request. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 22 2009, 10:26 AM
TSteikwing
post Jul 22 2009, 08:36 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 22 2009, 08:11 PM)
Are you sure 28th?

I went to the Maxis Store in Jusco Sri Kembangan, they said "EARLIEST" 31st July, but maybe later in August.....

I just paid the deposit for iData 3 for 32gb iPhone
@bontotalan:
again, do read up properly. launch date and collection date is two different thing. this issue has been discussed over and over and over again.

the date was given by a sales person who will be doing the Maxis launch roadshow who attended to raptar_eric. that's what been told.

and other from discussions on rates and plans, please post all of your discussions on the another 3GS thread. (i'm surprised when you can quote what i've said without realising that)

@Deathmax:
the bolded red part is meant for your reading too.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 22 2009, 08:46 PM
TSteikwing
post Jul 22 2009, 10:06 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 22 2009, 09:53 PM)
teikwing sorry bout that....
i just came back from paying the deposit and was worried thats all

sorry again
@bontotalan:
it's okay man. don't have to apologize. just read up properly before posting next time. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 22 2009, 10:06 PM
TSteikwing
post Jul 23 2009, 12:41 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jul 22 2009, 11:12 PM)
Let's say for the iValue 1 which is at RM100 monthly and comes with free 333 minutes of local calls, I will be charged for my calls after I used up 333 minutes right? So this isn't like those commitment plans?

If I were to have a supplementary line under the iValue 1, what plan would the supplementary line be on?
QUOTE(fr33dom @ Jul 22 2009, 11:51 PM)
i know the rates will be diff from current existing, but now i m a subline....so how if i wan change and get the iValue plan??

izzit i need cancel the subline?? then take again the iValue plan???
@yongkailoon:
yes. once you're over the 333 minutes given, you'll be charged on the stated rate.

you can still have your supp lines under iValue but let's say if your supp line is under Family Plus which offers credit sharing between the main (you) and the supp previously, it's won't be valid anymore once you're on iValue. and calls you made to the supp will be not free but charged at a 20% discount on the stated iValue rate. however, calls made from the supp to you will still be free.

@fr33dom:
i'm not too sure about your case but IINM, you will need to be the primary line to take up iValue.
TSteikwing
post Jul 23 2009, 08:55 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(dan2020 @ Jul 23 2009, 07:25 PM)
Question:

If i am using iValue Plus 150,
and i contract to iData 99 for 12 months,

is i wanted to change to Postpaid or another iValue Plan (mind you, not disturbing the iData contract), is that valid?

logically speaking there doesnt seem to be a problem. Or is there?
errr i think you mean Value Plus 150 + iData 99? (there's no such "iValue Plus" plan)

Value Plus itself is already a postpaid plan. once you're tied VP 150 + iData 99 for 12 months, you can't switch/upgrade/downgrade to any other plan in that 12 months period without paying penalty fees.

do explain yourself better as i don't quite get what you mean.
TSteikwing
post Jul 24 2009, 12:27 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@tink:
yeah the info has been posted up. biggrin.gif

@avars:
i think the interest might be bank-dependant. or there might be due to inaccurate info. do confirm and post an update here. will update the first post. smile.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 24 2009, 12:30 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:49 PM