Everything About Blu-ray Movies, Blu-ray media discussions

jchong
post Jul 1 2009, 07:48 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 30 2009, 10:50 PM)
also talking about bolt... i just realized it is 6.1 DTS HD MA biggrin.gif

hehehe paiseh ... duno it is printing error on the cover??
Does it also say 6.1 in the audio setup menu?
jchong
post Jul 1 2009, 11:07 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 1 2009, 09:15 AM)
last night 1st time watch BoB part2 using Dune + Marantz + Axiom + Orb
What movie is BoB?
jchong
post Jul 1 2009, 11:36 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 1 2009, 09:15 AM)
last night 1st time watch BoB part2 using Dune + Marantz + Axiom + Orb

The result.....REALISTIC!!!!

the part where the airplane heading to the drop zone....can fell the sound of the airplane enveloping by moving air....I feel like I'm in the plane myself....a lil vibration here & there.....can really feel it...

the combat scene....the bullet hitting the ground & bounce off metal are awesome...."buoooop...tob" in the ground & cling klang off the metal....

Nice......thumbup.gif
Glad your HT experience is better! That's what it's all about isn't it and also makes it feel worthwhile to have invested so much in this hobby of ours.
jchong
post Jul 3 2009, 10:38 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Jul 3 2009, 10:32 AM)
notworthy.gif
the only people i know in malaysia that do not own/have not owned any pirated stuff are those working in government. hmm.gif
Are u sure they are that clean?
jchong
post Jul 7 2009, 09:56 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Jul 7 2009, 09:09 AM)
hmmm....wondering if my panny BD60player is region free...
I doubt it. Normally all BD players from the big brands are not region free.
jchong
post Jul 7 2009, 11:08 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jul 7 2009, 10:37 AM)
Then it's time to get this...

OPPO BDP-83; REGION FREE BLU-RAY DISC PLAYER  nod.gif
Actually even for Oppo it is not region free from the factory. However you can do a hardware hack to make it region free. Some shops like SLT will do the hack for u (extra charge of course) and you can buy the hacked Oppo from them. If you buy direct from Oppo it is not hacked.

Even for other BD players there are third parties out there who can do or sell the hardware hack.
jchong
post Jul 7 2009, 03:03 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jul 7 2009, 02:28 PM)
Dats right, but then again you wouldn't want to buy direct from Oppo ie., it'll be from US... then there's other issue like 'stepping down' power and etc. to consider.

I think the Oppo BDP is worldwide voltage compatible.

But when BD titles like HellBoy 2; where the 2nd disc is a DVD, I can't play 'em on my PS3... have to switch to my "non-upscaler" DVDp, which is a letdown....  doh.gif
One way around this is to get an upscaling AVR then whatever source you plug in (DVD, Astro) can be upscaled.
jchong
post Jul 7 2009, 03:18 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(fadthil @ Jul 7 2009, 03:15 PM)
Oh izit? Even if my DVDp connected without HDMI?
Yeah, even without HDMI the AVR can upscale but maybe not up to 1080p. There will be some limitation like only up to 1080i or 720p. Read the manual and see.
jchong
post Jul 10 2009, 03:47 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 10 2009, 02:53 PM)
need to use 3D glasses ke. not dizzy later meh? rclxub.gif
Yup needs 3D glasses. Dizziness depends on the movie and the scene. The attraction of 3D is how objects pop right in front of your face.
jchong
post Jul 16 2009, 10:41 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 16 2009, 07:51 PM)
there are two in ipoh

1- C & O in ipoh garden south malaysia distributor for Onix stuff and Black Timber
2- Audio Art, one of the agent for marten Design speakers off jalan Pasir putih
There's also Dong Fong in Fair Park, Ipoh.

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 16 2009, 10:14 PM)
Got it liao  brows.gif
speedy jusco Kinta City Ipoh

the joker salesperson, dont even know of such a thing, when i search, and found it only they say got meh.... seems ony 1 stock in whole shop with

- sticker unbeatable price RM79.90 
- IMPORTED by Warner Bros
- U censor board cert
So you got the last copy of the Michael Buble @ 79.90? What is the difference between that and the RM60 one? Is it imported vs local?
jchong
post Jul 17 2009, 10:48 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Jul 17 2009, 10:18 AM)
Pusing got high end AV shop? HQ somemore in such a small place? which part?  shocking.gif
been there so many times didn't realize at all  rclxub.gif
Yeah, surprising isn't it? Actually I heard that C&O the original HQ is Kampar (I think). Surprised me also.
jchong
post Jul 17 2009, 03:02 PM

5,989 posts

Keeps the customers going back to Amazon to check and check...
jchong
post Jul 18 2009, 04:04 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 18 2009, 03:36 PM)
Please confirm we're Region A? Am getting someone to get Baraka from the US. Thanks.
Yes, we are Region A. I've watched Baraka (US edition) using local BD player.
jchong
post Jul 21 2009, 07:03 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 21 2009, 01:57 PM)
Checked Valykrie out for a test. Great AQ expecially the plane attack on Tom Cruise, very good surrounds and LFE. PQ was also impressive. Remember that it is reflecting an era and it will not be razor sharp.
Heard that some of the explosion scenes in Valkyrie are tremendous!
jchong
post Jul 21 2009, 11:20 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 21 2009, 11:13 PM)
but mostly are they going to be truHD or DTS HD MA?
Theoretically both should be the same right since both are lossless?

Like zip vs rar, once uncompressed the content is the same.
jchong
post Jul 22 2009, 09:31 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 21 2009, 11:27 PM)
but diff codec wor

ya ka?? i tot it is about M-PCM vs BIT STIM

but bit stim really sounds much better tho
Both TrueHD and DTS HD MA are available via bitstream, so both of them are in a different camp than PCM.
jchong
post Jul 24 2009, 09:02 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 24 2009, 07:31 AM)
Yep got it last nite. Just the peasant BD60 blush.gif
Congrats! And welcome to full HD club smile.gif
jchong
post Jul 25 2009, 08:09 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jul 25 2009, 05:18 PM)
After sayin tat there are a lot of old favs tat might get a rebuy for instance Back to the Future series ; Indy 1 - 3..
I'm waiting for Indy 1-3 to be out...
jchong
post Jul 26 2009, 10:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 26 2009, 09:28 PM)
is it illegal to run a Rental business for Blu ray online? I saw quite a couple of people doing this business in low yat? Are they against the copyright law?
Strictly speaking, rental of films without the authorisation of the copyright owner is a copyright infringement. See section 13(1)(f) of the Copyright Act 1987. This wasn't always the case, but it was introduced by an amendment that came into force in 1999.

Of course like many other things in Malaysia, enforcement is a totally different issue.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jul 26 2009, 10:41 PM
jchong
post Jul 28 2009, 05:02 PM

5,989 posts

Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon BD from Amazon UK, region free or not?

I can't tell from seeing Amazon UK's website.

0.0454sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:04 PM