business in catfish(ikan keli)

4lenAngel
post Jul 1 2009, 05:14 AM

280 posts

Hmm i heard singapore is buying more expensive then malaysia n even more higher demand of the catfish..
Yeah 1 of my friend doin it.. He juz started with 3 canvas pond..
But a question.. For the breeds..
-do u require running water ??
-and wht type of food u feed them ??
Coz i heard got alot of foods like pallets and also organics ??
Which 1 is better in terms of fish growth n qualities ?

He said no need to worry about buyers coz the breed supplier will buy back from him..
He also asked me to invest but im not sure.. coz i wanna see the turnover 1st.. flex.gif
4lenAngel
post Jul 1 2009, 03:25 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(Jo3y666 @ Jul 1 2009, 11:46 AM)
yea, and one more thing, to start making the business big require a big capital oso right? are there any ways that can make us do the business with small capital yet a handsome earning?  nod.gif i saw in www.mudah.my before that, there are people who actually sell baby keli for RM0.05 each for 1 inch if i am not mistaken. If i were to sell it in 2-3 months' time at the range of RM3-6, i have just earned many hundred percents!  rclxms.gif  LOL..is that really possible?

Added on July 1, 2009, 11:52 amperhaps rearing worms seem to be the least budget of business that can earn quite alot of money? comments anyone? because i don't want to spend so much on a business full of uncertainties though..  blush.gif
How much capital needed to invest in worms?? i heard that it takes too long than catfish to grow up.. n yeah i heard the turnover is high.. icon_rolleyes.gif
4lenAngel
post Jul 2 2009, 01:44 AM

280 posts

Ermm sounds interesting.. Initial investment ??

Added on July 2, 2009, 1:47 am
QUOTE(d3ga3xx @ Jul 1 2009, 02:01 PM)
Ask yourself and the friends around you this

"You like to eat catfish?"
"You like to have catfish in your aquarium?"
"Your cat like to eat catfish?"

I think you should be able to find the answer on why your friend is breeding cat fish. smile.gif
I dont like to eat catfish..
Tell me if u can get me Red Tail Cat Fish .. then i'll rear Catfish in the aquarium..
My cat is Vegetarian.!! brows.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 2 2009, 01:48 AM
4lenAngel
post Jul 3 2009, 12:33 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Jul 2 2009, 11:36 PM)
I have not much experience in worm/fertiliser industry but one common thing i found with most agricultural biz people, they tend to think for short term gains. Get in and cash out quick. Result is usually low quality products and no economies of scale (cannot meet market demand at suitable price). I have heard of people being chased out by farm/nursery when trying to promote their vermicompost, while at the same time I have friends doing vermicompost too who are flourishing and have satisfied customers. The same pattern occurs in keli, tilapia, lintah, belut......u name it. It can be a lucrative biz but if u dont have right mindset and determination....... doh.gif
I agree,.. wht u've said juz now.. think for long term..
4lenAngel
post Jul 3 2009, 08:34 AM

280 posts

try this Rajawali marketing for more info.. thumbup.gif
4lenAngel
post Jul 13 2009, 05:37 PM

280 posts

Hey bro Rafizi apart from doing keli.. we're planning to do ''Puyu'' (no idea wht its pronounced in english..) as well.. and wht we got to know is ROI is higher thn keli.. But lots procedures to be done such as water treatments..
U have any ideas how this goes ??
Well as wht i learned Keli - 1 kg = rm 3
Puyu - 1 kg = Rm 10 ??
Hmm guess no harm trying.. smile.gif smile.gif
4lenAngel
post Jul 14 2009, 07:28 AM

280 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Ikan Puyu.. in english called Climbing Perch @ Anabas testudineus

can google to see the pic of the fish..

But i heard this puyu takes time to grow up.. any advice ??

4lenAngel
post Jul 15 2009, 10:12 PM

280 posts

Alright ur back ... where have u been ?? suddenly MIA.. rclxms.gif

Added on July 15, 2009, 10:17 pmBro Rafizi.. i wanna ask u how is ur production ??
Usually how many kg's u produce a week/ months ??

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 15 2009, 10:17 PM
4lenAngel
post Jul 17 2009, 02:33 AM

280 posts

U have ur own land?? ok lets say for tons of prod... how many canvas ur having now ?? and wht size ?
I have around 25 canvas. But juz started.. if im goin for weekly production as well.. how many canvas i need ?can guide me through this ?
For the moment im at kl..
But im doin in at kulim,kedah...

And ur suppliers is satisfied with u ?? i heard many people saying suppliers are so demanding.. they might ask u to follow their procedures only if not they wont buy ur fish back..yes as for me i feed my fishes with pallets. and i dont know wht else they'll ask for..
usually for per tons, how much profit u'll get ?

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 17 2009, 04:25 PM
4lenAngel
post Jul 18 2009, 07:46 AM

280 posts

Ok understood.. By the way if ur not doin it canvas ? wht u using then ?? is there diff where it will effect the growth of fish ?? juz like for puyu they're saying using cement ponds and lake will make a difference in terms of growth.. wht bout for keli ?
And another thing is i dont have land.. so im planning to do it in shop lot..
Will there be any problems if the fishes dont have sun ??
Advice needed bro.. im really thinkin of goin big..
Anyway the 25 canvas i juz ordered few days ago..
Advice needed Bro Rafizi..thank u very much..
4lenAngel
post Jul 18 2009, 09:46 AM

280 posts

ermm ok.. actually the shoplot doesnt cost much..coz its unsuccesful.. so the cost of rental went really low as less thn 500/month for 3 storeys. So guess thats a best option.
We juz have to see wht size of canvas we order to accomodate the quantity of fishes..Well can be done even for big sizes ryt ? for the moment i juz ordered not sure the measurement.. but can go till 2000 fish per pond. btw bro i'll drop by to ur land to learn more.. Tunjuk ajar sikit sifu.. hehe
I need to learn bout the water conditions such as Ph etc.. some that may b taken into account.. Cautious la .. hehe flex.gif

Added on July 18, 2009, 10:12 ambro btw where is ur land ??

Added on July 20, 2009, 5:40 pm blush.gif Hmm... y all so silent ?? Our Sifu rafizi of country.. and no 1 anymore ?? Hehe..or not interested anymore..

Anyway those doin this bizz can leave the names/nick and location so that we can TT altogether to discuss more ??

First of all is me ... rclxms.gif

1) 4lenAngel. ( NEWBIE ) Taiping(keli) & Kulim(Puyu). Most of the time will be at KL laugh.gif
2)
3)

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 20 2009, 05:44 PM
4lenAngel
post Jul 22 2009, 02:07 PM

280 posts

Oh ok.. how long alrdy ?? Hows the progress ??
4lenAngel
post Jul 23 2009, 03:35 AM

280 posts

Hmm no idea.. i heard about ppl rearing koi..
1 of it is at Sentul.. Sentul Park Koi centre.And by famous group of YTL.
i heard that we need to be patient in order to see the changes. Normally, it will only show its true potential after the age of five.

Added on July 23, 2009, 3:40 amHmm.. May b u can try this link.. Koi

Good Luck..
Btw Canvas saves ur space n time.. but make sure the canvas treated b4 letting ur fish in.. the chemicals might kill the fishes.. But it depends on how u take care of the canvas..
some of the steps u can do is juz put some sand below the canvas..
As i knw canvas can last long for 6 years..more or less.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 24, 2009, 12:36 amAnyway is there any Catfish whole buyer here ??

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 24 2009, 12:36 AM
4lenAngel
post Jul 30 2009, 05:07 PM

280 posts

Yup VermiCompost market is saturated.. But no idea about Catfish markets.. some signs says it.. Nowdays the pallet costs are high. So to start this bizz make sure to attend the right course and make a right decision wht fish to rear.
And my opinion is to attend a course where they teach how to make own pallets..

Added on July 30, 2009, 5:11 pmBro Rafizi need ur advice plz.. im rearing my catfish in Canvas 15x6x3.
And the fries i bought from 3''.
Usually how long will it take to be matured and be sold.. i have no idea some says 70-75 days.. some says 30 - 45 days .. some says 60 days.. :S so confused regarding this.
Usually urs matured in how many days? and u buy the fries from how many inch ?

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Jul 30 2009, 05:11 PM
4lenAngel
post Aug 1 2009, 06:12 AM

280 posts

if not mistaken its called Nian ke?? or Nian Yu ?(mandarin i guess)
Im not sure bout this.. im not chinese..but my friends used to call like that.. hehe..
yeah tho sat is in hokkien.. hehe from penang also..

Added on August 1, 2009, 6:13 amHmm Our Sifu(Rafizi) supposed to be in country 2day..

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 1 2009, 06:13 AM
4lenAngel
post Aug 6 2009, 04:26 AM

280 posts

Huh Now 4 inches ??? I heard 3 inches is ok already as the death ratio will be lower...
4lenAngel
post Aug 15 2009, 01:18 AM

280 posts

Hello Bro Rafizi finally managed to visit ur farm.. Hmm so good to see that..
I've started my catfish at Semenyih as well.. hehe in a single storey shop..
Can i Invite you to visit my place to get some advice from u ??So Far So Good..hehe..
Ur asst gave me a good speech n advice.. Hehe say thanks to him and send my regards.
Btw bro i still have alot to learn from u...

4lenAngel
post Aug 26 2009, 04:02 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(albumster @ Aug 20 2009, 06:25 PM)
Hi All,

I want to start bela ikan keli in my house garden. May I know where can i buy the canvas? My garden is about 50x100feet only.
Please advise the price and place to buy  biggrin.gif

Thank you!

Albumster
Hello albumster...
I've juz started.. and i have some friends did the canvas for me.. i did 15x6 canvas with solid steels frame.
4lenAngel
post Aug 26 2009, 04:04 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Aug 17 2009, 10:50 PM)
The farm just entered its 2nd phase of construction so I am sorry if things were a bit messy. Sorry we did not get to meet but I am honoured you visited. Which part in Semenyih? Give me a call and I will be sure to drop by!
Its at industrial area.. further in from a village..sorry as the shop is my friend's. so i still dont get the address.
Yeah sure i'll give u a call.. I should be honored to u.. Thank you very much.

Added on August 27, 2009, 8:05 am
QUOTE(maxsteel2001us @ Aug 15 2009, 12:27 PM)
Hello 4lenAngel,

u rear keli too...how's the biz? tot wana ask u how do u start the biz at first? does it need a lot of capital for the 1st mth or 2nd mth?
Hello maxsteel,Yeah i rear keli too..at 1st i see hows the market..when i make decision to venture in this bizz i see a lot have to be taken into considerations.. and also advices from some ppl who have alrdy been in this bizz for years..so far been to 7 different places and and all of them are really friendly...including Rafizi as well.. they got no objections at all for us to visit their farm..and alot to learn apart from courses and books.. but once u started u'll learn something new as well..

Bro Rafizi allow me to explain something here ?? thanks..

- Locations depends on individual to run this bizz such ur time,cost and maintenance.if u wanna go commercially then u need really big lands.U can do it in canvas if u wanna do it at ur house or commercially.
- Have natural water source like river,or can make ur own water source like well.Pipe water also can but with anti clorine,which will increase ur cost.
- Have a good road link easier to lorry to come in.

-- Fries(benih) - can get as small as 2' - 4 '. Prices depends on the fries quality.. can get from grade A to Grade C. Usually breeders wont sell the grade A fish. they will mix it with grade B fish and sell it to us..we also can see what grade is the fish.. coz Grade fish is those really strong and the growth is really fast,Breeders will keep those to breed again.Grade C is the lowest in survival,growth and weak. If u are juz starting i would recommend to buy from 3' - 4'.The bigger u buy the lowest time u get to harvest.and to decrease the death ratio. 3'' fry i bought at 6 - 10 cents. the more u buy..the lower the price u can get. Bro Raifizi is doin it from 4'' if not mistaken.

-- Foods( pallet ) - Grossly can get around RM 2.00 - 2.50 per Kg.. got few brands.. SUch as DSM(DInding),StarFeed and Cargill(Keli King). It also have stages like starter,Grower and finisher. (price may vary). and also FCR (food conversion Ratio). To see the foods price like this i've made the decicision to do my own food. (still learning) hehe..

Containments

-- Lake Pond -

--Canvas

--Concrete ponds

--Polytank

** Need a good drainage,this is coz too deep the water is not good for catfish coz the fish is the air breather,deep water can effect the growth coz fishes will be using to much time to come up and breath and will be using its enery which will effect the growth . recommended is from 1 1/2 to 3 feet to depends on size of fish.

Type of containments depends on individual maintenance,cost n time.

Markets

Nowdays market for catfish is from RM3.00 lowest to RM4.50.(pallet foods)
Rm 4.50 usually the price they'll give us if we have our own transport to supply the fishes to the company.

RM2.50 - 2.80 is for non pallet feeds.

I think this some of the things that have to be taken into considerations ...

Correct me if im wrong in certain areas bro Rafizi.. notworthy.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 27 2009, 08:05 AM
4lenAngel
post Aug 30 2009, 12:24 AM

280 posts

QUOTE(rafizi @ Aug 29 2009, 10:22 AM)
Nothing yet. I may apply for SPED loan (250k i think) for another farm.
wow stainless steel very good. costly if u get from outside but since u got friends it should be OK. I see some people using recycled/besi buruk which to me defeats the purpose as after a while it will rust and u need to replace.
SPED loan FROM SME bro ??
Yeah i heard bout it..
And also heard bout SMIDEC Grants ??
U could try that also.. most of my friends have been approved.

Added on August 30, 2009, 12:32 amBtw bro Rafizi have heard of Villaraya Industrial Park at Semenyih ??
Thats where im rearing my cat Fish..

This post has been edited by 4lenAngel: Aug 30 2009, 12:32 AM

0.0280sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:30 PM