9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

business in catfish(ikan keli)

rafizi
post Aug 25 2009, 09:59 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Ryan Chong @ Aug 21 2009, 01:09 PM)
Woo! Max RM10 profit for each phone? Bro,i am not trying to argue with you but i just want to tell you that it's not the case.I'm not sure how come u said that but i have been in handphone line for 9years+ now. It's very true that handphone business nowadays is really bad bcoz it's like everywhere also got handphone shop. Too many competitor. But,it's not until like i can get MAX RM10 profit only.That's ridiculous isn't it? The current lowest profit margin phone is Nokia 1202 which i am selling at RM99 and i get RM14 profit.This is a very basic and low end phone so of course the margin is low. But let say if i sell higher end phone like maybe Nokia E71, SE W995 etc i can get profit at least around RM50-RM70 for each phone.If it's not very branded like LG,i-mobile etc the margin is even higher.
Some places they might mark-up around RM20-30 only bcoz there are too many competitors in their area BUT,sadly to say that some of them will change the accessories in the package for example they change the battery to non-original one.And why they do that?See below;

Anyway,no hard feeling bro.Just my 2cents. wink.gif Cheersss...
Hi Ryan,

Sorry I did not mean to offend you or any handphone businesses here. As you can see I know nothing about the biz but I think you agree with me to a certain degree. You mentioned that you need to add value to a handphone shop by providing servicing and accessories. I think this means you really cannot depend on handphone sales alone because it is low volume and not recurring (majority ppl buy i think 1 phone in 2-3 years, not counting orang kaya la). That is the idea I wanted to state here. No hard feelings too bro rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Jo3y666 @ Aug 23 2009, 05:33 PM)

thanks alot for that advice. smile.gif and you are right, the idea and the key word is the one i am looking for.
you also learn more by doing it practically rather than basing on theory/reading. I think being a student (i feel learning is a lifelong thing, so i consider myself student jugak) we tend to depend to much on what is written in text books. Ask any successful businessman and they will tell u they have 'bent' the rules many times hehe.

QUOTE(maxsteel2001us @ Aug 24 2009, 10:18 AM)
thx bro rafizi.... i visited his farm 2 days ago...it's amazing to see his farm. i get a clearer picture now about the obstacles and hardship he faced as well...he explained to me a lot. thx again.. need to find water source for it if i want to start that biz..... heh...  smile.gif
i am always honoured to have ppl visit the farm. BTW it is not mine solely, as it is JV between me and friend. My own farm is somewhere else.

idunnolol
post Aug 25 2009, 10:04 PM

1,044 posts

Bro,did you get any loan or grant to develop the farm?
4lenAngel
post Aug 26 2009, 04:02 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(albumster @ Aug 20 2009, 06:25 PM)
Hi All,

I want to start bela ikan keli in my house garden. May I know where can i buy the canvas? My garden is about 50x100feet only.
Please advise the price and place to buy  biggrin.gif

Thank you!

Albumster
Hello albumster...
I've juz started.. and i have some friends did the canvas for me.. i did 15x6 canvas with solid steels frame.
4lenAngel
post Aug 26 2009, 04:04 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Aug 17 2009, 10:50 PM)
The farm just entered its 2nd phase of construction so I am sorry if things were a bit messy. Sorry we did not get to meet but I am honoured you visited. Which part in Semenyih? Give me a call and I will be sure to drop by!
Its at industrial area.. further in from a village..sorry as the shop is my friend's. so i still dont get the address.
Yeah sure i'll give u a call.. I should be honored to u.. Thank you very much.

Added on August 27, 2009, 8:05 am
QUOTE(maxsteel2001us @ Aug 15 2009, 12:27 PM)
Hello 4lenAngel,

u rear keli too...how's the biz? tot wana ask u how do u start the biz at first? does it need a lot of capital for the 1st mth or 2nd mth?
Hello maxsteel,Yeah i rear keli too..at 1st i see hows the market..when i make decision to venture in this bizz i see a lot have to be taken into considerations.. and also advices from some ppl who have alrdy been in this bizz for years..so far been to 7 different places and and all of them are really friendly...including Rafizi as well.. they got no objections at all for us to visit their farm..and alot to learn apart from courses and books.. but once u started u'll learn something new as well..

Bro Rafizi allow me to explain something here ?? thanks..

- Locations depends on individual to run this bizz such ur time,cost and maintenance.if u wanna go commercially then u need really big lands.U can do it in canvas if u wanna do it at ur house or commercially.
- Have natural water source like river,or can make ur own water source like well.Pipe water also can but with anti clorine,which will increase ur cost.
- Have a good road link easier to lorry to come in.

-- Fries(benih) - can get as small as 2' - 4 '. Prices depends on the fries quality.. can get from grade A to Grade C. Usually breeders wont sell the grade A fish. they will mix it with grade B fish and sell it to us..we also can see what grade is the fish.. coz Grade fish is those really strong and the growth is really fast,Breeders will keep those to breed again.Grade C is the lowest in survival,growth and weak. If u are juz starting i would recommend to buy from 3' - 4'.The bigger u buy the lowest time u get to harvest.and to decrease the death ratio. 3'' fry i bought at 6 - 10 cents. the more u buy..the lower the price u can get. Bro Raifizi is doin it from 4'' if not mistaken.

-- Foods( pallet ) - Grossly can get around RM 2.00 - 2.50 per Kg.. got few brands.. SUch as DSM(DInding),StarFeed and Cargill(Keli King). It also have stages like starter,Grower and finisher. (price may vary). and also FCR (food conversion Ratio). To see the foods price like this i've made the decicision to do my own food. (still learning) hehe..

Containments

-- Lake Pond -

--Canvas

--Concrete ponds

--Polytank

** Need a good drainage,this is coz too deep the water is not good for catfish coz the fish is the air breather,deep water can effect the growth coz fishes will be using to much time to come up and breath and will be using its enery which will effect the growth . recommended is from 1 1/2 to 3 feet to depends on size of fish.

Type of containments depends on individual maintenance,cost n time.

Markets

Nowdays market for catfish is from RM3.00 lowest to RM4.50.(pallet foods)
Rm 4.50 usually the price they'll give us if we have our own transport to supply the fishes to the company.

RM2.50 - 2.80 is for non pallet feeds.

I think this some of the things that have to be taken into considerations ...

Correct me if im wrong in certain areas bro Rafizi.. notworthy.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 27 2009, 08:05 AM
rafizi
post Aug 29 2009, 10:22 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Aug 25 2009, 10:04 PM)
Bro,did you get any loan or grant to develop the farm?
Nothing yet. I may apply for SPED loan (250k i think) for another farm.

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Aug 26 2009, 04:02 AM)
Hello albumster...
I've juz started.. and i have some friends did the canvas for me.. i did 15x6 canvas with solid steels frame.
wow stainless steel very good. costly if u get from outside but since u got friends it should be OK. I see some people using recycled/besi buruk which to me defeats the purpose as after a while it will rust and u need to replace.
idunnolol
post Aug 29 2009, 11:58 AM

1,044 posts

I concure, I use to have a stainless steel rod fabricated for me and cost me RM 200 for a rod with diameter of 3 cm and length of 70 cm.

Btw bro, how hard to apply loan? When bank see my bank statement, they are only willing to take 5% of the value each month
4lenAngel
post Aug 30 2009, 12:24 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Aug 29 2009, 10:22 AM)
Nothing yet. I may apply for SPED loan (250k i think) for another farm.
wow stainless steel very good. costly if u get from outside but since u got friends it should be OK. I see some people using recycled/besi buruk which to me defeats the purpose as after a while it will rust and u need to replace.
SPED loan FROM SME bro ??
Yeah i heard bout it..
And also heard bout SMIDEC Grants ??
U could try that also.. most of my friends have been approved.

Added on August 30, 2009, 12:32 amBtw bro Rafizi have heard of Villaraya Industrial Park at Semenyih ??
Thats where im rearing my cat Fish..

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 30 2009, 12:32 AM
Beanbagspecialist
post Aug 30 2009, 07:37 AM

14 posts

Bro what SMIDEC grants?I thought its hard to get approval for that man.I hope we can discuss more about that this Tuesday as well...I hope you will enjoy a major profit on this ikan keli business when you finally reap the benefits next month bro...Till then...See you on tuesday wink.gif
TSJo3y666
post Aug 30 2009, 02:21 PM

20 posts

LOL..i can't believe a simple topic can get til so active until everyone starts to get into this business! anyway, best of luck for those who already started the business.. i personally think that i should do more survey and learn more from the pros like you all before considering to start this business..hehe, becase i am not working too(still a student)...sad.gif
4lenAngel
post Aug 30 2009, 10:14 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(Beanbagspecialist @ Aug 30 2009, 07:37 AM)
Bro what SMIDEC grants?I thought its hard to get approval for that man.I hope we can discuss more about that this Tuesday as well...I hope you will enjoy a major profit on this ikan keli business when you finally reap the benefits next month bro...Till then...See you on tuesday wink.gif
Yeah bro actually its easy.. allocated for new bizz owner.

Here , I got this info from SMIDEC Website.

SMALL & MEDIUM INDUSTRIES DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION

1. Matching Grant For Business Start-Ups
Objective

The scheme provides assistance to assist start-up of businesses.

Qualifying Criteria
. Manufacturing companies or companies providing manufacturing related services Incorporated under the Companies Act 1965 or enterprises in the manufacturing sector incorporated under the Registration of Business Ordinance 1956 with annual sales turnover of not exceeding RM25 million or full-time employees not exceeding 150
. For the services sector, businesses incorporated under the Registration of Business Ordinance 1956 with an annual sales turnover of not exceeding RM5 million or full-time employees not exceeding 50
. At least 60% equity held by Malaysians
. Possess valid premise license.

Sector Coverage
. Manufacturing
. Manufacturing Related Services**
. Services (excluding insurance and financial services)

Form of Assistance

Assistance is given in the form of a matching grant where 50% of the approved project cost is borne by the Government and the remainder by the applicant. For enterprises in the manufacturing sector*, incorporated under the Registration of Business Ordinance 1956, assistance is given up to 80% of the approved cost. The maximum grant allocated per application is RM 40,000

*Assistance to the enterprise in the manufacturing sector will only be given until 31 May 2009.

Eligible Expenses
Expenses incurred in starting up a business, including:
. Preparation of Business Planning
. Related Feasibility Studies
. Rental of incubators and business premises up to 24 months
. Rental of equipment and machineries
. Development of prototype
. Product sample and testing

**Main activities under manufacturing related services are:
. Research and Development ( R & D) such as product/ process development and software development
. Product and Process Design
. Distribution and Logistics such as warehousing, freight forwarding, bulk breaking, international procurement centre, haulage
. Marketing such as packaging and market research
. Environmental Management
. Other related services such as engineering support services, gas sterilization services, calibration and testing services

Application
Application can be made using the Matching Grant for Business Start-Ups Form which can be obtained free of charge from SMIDEC's offices or download here:
. Online Application
. Application Form & Project Proposal
. Application Checklist

Enquiry

For further information please contact:
Secretariat
Matching Grant for Business Start-Ups Small and Medium Industries Development Corporation (SMIDEC)
Aras 20, West Wing, Menara MATRADE
Jalan Khidmat Usaha, Off Jalan Duta
50480 Kuala Lumpur
Tel No: 03-6207 6000
Fax No: 03-6201 6564
E-mail : info@smidec.gov.my
Hotline : 1-300-88-1801
Website www.smidec.gov.my

Yup,see u on tuesday bro.. smile.gif smile.gif CHEERS icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 30, 2009, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(Jo3y666 @ Aug 30 2009, 02:21 PM)
LOL..i can't believe a simple topic can get til so active until everyone starts to get into this business! anyway, best of luck for those who already started the business.. i personally think that i should do more survey and learn more from the pros like you all before considering to start this business..hehe, becase i am not working too(still a student)...sad.gif
Thanks 2 u thread Starter.. smile.gif smile.gif
U still have alot of time to venture.. This market still dont have enough ppl to supply on the this demanding fish. smile.gif

Cheers icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 30 2009, 10:21 PM
Beanbagspecialist
post Aug 31 2009, 04:46 AM

14 posts

Dude...do you know that address???it is like 5 minutes away from my office only man.Haha awesome!
4lenAngel
post Aug 31 2009, 07:42 AM

280 posts

The add i got from website.. never been there personally.. juz called n enquired with them.. they are quite friendly..
rafizi
post Aug 31 2009, 05:51 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Aug 30 2009, 12:24 AM)
SPED loan FROM SME bro ??
Yeah i heard bout it..
And also heard bout SMIDEC Grants ??
U could try that also.. most of my friends have been approved.

Added on August 30, 2009, 12:32 amBtw bro Rafizi have heard of Villaraya Industrial Park at Semenyih ??
Thats where im rearing my cat Fish..
SPED is provided by several banks, SME and Bank Rakyat among them i think. Loads of SMIDEC grant available but i think the most popular and easiest to approve is the startup grant u mentioned. Even if u have a business running for few years, just apply for it under a fresh company or even enterprise.

I pass by Villaraya everyday lah, PM me ur add I will do spot check hahaha

This post has been edited by rafizi: Aug 31 2009, 05:51 PM
4lenAngel
post Aug 31 2009, 08:27 PM

280 posts

ok will do.. smile.gif wink.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 8:10 pmHmm anybody Home ??
Any1 here knows hows to get the groundwater(well) source??
I've tried juz behind my shoplot(hehe 5' diameter hole).. using machine.
dig until 35 feet but stil no water..
How eh ??how to detect if the water source is there ?

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Sep 2 2009, 08:14 PM
rafizi
post Sep 3 2009, 10:25 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(4lenAngel @ Aug 31 2009, 08:27 PM)
ok will do.. smile.gif wink.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 8:10 pmHmm anybody Home ??
Any1 here knows hows to get the groundwater(well) source??
I've tried juz behind my shoplot(hehe 5' diameter hole).. using machine.
dig until 35 feet but stil no water..
How eh ??how to detect if the water source is there ?
I personally do not know how they do it but usually if you are in a hilly area or in proximity to water like a river, you have a higher chance of hitting water. My guys dig using raw human willpower up until 10 feet or so and hit water, luck or they have skills??? hehehe
4lenAngel
post Sep 3 2009, 10:28 AM

280 posts

Dont know la bro.. bt i personally thinks there should be some detection to be done.. smile.gif
35 feet still no water..
idunnolol
post Sep 3 2009, 12:52 PM

1,044 posts

hire a geologist thumbup.gif
rafizi
post Sep 4 2009, 09:55 PM

39 posts

where u trying to dig bro? if it is near that villaraya area then probably difficult because it is lowland IINM. Usually hilly area with some small valleys, good water collection point.
4lenAngel
post Sep 5 2009, 11:08 AM

280 posts

Yeah Villaraya...
Hmm some small valleys ? too bad..nothing like that nearby.. sad.gif
MrDeans
post Sep 5 2009, 03:02 PM

take certain courses..

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top