176 Pages « < 166 167 168 169 170 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

nanadeadbeat
post Aug 11 2011, 01:47 PM

244 posts

hi, any vet for hedgehog intro beside dr. J and dr. Yeoh?
sowhon
post Aug 11 2011, 02:38 PM

68 posts

will be getting my first hedgie after work today....can't wait for it...

ddr3
post Aug 11 2011, 03:09 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

QUOTE(sowhon @ Aug 11 2011, 02:38 PM)
will be getting my first hedgie after work today....can't wait for it...
welcom to the Hedgie family, later post up sum pictars ya rclxms.gif
sowhon
post Aug 11 2011, 03:27 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Aug 11 2011, 03:09 PM)
welcom to the Hedgie family, later post up sum pictars ya  rclxms.gif
from SP, studied in UPM and now in JB? wow....
i am about the same, from PJ, studied in UPM and now in Penang....hehe

sure will post some photos when the new boy settled down..... btw, its for my wife.....
getting her a new pet... biggrin.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 11 2011, 03:27 PM

18 posts

I would like to warn all hedgehog owners out there about feeding their hedgehogs large-sized kibbles.

I feed Chubster Royal Canin Fit 32 + Royal Canin Kitten 36.

user posted image + user posted image

I was giving her treats yesterday when I noticed she was 'coughing' repeatedly. I had a feeling that she was choking on something because I've read about it on a hedgehog forum about the risk of hedgehogs choking before.

I was just about to go help her out when she finally coughed up what she had been choking on, which was a RC32 kibble.

I thought it was small & safe enough for her to eat without choking.
Apparently not.

Read up on how to help your hedgie on this page so you'll be prepared in case it happens to you.

When I fed her this morning, I manually broke each kibble in half, one by one, so she won't have to go through that experience again.
olivur
post Aug 11 2011, 03:36 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

just out of curiosity, when your hog eats her kibbles, does she chew on it ._.?

mine actually chews on each kibble before swallowing (i could tell when she's eating cause it's usually noisy as she crunches down on each kibble)
TeliLeti
post Aug 11 2011, 03:37 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Aug 11 2011, 03:36 PM)
just out of curiosity, when your hog eats her kibbles, does she chew on it ._.?

mine actually chews on each kibble before swallowing (i could tell when she's eating cause it's usually noisy as she crunches down on each kibble)
Yes, she does.
I think she tried to crunch down on this one but accidentally swallowed it.
olivur
post Aug 11 2011, 03:49 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

ouch, must've been scary ._.

also if you take your hogs out onto the garden or lawn, be careful on what they're sniffing on.

once i thought lil was just chewing on grass to annoint herself as usual up to a point i heard crunching sounds? she was gnawing on a pebble -_-
ix3Rukia
post Aug 11 2011, 04:17 PM

18 posts

Apparently my little Hibari has car sick/motion sickness and will vomit.

I brought Hibari to school today and she vomited in the box D;. And soon , everyone wanted to have a hedgehog as a pet~

"AWW SHE SO CUTE"

Even my scary Bm teacher also said she cute biggrin.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 4:19 pm
QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 10 2011, 07:03 PM)
Lol, mama hedgie doesn't mind me taking them from the nest everyday.
As long as I bring her treats, she's happy.

Plus, I want to start getting them used to human contact. smile.gif
I don't want to give away/sell bad-tempered hedgehogs, like Huffster.

I've read that there's no such thing as not handling them before you give them to another owner because you don't want the hedgehog to bond to you.
That's why I ended up with a really bad-tempered hedgehog.
Because the breeder didn't try to tame an already bad-tempered hedgehog from young.

----

Their quills are kind of sharp but their nails are sharper.  laugh.gif
The quills are still soft though, like the bristles on a soft toothbrush.
same as mine lor! We got from the same breeder , he said about hedgehog bonding to him so he dont play with them. The guy with spects right? Forum name tanjesper something like that. My female so fierce and bad tempered too , so we in the same boat la haha..

And i think my little hibari fat already.. everyone calling her fat... what to do? She refuse to exercise , shud i cut down on food? Cause i leave food for her to excess it for 24/7

This post has been edited by ix3Rukia: Aug 11 2011, 04:33 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 11 2011, 04:34 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Aug 11 2011, 03:49 PM)
ouch, must've been scary ._.

also if you take your hogs out onto the garden or lawn, be careful on what they're sniffing on.

once i thought lil was just chewing on grass to annoint herself as usual up to a point i heard crunching sounds? she was gnawing on a pebble sleep.gif
It was. I had a mini heart attack right there and then. Phew!
I don't have a garden. unsure.gif
Poor girl. Did she chip a tooth? D:

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 11 2011, 04:17 PM)

I brought Hibari to school today and she vomited in the box D;. And soon , everyone wanted to have a hedgehog as a pet~

"AWW SHE SO CUTE"

Even my scary Bm  teacher also said she cute biggrin.gif

same as mine lor! We got from the same breeder , he said about hedgehog bonding to him so he dont play with them. The guy with spects right? Forum name tanjesper something like that. My female so fierce and bad tempered too , so we in the same boat la haha..
Wow, you could bring your pets to school? shocking.gif
I got Chubster from him because he didn't want her anymore after he bred her.
I think your little Hibari is Chubster's kid. Lol.

She refuses to exercise? Hmm, try cutting down on the food that you give her then. 2 tbsp of food would do.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 11 2011, 04:35 PM
ddr3
post Aug 11 2011, 04:46 PM

1,459 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Aug 11 2011, 04:17 PM)

"AWW SHE SO CUTE"

Even my scary Bm  teacher also said she cute biggrin.gif

And i think my little hibari fat already.. everyone calling her fat... what to do? She refuse to exercise , shud i cut down on food? Cause i leave food for her to excess it for 24/7
which school r u in? so great can bring pet 2 school.....

Added on August 11, 2011, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 11 2011, 03:27 PM)
I would like to warn all hedgehog owners out there about feeding their hedgehogs large-sized kibbles.

I feed Chubster Royal Canin Fit 32 + Royal Canin Kitten 36.

user posted image + user posted image

I was giving her treats yesterday when I noticed she was 'coughing' repeatedly. I had a feeling that she was choking on something because I've read about it on a hedgehog forum about the risk of hedgehogs choking before.

I was just about to go help her out when she finally coughed up what she had been choking on, which was a RC32 kibble.

I thought it was small & safe enough for her to eat without choking.
Apparently not.

Read up on how to help your hedgie on this page so you'll be prepared in case it happens to you.

When I fed her this morning, I manually broke each kibble in half, one by one, so she won't have to go through that experience again.
mine has same expo as u, bt mine is 8 in 1 ultra....swt...thank god urs didnt has any trouble, usually the star shaped can caused choking.....the ultra 8 in 1 also in star shaped.... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by ddr3: Aug 11 2011, 04:50 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 11 2011, 04:52 PM

18 posts

Chubs didn't choke on the star-shaped one. She choked on the round, flat one. sad.gif

RC36 is very small so I don't think she can choke on that one.
ck888
post Aug 11 2011, 05:02 PM

Today news:
Licences a must soon for all who keep exotic animals
1 hedgehog 1 licence?
How true is it?!!

This post has been edited by ck888: Aug 11 2011, 05:03 PM
TeliLeti
post Aug 11 2011, 05:03 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ck888 @ Aug 11 2011, 05:02 PM)
Today news:
Licences a must soon for all who keep exotic animals

How true is it?!!

Exo
I read that on the front page of The Star this morning.

I'm planning on going to a pet store that sells hedgehogs soon & ask if they need permit or not. smile.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 11 2011, 06:29 PM
shukri77
post Aug 11 2011, 06:12 PM

24 posts

http://www.wildlife.gov.my/

somebody please ask about the license here...
ddr3
post Aug 11 2011, 06:42 PM

1,459 posts

Will it be very complicated to apply for license or juz submit a paper then your part is finished? shocking.gif
TeliLeti
post Aug 11 2011, 06:49 PM

18 posts

Does it matter though?
As long as you get to keep your pet at the end of the day, the amount of money & time you have to put into getting that permit would be worth it, don't you think? smile.gif

I just hope they don't say that hedgehogs are illegal in Malaysia like it is in Singapore.

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:09 pmI caught videos of the hoglets annointing in the nest. I didn't know they start annointing so young.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Aug 11 2011, 08:09 PM
ix3Rukia
post Aug 11 2011, 10:12 PM

18 posts

No i could not bring pet to school , my dicipline teacher was like what is a hedgehog? coz my friend was asking me about my hedgie and i said , this!! -flips open box-

Teacher : OMG SO CUTE... I WANNA RAMPAS...ARGHH.. Neverind , later u can put ur hedgehog in Pn . Jaya air-cond room if you want. Your hedgehog will love air cond.

SMK Desa Perdana.

Anyways , Hedgehog are NOT exotic animals, there is no need for license.
Tomorrow bringing Kitten to school tomorrow hehe. Apparently cat downstair gave birth , has kittens , asked my scary BM teacher and she said she wanted one! Yay.
olivur
post Aug 11 2011, 10:16 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

telileti - i certainly hope not ._. i heard the gnawing sound once and i quickly bolted towards her and picked her up and tickled her lower jaw so she'd let go of the pebble. she seems to be chewing fine so i hope no damage was done :s

ix3rukia - get, a wheel!

ninja edit*

also, if perhilitan is as troublesome and incompetent as sirim, we're in a LOT of fun if we've to register our hogs.

This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 11 2011, 10:18 PM
ix3Rukia
post Aug 11 2011, 10:23 PM

18 posts

come we go jabatan to party with our hogs if really need apply license. hahaha

176 Pages « < 166 167 168 169 170 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:16 PM