113 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Everything About Blu-ray Movies, Blu-ray media discussions

Lone*Wolf
post Jul 26 2009, 01:46 PM

1,442 posts

I also was thinking of starting my BD collection locally, ie via Speedy, Ezy, etc. But was sceptical at first due to their DVD standards. Locally available DVDs are appalling - not cheap, single-layered (PQ sucks), loaded with ads and no special features. Honestly, I am not surprised that the local DVD pirates are thriving.

With that in mind, I tread their BDs very carefully. Even their sales staff aren't sure where the BDs come from. Its true that some are imported (but fr where? HK? some even say Thailand!). Plus their BDs most of the time lose out on packaging and features, as compared to UK/US versions. But the worse thing is the price. Even with the current Speedy B2F1, its still RM100 per title.

For a peace of mind, I am now getting BDs fr US and UK. No worries on PQ/AQ, feature-packed (if any) and sometimes a nicer package. All these extra for much lower price! LYN Bros kianwee or arj, among others, can help if its too much of a hassle to order yourself. Service also better than the local outlets tongue.gif

The only advantage locally available BDs has is the higher possibility of Asian subtitles, eg. Chinese subtitles.
anfieldude
post Jul 26 2009, 01:56 PM

3,858 posts

Watched 2 movies lately.

7 years in Tibet and From Russia with Love.

Both decent PQ and AQ. 7 years in Tibet is actually a pretty decent movie. Not a big fan of Brad Pitt, but turned out ok. No real complains abt the PQ and AQ, very competent.

From Russia with Love surprised me with its PQ. Its a 1963 movie and the BD is really very good. They cleaned up all the dirt and scratches and the AQ is very clean with no pops and crackles. Very good restoration. DTS-HDMA was also not bad, surrounds not used too much but the fronts are pretty active.
terranova
post Jul 26 2009, 03:49 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(toratorabluray @ Jul 26 2009, 09:03 AM)
US Fearless only have Mandarin DTS-HD MA 5.1 compared to HK 7.1

Hence HK version always more expensive. Another example would be Dragon Tiger Gate
Edit: blush.gif already answered by other member. paiseh
THanks for the reply. I bought the US version. Coming to HK end of the month?
fadthil
post Jul 26 2009, 04:24 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Went to $PEED¥ @ 1Utama and would like to share these:

- The Transformers BD sold here is Asian Region A: there's no white sticker, there's no transparent slipcase with title on it (title was printed on the cover sleeve itself instead)

- Saw three Fast & Furious series BDs sold separately for RM119.90 each but there's a HVN logo at the back (huh?? S'pore or M'sia made maybe.... tongue.gif )

- Saw a few BD titles from US (white top sticker), Canada, UK (wif rating logo & thicker box), Japan and mostly HK...

- Spider-Man 3 BD; while it's actually Region A US, it didn't have the white sticker... why you ask? It's because they bought from the boxset (which is cheaper and each disc was not sealed in the boxset) and they sold it separately wif unbelievable marked-up price of RM179.00!!! That's a smart-ass business... go $PEEDO!

- The selected B2G1 titles were stacked on a separate rack than the normal-priced ones
samlee860407
post Jul 26 2009, 04:36 PM

4,631 posts

hm....watch sin city last nite, really not to my liking tongue.gif
ar188
post Jul 26 2009, 04:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jul 26 2009, 04:24 PM)
Went to $PEED¥ @ 1Utama and would like to share these:

- The Transformers BD sold here is Asian Region A: there's no white sticker, there's no transparent slipcase with title on it (title was printed on the cover sleeve itself instead)

- Saw three Fast & Furious series BDs sold separately for RM119.90 each but there's a HVN logo at the back (huh?? S'pore or M'sia made maybe....  tongue.gif )

- Saw a few BD titles from US (white top sticker), Canada, UK (wif rating logo & thicker box), Japan and mostly HK...

- Spider-Man 3 BD; while it's actually Region A US, it didn't have the white sticker... why you ask? It's because they bought from the boxset (which is cheaper and each disc was not sealed in the boxset) and they sold it separately wif unbelievable marked-up price of RM179.00!!! That's a smart-ass business... go $PEEDO!

- The selected B2G1 titles were stacked on a separate rack than the normal-priced ones
most importantly are the expected US imported ones, sealed and with all the security stickers intact? laugh.gif or are those BDs free to be taken for a test spin at anytime?
fadthil
post Jul 26 2009, 04:46 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jul 26 2009, 04:36 PM)
But I bet the PQ is flawless...
richard912
post Jul 26 2009, 04:48 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

haha....Sin city is not for everyone
Lone*Wolf
post Jul 26 2009, 05:42 PM

1,442 posts

Sin City is awesome! Great artistic value thumbup.gif Seeing Frodo get chopped - priceless!

It also has one of the better bonus feature, the entire movie WITHOUT the green screens!

And for those kids who were drooling over Diane Kruger, you guys haven't seen anything yet ... whistling.gif

richard912
post Jul 26 2009, 05:44 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

I just jumped in to watch disc 2 after I got mine
samlee860407
post Jul 26 2009, 07:36 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jul 26 2009, 05:42 PM)
Sin City is awesome!  Great artistic value  thumbup.gif  Seeing Frodo get chopped - priceless!

It also has one of the better bonus feature, the entire movie WITHOUT the green screens!

And for those kids who were drooling over Diane Kruger, you guys haven't seen anything yet ...  whistling.gif
got more?? flex.gif flex.gif
aiman04
post Jul 26 2009, 09:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Peter Jackson: LOTR Extended Edition Next Year.

Thursday night at Comic-Con, Steve 'Frosty' Weintraub from Collider.com was invited to a small gathering of both print and online journalists after attending the first screening of “District 9″ (produced by Peter Jackson). It was an informal setting and there was no quotes. He talked about “The Hobbit”, “District 9″, “The Lovely Bones” and the “Lord of the Rings” Blu-rays.

Before the evening started tonight, I was one of the early people at the informal gathering. Since I knew I wouldn’t have much time with Peter on my own, I asked the one thing every fan of “Lord of the Rings” wants to know - when are his amazing movies going to hit Blu-ray, and would the extended editions be included with the theatrica,l or would they be a separate purchase.

Here’s the bad news.

He told me the first editions to hit Blu-ray are going to be the theatrical versions and a year later we’d get the extended editions. The only good news is he told me the studio has started talking to him about doing some new extras for the Blu-ray extended editions. No word on exactly what the new stuff might be.

Peter Jackson really has such a bad taste for food. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 26 2009, 09:33 PM
hackwire
post Jul 26 2009, 09:28 PM

4,256 posts

is it illegal to run a Rental business for Blu ray online? I saw quite a couple of people doing this business in low yat? Are they against the copyright law?
terranova
post Jul 26 2009, 10:04 PM

1,161 posts

I just watched Highlander. It's funny how your mind play tricks on u. On rewatching it just now, what i remembered as a great movie now feels and looks so so cheesy. my wife agreed. lol.

pq and aq so so only on this blu-ray. grain lovers will enjoy this.

On another note, just re-watched The Eagles Farewell Concert on hd-dvd. Wonder when we'll get this re-released on blu-ray.
zerorulez
post Jul 26 2009, 10:15 PM

1,251 posts

weird movie.. but i love it... biggrin.gif u sud watch Dark City.. rclxms.gif
jchong
post Jul 26 2009, 10:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 26 2009, 09:28 PM)
is it illegal to run a Rental business for Blu ray online? I saw quite a couple of people doing this business in low yat? Are they against the copyright law?
Strictly speaking, rental of films without the authorisation of the copyright owner is a copyright infringement. See section 13(1)(f) of the Copyright Act 1987. This wasn't always the case, but it was introduced by an amendment that came into force in 1999.

Of course like many other things in Malaysia, enforcement is a totally different issue.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jul 26 2009, 10:41 PM
hackwire
post Jul 26 2009, 10:47 PM

4,256 posts

So it's illegal to rent blu ray online especially in this forum.
i am certain that most members here are not aware of the infringement and the legality of it. They could end up paying penalties if they are caught red handed especially the enforcer in movie industry . finas don't care much.

moomoos
post Jul 26 2009, 11:05 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(andychucky @ Jul 24 2009, 11:01 PM)
The titles that ezy video have for RM119 are selling at RM72, while those with RM 99 (warners bros and Fox) are selling at RM68-RM79 at KLAV shw.
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jul 25 2009, 10:27 PM)
Congrats on the Kung Fu Panda then, one of the best BD showcase smile.gif  RM96?  I checked on Fri and it was RM99  doh.gif

2011 for LOTR confirm?  Good also la, can save up a bit ...
Its a B2G1 dealright??? so did they lower the price from 159 to (76-89)
so buy 89 X 2 =178 FOC lagi satu, i dis a browse thru only, bini panggil makan so have leave JW, just imagine 2 days in JW also cannot finish visiting all... mad.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 25 2009, 10:44 AM)
KL you just need to plan your trip lor or get your smarttags ready... example instead of fed.hwy, use the tolled roads in PJ lor.. or smart tunnel if heading to jln ampang etc.. or duke to setapak for example.. no problem wan..  laugh.gif

driving in ipoh also can be a hassle, super long traffic lights at places (the road no load sensor or what?)  laugh.gif
or at round abouts dem slow wan, they dunno how to merge into the roundabouts smoothly.. the oncoming car so far away also still waiting for them to clear before moving..  laugh.gif
Yeah,the outer ring road,always use that,
i also hate drivers driving slow,taking their sweet time, similar cases every where, mad.gif they really STOP... LOOK ...n GO
also hate people (locals) dont remember traffic lights timing/sequence
yesterday, was heading to the Embassy Road(jln Perkeliling) thru Affin BAnk, and its only a T junction, the on comimg cars to me have stopped, and this guy KL plate,was about to turn right to Embassy road also, traffic lights facing him turned from red to nothing (green light spoilt), to me i said, jalan la,your turn la bro, Mine is red lights, on coming cars stopped,must be his turn liao ma.... then my turn i jalan ( wat la locals dont know the lights sequence,me being outstation, also can read the sequence le...

QUOTE(robinlim @ Jul 26 2009, 11:52 AM)
worst still is those copies are returned by customers tongue.gif
You are lucky if you get returned ones' what happen, if US region Disc being switched with HK....??? hmm.gif

robinlim
post Jul 26 2009, 11:11 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 26 2009, 11:29 AM)
If u see BD at Speedy with the white barcoded seal, it will cost more than their normal selling price of 149 or 119.
Imported Spiderman selling for 179. The trilogy selling for 399 sweat.gif

I believed what you said but I don't quite take it of what claimed by Speedy. Open the box to check the disc? What a lame excuse. The seal is there for a reason to show buyer the box has not been tampered with. If what they claimed is true, why some BD like the Spiderman I mentioned they didn't open the seal? It makes sense right?
The Kungfu Panda I bought at RM96 still has the seal on it laugh.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Jul 26 2009, 11:11 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 26 2009, 11:05 PM)
Its a B2G1 dealright??? so did they lower the price from 159 to (76-89)
so buy 89 X 2 =178 FOC lagi satu, i dis a browse thru only, bini panggil makan so have leave JW, just imagine 2 days in JW also cannot finish visiting all... mad.gif 
Where got B2F1 there lah? Unless last day, last minute got... ?

All prices are for single titles.

113 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:49 PM