Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

Bellatrix LeStrange
post Jul 23 2010, 12:13 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Jul 23 2010, 12:00 PM)
Yes, you would have to pay something called an 'advance payment'. This amount would vary depending on the plan you choose. In your case, you'd have to pay RM 200 (for 12 months) or RM 400 (for 24 months). This advance payment will be divided equally over a period of 5 months.

This RM 100/mth plan does include calls (333 minutes worth) and SMS (100). Anything on top of that you'd have to pay more.

Hope I helped you understand it better. smile.gif
thanks mate.. i got a much clearer view now..okay, now lets say, when i go to maxis, i tell them i want ivalue 1 plan. then i have to pay RM400 on the spot, then continue paying RM100 for the next 24 month? is it?

nimrod323
post Jul 23 2010, 01:11 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Bellatrix LeStrange @ Jul 23 2010, 12:13 PM)
thanks mate.. i got a much clearer view now..okay, now lets say, when i go to maxis, i tell them i want ivalue 1 plan. then i have to pay RM400 on the spot, then continue paying RM100 for the next 24 month? is it?
so who would pay the RM1790 for the iPhone?
xaw5126
post Jul 23 2010, 01:26 PM

3,488 posts

@Bellatrix LeStrange
there's no free iPhone.

to get an iPhone from Maxis, you need to pay for 2 things on the day you get your phone. A+B. C = monthly charges, for phone bill.
A = price of iPhone.
B = advance payment.

I'm gonna use the minimums, you can check the Maxis iPhone page for more details.

A = RM2290
B = RM200
total RM2490. now, the RM200 (B) will be used to contra your first 5 Maxis bills - RM40 ... so your bill will be less by RM40 per month.

obviously, Maxis will be happier if you sign up 2 year contract for RM 250 per month... than you can adjust my A & B examples. ok? ask me in PM if you still not clear, don't ask in this thread. already 100 pages...
Bellatrix LeStrange
post Jul 23 2010, 02:52 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 23 2010, 01:26 PM)
obviously, Maxis will be happier if you sign up 2 year contract for RM 250 per month... than you can adjust my A & B examples. ok? ask me in  PM if you still not clear, don't ask in this thread. already 100 pages...
thanks a lot mate~u truly deserved the stars u got. some people here is answering a question with a question, not much icon_question.gif ..but u really helped me a lot.TQ~i know there is no free iphone that is why i asked for help here in the first place. TQ
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 23 2010, 03:51 PM

12,696 posts

So do you people reckon the ivalue 2. 24 months. iphone at RM890 a great deal or merely a good deal?

BTW, does these iphone has built-in Microsoft editor?

nimrod323
post Jul 23 2010, 03:56 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Bellatrix LeStrange @ Jul 23 2010, 02:52 PM)
thanks a lot mate~u truly deserved the stars u got. some people here is answering a question with a question, not much  icon_question.gif ..but u really helped me a lot.TQ~i know there is no free iphone that is why i asked for help here in the first place. TQ
if you actually bothered to read the Maxis FAQ, or read the iPhone buying Guide or read our simplest of responses and actually tried understanding it you would have known right away how the plan works, yet you were lazy and still wanted to be spoon fed all the way, sorry this isn't a place for you to be spoon fed, the maxis ivalue plans has been around for almost 2 years already, its nothing new, why is it so hard to pop by a maxis store and ask the CS?

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jul 23 2010, 03:57 PM
xaw5126
post Jul 23 2010, 04:04 PM

3,488 posts

dude... chill smile.gif you and I have been explaining the damn plan to people for 26 months now... still got people who get it wrong.

I'm glad BLS here got it right.

@Optiplex330
the iPhone 3G[S] 16 & 32 are being phased out for the iPhone4 16 & 32, so what you see is a clearance sale. I'd advise you to buy the new model, but its ultimately up to you.
I know that when the iPhone 3G came out with GPS built-in, I was able to navigate almost anywhere without getting lost. If I had gotten the iPhone2G at that point... I would have missed out on the full experience of what iOS2 and iOS3 could do...
deepan84
post Jul 23 2010, 04:09 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 23 2010, 03:56 PM)
if you actually bothered to read the Maxis FAQ, or read the iPhone buying Guide or read our simplest of responses and actually tried understanding it you would have known right away how the plan works, yet you were lazy and still wanted to be spoon fed all the way, sorry this isn't a place for you to be spoon fed, the maxis ivalue plans has been around for almost 2 years already, its nothing new, why is it so hard to pop by a maxis store and ask the CS?
but a forum is there for forum members to help 1 another. even if u dun feel like helpin, u shudnt stop others from helpin rite..hehe.. sweat.gif generally the plan is easy to understand. til now im stil confused wit the digi plan from the way they twist n turn the numbers.

and yea, dun buy d iphone 1st. dat wud be my advise. wait til they drop the price of 3gs. it shud be very very soon.

This post has been edited by deepan84: Jul 23 2010, 04:10 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jul 23 2010, 04:34 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 23 2010, 03:51 PM)
So do you people reckon the ivalue 2. 24 months. iphone at RM890 a great deal or merely a good deal?

BTW, does these iphone has built-in Microsoft editor?
nope, there's no built-in microsoft office editor. there are apps do to this, but i question their compatibility
xaw5126
post Jul 23 2010, 05:04 PM

3,488 posts

@dvlzplayground
yeah... I dun feel like dropping US$10 for an app like Docs to Go without testing it out myself.
DataViz made some very very good Docs to Go for the Palm OS back in the day, that was free on my TungstenT|3 ...

@Optiplex330
There's a built-in viewer for most document formats... editing is thru 3rd party apps.
nimrod323
post Jul 23 2010, 05:37 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Jul 23 2010, 04:09 PM)
but a forum is there for forum members to help 1 another. even if u dun feel like helpin, u shudnt stop others from helpin rite..hehe.. sweat.gif  generally the plan is easy to understand. til now im stil confused wit the digi plan from the way they twist n turn the numbers.

and yea, dun buy d iphone 1st. dat wud be my advise. wait til they drop the price of 3gs. it shud be very very soon.
did i ask xaw to stop helping that particular person in question? and i have known xaw for a very long time off and online. To be fair this forum has helped and has become a repository of replies and we have compiled a long buying guide for all you people who dont quite understand the plans? why is there a need for repetitive Q&A? Doesnt a forum function as an archiver of sorts too? and i have and always answered queries along with other for a very long time.
deepan84
post Jul 23 2010, 05:43 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 23 2010, 05:37 PM)
did i ask xaw to stop helping that particular person in question? and i have known xaw for a very long time off and online. To be fair this forum has helped and has become a repository of replies and we have compiled a long buying guide for all you people who dont quite understand the plans? why is there a need for repetitive Q&A? Doesnt a forum function as an archiver of sorts too? and i have and always answered queries along with other for a very long time.
i was just bein general..dun need to go all gung-ho. yup, i admit sum forumers do post repetitive questions. and wen dat happens, u get a 100page thread which is sumtimes very tough to go through. so in a way i support ur call to search 1st, but wen dat fails, sumtimes u just have to help dis new comers.. after all, we msians are a frenly helpful bunch rite icon_rolleyes.gif but if a member who registered in 2005 ask silly questions, den ofcorse its a problem. neway dats just my input smile.gif
kidz
post Jul 24 2010, 08:46 AM

23 posts

i have a question, lets say i take the ivalue plan 2. it stated that free local calls for 667mins. When u calculate the call rates of 10 sen/min it is about RM80, meaning RM75 for the internet. lets say for that month, i make local calls to maxis and other operator users, the total charges is RM155. However, i don't use the internet at all. Will i still be charged RM155 or do i still need to pay RM75 for the internet even though i don't use it at all?
intothefantasy
post Jul 24 2010, 08:52 AM

1,561 posts

if not mistaken u still need to pay even u dint use the data plan...cuz is inside the ivalue plan itself...correct me if i am wrong
kidz
post Jul 24 2010, 09:07 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jul 24 2010, 08:52 AM)
if not mistaken u still need to pay even u dint use the data plan...cuz is inside the ivalue plan itself...correct me if i am wrong
meaning i hv to pay RM155+RM75=RM230. so that's mean the talk time is equivalent to the valueplan 80?
intothefantasy
post Jul 24 2010, 09:14 AM

1,561 posts

no i think u only pay rm155 cuz the data plan and call plan is inside together with the ivalue2...only if u exceed the limit of ur data plan u will get extra charge which is i think 0.5sen for each 1kb..the free local calls only for ur family plan which means if u have any family member who sub line under u

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Jul 24 2010, 09:15 AM
dvlzplayground
post Jul 24 2010, 09:23 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ but he's exceeding the free calls

the way i understand it, ur first 667 mins of calling is free. when ur 667 mins is up, any call after that will be charged 12sen/min

so even if u didnt use data at all, u'll still pay 155 + whatever those 12sen/min adds up to

also, lets say u exceed the free 1gb data, but didnt make any calls, u stil pay rm155 + whatever the 0.5sen/kb adds up to

but take this post with a grain of salt lah. i dont own an iphone either
nimrod323
post Jul 24 2010, 09:25 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jul 24 2010, 09:14 AM)
no i think u only pay rm155 cuz the data plan and call plan is inside together with the ivalue2...only if u exceed the limit of ur data plan u will get extra charge which is i think 0.5sen for each 1kb..the free local calls only for ur family plan which means if u have any family member who sub line under u
you sure about that? last i heard the 667 is the cap, anything after that is billed at 0.15 per 30 second block? this how it works for Maxis Value plans like my plan is RM50 anything that exceeds is billed accordingly and my credit limit is RM300,after that phone get barred, while family lines are free for 20 hours of usage.
intothefantasy
post Jul 24 2010, 09:28 AM

1,561 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jul 24 2010, 09:25 AM)
you sure about that? last i heard the 667 is the cap, anything after that is billed at 0.15 per 30 second block? this how it works for Maxis Value plans like my plan is RM50 anything that exceeds is billed accordingly and my credit limit is RM300,after that phone get barred, while family lines are free for 20 hours of usage.
i am explaning to him that the free local calls only for family plan which who under his subline only

myself is not a maxis user but i heard from my fren who is a maxis user, abt the exceeding local free call charges i am not sure but exceeding the credit limit u will be barred

This post has been edited by intothefantasy: Jul 24 2010, 09:33 AM
nimrod323
post Jul 24 2010, 09:34 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jul 24 2010, 09:28 AM)
i am explaning to him that the free local calls only for family plan which who under his subline only
myself is not a maxis user but i heard from my fren who is a maxis user, abt the exceeding local free call charges i am not sure but exceeding the call charges u will be barred
that is for anyone on any telco, the family line things follows their previous value plan cap ie RM50 equates to 20 hours of usage which is free. Source: im infront of the gardens Maxis Centre

128 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 >Top

0.0182sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:25 AM