business in catfish(ikan keli)

4lenAngel
post Jul 15 2009, 10:12 PM

280 posts

Alright ur back ... where have u been ?? suddenly MIA.. rclxms.gif

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:17 pmBro Rafizi.. i wanna ask u how is ur production ??
Usually how many kg's u produce a week/ months ??

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 15 2009, 10:17 PM
rafizi
post Jul 16 2009, 10:27 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Jul 15 2009, 10:12 PM)
Alright ur back ... where have u been ?? suddenly MIA..  rclxms.gif

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:17 pmBro Rafizi.. i wanna ask u how is ur production ??
Usually how many kg's u produce a week/ months ??
the rest of this month i will be in/out of Malaysia so my postings in here will not be regular. Feel free to call me, just PM for my mobile number. As for production, I am putting out 3 tons/week but hopefully to increase to 7tons/week in 2-3 months. Mind you 3 tons a week is not a big amount, for commercial/economies of scale we should plan to produce at least 2 tons a day. By then we will have room to maneuver in terms of pricing and competition.
4lenAngel
post Jul 17 2009, 02:33 AM

280 posts

U have ur own land?? ok lets say for tons of prod... how many canvas ur having now ?? and wht size ?
I have around 25 canvas. But juz started.. if im goin for weekly production as well.. how many canvas i need ?can guide me through this ?
For the moment im at kl..
But im doin in at kulim,kedah...

And ur suppliers is satisfied with u ?? i heard many people saying suppliers are so demanding.. they might ask u to follow their procedures only if not they wont buy ur fish back..yes as for me i feed my fishes with pallets. and i dont know wht else they'll ask for..
usually for per tons, how much profit u'll get ?

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 17 2009, 04:25 PM
rafizi
post Jul 17 2009, 11:00 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Jul 17 2009, 02:33 AM)
U have ur own land?? ok lets say for tons of prod... how many canvas ur having now ?? and wht size ?
I have around 25 canvas. But juz started.. if im goin for weekly production as well.. how many canvas i need ?can guide me through this ?
For the moment im at kl..
But im doin in at kulim,kedah...

And ur suppliers is satisfied with u ?? i heard many people saying suppliers are so demanding.. they might ask u to follow their procedures only if not they wont buy ur fish back..yes as for me i feed my fishes with pallets. and i dont know wht else they'll ask for..
usually for per tons, how much profit u'll get ?
Yes I own the land. I am not doing it in canvas, therefore i cannot say how or what u need to meet certain production. Before using canvas, have u figured out the stocking rate and characteristics of keli in canvas? On average, one round of harvest for keli is every 2 months. U need to divide the 25 canvas u have to roughly 4 sections, put the benih keli into one section every week and keep doing for 2 months, u will eventually get weekly production. That is a rough idea, there are many ways to go about it. You also need a spare canvas or two for grading/separation work.

I do not understand what u mean 'by suppliers demanding and wont buy fish back'? I assume 'supplier' means the person you have entered into a contract with? Sounds like they are not willing to buy back your fish? There are A LOT of cases where contract farming is just a convenient scheme for people to sell benih ikan, canvas, tanks, food etc without intention of buying back, EVER! I am not implying that you have been conned, but possibly that person has some issues and he is not able to buy back. Whenever entering into a contract, please have them add a clause, 'if they do not buy back within so and so period(say a week), you have the right to sell the fish to anyone else.

Go the extra mile, do your own marketing on dont rely on people.(unless they have good track record or is a genuine pemborong ikan). Market price for fresh keli ex-farm in KL is RM3.50 for pellet fed, and RM2.50 for 'ehem ehem' fed brows.gif Also depends on quantity, price can go as low as RM3 for pellet fed, how much profit is up to you how you control the cost. If anyone require assistance selling off their fish in Klang Valley area can contact me, but no promises that I can offer a good price, as transport/supply/demand/quality factor comes in. I have my own to sell too thumbup.gif
4lenAngel
post Jul 18 2009, 07:46 AM

280 posts

Ok understood.. By the way if ur not doin it canvas ? wht u using then ?? is there diff where it will effect the growth of fish ?? juz like for puyu they're saying using cement ponds and lake will make a difference in terms of growth.. wht bout for keli ?
And another thing is i dont have land.. so im planning to do it in shop lot..
Will there be any problems if the fishes dont have sun ??
Advice needed bro.. im really thinkin of goin big..
Anyway the 25 canvas i juz ordered few days ago..
Advice needed Bro Rafizi..thank u very much..
rafizi
post Jul 18 2009, 09:23 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Jul 18 2009, 07:46 AM)
Ok understood.. By the way if ur not doin it canvas ? wht u using then ?? is there diff where it will effect the growth of fish ?? juz like for puyu they're saying using cement ponds and lake will make a difference in terms of growth.. wht bout for keli ?
And another thing is i dont have land.. so im planning to do it in shop lot..
Will there be any problems if the fishes dont have sun ??
Advice needed bro.. im really thinkin of goin big..
Anyway the 25 canvas i juz ordered few days ago..
Advice needed Bro Rafizi..thank u very much..
Yes, the type of containment used is a great factor in determining growth of fish. The best is definitely its natural environment ie kolam tanah. But the cons is difficult to harvest unless u use cage. Growth of fish mainly depends on the water quality(pH level, ammonia, other minerals), stocking rate (to cramped is no good) and is the water running(actually not that important for keli, only for others like tilapia). Sunlight is good for growth of plankton and other microorganisms in the water, but it can heat up the water and kill fish, especially dangerous if u use polytank or any plastic material (canvas too). pH levels also fluctuate in open air pond. Other than that I dont see problem doing it in shoplot, but at least have some lighting. If u are renting the shoplot, that may eat into your profits later. Myself, I use polytank for the young ones as it is easier to do grading, then transfer them to cement kolah for later. I cannot say canvas is a bad thing, but to me the construction cost and u cant really fit in many fish in 1 canvas. Apart from that there are many successful keli farmers using canvas.
4lenAngel
post Jul 18 2009, 09:46 AM

280 posts

ermm ok.. actually the shoplot doesnt cost much..coz its unsuccesful.. so the cost of rental went really low as less thn 500/month for 3 storeys. So guess thats a best option.
We juz have to see wht size of canvas we order to accomodate the quantity of fishes..Well can be done even for big sizes ryt ? for the moment i juz ordered not sure the measurement.. but can go till 2000 fish per pond. btw bro i'll drop by to ur land to learn more.. Tunjuk ajar sikit sifu.. hehe
I need to learn bout the water conditions such as Ph etc.. some that may b taken into account.. Cautious la .. hehe flex.gif

Added on July 18, 2009, 10:12 ambro btw where is ur land ??

Added on July 20, 2009, 5:40 pm blush.gif Hmm... y all so silent ?? Our Sifu rafizi of country.. and no 1 anymore ?? Hehe..or not interested anymore..

Anyway those doin this bizz can leave the names/nick and location so that we can TT altogether to discuss more ??

First of all is me ... rclxms.gif

1) 4lenAngel. ( NEWBIE ) Taiping(keli) & Kulim(Puyu). Most of the time will be at KL laugh.gif
2)
3)

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 20 2009, 05:44 PM
siakap
post Jul 22 2009, 01:01 PM

biggrin.gif shakehead.gif cool.gif

hello bro...im doing tilapia merah n keli.. but still in 'cuba-cuba' process.
4lenAngel
post Jul 22 2009, 02:07 PM

280 posts

Oh ok.. how long alrdy ?? Hows the progress ??
lainux
post Jul 23 2009, 12:06 AM

650 posts

Just curious, how about rearing koi? I met someone at Bentong doing it. According to him, very lucrative. Cause big koi is expensive, can get upto thousands. But getting to even rm100/koi is already lucrative enough. However, i do not know how long it takes for a koi to reach a foot long? Anyone doing it?

Added on July 23, 2009, 12:17 amWHen do you guys buy the canvas? I am thinking of building my koi pond using liner. How much is canvas? Are they long lasting?

This post has been edited by lainux: Jul 23 2009, 12:17 AM
4lenAngel
post Jul 23 2009, 03:35 AM

280 posts

Hmm no idea.. i heard about ppl rearing koi..
1 of it is at Sentul.. Sentul Park Koi centre.And by famous group of YTL.
i heard that we need to be patient in order to see the changes. Normally, it will only show its true potential after the age of five.

Added on July 23, 2009, 3:40 amHmm.. May b u can try this link.. Koi

Good Luck..
Btw Canvas saves ur space n time.. but make sure the canvas treated b4 letting ur fish in.. the chemicals might kill the fishes.. But it depends on how u take care of the canvas..
some of the steps u can do is juz put some sand below the canvas..
As i knw canvas can last long for 6 years..more or less.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 24, 2009, 12:36 amAnyway is there any Catfish whole buyer here ??

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 24 2009, 12:36 AM
spirit of demon
post Jul 27 2009, 03:42 AM

406 posts

hello... everyone.... hope i can a little or 2...
rafizi seems like u are pros in this field.. but, i m just a regular hobbist that looking for fish food supplying... do u guys supply fish foods, like daphnia and tubifex worms in selangor area.. i know a company in Johor is doing this and supplying to singapore.. but, i m looking for supplier in selangor or klang valley.. pls enlighten me on this...
btw, i m from serdang... vr near to pasar borong selangor..
EddyHyip
post Jul 28 2009, 12:09 PM

361 posts

It seems that aquaculture is getting more and more exposed to Malaysians. From what I read, currently, the demand for the fishes are still ok. But what do you see in future? Will it be saturated or in the same condition as vermicompost, where many ppl is doing it?

I'm still doing research on this and will keep track on this forum so I hope you guys can share your results and experience here.
lainux
post Jul 28 2009, 06:30 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jul 28 2009, 12:09 PM)
It seems that aquaculture is getting more and more exposed to Malaysians. From what I read, currently, the demand for the fishes are still ok. But what do you see in future? Will it be saturated or in the same condition as vermicompost, where many ppl is doing it?

I'm still doing research on this and will keep track on this forum so I hope you guys can share your results and experience here.
Is vermicompost really saturated?
4lenAngel
post Jul 30 2009, 05:07 PM

280 posts

Yup VermiCompost market is saturated.. But no idea about Catfish markets.. some signs says it.. Nowdays the pallet costs are high. So to start this bizz make sure to attend the right course and make a right decision wht fish to rear.
And my opinion is to attend a course where they teach how to make own pallets..

Added on July 30, 2009, 5:11 pmBro Rafizi need ur advice plz.. im rearing my catfish in Canvas 15x6x3.
And the fries i bought from 3''.
Usually how long will it take to be matured and be sold.. i have no idea some says 70-75 days.. some says 30 - 45 days .. some says 60 days.. :S so confused regarding this.
Usually urs matured in how many days? and u buy the fries from how many inch ?

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 30 2009, 05:11 PM
EddyHyip
post Jul 31 2009, 11:54 PM

361 posts

what is cat fish called actually in chinese?

those i know of called it ' tho sat' in hokkien, but i still not sure if it is 'pak sou gong' in cantonese...

someone can help verify?
4lenAngel
post Aug 1 2009, 06:12 AM

280 posts

if not mistaken its called Nian ke?? or Nian Yu ?(mandarin i guess)
Im not sure bout this.. im not chinese..but my friends used to call like that.. hehe..
yeah tho sat is in hokkien.. hehe from penang also..

Added on August 1, 2009, 6:13 amHmm Our Sifu(Rafizi) supposed to be in country 2day..

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 1 2009, 06:13 AM
rafizi
post Aug 5 2009, 10:18 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Jul 18 2009, 09:46 AM)
ermm ok.. actually the shoplot doesnt cost much..coz its unsuccesful.. so the cost of rental went really low as less thn 500/month for 3 storeys. So guess thats a best option.
We juz have to see wht size of canvas we order to accomodate the quantity of fishes..Well can be done even for big sizes ryt ? for the moment i juz ordered not sure the measurement.. but can go till 2000 fish per pond. btw bro i'll drop by to ur land to learn more.. Tunjuk ajar sikit sifu.. hehe
I need to learn bout the water conditions such as Ph etc.. some that may b taken into account.. Cautious la .. hehe  flex.gif
OK if u keep the rental cost low thats fine. in theory stocking rate for keli is 25 ekor per sq feet. IMO if u are rearing it for fun, go ahead and follow that but commercially it is not viable. I am putting about 100 per sq ft. I am not a sifu, just sharing what I have discovered from my own trials and errors. Reading books and kursus means nothing until u actually do it so dont be afraid of bending the rules, something they are wrong or not practical.

QUOTE(siakap @ Jul 22 2009, 01:01 PM)
biggrin.gif  shakehead.gif  cool.gif

hello bro...im doing tilapia merah n keli.. but still in 'cuba-cuba' process.
aikk nickname siakap but doing tilapia n keli? what happened to siakap hehhe. FYI i plan to venture into freshwater siakap/barramundi soon, still finding the suitable pond. your tilapia in kolam tanah i presume?

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 23 2009, 12:06 AM)
Just curious, how about rearing koi?  I met someone at Bentong doing it.  According to him, very lucrative.  Cause big koi is expensive, can get upto thousands.  But getting to even rm100/koi is already lucrative enough.  However, i do not know how long it takes for a koi to reach a foot long?  Anyone doing it?

Added on July 23, 2009, 12:17 amWHen do you  guys buy the canvas?  I am thinking of building my koi pond using liner.  How much is canvas?  Are they long lasting?
koi is good too. it is less sensitive compared to kelah and can be done in simen kolam. not yet seen anybody doing in anything else. growth is slow though, to get 1 foot length takes about a year roughly. if u r worried about long lasting, invest in cement kolam biggrin.gif

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Jul 27 2009, 03:42 AM)
hello... everyone.... hope i can a little or 2...
rafizi seems like u are pros in this field.. but, i m just a regular hobbist that looking for fish food supplying... do u guys supply fish foods, like daphnia and tubifex worms in selangor area.. i know a company in Johor is doing this and supplying to singapore.. but, i m looking for supplier in selangor or klang valley.. pls enlighten me on this...
btw, i m from serdang... vr near to pasar borong selangor..
sorry, i am also researching into my own fish food. would also be interested in worms for feeding my soon hock biggrin.gif

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Jul 30 2009, 05:07 PM)
Yup VermiCompost market is saturated.. But no idea about Catfish markets.. some signs says it.. Nowdays the pallet costs are high. So to start this bizz make sure to attend the right course and make a right decision wht fish to rear.
And my opinion is to attend a course where they teach how to make own pallets..

Added on July 30, 2009, 5:11 pmBro Rafizi need ur advice plz.. im rearing my catfish in Canvas 15x6x3.
And the fries i bought from 3''.
Usually how long will it take to be matured and be sold.. i have no idea some says 70-75 days.. some says 30 - 45 days .. some says 60 days.. :S so confused regarding this.
Usually urs matured in how many days? and u buy the fries from how many inch ?
everybody says this market saturated, that market saturated. why dont u actually do some research and marketing on it, for example vermicompost. Why exactly do they say it is saturated? too many people doing it, or doing it wrong in the first place?

theoretically each of ur canvas will fit abt 2200 keli. this is fine if it is just for your consumption hehhe. something as big as that should fit 8000-10000 for commercial scale. i am not sure if there is a limitation for canvas, i really hv no experience with it. it is also possible that there are strict rules to stocking rate in canvas. how many days depends on how u wanna sell it. 6 ekor per kilo only takes 45 days, 2 ekor sekilo obviously longer at 90 days. Do not buy fries less than 4 inch, the ratio of death is higher.

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jul 31 2009, 11:54 PM)
what is cat fish called actually in chinese?

those i know of called it ' tho sat' in hokkien, but i still not sure if it is 'pak sou gong' in cantonese...

someone can help verify?
my hokkien friend calls it tong sat alright. not sure about other dialect. it is called lele in jawa if that helps heheh.
4lenAngel
post Aug 6 2009, 04:26 AM

280 posts

Huh Now 4 inches ??? I heard 3 inches is ok already as the death ratio will be lower...
Zhezhe
post Aug 6 2009, 02:43 PM

71 posts

I read thru all the post and found out that it is very interesting. But i am not involved in this field yet sweat.gif (still a student).
Wait wait.. I hear someone mentioned Koi? Koi edible? My dad rear Koi behind our house, using cement pond and a fountain with lotus kind of plant on the water. Just curious that Koi are rear for the purpose of wad.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:51 PM