Training time length, When to call it quits

TSst01
post Jul 5 2009, 10:42 PM, updated 17y ago

44 posts

Hi, i'm in my late 30's, and I have been training for the past 4 years. and off & on for the past 15.

my workout consist of the following splits:-

day 1 - Chest
day 2 - Shoulders
day 3 - Back
day 4 - Arms
day 5 - Legs
day 6 & 7 - Family day (rest)

I take every set to failure (8-12), and 1 minute rest between sets & 2 minutes rest between exercises.

My question is, whenever I reach approx 45-50 minute mark, which is my 6th exercise, I tend to lose the pump. I do not feel my muscles bloating anymore, though I can continue for another 2-3 exercises (20-30 min.)
I have a feeling that to push anymore is counterproductive, but sometimes I just can't stop.

Have anybody experienced this?

What are your thoughts?

bata
post Jul 5 2009, 10:56 PM

3,726 posts

u lose pump inside the gym? lol...never had that.
usually they stay until i take shower, longer if i took NO supplements.

Chow
-Dan
post Jul 5 2009, 11:44 PM

4,382 posts

Never experienced the pump going away. It usually lasts for a good 30 minutes to 1 hour after leaving the gym.
~LynX~
post Jul 6 2009, 01:46 AM

264 posts

I work out for 2 hrs per session, the pump keeps increasing until the last set and it remains like that for more than an hour afterwards.

Maybe you should check your form? I notice that if I use poor form for any exercise, I won't feel my muscles getting as much of a 'hit' when using good form.

jamis
post Jul 6 2009, 11:40 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Did u eat enuf for ur pre workout?
pizzaboy
post Jul 6 2009, 12:31 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(~LynX~ @ Jul 6 2009, 01:46 AM)
I work out for 2 hrs per session, the pump keeps increasing until the last set and it remains like that for more than an hour afterwards.

Maybe you should check your form? I notice that if I use poor form for any exercise, I won't feel my muscles getting as much of a 'hit' when using good form.
QUOTE(jamis @ Jul 6 2009, 11:40 AM)
Did u eat enuf for ur pre workout?
Word.
I've actually never heard about people losing the pump in the gym. I just know that some people never getting teh pump in the first place.
TSst01
post Jul 6 2009, 01:53 PM

44 posts

I make sure I use strict form for all my sets, I do my reps in a slow and controlled manner, i make sure i can hold and maintain a rep at whatever point.

It's not that i do not get a pump, it's just that after a certain point during a workout, the fullness just slowly start to fade. I even sweat less then.

I'm wondering if I should push on after that point, or it will do more harm than good.
pizzaboy
post Jul 6 2009, 02:22 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(st01 @ Jul 6 2009, 01:53 PM)
I make sure I use strict form for all my sets, I do my reps in a slow and controlled manner, i make sure i can hold and maintain a rep at whatever point.

It's not that i do not get a pump, it's just that after a certain point during a workout, the fullness just slowly start to fade. I even sweat less then.

I'm wondering if I should push on after that point, or it will do more harm than good.
Quit unless you know what you're doing. I don't know how it is for you, but in sports, we generally stop when we slow down. This ensure that our bodies do not turn slow. Your activity dictates how your physique becomes, slow or fast.

In your case, I'd drop out the unnecessary stuff like excessive front raises, or calf raises, and just stick with the compounds. Then between 8-10 weeks, I'd switch to isolation first to pre-exhaust the targeted muscles and then move to compounds. Perhaps the changing of the rep ranges, and moving to a periodization styled routine would help your body adapt for the better as well. Also if you were my clients, I may changing the tempo of your lifts. Perhaps put a little more emphasis on your eccentric phase to stretch out your muscle fibers.
shanecross
post Jul 6 2009, 02:40 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(st01 @ Jul 6 2009, 02:53 PM)

I think this is something common. We have our bad days at times.

However if the above isn't , its probably the combination of your exercise/movements.

Do something like this.....if you are on lat raises( example )..a mate gave me this idea.

do 5lbs x 15 reps
then drop to probably 10lbs x 10 reps for like 3 sets or so.
then end the particular exercise with 5lbs x 15 reps again...something like that...it all depends on how you fix the figures in...no definite..

is that HVT? maybe ? who cares, it might work for ya....

Sweating might be very subjective, it relates alot to your surrounding as well....heck, in winter i'd sweat less...but the intensity is still the same..don't worry, you'd still release toxin/nitrogenous waste via penis.

Even simple enough...maybe its just time to change your workout scheme.....?

w/r
iamyuanwu
post Jul 6 2009, 02:42 PM

2,425 posts

Is it recently like this?
Perhaps a week off is what you need.

Sounds like your muscles stopped firing to me.
Probably excessive sets of going to failure for too many months? <--- I'm only hypothesizing, since you said sweat less.

BTW, you sure you got minum cukup air or not? And got sleep enough of not?
dokidoki
post Jul 6 2009, 02:47 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

i go to gym workout for 90mins, cardio + weight. i feel like recently i have this lose pump symptom as well if i didnt eat enough carb for pre- workout. i just feel like my heart beat wouldnt go up more than 150...if i got eat proper pre-workout..then i can hit 170 anytime..
shanecross
post Jul 6 2009, 02:49 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jul 6 2009, 03:42 PM)
Is it recently like this?
Perhaps a week off is what you need.

Sounds like your muscles stopped firing to me.
Probably excessive sets of going to failure for too many months? <--- I'm only hypothesizing, since you said sweat less.

BTW, you sure you got minum cukup air or not? And got sleep enough of not?
I agree on the laying off for a week or so simply jut for rest. We all need a break...

tongue.gif... i doubt muscles can stop firing (stop firing as in inactive i suppose?) unless you're dead...if muscles stop firing...heck ya can't probably move now can ya? biggrin.gif

But if you still feel like you need to get some activity done...do some cross-training during that week off...Who knows...your conditioning is just off...and thats where cross-training helps.. explore possibilities...
iamyuanwu
post Jul 6 2009, 02:59 PM

2,425 posts

Ahahahah! Shane. X^D LOL

No lah, what I mean stop firing means that the muscles is like the muscles doesn't respond well to the signals from the brain.

I don't know lah, I just bantai and see if the hypothesis is correct. =P
pizzaboy
post Jul 6 2009, 03:02 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jul 6 2009, 02:49 PM)
I agree on the laying off for a week or so simply jut for rest. We all need a break...

tongue.gif... i doubt muscles can stop firing (stop firing as in inactive i suppose?) unless you're dead...if muscles stop firing...heck ya can't probably move now can ya? biggrin.gif

But if you still feel like you need to get some activity done...do some cross-training during that week off...Who knows...your conditioning is just off...and thats where cross-training helps.. explore possibilities...
yehhhh!!
Some cross training gonna help you pull 335!
kotmj
post Jul 6 2009, 07:49 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(st01 @ Jul 6 2009, 01:53 PM)

Yeah, I totally understand this phenomenon. How about trying this for a remedy: Take a pre, during, and post workout drink, each of the following composition:

Fast-absorbing protein 0.4g for each kg of bodyweight + glucolin 0.8 g for each kg of bodyweight + water

Sip, don't chug, on the during workout drink between sets. Pre workout 10-30 mins before workout. Post workout immediately after workout. If you do BB workouts with huge volume, increase the during workout dosage. Maybe double it.

Added on July 6, 2009, 8:03 pmFor fast-absorbing protein, you'll need something that contains hydrolyzed whey protein. ON Pro Complex, for instance. If you're taking just whey, you should consume your pre-WO drink an hour beforehand, and keep sipping it until you start working out. You can drop the pre-WO drink if you're to have a meal before WO, say an hour or two before.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 6 2009, 08:03 PM
pizzaboy
post Jul 6 2009, 09:25 PM

9,495 posts

With all you guys replies.....I think I know how to fix this. Time to find my brother (He's my favorite lab rat)
CupCakeGuy
post Jul 22 2009, 05:02 PM

39 posts

guys i do brench press till i have no energy like my arms start to shake

should i use lower lbs for it?

by using 2.5kg do 100 times and 3 to 5 sets per day is it useful?

mofonyx
post Jul 22 2009, 05:07 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

lol 100 times?
-Dan
post Jul 22 2009, 05:08 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(CupCakeGuy @ Jul 22 2009, 05:02 PM)
guys i do brench press till i have no energy like my arms start to shake

should i use lower lbs for it?

by using 2.5kg do 100 times and 3 to 5 sets per day is it useful?
You go ahead and let us know your results.
lcsum
post Jul 22 2009, 05:11 PM

282 posts

just ignore this cupcakeguy....he is posting nonsense!

0.0156sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:55 PM